Skip to Main Content
New Books: Eye Diseases
Curbside Consultation in Cornea and External Disease: 49 Clinical Questions by David R. Hardten; Mark S. Hansen; Celine Satija
Curbside Consultation in Cornea and External Disease, Second Edition contains new questions and brief, practical, evidence-based answers to the most frequently asked questions that are posed during a "curbside consultation" between clinicians. Dr. David R. Hardten and associate editors Drs. Mark S. Hansen and Celine Satija have designed this unique reference in which cornea and external disease specialists offer expert advice, preferences, and opinions on tough clinical questions commonly encountered by corneal specialists, ophthalmologists, or residents. The unique Q&A format provides quick access to current information with the simplicity of a conversation between two colleagues. Numerous images, diagrams, and references are included to enhance the text and illustrate clinical diagnoses and treatment plans. Some of the questions that are answered inside the Second Edition include: I have a patient with Fuchs' Endothelial Dystrophy. Is there anything new to improve her vision? What should I do with a young patient with mild keratoconus? How can I help a 47-year-old female who uses artificial tears 6 times daily and continues to complain of dry eyes? A patient presents with corneal ulcer. What work-up and treatment would you recommend? How do I manage a patient that rubbed their eye just after LASIK? What could go wrong? What can I offer a patient that sustained eye trauma and loss of iris tissue? I have a patient with poor vision after DMEK. What went wrong and how do I get better vision for them? Curbside Consultation in Cornea and External Disease: 49 Clinical Questions, Second Edition provides information basic enough for residents while also incorporating expert pearls that even high-volume ophthalmologists will appreciate. Cornea specialists, general ophthalmologists, and residents alike will enjoy the user-friendly and casual format and the expert advice contained within.
Publication Date: 2022
Dry Eye Disease by Anat Galor (Editor)
Clinically-oriented and up-to-date, Dry Eye Diseases focuses on the latest diagnostic techniques, management guidelines, and treatment options for dry eye disorders. This consolidated resource provides guidance on the clinical assessment of patients presenting with dry eye symptoms as well as a global perspectives on the use of FDA and off-label products. Practicing and trainee ophthalmologists and optometrists will find this an indispensable resource for understanding this complex disorder. Covers a range of topics, including clinical assessment, pathophysiology, the link between dry eye and system disease, and the use of FDA and off-label products as treatment options for dry eye diseases. Includes a section devoted to the presence of dry eye disease in specific populations, including patients presenting with other ocular conditions, systemic pain conditions, graft-versus-host disease, Sjögren's syndrome, and meibomian gland dysfunction. Addresses the challenges associated with treating ocular pain not responsive to traditional dry eye disease treatments. Features concise chapters from a team of international chapter authors, providing global perspectives on this common disorder. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single, convenient resource
Publication Date: 2022
Emerging Ocular Infections by Nabin Shrestha; Arthi Venkat; Careen Y. Lowder (Editors)
The book offers comprehensive coverage on novel manifestations of known infections, novel infections with documented ophthalmic involvement, and the growing issue of resistance among certain infections. Filling a much-needed gap in current literary offerings, chapters approach ophthalmic manifestations of infectious disease from a novel perspective. Each chapter is co-written by an ophthalmologist and an infectious disease specialist to provide multidisciplinary insight. This unique analysis of infectious disease enhances the ability of ophthalmologists and infectious disease specialists to identify the manifold manifestations of both common and rare infections in the eye. Chapters begin with a general introduction, and each contain an Infectious Disease section, along with an Ophthalmology section. The book covers infections such as viral retinitis, fungal infections, syphilis, tuberculosis, vector-borne illnesses, and delve into rarer conditions such as unusual post-operative infections. Concise and practical, Emerging Ocular Infection will be of use to ID specialists, and ophthalmologists alike.
