Skip to Main Content
New Books: Clinical Optometry & More
Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma by Malik Y. Kahook); Joel S. Schuman (Editors)
Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma - one of the field's seminal texts on the medical practice and surgical management of glaucoma, now in its Sixth Edition - includes the latest updates in an area that is currently experiencing a surge of innovation. Edited by Drs. Malik Y. Kahook and Joel S. Schuman and with contributions from the late David L. Epstein and more than 80 contributors, Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma, Sixth Edition brings together the experience of world-class glaucoma experts who belong to a long line of surgeons trained using the teachings of the original authors of this classic work. Each chapter has been meticulously edited and updated from the previous edition, while maintaining the well-established historical teachings of Drs. Paul A. Chandler and W. Morton Grant. New chapters on medical therapy as well as thorough updates on novel and minimally invasive approaches for the surgical management of glaucoma have been added. New topics and features in the Sixth Edition include: Advances in imaging of the optic nerve and retina Rho-associated protein kinase (ROCK) inhibitors Glaucoma and cerebrospinal fluid pressure The US Food and Drug Administration's role in the development of new diagnostic and surgical devices for patients with glaucoma Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma has been the most relevant and invaluable reference on glaucoma for generations of ophthalmologists. This updated Sixth Edition builds on the teachings of previous editions, making the Sixth Edition as relevant in the 21st century as when the first lectures were presented by Drs. Chandler and Grant more than 55 years ago.
Publication Date: 2020
Clinical Ophthalmic Genetics and Genomics by Graeme C. M. Black; Jane L. Ashworth; Panagiotis I. Sergouniotis (Editors)
Clinical Ophthalmic Genetics and Genomics provides an accessible, clinically-focused reference for the evolving field of Genetic Ophthalmology. This well-organised, easy-to-read textbook integrates key concepts with clinical practice and is designed to enhance effective learning and retention of complex material. It includes contributions from recognised leaders in the field and provides expert guidance on the complete spectrum of genetic ophthalmic disorders.
Publication Date: 2022
The Eye Book: a complete guide to eye disorders and health by Gary H. Cassel
The Owner's Manual for Your Eyes: The most comprehensive guide to taking care of vision. Winner of the American Book Fest Best Book Social Change and Current Events by the American Book Fest In The Eye Book, specialist Dr. Gary H. Cassel presents readers with trusted, evidence-based information they can rely on to protect vision and learn more about how to treat any eye problems that come up. This easy-to-understand volume takes a step-by-step approach, providing an overview of the eye's anatomy, a tour of healthy vision, and an explanation of what steps readers and health care providers should take to address vision issues. Drawing on years of clinical experience with patients, Cassel also looks at eye complications associated with common medical conditions (for example, diabetes) along with the best treatments for eye conditions, such as cataracts and glaucoma. Now in its second edition, this bestselling book continues to provide the interested reader, along with nurse practitioners, physician assistants, internists, and family doctors, with practical information about * eyeglass materials, contact lenses, and refractive surgeries (including LASIK) to improve vision * tips to spot and treat common eye irritations and infections, including conjunctivitis ("pink eye") * advice about when people should take care of an eye problem on their own and when they need to consult with an expert * what people (and their health care providers) can do about blurriness, dry eyes, eye strain, eye allergies, and floaters * how vision problems may be a sign of other health conditions, including thyroid problems and multiple sclerosis * which medications may affect vision * what people within and outside of the medical field need to know about macular degeneration and low vision Richly illustrated and engagingly written, this edition features special bonus material, including a chapter on cosmetics and the eye, FAQs ("Can cataracts grow back after cataract surgery?"; "Will I go blind from my glaucoma?"), and a handy symptom index that allows readers to research topics by the presentation of an eye problem. Useful for everyone, including general medical professionals who want to learn more about the health of the eyes, this up-to-date, in-depth, and authoritative book will serve as a users' manual for the eyes and help promote better vision for a brighter tomorrow.
Publication Date: 2021
In Vivo Confocal Microscopy in Eye Disease by Golshan Latifi; Scott Hau
In Vivo Confocal Microscopy in Eye Disease is a comprehensive new text that covers the latest advances in the field of in vivo confocal imaging. It presents a detailed overview of the basic anatomy of the different part of the cornea, conjunctiva and adnexal structures. It discusses the use of in vivo confocal microscopy in a range of clinical applications including the diagnosis of infective keratitis, corneal dystrophies, cornea nerves, conjunctival diseases and their differentiating features. Numerous confocal images, clinical pictures, other paraclinical images and histopathology slides of different ocular pathologies are examined and presented throughout the text. This book systematically reviews the use of confocal imaging in basic science of ocular tissues to the diagnosis of eye disease assembled in a single volume. It provides an up to date resource with an in depth review of scientific literature relating to both the clinical and research application of in vivo confocal microscopy in eye disease. The book ends with a discussion on non-ocular application of in vivo confocal microscopy and future developments including other emerging imaging technologies. This text will provide an invaluable resource for those who are interested in ocular imaging and it represents a timely resource for all practicing and trainee ophthalmologists
Publication Date: 2022
Neuro-Ophthalmology and Neuro-Otology : a case -based guide for clinicians and scientists by Daniel Gold
This book combines the complexities of neuro-ophthalmologic and neuro-otologic disorders into one concise guidebook. It focuses on the basics of these two challenging subspecialties, encountered by the neurologist, ophthalmologist, otolaryngologist, neurosurgeon, emergency medicine provider, and others. Comprehensive and succinct, the book contains chapters examining representative case vignettes that highlight typical historical elements and exam findings that aid in diagnosing a specific disease, disorder, or syndrome. Before each heading, chapters offer a brief review of relevant anatomy, physiology, and examination techniques. Additionally, symptom-based tables guide the practitioner to a focused history and examination for rapid real-time triage and diagnosis. Practical and case-based, Neuro-Ophthalmology and Neuro-Otology is an invaluable resource for practitioners, trainees, and residents in various fields.
