Skip to Main Content
New Books: Research, Write, Publish
Individual Participant Data Meta-Analysis by Richard D. Riley; Jayne F. Tierney; Lesley A. Stewart (Editors)
Individual Participant Data Meta-Analysis: A Handbook for Healthcare Research provides a comprehensive introduction to the fundamental principles and methods that healthcare researchers need when considering, conducting or using individual participant data (IPD) meta-analysis projects. Written and edited by researchers with substantial experience in the field, the book details key concepts and practical guidance for each stage of an IPD meta-analysis project, alongside illustrated examples and summary learning points. Split into five parts, the book chapters take the reader through the journey from initiating and planning IPD projects to obtaining, checking, and meta-analysing IPD, and appraising and reporting findings. The book initially focuses on the synthesis of IPD from randomised trials to evaluate treatment effects, including the evaluation of participant-level effect modifiers (treatment-covariate interactions). Detailed extension is then made to specialist topics such as diagnostic test accuracy, prognostic factors, risk prediction models, and advanced statistical topics such as multivariate and network meta-analysis, power calculations, and missing data. Intended for a broad audience, the book will enable the reader to: Understand the advantages of the IPD approach and decide when it is needed over a conventional systematic review Recognise the scope, resources and challenges of IPD meta-analysis projects Appreciate the importance of a multi-disciplinary project team and close collaboration with the original study investigators Understand how to obtain, check, manage and harmonise IPD from multiple studies Examine risk of bias (quality) of IPD and minimise potential biases throughout the project Understand fundamental statistical methods for IPD meta-analysis, including two-stage and one-stage approaches (and their differences), and statistical software to implement them Clearly report and disseminate IPD meta-analyses to inform policy, practice and future research Critically appraise existing IPD meta-analysis projects Address specialist topics such as effect modification, multiple correlated outcomes, multiple treatment comparisons, non-linear relationships, test accuracy at multiple thresholds, multiple imputation, and developing and validating clinical prediction models Detailed examples and case studies are provided throughout.
Publication Date: 2021
Making Research Matter: steps to impact for health and care researchers by Tara Lamont
Written by a leading expert in the field, this practical and accessible book is an essential guide to knowledge exchange, impact and research dissemination in health and social care. Providing the why, what, who, how and when of research impact, the book helps researchers turn raw findings into useful, high-impact evidence for policymakers, practitioners and the public. It includes insightful interviews from leading journalists, science communicators, researchers and influencers in health and social care, as well as practical exercises, insider tips and case studies. The book will help researchers at all stages of their career to maximise the impact of their work.
Publication Date: 2021
The Practical Guide to Clinical Research and Publication by Uzung Yoon
The Practical Guide to Clinical Research and Publication provides a comprehensive overview of the key foundations of epidemiology, statistics and epidemiological studies. This book presents the most important terms and knowledge in the field from a medical point-of-view. Sections contain numerous, clinically-oriented examples and drawings to facilitate understanding and clarify the relation to clinic and practice. The book contains many graphics and key points for easier understanding and is written using bullet points for ease of use and comprehension. It is ideal for physicians and clinical researchers who want to use it as guidance for clinical research or teaching.
Publication Date: 2021
Principles and Practice of Clinical Trials by Steven Piantadosi; Curtis L. Meinert (Editors)
This is a comprehensive major reference work for our SpringerReference program covering clinical trials. Although the core of the Work will focus on the design, analysis, and interpretation of scientific data from clinical trials, a broad spectrum of clinical trial application areas will be covered in detail. This is an important time to develop such a Work, as drug safety and efficacy emphasizes the Clinical Trials process. Because of an immense and growing international disease burden, pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies continue to develop new drugs. Clinical trials have also become extremely globalized in the past 15 years, with over 225,000 international trials ongoing at this point in time. Principles in Practice of Clinical Trials is truly an interdisciplinary that will be divided into the following areas: 1) Clinical Trials Basic Perspectives 2) Regulation and Oversight 3) Basic Trial Designs 4) Advanced Trial Designs 5) Analysis 6) Trial Publication 7) Topics Related Specific Populations and Legal Aspects of Clinical Trials The Work is designed to be comprised of 175 chapters and approximately 2500 pages. The Work will be oriented like many of our SpringerReference Handbooks, presenting detailed and comprehensive expository chapters on broad subjects. The Editors are major figures in the field of clinical trials, and both have written textbooks on the topic. There will also be a slate of 7-8 renowned associate editors that will edit individual sections of the Reference.