Publication Date: 2023
Imaging Atlas of Ophthalmic Tumors and Diseases by J. Matthew Debnam (Editor)
This atlas describes an array of tumors and diseases that affect the orbit and associated cranial nerves. Often lacking in radiology residency and fellowship training is teaching of the anatomy of the orbit and cranial nerves, as well as the imaging appearance of orbital tumors and diseases that affect these regions. This atlas fills this gap of knowledge with tumors and diseases encountered and treated at MD Anderson Cancer Center, providing a review of the imaging anatomy and the appearance of the tumors and diseases that should aid in formatting a differential diagnosis. The text consists of ten chapters divided into separate anatomic sections followed by an eleventh chapter describing the treated orbit and tumor recurrence. Each of the first ten chapters begins with a description of the relevant anatomy, labeled CT and MRI images and drawings to highlight important anatomic considerations. This is an ideal guide for practicing general radiologists, neuroradiologists and trainees, as well as ophthalmologists, head and neck surgeons, neurosurgeons, medical and radiation oncologists, and pathologists who interpret or review orbital images as part of their daily practice.
Publication Date: 2023
Keratoconus: A Comprehensive Guide to Diagnosis and Treatment by Edna Almodin; Belquiz Amaral Nassaralla; Jordana Sandes (Editors)
Keratoconus is a progressive disease of the cornea which can lead to blindness as irregular astigmatism increases. The study of the ectasic diseases of the cornea has evolved considerably in the last several years and this has brought new tools for the keratoconus diagnosis and treatment. A better understanding of treatment options can enhance visual rehabilitation and prevent blindness in these patients. This book provides the reader deeply and updated information on keratoconus treatment. Written by experts from worldwide, the book presents clinical, genetic, metabolic and biomechanical aspects in the development of the disease, the proper intervention time, the imaging tests used for diagnosis and keratoconus monitoring, as well as details on new surgical procedures (as contact lenses and laser technologies) using modern methods with wide technological application. Two pioneers in the keratoconus treatment bring their valuable contribution in specific chapters. Ophthalmologists will find a practical and useful approach of new technologies to get the best results for their patients. This book will really impact changes in the therapeutic conduct of corneal surgeons.
Publication Date: 2022
Keratoconus: Diagnosis and Management by Luis Izquierdo; Maria A. Henriquez; Mark J. Mannis (Editors)
Offering practical clinical guidance for early diagnosis and effective management, Keratoconus: Diagnosis and Management is a concise, easy-to-read guide to help mitigate loss of vision in patients in a way that does not interfere with quality of life. From early diagnosis and intervention through the most up-to-date treatment and surgical approaches, this consolidated reference covers the essential information needed by cornea fellows and specialists, general ophthalmologists, residents, and optometrists. Provides expert, step-by-step guidance and real-world perspectives from global contributors in the field. Covers the latest advances in cornea transplantation, corneal collagen cross-linking (CXL) in adult and pediatric patients, intrastromal corneal rings, intraocular lenses, corneal regeneration, and laser surgery. Includes quick-reference boxes throughout highlighting essential clinical facts, pitfalls, potential complications, and clinical guidelines. Presents real-world case studies of actual patient scenarios from early to advanced disease states. Features high-quality imaging for keratoconus at various stages, including OCT, Brillouin scanning microscopy, Scheimpflug and combined Placido and Scheimpflug, combined Placido and AS-OCT, clinical and surgical photos, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2022
Microbiome and the Eye: What's the Connection? by Anat Galor; Jun Sun (Editors)
Microbiome and the Eye: What's the connection? highlights how alterations in the gut and eye microbiomes can lead to systemic immune alterations with subsequent effects on the eye. The book is divided into two sections, one highlighting how alterations in the gut microbiome impact various components of health outside the gut, with a focus on the immune system and inflammatory mediators, and the second focusing on studies on a variety of ocular diseases, including ocular surface diseases/dry eye, keratitis, uveitis, glaucoma, and retinopathy to gut dysbiosis. With its translational approach, the book is suitable for both researchers and clinicians. The book will help readers understand the mechanisms in which gut and eye microbiome composition may influence health in multiple compartments, with a focus on eye diseases.
Publication Date: 2023
Mitosis Domain Generalization and Diabetic Retinopathy Analysis by Bin Sheng; Marc Aubreville (Editors)
This book constitutes two challenges that were held in conjunction with the 25th International Conference on Medical Image Computing and Computer-Assisted Intervention, MICCAI 2022, which took place in Singapore during September 18-22, 2022. The peer-reviewed 20 long and 5 short papers included in this volume stem from the following three biomedical image analysis challenges: Mitosis Domain Generalization Challenge (MIDOG 2022), Diabetic Retinopathy Analysis Challenge (CRAC 2022) The challenges share the need for developing and fairly evaluating algorithms that increase accuracy, reproducibility and efficiency of automated image analysis in clinically relevant applications.
