You may also wish to visit the Guide to eBook Collections in Health, Medicine & Biology, as well as this list of ebook collections.
Please also feel free to recommend a book purchase.
Clinical Ethics for Consultation Practice by
This book provides a robust analysis of the history of clinical ethics, the philosophical theories that support its practice, and the practical institutional criteria needed to become a practicing clinical ethicist. Featuring cases and a step-by-step approach, this book combines knowledge points associated with moral philosophy and medicine with general skill objectives for ethics consultants. The book aids in developing analytic moral reasoning skills for clinical ethicists, fostering the comprehensive education and professional development of clinical ethics consultants. In addition, it offers key components of how an ethics consultation curriculum manifest in an educational venue for clinical ethicists are illustrated. Adaptable and relevant for educating multiple disciplines in health care, this resource enables ethicists to understand the philosophical foundations and practical application of clinical ethics.
Delivering Health Care in America: a Systems Approach by
Delivering Health Care in America, Eighth Edition is the most current and comprehensive overview of the basic structures and operations of the U.S. health system--from its historical origins and resources, to its individual services, cost, and quality. Using a unique "systems" approach, the text brings together an extraordinary breadth of information into a highly accessible, easy-to-read resource that clarifies the complexities of health care organization and finance while presenting a solid overview of how the various components fit together.The Eighth Edition of this highly current, forward-thinking text offers:- Updated new data for tables, charts, figures, and text based on the latest published data- New and emerging characteristics of the U.S. healthcare system such as 'accountable care,' 'integrated delivery,' and 'pay for value'- Coverage of COVID-19 topics in chapters 2, 5, 6, and 14- The latest on the Affordable Care Act including its effects of insurance, access, and cost. - The latest in medical technology (artificial intelligence, electronic health records, Right to Try Act of 2018, etc.) along with integration of the digital environment throughout the text.- Current challenges and issues facing the U.S. health care system, such as care for populations with special needs and behavioral health services.- Navigate eBook access (included with each print text) provides entry to the enriched digital text, which includes chapter quizzes, interactive glossary and weblinks.
Drug-Induced Ocular Side Effects by
Written by global experts in the field of chemical- and drug-related ocular problems, Drug-Induced Ocular Side Effects, 8th Edition, provides need-to-know information on all aspects of ocular toxicology in one concise reference. This best-selling, user-friendly resource features a templated format, numerous full-color illustrations, and sweeping content updates throughout - all designed to eliminate uncertainty and ensure accurate diagnosis and treatment guidance. Provides comprehensive coverage of drugs' generic and trade names, primary uses, ocular and systemic side effects, and clinical significance. Features a unique side effect index, a new concise paperback format for portability, and clinical photos of ocular symptoms of adverse drug reactions. Covers dozens of new drugs used in the U.S. and internationally, as well as extensive updates to drug registry information to ensure access to the latest data. Includes expanded sections on how to follow patients with visual adverse drug reactions to chloroquine, hydroxychloroquine, isotretinoin, ethambutol, and more. Guidelines can be copied to use as patient handouts. Offers extensive discussions of principles of therapy, ocular drug delivery, methods to evaluate drug-induced visual side effects, and the role of electrophysiology and psychophysics. Provides the WHO classification system to help you determine whether a particular side effect is certain, probable, or likely to occur. Ideal for ophthalmologists, optometrists, and busy clinicians in primary care, emergency medicine, and more - anyone who needs quick, on-the-spot consultation on ocular toxicology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essentials of Clinical Examination by
Revised edition of widely acclaimed medical training resource features extensive and invaluable additions Performing clinical examinations is an important skill developed throughout medical training and vocational experience. For nearly a quarter century, this learner-friendly handbook has filled a gap in the literature by providing an affordable and portable resource on clinical examination best practices. Essentials of Clinical Examination, 9th Edition reflects contributions from 119 medical students, 44 residents, 16 artists, 6 layout editors, and 38 esteemed faculty members at the University of Toronto. Supported by Toronto Medical Student Publications, each chapter has been thoroughly reviewed by expert residents and faculty members in their respective specialties to ensure the highest caliber content. Created by health learners for health learners, this highly accessible, evidence-informed reference is indispensable for clinical rotations and OSCE preparation. All 24 chapters underwent extensive revisions to reflect the most pertinent, up-to-date information. Section one provides overviews of major anatomy and body systems, while section two is organized by subspecialty. Each of the subspecialty chapters is consistently formatted with detailed and clear explanations covering clinical history, common presentations, differential diagnoses with distinguishing clinical features, and physical examination maneuvers. Key Highlights The addition of new summary tables, detailed diagrams, and improved graphics enhance understanding and retention of knowledge New social, pediatric, and geriatric awareness pearls help learners better contextualize concepts through a culturally and socially sensitive lens Integrated clinical questions at the end of each chapter enable readers to consolidate knowledge and apply it to real-life situations encountered during rotations The latest edition of this long heralded guide is must-have reading for residents, clerks, and medical students to inform and practice core clinical examination skills that are essential to effective patient management. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Ethics and the Good Doctor: character in the professional domain by
Ethics and the Good Doctor brings together existing literature and an analysis of empirical research conducted by the Jubilee Centre for Character and Virtues to examine the ethical nature of medical practice and explore medicine as a virtuous profession. The book is based on the idea that medical practice is an inherently moral profession, in which notions of trust, care and meaningful relationships form the foundations of being a good doctor. By taking into account the ethical dimensions of medical practice that have come under greater scrutiny and pressure over recent years, this book explores how personal and professional character is understood, enacted, and experienced by medical practitioners at various stages of their career. Ethics and the Good Doctor situates and presents the empirical data in a way that is accessible to practicing doctors, medical students, and medical educators. Clear implications for policy, practice, and research are offered, ensuring this book will be of great interest to a range of stakeholders involved in medical practice, including those working in medical policy.