Publication Date: 2022
Quantitative Research Methodology in the Health Sciences by Molina-Mula, Jesús
This book explains in a practical and dynamic way the relevant aspects of quantitative research methodology in health sciences. It explores research paradigms, the foundations of evidence-based clinical practice, the formulation, through different models, of the research question and objectives, definition of the scope of study, population and sample, and the classification of research variables. The book also considers different quantitative research designs, distinguishing between observational studies and experimental studies, the main quantitative data collection techniques, including some guidelines for the validation of questionnaires, descriptive statistical analysis, and inferential analysis. It will allow the reader to understand, in a simple way, the phases of the scientific method applied to quantitative research in health, acquire basic and advanced skills for the development of a health research project from a quantitative perspective, and develop the conceptual phase with the definition of the research problem, its objectives, and working hypotheses.
Publication Date: 2022
Researching with Care: Applying Feminist Care Ethics to Research Practice by Tula Brannelly; Marian Barnes
What are the implications of caring about the things we research? How does that affect how we research, who we research with and what we do with our results? Proposing what Joan C. Tronto has called a 'paradigm shift' in research thinking, this book invites researchers across disciplines and fields of study to do research that thinks and acts with care. The authors draw on their own and others' experiences of researching, the troubles they encounter and the opportunities generated when research is approached as a caring practice. Care ethics provides a guide, from starting out, designing and conducting projects to thinking about research legacies. It offers a way in which research can help repair harms and promote justice.
Publication Date: 2022
Revise : the scholar-writer's essential guide to tweaking, editing, and perfecting your manuscript by Haag, Pamela
A helpful, engaging guide to the revision of scholarly writing by an editor and award-winning author "Pamela Haag has been called 'the tenure whisperer' for good reason. Any scholar who hopes to attract a wider audience of readers will benefit from the brilliant, step-by-step guidance shared here. It's pure gold for all aspiring nonfiction writers."--Nancy MacLean, author of Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right's Stealth Plan for America Writing and revision are two different skills. Many scholar-writers have learned something about how to write, but fewer know how to read and revise their own writing, spot editorial issues, and transform a draft from passable to great. Drawing on before and after examples from more than a decade as a developmental editor of scholarly works, Pamela Haag tackles the most common challenges of scholarly writing. This book is packed with practical, user-friendly advice and is written with warmth, humor, sympathy, and flair. With an inspiring passion for natural language, Haag demonstrates how to reconcile clarity with intellectual complexity. Designed to be an in-the-trenches desktop reference, this indispensable resource can help scholars develop a productive self-editing habit, advise their graduate and other students on style, and, ultimately, get their work published and praised
Publication Date: 2021
A Roadmap to Successful Scientific Publishing: the dos, the don'ts and the must-knows by Sarah Cuschieri
In the age of "publish or perish," this book provides everything one needs to know about conducting research and successfully publishing it in a scientific journal. The reader learns about the complete process of scientific publishing: from selecting the most appropriate research design, to obtaining permissions and funding, to resourcefully presenting the research results in a poster and oral presentation. Additionally, the practical tips provided here help the reader formulate a compelling scientific article and choose the most suitable journal (subscription vs. the various open access modalities) for their publication. This book also addresses "invisible aspects" of scholarly publishing that are nonetheless important and that everyone should know and understand: avoiding predatory journals, understanding the editor's perspective, and becoming familiar with the various research metrics (from author to journal) that can all determine success or failure of a publication. Written in an informal style in which the author shares personal perspectives and experiences, the book is easily accessible to the reader. The book offers early career scientists in biomedicine and medicine a unique perspective on publishing research articles and how this process can enhance the authors' "scientific value" within the scientific ecosystem as well as their personal CVs.