Publication Date: 2022
Ocular Pathology (8th ed.) by Myron Yanoff; Joseph W. Sassani
Bridge the gap between ophthalmology and pathology with the 8th Edition of this comprehensive, easy-to-understand reference from Drs. Myron Yanoff and Joseph W. Sassani. Designed to keep you up to date with every aspect of the field, from current imaging techniques to genetics and molecular biology to clinical pearls, Ocular Pathology provides the concise yet complete information you need for board exams and clinical practice. Includes new coverage of genetics and molecular biology, complications in diabetes mellitus, and the role of new drugs and other treatments for macular degeneration. Covers the latest imaging techniques, including optical coherence tomography (OCT), anterior segment OCT (AS-OCT) and OCT-angiography. Contains new images throughout that provide updated correlations between pathological and clinical aspects of each disorder. Clinicopathological correlations are presented with side-by-side image comparisons to make clinical pearl boxes even more useful. Features more than 1,900 illustrations from the collections of internationally renowned leaders in ocular pathology. Presents information in a quick-reference outline format - ideal for today's busy physician. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2020
Ocular rigidity, biomechanics and hydrodynamics of the eye by Pallikaris, Ioannis G. (Editor)
Ocular Rigidity, Biomechanics and Hydrodynamics of the Eye summarises recent evidence on ocular rigidity, but also provides a complete presentation of the data so far. The authors have recently worked on ocular rigidity corneal and globe biomechanics and hydrodynamics and the new, up-to-date data on the subject are highlighted in each chapter. The aim is to provide the framework or the understanding of these parameters and to determine their relevance in health and disease. This book will be an essential read for all practicing ophthalmologists looking to gain a more in-depth understanding of this interesting area of research particularly in refractive surgery and glaucoma.
Publication Date: 2021
The Pediatric Eye Exam Quick Reference Guide: office and emergency room procedures by Lily Zhu-Tam (Editor); Ida Chung (Editor)
There is a need for comprehensive books that provide crucial information in a clear and direct manner, particularly in the medical field. Currently, there are limited resources available to students and clinicians that provide step-by-step procedures with pictures on how to examine the eye in the pediatric population. The Pediatric Eye Exam Quick Reference Guide: Office and Emergency Room Procedures is a clinical procedure book to provide step-by-step pediatric eye care examination techniques and is an important addition to the field of eye care. The chapters are written by leading pediatric optometrists and ophthalmologists in the field. Years of academic and clinical experiences from schools of optometry, hospital-based eye care, and private practice are all presented in a user-friendly format with clinical pearls and insights that will help any clinician perform a pediatric eye exam easily and efficiently. Covering a range of critical topics such as pupil examination, visual field testing, refraction, and ocular emergencies and providing pictures, it is ideal for all students, residents, academicians, trainers, and novel and seasoned clinicians who are interested in learning how to examine a pediatric patient and staying on top of the latest pediatric eye care procedures.
Publication Date: 2022
Pickwell's Binocular Vision Anomalies by Bruce J. W. Evans
Now in a fully up-to-date 6th Edition, Pickwell's Binocular Vision Anomalies provides a practical introduction to binocular vision, offering comprehensive theory, how-to clinical guidance, and a summary of current research in a single, consolidated volume. Ideally suited for both students and clinicians, this bestselling text serves as an accessible, evidence-based reference when faced with binocular vision or pediatric challenges. Covers routine examinations and testing protocols, including CISS questionnaire, cover test, foveal suppression, fixation disparity, four prism diopter base out test, Lindblom's method, and double Maddox rod test. Includes numerous video clips of key testing procedures, including new clips on Mallett fixation disparity test and fusional reserve testing, as well as an interactive video quiz to help you test your knowledge. Features sweeping content updates such as the latest information on 3-D displays, therapeutic uses of computer games and virtual reality for vision therapy, computerized testing methodologies, binocular and accommodative mechanisms associated with myopia, updated prescribing criteria, therapeutic use of contact lenses, detection of pathology associated with strabismus, drugs causing diplopia, and the evidence-based treatment of convergence insufficiency syndrome and amblyopia. Contains helpful study features throughout, including Clinical Key Points boxes, step-by-step test routines, typical features of extraocular muscle palsies and syndromes, and Case Study boxes that cover important clinical and legal scenarios, and new boxes that summarize testing procedures for each of the main binocular vision tests. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2021
The pocket guide to glaucoma by Panarelli, Joseph F.; Grover, Davinder; Sheybani, Arsham (Editors)
The Pocket Guide to Glaucoma provides essential information on glaucoma for medical students, residents, fellows, and general ophthalmologists. Drs. Joseph F. Panarelli, Davinder Grover, Arsham Sheybani, and colleagues have designed this book as the ultimate quick-read manual on glaucoma, using a conversational tone that allows readers to retain information in the most effective manner. Medical students, residents, and fellows can use this accessible, high-yield handbook during their rotations to familiarize themselves with the essentials on glaucoma, while general ophthalmologists will be glad to have it as a quick reference guide to current best practices. Each chapter in The Pocket Guide to Glaucoma is arranged in short, easy-to-read sections and is accompanied by numerous color photographs to aid in recognition and retention. Among the topics covered: Optic nerve head imaging, Laser procedures for glaucoma, Medical therapy for glaucoma, Microinvasive glaucoma surgery, Traditional glaucoma surgery : pearls and pitfalls, Landmark glaucoma trials Eye care providers at all skill levels will benefit from the high-yield, quick-access information contained in The Pocket Guide to Glaucoma, whether they are preparing for their first surgeries or are longtime physicians
Publication Date: 2022
Practical Guide to Interpret Visual Fields by G. R. Reddy
