The Optometry and Health Sciences collection includes print and online material in optometry, ophthalmology, vision science, healthcare, and research procedures in health and medicine.
Atlas of Pathologic Myopia by
This Atlas provides many beautiful images obtained with state-of-the-art technologies, including optical coherence tomography (OCT), OCT angiography, fundus autofluorescence, and wide-field fundus imaging, as well as traditional images and fluorescein/ICG angiograms. Gathered at the world's largest High Myopia Clinic, the images are based on the long-term follow-up data of more than 6,000 patients from Japan and abroad. Recent advances in imaging technologies have yielded many new observations and allowed us to detect new lesions, e.g. myopic traction maculopathy (or macular retinoschisis) and dome-shaped macula. An especially interesting aspect: the images obtained by '3D MRI of the eye' and 'ultra wide-field OCT' to visualize staphylomas. These techniques were established by the editor's group and make it possible to record the entire shapes of the eye, offering a scan width of up to 23 mm and scan depth of 5 mm. They have since been used to visualize posterior staphyloma, which was previously impossible to view because it spanned such a wide range of the eye. In addition, readers will learn what types of eye deformity occur in pathologic myopia and how they damage the macula/optic nerve. With this Atlas, readers will learn how to accurately diagnose each lesion of pathologic myopia, how eye deformity causes blinding complications, and how to identify patients with a poor prognosis. In short, it provides essential information that can't be found elsewhere.
Disability As Diversity: A Guidebook for Inclusion in Medicine, Nursing, and the Health Professions by
Administrators and faculty in medical, nursing and health science programs are witnessing a substantial increase in the number of students with disabilities entering their programs. Concurrently, the benefits of diversity in healthcare are becoming increasingly apparent and important. Provider-patient concordance is a known mechanism for reducing health care disparities. By developing a workforce that mirrors the patient population, we can appropriately inform disability care, reducing health care disparities while embracing the tenets of the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA), namely equal opportunity, full participation, independent living, and economic self-sufficiency for qualified individuals with disabilities. One in five individuals will experience disability at some point in their lives, making this the largest minority in the US. A commitment to disability inclusion for qualified students should be a high-level goal of nursing, medical, and other health science programs. To support this goal, leaders in these areas must develop robust programs and an understanding of the best practices for inclusion. This first-of-its-kind title is designed to help deans, program directors, faculty, student affairs personnel and disability resource professionals thoughtfully plan for the growing population of health-care professionals with disabilities. The content helps stakeholders contextualize disability inclusion in health-care education as a function of social justice and a mechanism of reducing health care disparities for patients. It offers pragmatic advice, grounded in research, best practice, and case law to address the highly nuanced approach to determining and implementing accommodations in a high-stakes clinical environment. Disability as Diversity connects the moving parts necessary to ensure equal access for qualified students and provides a blueprint for crafting policy, proactive messaging, improving climate, adhering to accreditation standards, addressing licensing and board exams, responding to student failure, all while remaining compliant with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), and applicable Federal regulations. This text provides educators with the perspectives and skills they need to bring disability inclusion to the forefront of health education.
The Electronic Health Record: Ethical Considerations by
The Electronic Health Record: Ethical Considerations analyses the ethical issues that surround the construction, maintenance, storage, use, linkage, manipulation and communication of electronic health records. Its purpose is to provide ethical guidance to formulate and implement policies at the local, national and global level, and to provide the basis for global certification in health information ethics. Electronic health records (EHRs) are increasingly replacing the use of paper-based records in the delivery of health care. They are integral to providing eHealth, telehealth, mHealth and pHealth - all of which are increasingly replacing direct and personal physician-patient interaction - as well as in the developing field of artificial intelligence and expert systems in health care. The book supplements considerations that are raised by national and international regulations dealing with electronic records in general, for instance the General Data Protection Regulation of the European Union. This book is a valuable resource for physicians, health care administrators and workers, IT service providers and several members of biomedical field who are interested in learning more about how to ethically manage health data.