Publication Date: 2022
The Scientist's Guide to Writing: how to write more easily and effectively throughout your scientific career, 2nd Edition by Stephen B. Heard
An updated and expanded edition of the acclaimed writing guide for scientists The Scientist's Guide to Writing explains the essential techniques that students, postdocs, and early-career scientists need to write more clearly, efficiently, and easily. Now fully updated and expanded, this incisive primer offers practical advice on such topics as generating and maintaining writing momentum, structuring a scientific paper, revising a first draft, handling citations, responding to peer reviews, managing coauthorships, and more. The ability to write clearly is critical to any scientific career. The Scientist's Guide to Writing shows scientists how to become better writers so that their ideas have the greatest possible impact. New chapters discuss effective reading, choosing the right journal for your research, and the advantages and disadvantages of posting preprints Provides additional advice on reporting statistical results, dealing with conflicting peer reviews, managing coauthorships, writing with English as an additional language, and more Emphasizes writing as a process, not just a product Encourages habits that improve motivation and productivity Offers detailed guidance on submission, review, revision, and publication Includes a wealth of new exercises
Publication Date: 2022
Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers: a primer for the non-English speaker by Gábor L. Lövei
Gábor Lövei's scientific communication course for students and scientists explores the intricacies involved in publishing primary scientific papers, and has been taught in more than twenty countries. Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers is the distillation of Lövei's lecture notes and experience gathered over two decades; it is the coursebook many have been waiting for. The book's three main sections correspond with the three main stages of a paper's journey from idea to print: planning, writing, and publishing. Within the book's chapters, complex questions such as 'How to write the introduction?' or 'How to submit a manuscript?' are broken down into smaller, more manageable problems that are then discussed in a straightforward, conversational manner, providing an easy and enjoyable reading experience. Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers stands out from its field by targeting scientists whose first language is not English. While also touching on matters of style and grammar, the book's main goal is to advise on first principles of communication. This book is an excellent resource for any student or scientist wishing to learn more about the scientific publishing process and scientific communication. It will be especially useful to those coming from outside the English-speaking world and looking for a comprehensive guide for publishing their work in English.
Publication Date: 2021
New Books: Neuro+
Circadian and Visual Neuroscience by Nayantara Santhi; Manuel Spitschan (Editors)
Circadian and Visual Neuroscience, Volume 273 in the Methods in Enzymology series, highlights new advances in the field with this new volume presenting interesting chapters on topics including Optical set-ups, Psychophysics of Luminance and Color Vision, Psychophysics of non-visual photoreception PRC/IRC/DRC/Spectral Sensitivity, Circadian and visual photometry, Modelling (retina), Modelling (circadian), Techniques for examining vision at the cellular level, Advanced techniques for characterizing the world hyperspectrally, Circadian physiology in mice: Melanopsin, Circadian physiology in mice: Color and cones, Translational aspects of animal studies, Retinal clocks, Primate non-visual physiology, Light and mood in animal models, and much more. Provides the authority and expertise of leading contributors from an international board of authors Presents the latest release in Progress in Brain Research series Updated release includes the latest information on Circadian and Visual Neuroscience
Publication Date: 2022
A Clinical Approach to Neuro-Ophthalmic Disorders by Vivek Lal (Editor)
Neuro-ophthalmology is a merged subspecialty of neurology and ophthalmology dealing with complex multisystem diseases presenting with visual manifestations. This book helps the reader in recognizing, approaching, and managing such a patient. It covers the afferent and efferent systems, pupillary disorders, and Radiology of neuro-ophthalmic conditions. It features individual symptomatology with salient points, their management and differential diagnosis. It has case scenarios, key points, and algorithms along with self-assessment MCQ questions. Its simplified, step wise approach will be a useful resource for neurologists, ophthalmologists, physicians, pediatricians, and optometrists. Key Features * Features a simplified and stepwise clinical approach to neuro-ophthalmic disorders. * Includes case studies and clinical pearls along with self-assessment sections. * Covers to the point and crisp analysis of common complaints faced in neuro-ophthalmology. All the royalties of this book are donated to the Poor Patients Cell of PGIMER, Chandigarh.