The visual field refers to the total area in which objects can be seen in the side (peripheral) vision when the eyes are focused on a central point. Glaucoma is a condition of the eye in which the optic nerve is damaged due to increased fluid pressure in the eye. If untreated or uncontrolled, glaucoma first causes peripheral vision loss and eventually can lead to blindness. A visual field test is a method of measuring an individual's entire scope of vision, that is their central and peripheral (side) vision. The test is most frequently used to help detect glaucoma but may also be used for detection of central or peripheral diseases of the retina, eyelid conditions such as drooping (ptosis), optic nerve damage and disease, and conditions affecting the visual pathways from the optic nerve to the area of the brain (occipital cortex) where this information is processed into vision. The fourth edition of this comprehensive text provides ophthalmologists and trainees with a guide to the interpretation of visual field tests and subsequent diagnosis and management of ocular disorders. The book has been fully revised and features additional topics including two new classification systems for glaucoma. Nearly 800 clinical photographs and diagrams further enhance learning. Key points Comprehensive guide to interpretation of visual field tests and diagnosis of ocular disorders Fully revised fourth edition featuring many new topics Features nearly 800 clinical photographs and diagrams Previous edition (9788184488661) published in 2008
Publication Date: 2020
New Books: Being a Medical Care Provider
Clinical Ethics: a Practical Approach to Ethical Decisions in Clinical Medicine (9th Ed.) by Albert R. Jonsen; Mark Siegler; William J. Winslade
The go-to textbook on the increasingly important and rapidly evolving topic of medical ethics Ethical issues are embedded in every clinical encounter between patients and clinicians. In order to practice excellent clinical care, clinicians must understand ethical issues such as informed consent, decisional capacity, surrogate decision making, truth telling, confidentiality, privacy, the distinction between research and clinical care, and end-of-life care. This popular, clinically-oriented guide provides crystal-clear case-based coverage of the ethical situations encountered in everyday medical practice. Clinical Ethics introduces the proven Four Box Method--a much-needed pattern for collecting, sorting, and ordering the facts of a clinical ethical problem. This easy-to-apply system is based on simple questions about medical indications, patient preferences, quality of life, and contextual features that explain clinical ethics and help clinicians formulate a sound diagnosis and treatment strategy. In each chapter, the authors discuss case examples and provide analysis, comments, and specific recommendations. The book is divided into the four topics that constitute the essential ethical structure of every clinical encounter: Medical Indications, Preferences of Patients Quality of Life Contextual Features
Publication Date: 2021
Fix IT: See and solve the problems of digital healthcare by Harold Thimbleby
New technologies like AI, medical apps and implants seem very exciting but they too often have bugs and are susceptible to cyberattacks. Even well-established technologies like infusion pumps, pacemakers and radiotherapy aren't immune. Until digital healthcare improves, digital risk means that patients may be harmed unnecessarily, and healthcare staff will continue to be blamed for problems when it's not their fault. This book tells stories of widespread problems with digital healthcare. The stories inspire and challenge anyone who wants to make hospitals and healthcare better. The stories and their resolutions will empower patients, clinical staff and digital developers to help transform digital healthcare to make it safer and more effective. This book is not just about the bugs and cybersecurity threats that affect digital healthcare. More importantly, it's about the solutions that can make digital healthcare much safer.
Publication Date: 2022
Grow Your Eye Care Practice: high-impact pearls from the marketing experts by Ming Wang (Editor)
A crash course in marketing for eye care professionals, Grow Your Eye Care Practice: High Impact Pearls from the Marketing Experts guides readers through this crucial area of business development. With an increase in patients undergoing elective procedures and an increase in the amount of providers, marketing has become the most important way for eye care professionals to grow their practices and differentiate themselves from their competition. Since marketing is not addressed in any formal course in medical school, optometry school, residency or fellowship, many eye care professionals lack basic understanding and skills in this area of growing importance to their businesses. To meet this critical need, editor Dr. Ming Wang and associate editors Shareef Mahdavi, Michael Malley and Dr. Tracy Swartz have created this essential, timely handbook aggregating the key ophthalmic marketing pearls, teachings and experiences of some of the leading national and international marketing experts. Grow Your Eye Care Practice begins with an overview of the history and current state of ophthalmic marketing, including a fascinating look at the commoditization of eye care as was demonstrated with the introduction of LASIK. The core chapters address foundational and innovative marketing concepts and their application to eye care, including: Market research, segmentation, targeting and positioning Patient experience Branding versus call to action Word of mouth referrals Digital marketing, including social media, websites and SEO Innovative marketing approaches Ethics and laws governing medical marketing Upcoming disruptive marketing technologies Grow Your Eye Care Practice: High Impact Pearls from the Marketing Experts is an indispensable desktop reference for all eye care professionals--ophthalmologists, optometrists, administrators, practice managers, business associates, residents, fellows, medical students and optometry students - who wish to improve their marketing skills, grow their practices and differentiate themselves from their competition.
Publication Date: 2020
Innovative staff development in healthcare by Tewes, Renate (Editor)
This book explains how staff development is an important element for a sustainable staff structure health care facilities.
At the end each chapter the reader finds a to-do-list, to replicate the project. The book is devided into 4 parts: 1. Practicing culture change, 2. Learning emotional intelligence, 3. Establishing interprofessional collaboration and 4. How to create the future of healthcare. Anticipating these options and experiences will help leaders to inspire their teams with practical ideas.
To find the right trainings for staff development can be time consuming. With this overview about international successful projects the reader has an update about innovations in healthcare and uses the knowledge for the reader's own team or healthcare institution.