Health Equity: A Solutions-Focused Approach by
Health Equity: A Solutions-Focused Approach is a comprehensive textbook that illustrates existing conditions of health disparities across a range of populations in the United States, positions those disparities within the broader sociopolitical framework that leads to their existence, and most importantly presents specific ways in which health equity solutions can be designed and implemented. Presenting current theoretical foundations, cultural context, and evidence-based models and interventions all in one, this textbook provides students with the basis to achieve greater health equity in their communities. Edited by award-winning authors and featuring contributions from diverse experts in public health, sociology, psychology, and medicine, this groundbreaking text goes beyond a traditional approach to risk factors and disparities and emphasizes the central role health equity initiatives must play in public health research and practice.The book is divided into three sections, with Section One focusing on providing the context of health equity research and practice. Chapters are structured in a way that both new and experienced students in the field will develop a deeper understanding of topics such as prejudice and discrimination; frameworks and theories; and research and collaboration approaches. Section Two addresses the current knowledge of specific populations impacted by issues related to health equity, including African American, Latino and Hispanic, Asian, American Indian and Alaska Native, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander, LGBTQ, Veteran, People with Disabilities, and many more. Authored or co-authored by members of the community being discussed, each of these chapters summarizes how health disparities impact the group, ongoing population-specific models of disparities and equity, emerging programs for achieving health equity, coverage of the most relevant aspects of intersectionality, and concluding exercises such as case studies and current events. Section Three then highlights the role of cultural humility in achieving health equity. With its solutions-focused and community-affirming approach, Health Equity provides graduate and undergraduate students of public health with evidence-based models to help advance health through diversity, inclusion, and social justice. Key Features: Origins and Theories - Discusses the sociocultural and political origins of health disparities and the major theories that underlie an understanding of health equity Solutions Focus - Describes emerging models and gives best practices in designing new programs Diverse Population Focus - Provides historical context, sociocultural dynamics, and population-specific evidence-based programs from the voices of the communities being discussed Intersectionality Perspective - Highlights the role that overlapping and interdependent identities play in promoting health equity, and interventions that build from this perspective Case Studies and Real-World Examples - Demonstrate how to apply health equity improvement approaches in different contexts eBook access - Included with print purchase for use on most mobile devices or computers Instructor's Packet - With an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, Test Bank, and a Sample Syllabus
High Performance Vision Intelligence: Recent Advances by
This book focuses on the challenges and the recent findings in vision intelligence incorporating high performance computing applications. The contents provide in-depth discussions on a range of emerging multidisciplinary topics like computer vision, image processing, artificial intelligence, machine learning, cloud computing, IoT, and big data. The book also includes illustrations of algorithms, architecture, applications, software systems, and data analytics within the scope of the discussed topics. This book will help students, researchers, and technology professionals discover latest trends in the fields of computer vision and artificial intelligence.
Inflammatory and Infectious Ocular Disorders by
This atlas covers most ocular inflammatory and infectious diseases of importance with clinical significance. It includes chapters on non-infectious diseases and chapters on infectious diseases. For each chapter, essential information regarding the clinical features, diagnosis, and management is described in the text based on the up-to-date knowledge, and more than 240 carefully selected photographs are provided. World-famous experts in this field have included as many as valuable photographs of patients as possible. New imaging tests of ultra-wide field retinal images and high-resolution optical coherence tomography are included in addition to conventional fundus photos and fluorescein angiographs. Especially, chapters on infectious diseases provide invaluable photos of rare but clinically important diseases. Designed to assist in the diagnosis and treatment of ocular inflammation and infection, this book is meant for the retina specialist, researchers of ocular inflammation, general ophthalmologist, resident and retina fellow. Inflammatory and Infectious Ocular Disorders atlas is one of the nine volumes of the series Retina Atlas. This series provides global perspective on vitreoretinal diseases, covering imaging basics, retinal vascular disease, macular disorders, ocular inflammatory and infectious disorders, retinal degeneration, surgical retina, ocular oncology, pediatric retina and trauma. This comprehensive atlas is spread over 9 volumes and about 100 chapters, covering validated and comprehensive information on retinal disorders.