Interior Lighting: Fundamentals, Technology and Application by
This book outlines the underlying principles on which interior lighting should be based, provides detailed information on the lighting hardware available today and gives guidance for the design of interior lighting installations resulting in good visual performance and comfort, alertness and health. The book is divided into three parts. Part One discusses the fundamentals of the visual and non-visual mechanisms and the practical consequences for visual performance and comfort, for sleep, daytime alertness and performance, and includes chapters on age effects, therapeutic effects and hazardous effects of lighting. Part Two deals with the lighting hardware: lamps (with emphasis on LEDs), gear, drivers and luminaires including chapters about lighting controls and LEDs beyond lighting. Part Three is the application part, providing the link between theory and practice and supplying the reader with the knowledge needed for lighting design. It describes the relevant lighting criteria for good and efficient interior lighting and discusses the International, European and North American standards and recommendations for interior lighting. A particular focus is on solid state light sources (LEDs) and the possibility to design innovative, truly-sustainable lighting installations that are adaptable to changing circumstances. The design of such installations is difficult and the book offers details of the typical characteristics of the many different solid state light sources, and of the aspects determining the final quality of interior lighting. Essential reading for interior lighting designers, lighting engineers and architects, the book will also be a useful reference for researchers and students. Reviews of Road Lighting by the same author: "If you are going to design streetlighting, you must read this book....a solid, comprehensive textbook written by an acknowledged expert in the field - if you have a query about any aspect of streetlighting design, you will find the answer here." - LUX, August 2015 "...a realy comprehensive book dealing with every aspect of the subject well...essential text for reference on this subject" - Lighting Journal, March 2015
Mayo Clinic Strategies to Reduce Burnout: 12 actions to create the ideal workplace by
Mayo Clinic Strategies to Reduce Burnout: 12 Actions to Create the Ideal Workplace tells the story of the evolving journey of those in the medical profession. It dwells not on the story of burnout, distress, compassion fatigue, moral injury, and cognitive dissonance but rather on a narrative of hope for professional fulfillment, well-being, joy, and camaraderie. Achieving this aim requires health care professionals and administrative leaders working together to create the ideal workplace-through nurturing positivity and pushing negativity aside. The ultimate aspiration is esprit de corps-the common spirit existing in members of a group that inspires enthusiasm, devotion, loyalty, camaraderie, engagement, and strong regard for the welfare of the team and of common interests and responsibilities. Mayo Clinic Strategies to Reduce Burnout: 12 Actions to Create the Ideal Workplace provides a road map for you to create esprit de corps for your team and organization. The map is paved with information about reliable, patient-centered, and thoughtful systems embedded within psychologically safe and just cultures. The authors drew on their extensive research on the well-being of health care professionals; from their experience in quality, department operations, leadership and organization development, management, safe havens, and care teams; and from their roles as president, chief wellness officer, chief quality officer, chair, principal investigator, senior fellow, and board director.
Neurology of Vision and Visual Disorders by
Neurology of Vision and Visual Disorders, Volume 178 in the Handbooks of Neurology series provides comprehensive summaries of recent research on the brain and nervous system. This volume reviews alterations in vision that stem from the retina to the cortex. Coverage includes content on vision and driving derived from the large amount of time devoted in clinics to determining who is safe to drive, along with research on the interplay between visual loss, attention and strategic compensations that may determine driving suitability. The title concludes with vision therapies and the evidence behind these approaches. Each chapter is co-written by a basic scientist collaborating with a clinician to provide a solid underpinning of the mechanisms behind the clinical syndromes. Reviews the neurological underpinnings of visual perception disorders Encompasses the cortex to the retina Covers functional organization, electrophysiology and subcortical visual pathways Discusses assessment, diagnosis and management of visual perception disorders Includes international experts from Australia, Canada, Denmark, Germany, Singapore, and the UK and US
Ocular Rigidity, Biomechanics and Hydrodynamics of the Eye by
This book focuses on the concept of ocular rigidity, the biomechanical properties and hydrodynamics of the human eye. The basics of anatomy and physiology are explored and the relevant data for the clinician are emphasized throughout the book. The engineering aspects as well as the clinical interpretation are presented to provide context. Ocular Rigidity, Biomechanics and Hydrodynamics of the Eye summarises recent evidence on ocular rigidity, but also provides a complete presentation of the data so far. The authors have recently worked on ocular rigidity corneal and globe biomechanics and hydrodynamics and the new, up-to-date data on the subject are highlighted in each chapter. The aim is to provide the framework or the understanding of these parameters and to determine their relevance in health and disease. This book will be an essential read for all practicing ophthalmologists looking to gain a more in-depth understanding of this interesting area of research particularly in refractive surgery and glaucoma.