Publication Date: 2022
Life on the Line: young doctors come of age in a pandemic by Emma Goldberg
The gripping account of six young doctors enlisted to fight COVID-19, an engrossing, eye-opening book in the tradition of both Sheri Fink's Five Days at Memorial and Scott Turow's One L. In March 2020, soon-to-graduate medical students in New York City were nervously awaiting "match day" when they would learn where they would begin their residencies. Only a week later, these young physicians learned that they would be sent to the front lines of the desperate battle to save lives as the coronavirus plunged the city into crisis. Taking the Hippocratic Oath via Zoom, these new doctors were sent into iconic New York hospitals including Bellevue and Montefiore, the epicenters of the epicenter. In this powerful book, New York Times journalist Emma Goldberg offers an up-close portrait of six bright yet inexperienced health professionals, each of whom defies a stereotype about who gets to don a doctor's white coat. Goldberg illuminates how the pandemic redefines what it means for them to undergo this trial by fire as caregivers, colleagues, classmates, friends, romantic partners and concerned family members. Woven together from in-depth interviews with the doctors, their notes, and Goldberg's own extensive reporting, this page-turning narrative is an unforgettable depiction of a crisis unfolding in real time and a timeless and unique chronicle of the rite of passage of young doctors.
Publication Date: 2021
Medical Decision-Making on Behalf of Young Children: A Comparative Perspective by Imogen Goold; Cressida Auckland; Jonathan Herring (Editors)
In the wake of the Charlie Gard and Alfie Evans cases, a wide-ranging international conversation was started regarding alternative thresholds for intervention and the different balances that can be made in weighing up the rights and interests of the child, the parent's rights and responsibilities and the role of medical professionals and the courts. This collection provides a comparative perspective on these issues by bringing together analysis from a range of jurisdictions across Europe, North and South America, Africa and Asia. Contextualising the differences and similarities, and drawing out the cultural and social values that inform the approach in different countries, this volume is highly valuable to scholars across jurisdictions, not only to inform their own local debate on how best to navigate such cases, but also to foster inter-jurisdictional debate on the issues. The book brings together commentators from the fields of law, medical ethics, and clinical medicine across the world, actively drawing on the view from the clinic as well as philosophical, legal and sociological perspectives on the crucial question of who should decide about the fate of a child suffering from a serious illness. In doing so, the collection offers comprehensive treatment of the key questions around whether the current best interests approach is still appropriate, and if not, what the alternatives are. It engages head-on with the concerns seen in both the academic and popular literature that there is a need to reconsider the orthodoxy in this area.
Publication Date: 2020
New Leadership for Today's Health Care Professionals by Louis G. Rubino; Salvador J. Esparza; Yolanda Chassiakos
Rubino 2e Marketing CopyThe health care sector has experienced dramatic change both through the implementation of the Affordable Care Act as well as ongoing efforts to repeal it. In forthcoming years, health professionals will need to lead in what may be a very different environment with potentially more privatization and less government funding and restrictions. New Leadership for Today's Health Care Professionals: Cases and Concepts, Second Edition explores various components of the health care system and how leaders should respond in these arenas. The Second Edition is a thorough revision that offers a comprehensive view of the leadership competencies necessary to be successful in today's healthcare industry. Each chapter is written by a leader in the healthcare industry under the guidance of the editors who have many years' experience in academia.Written with the undergraduate health professional student in mind, the book covers essential leadership concepts and offers many pedagogical features to engage the student in learning. Cases related to each chapter topic are woven into the text to help the student comprehend the practical side of the principles examined.Key Features:* Examines leadership from the perspective of the changes taking place in our nation and how leaders need to adjust to be effective* Offers new case studies a new chapter on global healthcare leadership * Highlights important concepts in health care leadership such as cultural competency, teamwork, patient- and family-centered leadership, community outreach, and physician collaboration.
Publication Date: 2019
On Becoming a Healer: the journey from patient care to caring about your patients by Saul J. Weiner
An invaluable guide to becoming a competent and compassionate physician. Medical students and physicians-in-training embark on a long journey that, although steeped in scientific learning and technical skill building, includes little guidance on the emotional and interpersonal dimensions of becoming a healer. Written for anyone in the health care community who hopes to grow emotionally and cognitively in the way they interact with patients, On Becoming a Healer explains how to foster doctor-patient relationships that are mutually nourishing. Dr. Saul J. Weiner, a physician-educator, argues that joy in medicine requires more than idealistic aspirations--it demands a capacity to see past the "otherness" that separates the well from the sick, the professional in a white coat from the disheveled patient in a hospital gown. Weiner scrutinizes the medical school indoctrination process and explains how it molds the physician's mindset into that of a task completer rather than a thoughtful professional. Taking a personal approach, Weiner describes his own journey to becoming an internist and pediatrician while offering concrete advice on how to take stock of your current development as a physician, how to openly and fully engage with patients, and how to establish clear boundaries that help defuse emotionally charged situations. Readers will learn how to counter judgmentalism, how to make medical decisions that take into account the whole patient, and how to incorporate the organizing principle of healing into their practice. Each chapter ends with questions for reflection and discussion to help personalize the lessons for individual learners.
Publication Date: 2020
Patient Satisfaction: Determinants, Psychological Implications and Impact on Quality of Life by Dielle Morneau (Editor)
Patient Satisfaction: Determinants, Psychological Implications and Impact on Quality of Life first provides an in-depth, evidence-based review of the patient outcomes associated with patient experience measures across a wide range of specialties and settings.The authors describe the instruments used to assess patient and family satisfaction, focusing on the presentation of various factors related to satisfaction in the field of child and adolescent psychiatry.Current literature on the factors which impact patient quality of life are explored and reviewed in the context of breast reconstruction, using assessment tools such as the BREAST-Q.