Publication Date: 2022
Clinical Neurology and Neuroanatomy: a Localization-Based Approach, Second Edition by Aaron L. Berkowitz
An engagingly written text that integrates neuroanatomy and neurological disease Clinical Neurology and Neuroanatomy, Second Edition delivers a clear, logical discussion of the complex relationship between neuroanatomical structure and function and neurologic disease. Written in a consistent, easy-to-read narrative voice, this unique text offers a concise overview of fundamental neuroanatomy and the clinical localization principles necessary to diagnose and treat patients with neurologic diseases and disorders. Unlike other neurology textbooks that either focus on neuroanatomy or clinical neurology, Clinical Neurology and Neuroanatomy combines the two in manner which simulates the way neurologists learn, teach, and think. This updated second edition includes access to animated video lectures given by the author that offer an entire, flipped classroom course on the fundamentals of clinical neurology and neuroanatomy. Clinical Neurology and Neuroanatomy provides: * A clear, concise approach to explaining the complex relationship between neuroanatomical structure and function and neurologic disease * Numerous full-color illustrations and high resolution MRI and CT scans * Explanatory tables outline the clinical features, characteristics, and differential diagnosis of neurologic diseases and disorders * Access to informative video lectures given by the author
Publication Date: 2022
Cognitive and Neural Modeling for Visual Information Representation and Memorization by Limiao Deng
"Focusing on how visual information is represented, stored and extracted in the human brain, this book uses cognitive neural modeling in order to show how visual information is represented and memorized in the brain. Breaking through traditional visual information processing methods, the author combines our understanding of perception and memory from the human brain with computer vision technology, and provides a new approach for image recognition and classification. While biological visual cognition models and human brain memory models are established, applications such as pest recognition and carrot detection are also involved in this book. Given the range of topics covered, this book is a valuable resource for students, researchers and practitioners interested in the rapidly evolving field of neurocomputing, computer vision and machine learning"--
Publication Date: 2022
Controversies in Neuro-Ophthalmic Management : an evidence and case-based appraisal by Amanda D. Henderson; Andrew R. Carey (Editors)
This book functions as a resource for providers who treat patients with neuro-ophthalmic conditions. Using an evidence-based approach to controversial management decisions, the material is presented in a digestible, case-based format. Divided into six sections, the book begins with an introduction to its framework, format, and purpose. Following this, sections two, three, and four discuss various optic neuropathies, ocular motility disorders, and transient visual symptoms. The concluding sections then address neuro-ophthalmic manifestations of pain, including migraine and post-concussive syndrome, and systemic diseases, such as giant cell arteritis. Each chapter focuses on cases that are historically complex, or which have undergone a recent shift in traditional management due to new scientific discoveries or newly available therapies. Controversies in Neuro-Ophthalmic Management presents essential, thorough information on management options and the data for their use to provide the best care for patients.
Publication Date: 2022
Deep Convolutional Neural Network for the Prognosis of Diabetic Retinopathy by A. Shanthini; Gunasekaran Manogaran; G. Vadivu
This book discusses a detailed overview of diabetic retinopathy, symptoms, causes, and screening methodologies. Using a deep convolution neural network and visualizations techniques, this work develops a prognosis system used to automatically detect the diabetic retinopathy disease from captured retina images and help improve the prediction rate of diagnosis. This book gives the readers an understanding of the diabetic retinopathy disease and recognition process that helps to improve the clinical analysis efficiency. It caters to general ophthalmologists and optometrists, diabetologists, and internists who encounter diabetic patients and most prevalent retinal diseases daily.
Publication Date: 2022
Eye Tracking: Background, Methods, and Applications by Samuel Stuart (Editor)
This volume explores the latest eye-tracking methodologies that help researchers understand the background, methods, and applications involved in these studies. The chapters in this book cover topics such as methods and models of eye-tracking in natural environments; natural gaze informatics (i.e., assisted wheelchair mobility); eye-tracking application to understand the visual control of locomotion; eye movement in neurological disorders; and eye movements in sports research and practice. In the Neuromethods series style, chapters include the kind of detail and key advice from the specialists needed to get successful results in your laboratory. Cutting-edge and practical, Eye Tracking: Background, Methods, and Applications is a valuable resource for experienced and novice researchers interested in learning more about this field and its future developments.
Publication Date: 2022
Neuro-Ophthalmology and Neuro-Otology: a case -based guide for clinicians and scientists by Daniel Gold
This book combines the complexities of neuro-ophthalmologic and neuro-otologic disorders into one concise guidebook. It focuses on the basics of these two challenging subspecialties, encountered by the neurologist, ophthalmologist, otolaryngologist, neurosurgeon, emergency medicine provider, and others. Comprehensive and succinct, the book contains chapters examining representative case vignettes that highlight typical historical elements and exam findings that aid in diagnosing a specific disease, disorder, or syndrome. Before each heading, chapters offer a brief review of relevant anatomy, physiology, and examination techniques. Additionally, symptom-based tables guide the practitioner to a focused history and examination for rapid real-time triage and diagnosis. Practical and case-based, Neuro-Ophthalmology and Neuro-Otology is an invaluable resource for practitioners, trainees, and residents in various fields.