Publication Date: 2023
Ocular and Adnexal Lymphoma by Vishal R. Raval; Prithvi Mruthyunjaya; Arun D. Singh (Editors)
This book is a comprehensive source of authoritative information on the subject of ocular and adnexal lymphoma. It is a completely updated edition of its predecessor and is a conjoint effort of ocular oncologists, general oncologists, and pathologists. The book features contributions from around the world to ensure broad coverage of an evolving topic. Chapters cover all aspects of ocular lymphomas, including clinical features, classification, epidemiology, diagnostic evaluation, biopsy techniques, histology and molecular pathology, staging procedures, and treatment methods. The emphasis throughout is on easy readability, and the layout ensures rapid retrieval of information. The book offers a clear distinction of what has been updated in the years since the first edition published, including entirely rewritten or revamped chapters. In order to convey fundamental concepts, numerous tables, clinical photographs, histopathologic microphotographs, and imaging studies (fluorescein and indocyanine angiograms, ultrasonograms, CT scans, and MR images) are included. Ocular and Adnexal Lymphoma strives to cover new developments and innovations in ocular and adnexal lymphoma, providing the clinician with a review and summary of recent research and its implications for clinical practice and explaining how research results impact diagnostics, treatment options and procedures as well as patient management.
Publication Date: 2023
Retinitis Pigmentosa by Stephen H. H. Tsang; Peter M. J. Quinn (Editors)
This volume details the history of Retinitis Pigmentosa and current treatment options. Chapters guide readers through CRISPR, gene therapy, stem cell therapy, next-generation sequencing methods, gene editing, and translational applications of other therapies to the treatment of Retinitis Pigmentosa. Written in the successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible protocols, and notes on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Authoritative and cutting-edge, Retinitis Pigmentosa aims to be a useful practical guide to researches to help further their study in this field.
Publication Date: 2022
New Books: Healthcare & Medicine
Digital Transformation in Healthcare in Post-COVID-19 Times by Miltiadis Lytras; Abdulrahman Housawi; Basim Alsaywid (Editors)
Digital Transformation in Healthcare in Post-Covid19 Times discusses recent advances in patient care and offers critical comparative insights into their application across multiple domains in healthcare. By showcasing key problems, best practices and emerging challenges, the book offers a state-of-art review of opportunities and prospects in the process of delivering smart sustainable healthcare services. Topics discussed include healthcare challenges in the post-COVID-19 era, enabling technologies for digital transformation, value driven approaches to the delivery of patient centric top-quality health services, and analytics and enhanced decision making. In addition, the book updates knowledge on best practices for training towards digital transformation and sustainable health. This is a valuable resource for healthcare professionals, medical doctors, researchers, graduate students and members of the biomedical field who are interested in learning more about the use of emerging technologies in healthcare.
Publication Date: 2023
The Edinburgh Companion to the Politics of American Health by Martin Halliwell (Editor)
Examines the diverse, and often conflicted, political status of health in the United States from World War II to Covid-19
Explores the histories, cultures, policies and technologies of American health and medicine as they have developed over a 75-year period
Brings together 45 experts from the US, Canada and the UK working across the fields of medicine, health policy, political and social history, political science, environmental studies, law, and cultural studies
Uses the lenses of class, poverty, race, gender, sexuality and locality to study the concepts, policies and lived realities of U.S. healthcare and medical treatment
Explores key controversies in American health, including global health and new technologies
Publication Date: 2022
Ethics and Professionalism for Healthcare Managers, Second Edition by Leigh W. Cellucci; Tony Cellucci; Tracy J. Farnsworth
The ethical issues that arise in healthcare organizations are not limited to decisions made by clinicians. Everyday operational decisions made by healthcare managers also have weighty ethical implications. Ethics and Professionalism for Healthcare Managers prepares readers to recognize and respond to the ethical dilemmas they will encounter on a regular basis during their career in healthcare management. Through cases, exercises, and self-quizzes, readers can apply the theories and tools presented in the text to actual situations they may find themselves facing. This updated second edition contains a new chapter on health policy, health disparities, and ethics that focuses on the interrelationships of cost, quality, and access. The chapter on ethical decision-making has also been extensively revised to include discussion of moral distress, expanded coverage of medical futility, and an introduction to the precautionary principle. Throughout, the book's cases and examples have been updated to reflect current, real-world ethical issues in healthcare management. Other new content in this edition covers: Moral engagement, moral disengagement, and the concept of moral courage The five Cs (competence, consent, confidentiality, crossing boundaries, and culture) Ethical implications of current health informatics, including electronic health records and the exchange of health information Continuous review and supervision of research integrity Ethical operations management during the COVID-19 pandemic Also new to this edition, chapters are grouped into three overarching themes--ethics and the profession of healthcare management, ethical decision-making, and ethical applications. Each section is introduced by an AMA Journal of Ethics case study that sets the stage for the chapters that follow. Managers working in healthcare's many settings are frequently tasked with addressing ethical dilemmas. This book provides a practical framework for confronting and resolving ethical conflicts throughout a healthcare organization.