Publication Date: 2020
A practical guide to emergency telehealth by Sikka, Neal (editor)
Telemedicine is a rapidly growing field in healthcare and emergency medicine. Telemedicine, telehealth, and virtual health are often used interchangeably, but have unique definitions. Collectively, they refer to the use of telecommunications technology and electronic information to support health and provide care over distance. (Nesbitt TS, 2020) Telehealth and Telemedicine both describe the "use of medical information exchanged from one site to another via electronic communications to improve the patient's health status".(Institute of Medicine, 2012) Telemedicine is generally limited to direct clinical provider-to-patient care. Telehealth services include but are not limited to clinical care, health screening and prevention, health maintenance, professional health-related education, public health, and health administration. (Sikka, 2019) Virtual Health, e-health and digital health refer to an even broader array of digital information tools. The definition includes telehealth and extends further into other categories such as health information technology (IT), medical device data systems, electronic health records (EHRs), and clinical decision support tools.
Publication Date: 2021
Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma by
Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma - one of the field's seminal texts on the medical practice and surgical management of glaucoma, now in its Sixth Edition - includes the latest updates in an area that is currently experiencing a surge of innovation. Edited by Drs. Malik Y. Kahook and Joel S. Schuman and with contributions from the late David L. Epstein and more than 80 contributors, Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma, Sixth Edition brings together the experience of world-class glaucoma experts who belong to a long line of surgeons trained using the teachings of the original authors of this classic work. Each chapter has been meticulously edited and updated from the previous edition, while maintaining the well-established historical teachings of Drs. Paul A. Chandler and W. Morton Grant. New chapters on medical therapy as well as thorough updates on novel and minimally invasive approaches for the surgical management of glaucoma have been added. New topics and features in the Sixth Edition include: Advances in imaging of the optic nerve and retina Rho-associated protein kinase (ROCK) inhibitors Glaucoma and cerebrospinal fluid pressure The US Food and Drug Administration's role in the development of new diagnostic and surgical devices for patients with glaucoma Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma has been the most relevant and invaluable reference on glaucoma for generations of ophthalmologists. This updated Sixth Edition builds on the teachings of previous editions, making the Sixth Edition as relevant in the 21st century as when the first lectures were presented by Drs. Chandler and Grant more than 55 years ago.
Clinical Ophthalmic Genetics and Genomics by
Clinical Ophthalmic Genetics and Genomics provides an accessible, clinically-focused reference for the evolving field of Genetic Ophthalmology. This well-organised, easy-to-read textbook integrates key concepts with clinical practice and is designed to enhance effective learning and retention of complex material. It includes contributions from recognised leaders in the field and provides expert guidance on the complete spectrum of genetic ophthalmic disorders.
The Eye Book: a complete guide to eye disorders and health by
The Owner's Manual for Your Eyes: The most comprehensive guide to taking care of vision. Winner of the American Book Fest Best Book Social Change and Current Events by the American Book Fest In The Eye Book, specialist Dr. Gary H. Cassel presents readers with trusted, evidence-based information they can rely on to protect vision and learn more about how to treat any eye problems that come up. This easy-to-understand volume takes a step-by-step approach, providing an overview of the eye's anatomy, a tour of healthy vision, and an explanation of what steps readers and health care providers should take to address vision issues. Drawing on years of clinical experience with patients, Cassel also looks at eye complications associated with common medical conditions (for example, diabetes) along with the best treatments for eye conditions, such as cataracts and glaucoma. Now in its second edition, this bestselling book continues to provide the interested reader, along with nurse practitioners, physician assistants, internists, and family doctors, with practical information about * eyeglass materials, contact lenses, and refractive surgeries (including LASIK) to improve vision * tips to spot and treat common eye irritations and infections, including conjunctivitis ("pink eye") * advice about when people should take care of an eye problem on their own and when they need to consult with an expert * what people (and their health care providers) can do about blurriness, dry eyes, eye strain, eye allergies, and floaters * how vision problems may be a sign of other health conditions, including thyroid problems and multiple sclerosis * which medications may affect vision * what people within and outside of the medical field need to know about macular degeneration and low vision Richly illustrated and engagingly written, this edition features special bonus material, including a chapter on cosmetics and the eye, FAQs ("Can cataracts grow back after cataract surgery?"; "Will I go blind from my glaucoma?"), and a handy symptom index that allows readers to research topics by the presentation of an eye problem. Useful for everyone, including general medical professionals who want to learn more about the health of the eyes, this up-to-date, in-depth, and authoritative book will serve as a users' manual for the eyes and help promote better vision for a brighter tomorrow.
In Vivo Confocal Microscopy in Eye Disease by
In Vivo Confocal Microscopy in Eye Disease is a comprehensive new text that covers the latest advances in the field of in vivo confocal imaging. It presents a detailed overview of the basic anatomy of the different part of the cornea, conjunctiva and adnexal structures. It discusses the use of in vivo confocal microscopy in a range of clinical applications including the diagnosis of infective keratitis, corneal dystrophies, cornea nerves, conjunctival diseases and their differentiating features. Numerous confocal images, clinical pictures, other paraclinical images and histopathology slides of different ocular pathologies are examined and presented throughout the text. This book systematically reviews the use of confocal imaging in basic science of ocular tissues to the diagnosis of eye disease assembled in a single volume. It provides an up to date resource with an in depth review of scientific literature relating to both the clinical and research application of in vivo confocal microscopy in eye disease. The book ends with a discussion on non-ocular application of in vivo confocal microscopy and future developments including other emerging imaging technologies. This text will provide an invaluable resource for those who are interested in ocular imaging and it represents a timely resource for all practicing and trainee ophthalmologists
Neuro-Ophthalmology and Neuro-Otology : a case -based guide for clinicians and scientists by
This book combines the complexities of neuro-ophthalmologic and neuro-otologic disorders into one concise guidebook. It focuses on the basics of these two challenging subspecialties, encountered by the neurologist, ophthalmologist, otolaryngologist, neurosurgeon, emergency medicine provider, and others. Comprehensive and succinct, the book contains chapters examining representative case vignettes that highlight typical historical elements and exam findings that aid in diagnosing a specific disease, disorder, or syndrome. Before each heading, chapters offer a brief review of relevant anatomy, physiology, and examination techniques. Additionally, symptom-based tables guide the practitioner to a focused history and examination for rapid real-time triage and diagnosis. Practical and case-based, Neuro-Ophthalmology and Neuro-Otology is an invaluable resource for practitioners, trainees, and residents in various fields.