I Wanted Fries with That: How to Ask for What You Want and Get What You Need by
SPEAK UP AND PERSUADE At some point in our lives, we've all experienced an injustice, large or small -- a restaurant botching our lunch order or a boss who isn't following the guidelines for workplace etiquette -- and suffered in silence for fear of offending anyone. When we fail to speak up, however, we shortchange ourselves. Amy Fish encourages standing up for yourself (and others) by complaining effectively. Her suggestions will appeal to anyone who wants to speak up and isn't sure where to start, including managers navigating workplace disputes, couples who argue about the same things over and over, and even someone with a friend with bad breath. Illustrating her points with funny real-life stories, Fish reveals pragmatic methods to redress grievances with civility, honesty, and fairness for everyone involved -- whether you're trying to right the wrongs of the world or just claim the french fries you ordered.
Macular Disorders by
This atlas presents chapters on common and rare macular diseases including variants of age-related macular degeneration (dry, neovascular, polypoidal choroidal vasculopathy), cystoid macular edema, macular telangiectasia, central serous retinopathy and pachychoroid disease, photic retinopathy, presumed ocular histoplasmosis syndrome, myopic degeneration, angioid streaks, and a recently described entity: perifoveal exudative vascular anomalous complex. It provides a wealth of representative images, using various modalities to help the reader recognize the respective conditions. Importantly, it also includes images acquired using techniques more recently adopted in clinical practice such as autofluoresence, optical coherence tomography (OCT), and OCT angiography. The concise text reviews the basic concepts of etiology, diagnosis, and management in a highly accessible format. In contributions prepared by internationally respected experts, the atlas provides a cutting-edge analysis of each condition, as well as excellent summaries of recent work in the field. Macular Disorders is one of nine volumes in the series Retina Atlas. The series offers a global perspective on vitreoretinal diseases, covering imaging basics, retinal vascular disease, ocular inflammatory disease, retinal degeneration, surgical retina, macular disorders, ocular oncology, pediatric retina and trauma. In nine volumes and over 100 chapters, Retina Atlas offers comprehensive and validated information on retinal disorders.
Molecular Mechanisms of Retina Pathology and Ways of Its Correction by
This book discusses the pathology of the retina, and reviews current research on the use of cell replacement therapy and short peptides to restore functional activity in retinal neurons. As the book describes, pathologies of the retina, including age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, and retinitis pigmentosa, present a long-standing challenge in the practice of clinical ophthalmology. Modern treatment for these conditions, which lead to irreversible blindness, includes laser exposure, surgical intervention, and drugs. These treatments aim to reduce the risk of new complications in the eye; pathogenetic therapy of degenerative diseases of the retina is practically absent in current ophthalmic practice. The first section of the book reviews the molecular mechanisms of age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, and retinitis pigmentosa, and reports on methods of treatment. The second section presents the results of recent experimental studies of the effects of short peptides on pluripotent embryonic cells; on proliferative activity in retinal cells and pigment epithelium; on expression of markers of differentiation or retinal neurons and pigment epithelium; and on the course of hereditary retinal pigmentation in Campbell rats. The third section offers results of clinical studies on the effectiveness of short peptides in patients with macular degeneration, and in patients with retinitis pigmentosa. The author concludes that the regular use of peptides in the treatment of degenerative diseases of the retina can slow the progression of the pathological process and preserve the patient's vision for some 10-15 years. In addition, in 80 percent of patients, it is possible to increase visual function by increasing visual acuity, improving the boundaries of the visual field and the fundus.