Publication Date: 2022
Healthcare 4. 0: Health Informatics and Precision Data Management by Lalitha Krishnasamy; Rajesh Kumar Dhanaraj; Balamurugan Balusamy; Munish Sabharwal; Poongodi Chinnasamy (Editors)
The main aim of Healthcare 4.0: Health Informatics and Precision Data Management is to improve the services given by the healthcare industry and to bring meaningful patient outcomes, Informatics involved by applying the data, information and knowledge in the healthcare domain. Features: Improving the quality of health data of a patient A wide range of opportunities and renewed possibilities for healthcare systems Gives a way for carefully and meticulously tracking the provenance of medical records Accelerating the process of disease oriented data and medical data arbitration To bring the meaningful patient health outcomes To eradicate the delayed clinical communications To help the research intellectuals to step down further towards the disease and clinical data storage. Creating more patient-centered services The precise focus of this handbook will be on the potential applications and use of data informatics in area of healthcare, including clinical trials, tailored ailment data, patient and ailment record characterization and health records management.
Publication Date: 2022
Health Care in the United States: Organization, Management, and Policy by Howard P. Greenwald
A one-stop resource covering American health care and the challenges it faces In the newly revised Second Edition of Health Care in the United States: Organization, Management, and Policy, distinguished health and organizational researcher Dr. Howard P. Greenwald delivers a comprehensive exploration of the US health care system and the challenges its practitioners, professionals, and consumers face. From organization to management, financing, and evaluation, this book discusses the critical concepts, trends, and features of this sprawling set of interlocking systems. It also examines the historical origins of modern health care and how it delivers services to over 300 million Americans. Readers will discover: Modern controversies in American health care that animate political debate and discussion, including the Affordable Care Act. Discussions of the health care labor force, as well as its history, background, and crucial challenges. Possible future directions for US health care, including preventive medicine, new policy initiatives, and proposals for reform. Written for students and professionals working in or studying health care management, health policy, public health, medical sociology, or anthropology, social work, or political science, this latest edition of Health Care in the United States is also a fascinating read for members of the general public curious about one of the most important services they'll ever interact with.
Publication Date: 2022
Healthcare Technology Training: An Evidence-based Guide for Improved Quality by Brenda Kulhanek; Kathleen Mandato (Editors)
This book is a foundational resource on how to create, implement and maintain a successful healthcare technology training program. It demonstrates the impact of efficient and effective training, and underscores the importance of high-quality content, emphasizing the need to base training on a framework of contemporary learning science to support interactive and relevant training experiences. Details of the latest educational technologies are provided along with instructions on how to implement and maintain appropriate training courses for optimal informatics outcomes. Healthcare Technology Training: An Evidence-based Guide for Improved Quality provides a valuable and comprehensive resource for implementing and maintaining a successful training program by providing a unique all-in-one reference tool with examples and scenarios tailored to informaticians and all healthcare users of technology.