Publication Date: 2022
Neurology of Vision and Visual Disorders by Jason J. S. Barton; Alexander Leff (Editors)
Neurology of Vision and Visual Disorders, Volume 178 in the Handbooks of Neurology series provides comprehensive summaries of recent research on the brain and nervous system. This volume reviews alterations in vision that stem from the retina to the cortex. Coverage includes content on vision and driving derived from the large amount of time devoted in clinics to determining who is safe to drive, along with research on the interplay between visual loss, attention and strategic compensations that may determine driving suitability. The title concludes with vision therapies and the evidence behind these approaches. Each chapter is co-written by a basic scientist collaborating with a clinician to provide a solid underpinning of the mechanisms behind the clinical syndromes.
ISBN: 0128213779
Publication Date: 2021
Individual Participant Data Meta-Analysis by
Individual Participant Data Meta-Analysis: A Handbook for Healthcare Research provides a comprehensive introduction to the fundamental principles and methods that healthcare researchers need when considering, conducting or using individual participant data (IPD) meta-analysis projects. Written and edited by researchers with substantial experience in the field, the book details key concepts and practical guidance for each stage of an IPD meta-analysis project, alongside illustrated examples and summary learning points. Split into five parts, the book chapters take the reader through the journey from initiating and planning IPD projects to obtaining, checking, and meta-analysing IPD, and appraising and reporting findings. The book initially focuses on the synthesis of IPD from randomised trials to evaluate treatment effects, including the evaluation of participant-level effect modifiers (treatment-covariate interactions). Detailed extension is then made to specialist topics such as diagnostic test accuracy, prognostic factors, risk prediction models, and advanced statistical topics such as multivariate and network meta-analysis, power calculations, and missing data. Intended for a broad audience, the book will enable the reader to: Understand the advantages of the IPD approach and decide when it is needed over a conventional systematic review Recognise the scope, resources and challenges of IPD meta-analysis projects Appreciate the importance of a multi-disciplinary project team and close collaboration with the original study investigators Understand how to obtain, check, manage and harmonise IPD from multiple studies Examine risk of bias (quality) of IPD and minimise potential biases throughout the project Understand fundamental statistical methods for IPD meta-analysis, including two-stage and one-stage approaches (and their differences), and statistical software to implement them Clearly report and disseminate IPD meta-analyses to inform policy, practice and future research Critically appraise existing IPD meta-analysis projects Address specialist topics such as effect modification, multiple correlated outcomes, multiple treatment comparisons, non-linear relationships, test accuracy at multiple thresholds, multiple imputation, and developing and validating clinical prediction models Detailed examples and case studies are provided throughout.
Making Research Matter: steps to impact for health and care researchers by
Written by a leading expert in the field, this practical and accessible book is an essential guide to knowledge exchange, impact and research dissemination in health and social care. Providing the why, what, who, how and when of research impact, the book helps researchers turn raw findings into useful, high-impact evidence for policymakers, practitioners and the public. It includes insightful interviews from leading journalists, science communicators, researchers and influencers in health and social care, as well as practical exercises, insider tips and case studies. The book will help researchers at all stages of their career to maximise the impact of their work.
The Practical Guide to Clinical Research and Publication by
The Practical Guide to Clinical Research and Publication provides a comprehensive overview of the key foundations of epidemiology, statistics and epidemiological studies. This book presents the most important terms and knowledge in the field from a medical point-of-view. Sections contain numerous, clinically-oriented examples and drawings to facilitate understanding and clarify the relation to clinic and practice. The book contains many graphics and key points for easier understanding and is written using bullet points for ease of use and comprehension. It is ideal for physicians and clinical researchers who want to use it as guidance for clinical research or teaching.