OCT and Imaging in Central Nervous System Diseases by
The second edition of OCT and Imaging in Central Nervous System Diseases offers updated state-of-the-art advances using optical coherence tomography (OCT) regrading neuronal loss within the retina. Detailed information on the OCT imaging and interpretation is provided for the evaluation of disease progression in numerous neurodegenerative disorders and as a biological marker of neuroaxonal injury. Covering disorders like multiple sclerosis, Parkinson's disease, Alzheimer's disease, intracranial hypertension, Friedreich's ataxia, schizophrenia, hereditary optic neuropathies, glaucoma, and amblyopia, readers will given insights into effects on the retina and the and optic nerve. Individual chapters are also devoted to OCT technique, new OCT technology in neuro-ophthalmology, OCT and pharmacological treatment, and the use of OCT in animal models. Similar to the first edition, this book is an excellent and richly illustrated reference for diagnosis of many retinal diseases and monitoring of surgical and medical treatment. OCT allows to study vision from of the retina to the optic tracts. Retinal axons in the retinal nerve fiber layer (RNFL) are non-myelinated until they penetrate the lamina cribrosa. Hence, the RNFL is an ideal structure for visualization of any process of neurodegeneration, neuroprotection, or regeneration. By documenting the ability of OCT to provide key information on CNS diseases, this book illustrates convincingly that the eye is indeed the "window to the brain".
The Science and Art of Interviewing by
Qualitative interviewing is among the most widely used methods in the social sciences, but it is arguably the least understood. In The Science and Art of Interviewing, Kathleen Gerson and Sarah Damaske offer clear, theoretically informed and empirically rich strategies for conducting interview studies. They present both a rationale and guide to the science-and art-of in-depth interviewing to take readers through all the steps in the research process, from the initial stage of formulating a question to the final one of presenting the results. Gerson and Damaske show readers how to develop a research design for interviewing, decide on and find an appropriate sample, construct a questionnaire, conduct probing interviews, and analyze the data they collect. At each stage, they also provide practical tips about how to address the ever-present, but rarely discussed challenges that qualitative researchers routinely encounter, particularly emphasizing the relationship between conducting well-crafted research and building powerful social theories. With an engaging, accessible style, The Science and Art of Interviewing targets a wide range of audiences, from upper-level undergraduates and graduate methods courses to students embarking on their dissertations to seasoned researchers at all stages of their careers.
User-Centered Software Development for the Blind and Visually Impaired: Emerging Research and Opportunities by
Human-computer interaction studies the users and their interaction with an interactive software system (ISS). However, these studies are designed for people without any type of disability, causing there to be few existing techniques or tools that focus on the characteristics of a specific user, thus causing accessibility and utility issues for neglected segments of the population. This reference source intends to remedy this lack of research by supporting an ISS focused on people with visual impairment. User-Centered Software Development for the Blind and Visually Impaired: Emerging Research and Opportunities is a collection of innovative research on techniques, applications, and methods for carrying out software projects in which the main users are people with visual impairments. While highlighting topics including mobile technology, assistive technologies, and human-computer interaction, this book is ideally designed for software developers, computer engineers, designers, academics, researchers, professionals, and educators interested in current research on usable and accessible technologies.
Without Compassion, There Is No Healthcare: Leading with Care in a Technological Age by
New technologies are transforming healthcare work and changing how patients interact with healthcare providers. As artificial intelligence systems, robotics, and data analytics become more sophisticated, some clinical tasks will become obsolete and others will be reconfigured. While it is not possible to predict these developments precisely, it is important to understand their inevitability and to prepare for the changes that lie ahead. Without Compassion, There Is No Healthcare argues that compassion must be upheld as the bedrock and guiding purpose of healthcare work. Emerging technologies have the potential to subvert this purpose but also to enable and expand it, creating new conduits for compassionate care. Cultivating these benefits and guarding against potential threats will require vigilance and determination from healthcare providers, educators, leaders, patients, and advocates. The contributors to this book show the way forward, bringing a diverse range of expertise to confront these challenges. Avoiding platitudes and simple dichotomies, they examine what compassion in healthcare means and how it can be practised, now and in the uncertain future. Without Compassion, There Is No Healthcare is a call to action. Drawing together a decade of evidence and insight generated by a community of leading scholars and practitioners committed to promoting compassionate care, it offers steady principles and practices to steer the way through times of technological change.