Ocular Pathology (8th ed.) by
Bridge the gap between ophthalmology and pathology with the 8th Edition of this comprehensive, easy-to-understand reference from Drs. Myron Yanoff and Joseph W. Sassani. Designed to keep you up to date with every aspect of the field, from current imaging techniques to genetics and molecular biology to clinical pearls, Ocular Pathology provides the concise yet complete information you need for board exams and clinical practice. Includes new coverage of genetics and molecular biology, complications in diabetes mellitus, and the role of new drugs and other treatments for macular degeneration. Covers the latest imaging techniques, including optical coherence tomography (OCT), anterior segment OCT (AS-OCT) and OCT-angiography. Contains new images throughout that provide updated correlations between pathological and clinical aspects of each disorder. Clinicopathological correlations are presented with side-by-side image comparisons to make clinical pearl boxes even more useful. Features more than 1,900 illustrations from the collections of internationally renowned leaders in ocular pathology. Presents information in a quick-reference outline format - ideal for today's busy physician. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Ocular rigidity, biomechanics and hydrodynamics of the eye by
Ocular Rigidity, Biomechanics and Hydrodynamics of the Eye summarises recent evidence on ocular rigidity, but also provides a complete presentation of the data so far. The authors have recently worked on ocular rigidity corneal and globe biomechanics and hydrodynamics and the new, up-to-date data on the subject are highlighted in each chapter. The aim is to provide the framework or the understanding of these parameters and to determine their relevance in health and disease. This book will be an essential read for all practicing ophthalmologists looking to gain a more in-depth understanding of this interesting area of research particularly in refractive surgery and glaucoma.
The Pediatric Eye Exam Quick Reference Guide: office and emergency room procedures by
There is a need for comprehensive books that provide crucial information in a clear and direct manner, particularly in the medical field. Currently, there are limited resources available to students and clinicians that provide step-by-step procedures with pictures on how to examine the eye in the pediatric population. The Pediatric Eye Exam Quick Reference Guide: Office and Emergency Room Procedures is a clinical procedure book to provide step-by-step pediatric eye care examination techniques and is an important addition to the field of eye care. The chapters are written by leading pediatric optometrists and ophthalmologists in the field. Years of academic and clinical experiences from schools of optometry, hospital-based eye care, and private practice are all presented in a user-friendly format with clinical pearls and insights that will help any clinician perform a pediatric eye exam easily and efficiently. Covering a range of critical topics such as pupil examination, visual field testing, refraction, and ocular emergencies and providing pictures, it is ideal for all students, residents, academicians, trainers, and novel and seasoned clinicians who are interested in learning how to examine a pediatric patient and staying on top of the latest pediatric eye care procedures.
Pickwell's Binocular Vision Anomalies by
Now in a fully up-to-date 6th Edition, Pickwell's Binocular Vision Anomalies provides a practical introduction to binocular vision, offering comprehensive theory, how-to clinical guidance, and a summary of current research in a single, consolidated volume. Ideally suited for both students and clinicians, this bestselling text serves as an accessible, evidence-based reference when faced with binocular vision or pediatric challenges. Covers routine examinations and testing protocols, including CISS questionnaire, cover test, foveal suppression, fixation disparity, four prism diopter base out test, Lindblom's method, and double Maddox rod test. Includes numerous video clips of key testing procedures, including new clips on Mallett fixation disparity test and fusional reserve testing, as well as an interactive video quiz to help you test your knowledge. Features sweeping content updates such as the latest information on 3-D displays, therapeutic uses of computer games and virtual reality for vision therapy, computerized testing methodologies, binocular and accommodative mechanisms associated with myopia, updated prescribing criteria, therapeutic use of contact lenses, detection of pathology associated with strabismus, drugs causing diplopia, and the evidence-based treatment of convergence insufficiency syndrome and amblyopia. Contains helpful study features throughout, including Clinical Key Points boxes, step-by-step test routines, typical features of extraocular muscle palsies and syndromes, and Case Study boxes that cover important clinical and legal scenarios, and new boxes that summarize testing procedures for each of the main binocular vision tests. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The pocket guide to glaucoma by
The Pocket Guide to Glaucoma provides essential information on glaucoma for medical students, residents, fellows, and general ophthalmologists. Drs. Joseph F. Panarelli, Davinder Grover, Arsham Sheybani, and colleagues have designed this book as the ultimate quick-read manual on glaucoma, using a conversational tone that allows readers to retain information in the most effective manner. Medical students, residents, and fellows can use this accessible, high-yield handbook during their rotations to familiarize themselves with the essentials on glaucoma, while general ophthalmologists will be glad to have it as a quick reference guide to current best practices. Each chapter in The Pocket Guide to Glaucoma is arranged in short, easy-to-read sections and is accompanied by numerous color photographs to aid in recognition and retention. Among the topics covered: Optic nerve head imaging, Laser procedures for glaucoma, Medical therapy for glaucoma, Microinvasive glaucoma surgery, Traditional glaucoma surgery : pearls and pitfalls, Landmark glaucoma trials Eye care providers at all skill levels will benefit from the high-yield, quick-access information contained in The Pocket Guide to Glaucoma, whether they are preparing for their first surgeries or are longtime physicians
Practical Guide to Interpret Visual Fields by