Principles and Practice of Clinical Trials by
This is a comprehensive major reference work for our SpringerReference program covering clinical trials. Although the core of the Work will focus on the design, analysis, and interpretation of scientific data from clinical trials, a broad spectrum of clinical trial application areas will be covered in detail. This is an important time to develop such a Work, as drug safety and efficacy emphasizes the Clinical Trials process. Because of an immense and growing international disease burden, pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies continue to develop new drugs. Clinical trials have also become extremely globalized in the past 15 years, with over 225,000 international trials ongoing at this point in time. Principles in Practice of Clinical Trials is truly an interdisciplinary that will be divided into the following areas: 1) Clinical Trials Basic Perspectives 2) Regulation and Oversight 3) Basic Trial Designs 4) Advanced Trial Designs 5) Analysis 6) Trial Publication 7) Topics Related Specific Populations and Legal Aspects of Clinical Trials The Work is designed to be comprised of 175 chapters and approximately 2500 pages. The Work will be oriented like many of our SpringerReference Handbooks, presenting detailed and comprehensive expository chapters on broad subjects. The Editors are major figures in the field of clinical trials, and both have written textbooks on the topic. There will also be a slate of 7-8 renowned associate editors that will edit individual sections of the Reference.
Quantitative Research Methodology in the Health Sciences by
This book explains in a practical and dynamic way the relevant aspects of quantitative research methodology in health sciences. It explores research paradigms, the foundations of evidence-based clinical practice, the formulation, through different models, of the research question and objectives, definition of the scope of study, population and sample, and the classification of research variables. The book also considers different quantitative research designs, distinguishing between observational studies and experimental studies, the main quantitative data collection techniques, including some guidelines for the validation of questionnaires, descriptive statistical analysis, and inferential analysis. It will allow the reader to understand, in a simple way, the phases of the scientific method applied to quantitative research in health, acquire basic and advanced skills for the development of a health research project from a quantitative perspective, and develop the conceptual phase with the definition of the research problem, its objectives, and working hypotheses.
Researching with Care: Applying Feminist Care Ethics to Research Practice by
What are the implications of caring about the things we research? How does that affect how we research, who we research with and what we do with our results? Proposing what Joan C. Tronto has called a 'paradigm shift' in research thinking, this book invites researchers across disciplines and fields of study to do research that thinks and acts with care. The authors draw on their own and others' experiences of researching, the troubles they encounter and the opportunities generated when research is approached as a caring practice. Care ethics provides a guide, from starting out, designing and conducting projects to thinking about research legacies. It offers a way in which research can help repair harms and promote justice.
Revise : the scholar-writer's essential guide to tweaking, editing, and perfecting your manuscript by
A helpful, engaging guide to the revision of scholarly writing by an editor and award-winning author "Pamela Haag has been called 'the tenure whisperer' for good reason. Any scholar who hopes to attract a wider audience of readers will benefit from the brilliant, step-by-step guidance shared here. It's pure gold for all aspiring nonfiction writers."--Nancy MacLean, author of Democracy in Chains: The Deep History of the Radical Right's Stealth Plan for America Writing and revision are two different skills. Many scholar-writers have learned something about how to write, but fewer know how to read and revise their own writing, spot editorial issues, and transform a draft from passable to great. Drawing on before and after examples from more than a decade as a developmental editor of scholarly works, Pamela Haag tackles the most common challenges of scholarly writing. This book is packed with practical, user-friendly advice and is written with warmth, humor, sympathy, and flair. With an inspiring passion for natural language, Haag demonstrates how to reconcile clarity with intellectual complexity. Designed to be an in-the-trenches desktop reference, this indispensable resource can help scholars develop a productive self-editing habit, advise their graduate and other students on style, and, ultimately, get their work published and praised
A Roadmap to Successful Scientific Publishing: the dos, the don'ts and the must-knows by
In the age of "publish or perish," this book provides everything one needs to know about conducting research and successfully publishing it in a scientific journal. The reader learns about the complete process of scientific publishing: from selecting the most appropriate research design, to obtaining permissions and funding, to resourcefully presenting the research results in a poster and oral presentation. Additionally, the practical tips provided here help the reader formulate a compelling scientific article and choose the most suitable journal (subscription vs. the various open access modalities) for their publication. This book also addresses "invisible aspects" of scholarly publishing that are nonetheless important and that everyone should know and understand: avoiding predatory journals, understanding the editor's perspective, and becoming familiar with the various research metrics (from author to journal) that can all determine success or failure of a publication. Written in an informal style in which the author shares personal perspectives and experiences, the book is easily accessible to the reader. The book offers early career scientists in biomedicine and medicine a unique perspective on publishing research articles and how this process can enhance the authors' "scientific value" within the scientific ecosystem as well as their personal CVs.