Publication Date: 2022
Leadership and Management in Healthcare: A Guide for Medical and Dental Practitioners by Stefan Abela
This book is a comprehensive guide to leadership in healthcare and the management of complex clinical scenarios in the medical or dental practice. Training in leadership and hospital management is not part of the curriculum and so guidance is often not provided in depth. This book outlines strategies for dealing with the management problems that arise in the healthcare profession, and it prepares the reader for interviews, examinations and the supervision of a team. It opens with an overview of the NHS, its evidence-based practice and healthcare regulations. Subsequent chapters discuss data protection, management of new business cases, formal complaints and inappropriate use of social media. Information is provided on the recruitment of new junior trainees, the management of underperforming allied health professionals, and the handling of injuries sustained at work. This book is ideal for final-year medical and dental undergraduate students, foundation year doctors, core trainees, junior and senior specialists and newly-appointed consultants.
Publication Date: 2023
Mastering the Art of Patient Care by Michelle Kittleson
Like a mentor you may turn to in times of crisis, this book provides the wisdom earned from countless mentors and patients. You may be standing on the precipice of medical training or well into your career, trying to recapture the joy of medicine. A love of people and a love of science barely capture the essence of a life in medicine; there is so much more to being a physician than the ability to diagnose and treat diseases. While nothing can fully prepare you for the fear and anxiety that comes with inexperience, Mastering the Art of Patient Care eases some of that uncertainty with a system for surviving and thriving in medical school and beyond. Whatever your stage, the goal of this book is to share successes and failures to help you be a physician who takes outstanding care of patients, colleagues, and trainees and derives great joy from saving lives.
Publication Date: 2023
Pragmatic Judgments in Direct Patient Care: Moral Theory at the Beginning of Clinical Ethics Consultation by Bernhard Bleyer
Why does a hospital need an ethics consultation? And what about this counselling is ethical? The book explains the background of the development of clinical ethics counselling. It provides new insights into serious decision-making conflicts in everyday clinical life and uncovers the disputes that followed in public. In the search for the ethical understanding of clinical ethics counselling, the book comes across previously unexplored evidence. Step by step, a system is reconstructed that reveals the shape of a significant philosophical school of thought.
Publication Date: 2023
The Public/Private Sector Mix in Healthcare Delivery by Howard A. Palley
This volume examines the public/private sector mix in a variety of national healthcare systems and their interface with the goals of health equity and quality of healthcare. By examining the mix of public and private sector funding of healthcare services as well as the mix of public andprivate sector delivery of healthcare services in various national contexts, the authors will address the question of how various national systems are affected with respect to their ability, or the lack thereof, to achieve goals of health equity and quality of healthcare in an efficient manner. Thesignificance of this collection of national studies involving the public/private sector mix is that it will provide insights into the factors that enhance the public/private sector mix in fulfilling the goals of health equity and the quality of healthcare services as well as an understanding of thecircumstances in which elements of the public/private sector mix may be harmful for the achievement of such goals. This volume will examine these issues as they have arisen in the United States, France, The Netherlands, Sweden, The Russian Federation, Italy, Brazil, Uruguay, and Japan. An additionalset of three comparative chapters will examine two or more nations, collectively in Canada, Israel, Australia, Germany, The United Kingdom, Chile and Mexico.
Publication Date: 2022
Curbside Consultation in Cornea and External Disease: 49 Clinical Questions by
Curbside Consultation in Cornea and External Disease, Second Edition contains new questions and brief, practical, evidence-based answers to the most frequently asked questions that are posed during a "curbside consultation" between clinicians. Dr. David R. Hardten and associate editors Drs. Mark S. Hansen and Celine Satija have designed this unique reference in which cornea and external disease specialists offer expert advice, preferences, and opinions on tough clinical questions commonly encountered by corneal specialists, ophthalmologists, or residents. The unique Q&A format provides quick access to current information with the simplicity of a conversation between two colleagues. Numerous images, diagrams, and references are included to enhance the text and illustrate clinical diagnoses and treatment plans. Some of the questions that are answered inside the Second Edition include: I have a patient with Fuchs' Endothelial Dystrophy. Is there anything new to improve her vision? What should I do with a young patient with mild keratoconus? How can I help a 47-year-old female who uses artificial tears 6 times daily and continues to complain of dry eyes? A patient presents with corneal ulcer. What work-up and treatment would you recommend? How do I manage a patient that rubbed their eye just after LASIK? What could go wrong? What can I offer a patient that sustained eye trauma and loss of iris tissue? I have a patient with poor vision after DMEK. What went wrong and how do I get better vision for them? Curbside Consultation in Cornea and External Disease: 49 Clinical Questions, Second Edition provides information basic enough for residents while also incorporating expert pearls that even high-volume ophthalmologists will appreciate. Cornea specialists, general ophthalmologists, and residents alike will enjoy the user-friendly and casual format and the expert advice contained within.