The visual field refers to the total area in which objects can be seen in the side (peripheral) vision when the eyes are focused on a central point. Glaucoma is a condition of the eye in which the optic nerve is damaged due to increased fluid pressure in the eye. If untreated or uncontrolled, glaucoma first causes peripheral vision loss and eventually can lead to blindness. A visual field test is a method of measuring an individual's entire scope of vision, that is their central and peripheral (side) vision. The test is most frequently used to help detect glaucoma but may also be used for detection of central or peripheral diseases of the retina, eyelid conditions such as drooping (ptosis), optic nerve damage and disease, and conditions affecting the visual pathways from the optic nerve to the area of the brain (occipital cortex) where this information is processed into vision. The fourth edition of this comprehensive text provides ophthalmologists and trainees with a guide to the interpretation of visual field tests and subsequent diagnosis and management of ocular disorders. The book has been fully revised and features additional topics including two new classification systems for glaucoma. Nearly 800 clinical photographs and diagrams further enhance learning. Key points Comprehensive guide to interpretation of visual field tests and diagnosis of ocular disorders Fully revised fourth edition featuring many new topics Features nearly 800 clinical photographs and diagrams Previous edition (9788184488661) published in 2008
Clinical Ethics: a Practical Approach to Ethical Decisions in Clinical Medicine (9th Ed.) by
The go-to textbook on the increasingly important and rapidly evolving topic of medical ethics Ethical issues are embedded in every clinical encounter between patients and clinicians. In order to practice excellent clinical care, clinicians must understand ethical issues such as informed consent, decisional capacity, surrogate decision making, truth telling, confidentiality, privacy, the distinction between research and clinical care, and end-of-life care. This popular, clinically-oriented guide provides crystal-clear case-based coverage of the ethical situations encountered in everyday medical practice. Clinical Ethics introduces the proven Four Box Method--a much-needed pattern for collecting, sorting, and ordering the facts of a clinical ethical problem. This easy-to-apply system is based on simple questions about medical indications, patient preferences, quality of life, and contextual features that explain clinical ethics and help clinicians formulate a sound diagnosis and treatment strategy. In each chapter, the authors discuss case examples and provide analysis, comments, and specific recommendations. The book is divided into the four topics that constitute the essential ethical structure of every clinical encounter: Medical Indications, Preferences of Patients Quality of Life Contextual Features
Fix IT: See and solve the problems of digital healthcare by
New technologies like AI, medical apps and implants seem very exciting but they too often have bugs and are susceptible to cyberattacks. Even well-established technologies like infusion pumps, pacemakers and radiotherapy aren't immune. Until digital healthcare improves, digital risk means that patients may be harmed unnecessarily, and healthcare staff will continue to be blamed for problems when it's not their fault. This book tells stories of widespread problems with digital healthcare. The stories inspire and challenge anyone who wants to make hospitals and healthcare better. The stories and their resolutions will empower patients, clinical staff and digital developers to help transform digital healthcare to make it safer and more effective. This book is not just about the bugs and cybersecurity threats that affect digital healthcare. More importantly, it's about the solutions that can make digital healthcare much safer.
Grow Your Eye Care Practice: high-impact pearls from the marketing experts by
A crash course in marketing for eye care professionals, Grow Your Eye Care Practice: High Impact Pearls from the Marketing Experts guides readers through this crucial area of business development. With an increase in patients undergoing elective procedures and an increase in the amount of providers, marketing has become the most important way for eye care professionals to grow their practices and differentiate themselves from their competition. Since marketing is not addressed in any formal course in medical school, optometry school, residency or fellowship, many eye care professionals lack basic understanding and skills in this area of growing importance to their businesses. To meet this critical need, editor Dr. Ming Wang and associate editors Shareef Mahdavi, Michael Malley and Dr. Tracy Swartz have created this essential, timely handbook aggregating the key ophthalmic marketing pearls, teachings and experiences of some of the leading national and international marketing experts. Grow Your Eye Care Practice begins with an overview of the history and current state of ophthalmic marketing, including a fascinating look at the commoditization of eye care as was demonstrated with the introduction of LASIK. The core chapters address foundational and innovative marketing concepts and their application to eye care, including: Market research, segmentation, targeting and positioning Patient experience Branding versus call to action Word of mouth referrals Digital marketing, including social media, websites and SEO Innovative marketing approaches Ethics and laws governing medical marketing Upcoming disruptive marketing technologies Grow Your Eye Care Practice: High Impact Pearls from the Marketing Experts is an indispensable desktop reference for all eye care professionals--ophthalmologists, optometrists, administrators, practice managers, business associates, residents, fellows, medical students and optometry students - who wish to improve their marketing skills, grow their practices and differentiate themselves from their competition.
Innovative staff development in healthcare by
This book explains how staff development is an important element for a sustainable staff structure health care facilities.
At the end each chapter the reader finds a to-do-list, to replicate the project. The book is devided into 4 parts: 1. Practicing culture change, 2. Learning emotional intelligence, 3. Establishing interprofessional collaboration and 4. How to create the future of healthcare. Anticipating these options and experiences will help leaders to inspire their teams with practical ideas.
To find the right trainings for staff development can be time consuming. With this overview about international successful projects the reader has an update about innovations in healthcare and uses the knowledge for the reader's own team or healthcare institution.