The Scientist's Guide to Writing: how to write more easily and effectively throughout your scientific career, 2nd Edition by
An updated and expanded edition of the acclaimed writing guide for scientists The Scientist's Guide to Writing explains the essential techniques that students, postdocs, and early-career scientists need to write more clearly, efficiently, and easily. Now fully updated and expanded, this incisive primer offers practical advice on such topics as generating and maintaining writing momentum, structuring a scientific paper, revising a first draft, handling citations, responding to peer reviews, managing coauthorships, and more. The ability to write clearly is critical to any scientific career. The Scientist's Guide to Writing shows scientists how to become better writers so that their ideas have the greatest possible impact. New chapters discuss effective reading, choosing the right journal for your research, and the advantages and disadvantages of posting preprints Provides additional advice on reporting statistical results, dealing with conflicting peer reviews, managing coauthorships, writing with English as an additional language, and more Emphasizes writing as a process, not just a product Encourages habits that improve motivation and productivity Offers detailed guidance on submission, review, revision, and publication Includes a wealth of new exercises
Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers: a primer for the non-English speaker by
Gábor Lövei's scientific communication course for students and scientists explores the intricacies involved in publishing primary scientific papers, and has been taught in more than twenty countries. Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers is the distillation of Lövei's lecture notes and experience gathered over two decades; it is the coursebook many have been waiting for. The book's three main sections correspond with the three main stages of a paper's journey from idea to print: planning, writing, and publishing. Within the book's chapters, complex questions such as 'How to write the introduction?' or 'How to submit a manuscript?' are broken down into smaller, more manageable problems that are then discussed in a straightforward, conversational manner, providing an easy and enjoyable reading experience. Writing and Publishing Scientific Papers stands out from its field by targeting scientists whose first language is not English. While also touching on matters of style and grammar, the book's main goal is to advise on first principles of communication. This book is an excellent resource for any student or scientist wishing to learn more about the scientific publishing process and scientific communication. It will be especially useful to those coming from outside the English-speaking world and looking for a comprehensive guide for publishing their work in English.
Circadian and Visual Neuroscience by
Circadian and Visual Neuroscience, Volume 273 in the Methods in Enzymology series, highlights new advances in the field with this new volume presenting interesting chapters on topics including Optical set-ups, Psychophysics of Luminance and Color Vision, Psychophysics of non-visual photoreception PRC/IRC/DRC/Spectral Sensitivity, Circadian and visual photometry, Modelling (retina), Modelling (circadian), Techniques for examining vision at the cellular level, Advanced techniques for characterizing the world hyperspectrally, Circadian physiology in mice: Melanopsin, Circadian physiology in mice: Color and cones, Translational aspects of animal studies, Retinal clocks, Primate non-visual physiology, Light and mood in animal models, and much more. Provides the authority and expertise of leading contributors from an international board of authors Presents the latest release in Progress in Brain Research series Updated release includes the latest information on Circadian and Visual Neuroscience
A Clinical Approach to Neuro-Ophthalmic Disorders by
Neuro-ophthalmology is a merged subspecialty of neurology and ophthalmology dealing with complex multisystem diseases presenting with visual manifestations. This book helps the reader in recognizing, approaching, and managing such a patient. It covers the afferent and efferent systems, pupillary disorders, and Radiology of neuro-ophthalmic conditions. It features individual symptomatology with salient points, their management and differential diagnosis. It has case scenarios, key points, and algorithms along with self-assessment MCQ questions. Its simplified, step wise approach will be a useful resource for neurologists, ophthalmologists, physicians, pediatricians, and optometrists. Key Features * Features a simplified and stepwise clinical approach to neuro-ophthalmic disorders. * Includes case studies and clinical pearls along with self-assessment sections. * Covers to the point and crisp analysis of common complaints faced in neuro-ophthalmology. All the royalties of this book are donated to the Poor Patients Cell of PGIMER, Chandigarh.