Dry Eye Disease by
Clinically-oriented and up-to-date, Dry Eye Diseases focuses on the latest diagnostic techniques, management guidelines, and treatment options for dry eye disorders. This consolidated resource provides guidance on the clinical assessment of patients presenting with dry eye symptoms as well as a global perspectives on the use of FDA and off-label products. Practicing and trainee ophthalmologists and optometrists will find this an indispensable resource for understanding this complex disorder. Covers a range of topics, including clinical assessment, pathophysiology, the link between dry eye and system disease, and the use of FDA and off-label products as treatment options for dry eye diseases. Includes a section devoted to the presence of dry eye disease in specific populations, including patients presenting with other ocular conditions, systemic pain conditions, graft-versus-host disease, Sjögren's syndrome, and meibomian gland dysfunction. Addresses the challenges associated with treating ocular pain not responsive to traditional dry eye disease treatments. Features concise chapters from a team of international chapter authors, providing global perspectives on this common disorder. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single, convenient resource
Emerging Ocular Infections by
The book offers comprehensive coverage on novel manifestations of known infections, novel infections with documented ophthalmic involvement, and the growing issue of resistance among certain infections. Filling a much-needed gap in current literary offerings, chapters approach ophthalmic manifestations of infectious disease from a novel perspective. Each chapter is co-written by an ophthalmologist and an infectious disease specialist to provide multidisciplinary insight. This unique analysis of infectious disease enhances the ability of ophthalmologists and infectious disease specialists to identify the manifold manifestations of both common and rare infections in the eye. Chapters begin with a general introduction, and each contain an Infectious Disease section, along with an Ophthalmology section. The book covers infections such as viral retinitis, fungal infections, syphilis, tuberculosis, vector-borne illnesses, and delve into rarer conditions such as unusual post-operative infections. Concise and practical, Emerging Ocular Infection will be of use to ID specialists, and ophthalmologists alike.
Imaging Atlas of Ophthalmic Tumors and Diseases by
This atlas describes an array of tumors and diseases that affect the orbit and associated cranial nerves. Often lacking in radiology residency and fellowship training is teaching of the anatomy of the orbit and cranial nerves, as well as the imaging appearance of orbital tumors and diseases that affect these regions. This atlas fills this gap of knowledge with tumors and diseases encountered and treated at MD Anderson Cancer Center, providing a review of the imaging anatomy and the appearance of the tumors and diseases that should aid in formatting a differential diagnosis. The text consists of ten chapters divided into separate anatomic sections followed by an eleventh chapter describing the treated orbit and tumor recurrence. Each of the first ten chapters begins with a description of the relevant anatomy, labeled CT and MRI images and drawings to highlight important anatomic considerations. This is an ideal guide for practicing general radiologists, neuroradiologists and trainees, as well as ophthalmologists, head and neck surgeons, neurosurgeons, medical and radiation oncologists, and pathologists who interpret or review orbital images as part of their daily practice.
Keratoconus: A Comprehensive Guide to Diagnosis and Treatment by
Keratoconus is a progressive disease of the cornea which can lead to blindness as irregular astigmatism increases. The study of the ectasic diseases of the cornea has evolved considerably in the last several years and this has brought new tools for the keratoconus diagnosis and treatment. A better understanding of treatment options can enhance visual rehabilitation and prevent blindness in these patients. This book provides the reader deeply and updated information on keratoconus treatment. Written by experts from worldwide, the book presents clinical, genetic, metabolic and biomechanical aspects in the development of the disease, the proper intervention time, the imaging tests used for diagnosis and keratoconus monitoring, as well as details on new surgical procedures (as contact lenses and laser technologies) using modern methods with wide technological application. Two pioneers in the keratoconus treatment bring their valuable contribution in specific chapters. Ophthalmologists will find a practical and useful approach of new technologies to get the best results for their patients. This book will really impact changes in the therapeutic conduct of corneal surgeons.