Life on the Line: young doctors come of age in a pandemic by
The gripping account of six young doctors enlisted to fight COVID-19, an engrossing, eye-opening book in the tradition of both Sheri Fink's Five Days at Memorial and Scott Turow's One L. In March 2020, soon-to-graduate medical students in New York City were nervously awaiting "match day" when they would learn where they would begin their residencies. Only a week later, these young physicians learned that they would be sent to the front lines of the desperate battle to save lives as the coronavirus plunged the city into crisis. Taking the Hippocratic Oath via Zoom, these new doctors were sent into iconic New York hospitals including Bellevue and Montefiore, the epicenters of the epicenter. In this powerful book, New York Times journalist Emma Goldberg offers an up-close portrait of six bright yet inexperienced health professionals, each of whom defies a stereotype about who gets to don a doctor's white coat. Goldberg illuminates how the pandemic redefines what it means for them to undergo this trial by fire as caregivers, colleagues, classmates, friends, romantic partners and concerned family members. Woven together from in-depth interviews with the doctors, their notes, and Goldberg's own extensive reporting, this page-turning narrative is an unforgettable depiction of a crisis unfolding in real time and a timeless and unique chronicle of the rite of passage of young doctors.
Medical Decision-Making on Behalf of Young Children: A Comparative Perspective by
In the wake of the Charlie Gard and Alfie Evans cases, a wide-ranging international conversation was started regarding alternative thresholds for intervention and the different balances that can be made in weighing up the rights and interests of the child, the parent's rights and responsibilities and the role of medical professionals and the courts. This collection provides a comparative perspective on these issues by bringing together analysis from a range of jurisdictions across Europe, North and South America, Africa and Asia. Contextualising the differences and similarities, and drawing out the cultural and social values that inform the approach in different countries, this volume is highly valuable to scholars across jurisdictions, not only to inform their own local debate on how best to navigate such cases, but also to foster inter-jurisdictional debate on the issues. The book brings together commentators from the fields of law, medical ethics, and clinical medicine across the world, actively drawing on the view from the clinic as well as philosophical, legal and sociological perspectives on the crucial question of who should decide about the fate of a child suffering from a serious illness. In doing so, the collection offers comprehensive treatment of the key questions around whether the current best interests approach is still appropriate, and if not, what the alternatives are. It engages head-on with the concerns seen in both the academic and popular literature that there is a need to reconsider the orthodoxy in this area.
New Leadership for Today's Health Care Professionals by
Rubino 2e Marketing CopyThe health care sector has experienced dramatic change both through the implementation of the Affordable Care Act as well as ongoing efforts to repeal it. In forthcoming years, health professionals will need to lead in what may be a very different environment with potentially more privatization and less government funding and restrictions. New Leadership for Today's Health Care Professionals: Cases and Concepts, Second Edition explores various components of the health care system and how leaders should respond in these arenas. The Second Edition is a thorough revision that offers a comprehensive view of the leadership competencies necessary to be successful in today's healthcare industry. Each chapter is written by a leader in the healthcare industry under the guidance of the editors who have many years' experience in academia.Written with the undergraduate health professional student in mind, the book covers essential leadership concepts and offers many pedagogical features to engage the student in learning. Cases related to each chapter topic are woven into the text to help the student comprehend the practical side of the principles examined.Key Features:* Examines leadership from the perspective of the changes taking place in our nation and how leaders need to adjust to be effective* Offers new case studies a new chapter on global healthcare leadership * Highlights important concepts in health care leadership such as cultural competency, teamwork, patient- and family-centered leadership, community outreach, and physician collaboration.
On Becoming a Healer: the journey from patient care to caring about your patients by
An invaluable guide to becoming a competent and compassionate physician. Medical students and physicians-in-training embark on a long journey that, although steeped in scientific learning and technical skill building, includes little guidance on the emotional and interpersonal dimensions of becoming a healer. Written for anyone in the health care community who hopes to grow emotionally and cognitively in the way they interact with patients, On Becoming a Healer explains how to foster doctor-patient relationships that are mutually nourishing. Dr. Saul J. Weiner, a physician-educator, argues that joy in medicine requires more than idealistic aspirations--it demands a capacity to see past the "otherness" that separates the well from the sick, the professional in a white coat from the disheveled patient in a hospital gown. Weiner scrutinizes the medical school indoctrination process and explains how it molds the physician's mindset into that of a task completer rather than a thoughtful professional. Taking a personal approach, Weiner describes his own journey to becoming an internist and pediatrician while offering concrete advice on how to take stock of your current development as a physician, how to openly and fully engage with patients, and how to establish clear boundaries that help defuse emotionally charged situations. Readers will learn how to counter judgmentalism, how to make medical decisions that take into account the whole patient, and how to incorporate the organizing principle of healing into their practice. Each chapter ends with questions for reflection and discussion to help personalize the lessons for individual learners.
Patient Satisfaction: Determinants, Psychological Implications and Impact on Quality of Life by
Patient Satisfaction: Determinants, Psychological Implications and Impact on Quality of Life first provides an in-depth, evidence-based review of the patient outcomes associated with patient experience measures across a wide range of specialties and settings.The authors describe the instruments used to assess patient and family satisfaction, focusing on the presentation of various factors related to satisfaction in the field of child and adolescent psychiatry.Current literature on the factors which impact patient quality of life are explored and reviewed in the context of breast reconstruction, using assessment tools such as the BREAST-Q.
A practical guide to emergency telehealth by
Telemedicine is a rapidly growing field in healthcare and emergency medicine. Telemedicine, telehealth, and virtual health are often used interchangeably, but have unique definitions. Collectively, they refer to the use of telecommunications technology and electronic information to support health and provide care over distance. (Nesbitt TS, 2020) Telehealth and Telemedicine both describe the "use of medical information exchanged from one site to another via electronic communications to improve the patient's health status".(Institute of Medicine, 2012) Telemedicine is generally limited to direct clinical provider-to-patient care. Telehealth services include but are not limited to clinical care, health screening and prevention, health maintenance, professional health-related education, public health, and health administration. (Sikka, 2019) Virtual Health, e-health and digital health refer to an even broader array of digital information tools. The definition includes telehealth and extends further into other categories such as health information technology (IT), medical device data systems, electronic health records (EHRs), and clinical decision support tools.