Cognitive and Neural Modeling for Visual Information Representation and Memorization by
"Focusing on how visual information is represented, stored and extracted in the human brain, this book uses cognitive neural modeling in order to show how visual information is represented and memorized in the brain. Breaking through traditional visual information processing methods, the author combines our understanding of perception and memory from the human brain with computer vision technology, and provides a new approach for image recognition and classification. While biological visual cognition models and human brain memory models are established, applications such as pest recognition and carrot detection are also involved in this book. Given the range of topics covered, this book is a valuable resource for students, researchers and practitioners interested in the rapidly evolving field of neurocomputing, computer vision and machine learning"--
Controversies in Neuro-Ophthalmic Management : an evidence and case-based appraisal by
This book functions as a resource for providers who treat patients with neuro-ophthalmic conditions. Using an evidence-based approach to controversial management decisions, the material is presented in a digestible, case-based format. Divided into six sections, the book begins with an introduction to its framework, format, and purpose. Following this, sections two, three, and four discuss various optic neuropathies, ocular motility disorders, and transient visual symptoms. The concluding sections then address neuro-ophthalmic manifestations of pain, including migraine and post-concussive syndrome, and systemic diseases, such as giant cell arteritis. Each chapter focuses on cases that are historically complex, or which have undergone a recent shift in traditional management due to new scientific discoveries or newly available therapies. Controversies in Neuro-Ophthalmic Management presents essential, thorough information on management options and the data for their use to provide the best care for patients.
Deep Convolutional Neural Network for the Prognosis of Diabetic Retinopathy by
This book discusses a detailed overview of diabetic retinopathy, symptoms, causes, and screening methodologies. Using a deep convolution neural network and visualizations techniques, this work develops a prognosis system used to automatically detect the diabetic retinopathy disease from captured retina images and help improve the prediction rate of diagnosis. This book gives the readers an understanding of the diabetic retinopathy disease and recognition process that helps to improve the clinical analysis efficiency. It caters to general ophthalmologists and optometrists, diabetologists, and internists who encounter diabetic patients and most prevalent retinal diseases daily.
Eye Tracking: Background, Methods, and Applications by
This volume explores the latest eye-tracking methodologies that help researchers understand the background, methods, and applications involved in these studies. The chapters in this book cover topics such as methods and models of eye-tracking in natural environments; natural gaze informatics (i.e., assisted wheelchair mobility); eye-tracking application to understand the visual control of locomotion; eye movement in neurological disorders; and eye movements in sports research and practice. In the Neuromethods series style, chapters include the kind of detail and key advice from the specialists needed to get successful results in your laboratory. Cutting-edge and practical, Eye Tracking: Background, Methods, and Applications is a valuable resource for experienced and novice researchers interested in learning more about this field and its future developments.
Neuro-Ophthalmology and Neuro-Otology: a case -based guide for clinicians and scientists by
This book combines the complexities of neuro-ophthalmologic and neuro-otologic disorders into one concise guidebook. It focuses on the basics of these two challenging subspecialties, encountered by the neurologist, ophthalmologist, otolaryngologist, neurosurgeon, emergency medicine provider, and others. Comprehensive and succinct, the book contains chapters examining representative case vignettes that highlight typical historical elements and exam findings that aid in diagnosing a specific disease, disorder, or syndrome. Before each heading, chapters offer a brief review of relevant anatomy, physiology, and examination techniques. Additionally, symptom-based tables guide the practitioner to a focused history and examination for rapid real-time triage and diagnosis. Practical and case-based, Neuro-Ophthalmology and Neuro-Otology is an invaluable resource for practitioners, trainees, and residents in various fields.
Neurology of Vision and Visual Disorders by
Neurology of Vision and Visual Disorders, Volume 178 in the Handbooks of Neurology series provides comprehensive summaries of recent research on the brain and nervous system. This volume reviews alterations in vision that stem from the retina to the cortex. Coverage includes content on vision and driving derived from the large amount of time devoted in clinics to determining who is safe to drive, along with research on the interplay between visual loss, attention and strategic compensations that may determine driving suitability. The title concludes with vision therapies and the evidence behind these approaches. Each chapter is co-written by a basic scientist collaborating with a clinician to provide a solid underpinning of the mechanisms behind the clinical syndromes.