Keratoconus: Diagnosis and Management by
Offering practical clinical guidance for early diagnosis and effective management, Keratoconus: Diagnosis and Management is a concise, easy-to-read guide to help mitigate loss of vision in patients in a way that does not interfere with quality of life. From early diagnosis and intervention through the most up-to-date treatment and surgical approaches, this consolidated reference covers the essential information needed by cornea fellows and specialists, general ophthalmologists, residents, and optometrists. Provides expert, step-by-step guidance and real-world perspectives from global contributors in the field. Covers the latest advances in cornea transplantation, corneal collagen cross-linking (CXL) in adult and pediatric patients, intrastromal corneal rings, intraocular lenses, corneal regeneration, and laser surgery. Includes quick-reference boxes throughout highlighting essential clinical facts, pitfalls, potential complications, and clinical guidelines. Presents real-world case studies of actual patient scenarios from early to advanced disease states. Features high-quality imaging for keratoconus at various stages, including OCT, Brillouin scanning microscopy, Scheimpflug and combined Placido and Scheimpflug, combined Placido and AS-OCT, clinical and surgical photos, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Microbiome and the Eye: What's the Connection? by
Microbiome and the Eye: What's the connection? highlights how alterations in the gut and eye microbiomes can lead to systemic immune alterations with subsequent effects on the eye. The book is divided into two sections, one highlighting how alterations in the gut microbiome impact various components of health outside the gut, with a focus on the immune system and inflammatory mediators, and the second focusing on studies on a variety of ocular diseases, including ocular surface diseases/dry eye, keratitis, uveitis, glaucoma, and retinopathy to gut dysbiosis. With its translational approach, the book is suitable for both researchers and clinicians. The book will help readers understand the mechanisms in which gut and eye microbiome composition may influence health in multiple compartments, with a focus on eye diseases.
Mitosis Domain Generalization and Diabetic Retinopathy Analysis by
This book constitutes two challenges that were held in conjunction with the 25th International Conference on Medical Image Computing and Computer-Assisted Intervention, MICCAI 2022, which took place in Singapore during September 18-22, 2022. The peer-reviewed 20 long and 5 short papers included in this volume stem from the following three biomedical image analysis challenges: Mitosis Domain Generalization Challenge (MIDOG 2022), Diabetic Retinopathy Analysis Challenge (CRAC 2022) The challenges share the need for developing and fairly evaluating algorithms that increase accuracy, reproducibility and efficiency of automated image analysis in clinically relevant applications.
Ocular and Adnexal Lymphoma by
This book is a comprehensive source of authoritative information on the subject of ocular and adnexal lymphoma. It is a completely updated edition of its predecessor and is a conjoint effort of ocular oncologists, general oncologists, and pathologists. The book features contributions from around the world to ensure broad coverage of an evolving topic. Chapters cover all aspects of ocular lymphomas, including clinical features, classification, epidemiology, diagnostic evaluation, biopsy techniques, histology and molecular pathology, staging procedures, and treatment methods. The emphasis throughout is on easy readability, and the layout ensures rapid retrieval of information. The book offers a clear distinction of what has been updated in the years since the first edition published, including entirely rewritten or revamped chapters. In order to convey fundamental concepts, numerous tables, clinical photographs, histopathologic microphotographs, and imaging studies (fluorescein and indocyanine angiograms, ultrasonograms, CT scans, and MR images) are included. Ocular and Adnexal Lymphoma strives to cover new developments and innovations in ocular and adnexal lymphoma, providing the clinician with a review and summary of recent research and its implications for clinical practice and explaining how research results impact diagnostics, treatment options and procedures as well as patient management.
Retinitis Pigmentosa by
This volume details the history of Retinitis Pigmentosa and current treatment options. Chapters guide readers through CRISPR, gene therapy, stem cell therapy, next-generation sequencing methods, gene editing, and translational applications of other therapies to the treatment of Retinitis Pigmentosa. Written in the successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible protocols, and notes on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls. Authoritative and cutting-edge, Retinitis Pigmentosa aims to be a useful practical guide to researches to help further their study in this field.