Pediatric Retinal OCT and the Eye-Brain Connection by
Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) plays a vital role in pediatric retina diagnosis, often revealing unrecognized retinal disorders and connections to brain injury, disease, and delayed neurodevelopment. Handbook of Pediatric Retinal OCT and the Eye-Brain Connection provides authoritative, up-to-date guidance in this promising area, showing how to optimize imaging in young children and infants, how to accurately interpret these images, and how to identify links between these images and brain and developmental disorders. Illustrates optimal methods of OCT imaging of children and infants, how to avoid pitfalls, and how to recognize and avoid artifacts Explains how the OCT image may relate to brain disease and delayed neurodevelopment Features more than 200 high-quality images and scans that depict the full range of disease in infants and young children Provides guidance in identifying retinal layers and important abnormalities. Covers the structural features of the retina and optic nerve head in developmental, acquired, or inherited conditions that affect the eye and visual pathways Offers practical ways to set up imaging programs in the clinic, operating room, or neonatal nursery Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
South-East Asia Eye Health: Systems, Practices, and Challenges by
The book covers all aspects of eye health in South-East Asia from public health to health system to education to industry in 6 sections. The World Health Organization (WHO) South-East Asia region comprises of 11 countries - Bangladesh, Bhutan, DPR Korea, India, Indonesia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Timor-Leste. This region is home to 26% of world population; there is a disproportionate amount of blindness (30.6%) and visual impairment (36%). This is a first of its kind book that discusses common conditions of visual impairment and blindness in the South-East Asia region. In addition, the book documents the current eye care industry in the region and the contribution of all eye health INGOs in eye care program planning and service delivery for many decades. Majority of the countries in the South-East Asia region are categorized in 'middle-income country' group. This book discusses the common challenges in these countries such as, suboptimal public expenditure in health, acute shortage of skilled eye health workforce, and rudimentary health industry. The book covers the following 6 sections: 1. Geographic description and health indices of the region 2. Health system evolved over years, including universal eye health, health financing and health management information system (HMIS) 3. Common eye problems including non-communicable disease NCD (and diabetic retinopathy), neglected tropical disease NTD (and Trachoma) 4. Health workforce in the region that includes ophthalmologists, optometrists, and allied ophthalmic personnel 5. Eye health support in the region of 13 international non-government organizations (INGOs) working for decades 6. Eye health industry in the region that includes spectacles, ophthalmic devices and equipment and the pharma industry The book would be a useful resource for ophthalmologists, all public health personnel and policy makers in eye health in the South-East Asia region specifically and all ophthalmologists and scientists interested in public health all over the world as well as for program planning to reach the 'Health for All' strategy by 2030 (United Nations Sustainable Development Goal, SDG 2030).
Symmetry Studies in Optics and Vision Science: A Data-Analytic Approach by
This book will present an introduction to the foundations, interpretations, and data-analytic applications of symmetry studies with an emphasis on applications in optical sciences.. Symmetry studies connects algebraic and statistical methods for data summary and inference. In addition, this book demonstrates the usefulness of a unified view of algebra and symmetry studies to address data-analytic questions in optics and vision science. Readers should have an understanding of calculus and linear algebra as well as introductory statistics; The book reviews finite group theory in the introductory chapters. Computational tools used in the text are available for download in the form of Mathmatica® notebooks or R code.
Vision by
Arising from the 2019 Darwin College Lectures, this book presents essays from seven prominent public intellectuals on the theme of vision. Each author examines this theme through the lens of their own particular area of expertise, making for a lively interdisciplinary volume including chapters on neuroscience, colour perception, biological evolution, astronomy, the future of technology, computer vision, and the visionary core of science. Featuring contributions by professors of neuroscience Paul Fletcher and Anya Hurlbert, professor of zoology Dan-Eric Nilsson, the futurist Sophie Hackford, Microsoft distinguished scientist Andrew Blake, theoretical physicist and author Carlo Rovelli, and Dr Carolin Crawford, the Public Astronomer at the University of Cambridge, this volume will be of interest to anybody curious about how we see the world.