Digital Transformation in Healthcare in Post-COVID-19 Times by
Digital Transformation in Healthcare in Post-Covid19 Times discusses recent advances in patient care and offers critical comparative insights into their application across multiple domains in healthcare. By showcasing key problems, best practices and emerging challenges, the book offers a state-of-art review of opportunities and prospects in the process of delivering smart sustainable healthcare services. Topics discussed include healthcare challenges in the post-COVID-19 era, enabling technologies for digital transformation, value driven approaches to the delivery of patient centric top-quality health services, and analytics and enhanced decision making. In addition, the book updates knowledge on best practices for training towards digital transformation and sustainable health. This is a valuable resource for healthcare professionals, medical doctors, researchers, graduate students and members of the biomedical field who are interested in learning more about the use of emerging technologies in healthcare.
The Edinburgh Companion to the Politics of American Health by
Examines the diverse, and often conflicted, political status of health in the United States from World War II to Covid-19
Explores the histories, cultures, policies and technologies of American health and medicine as they have developed over a 75-year period
Brings together 45 experts from the US, Canada and the UK working across the fields of medicine, health policy, political and social history, political science, environmental studies, law, and cultural studies
Uses the lenses of class, poverty, race, gender, sexuality and locality to study the concepts, policies and lived realities of U.S. healthcare and medical treatment
Explores key controversies in American health, including global health and new technologies
Ethics and Professionalism for Healthcare Managers, Second Edition by
The ethical issues that arise in healthcare organizations are not limited to decisions made by clinicians. Everyday operational decisions made by healthcare managers also have weighty ethical implications. Ethics and Professionalism for Healthcare Managers prepares readers to recognize and respond to the ethical dilemmas they will encounter on a regular basis during their career in healthcare management. Through cases, exercises, and self-quizzes, readers can apply the theories and tools presented in the text to actual situations they may find themselves facing. This updated second edition contains a new chapter on health policy, health disparities, and ethics that focuses on the interrelationships of cost, quality, and access. The chapter on ethical decision-making has also been extensively revised to include discussion of moral distress, expanded coverage of medical futility, and an introduction to the precautionary principle. Throughout, the book's cases and examples have been updated to reflect current, real-world ethical issues in healthcare management. Other new content in this edition covers: Moral engagement, moral disengagement, and the concept of moral courage The five Cs (competence, consent, confidentiality, crossing boundaries, and culture) Ethical implications of current health informatics, including electronic health records and the exchange of health information Continuous review and supervision of research integrity Ethical operations management during the COVID-19 pandemic Also new to this edition, chapters are grouped into three overarching themes--ethics and the profession of healthcare management, ethical decision-making, and ethical applications. Each section is introduced by an AMA Journal of Ethics case study that sets the stage for the chapters that follow. Managers working in healthcare's many settings are frequently tasked with addressing ethical dilemmas. This book provides a practical framework for confronting and resolving ethical conflicts throughout a healthcare organization.
Healthcare 4. 0: Health Informatics and Precision Data Management by
The main aim of Healthcare 4.0: Health Informatics and Precision Data Management is to improve the services given by the healthcare industry and to bring meaningful patient outcomes, Informatics involved by applying the data, information and knowledge in the healthcare domain. Features: Improving the quality of health data of a patient A wide range of opportunities and renewed possibilities for healthcare systems Gives a way for carefully and meticulously tracking the provenance of medical records Accelerating the process of disease oriented data and medical data arbitration To bring the meaningful patient health outcomes To eradicate the delayed clinical communications To help the research intellectuals to step down further towards the disease and clinical data storage. Creating more patient-centered services The precise focus of this handbook will be on the potential applications and use of data informatics in area of healthcare, including clinical trials, tailored ailment data, patient and ailment record characterization and health records management.
Healthcare Technology Training: An Evidence-based Guide for Improved Quality by
This book is a foundational resource on how to create, implement and maintain a successful healthcare technology training program. It demonstrates the impact of efficient and effective training, and underscores the importance of high-quality content, emphasizing the need to base training on a framework of contemporary learning science to support interactive and relevant training experiences. Details of the latest educational technologies are provided along with instructions on how to implement and maintain appropriate training courses for optimal informatics outcomes. Healthcare Technology Training: An Evidence-based Guide for Improved Quality provides a valuable and comprehensive resource for implementing and maintaining a successful training program by providing a unique all-in-one reference tool with examples and scenarios tailored to informaticians and all healthcare users of technology.
Leadership and Management in Healthcare: A Guide for Medical and Dental Practitioners by
This book is a comprehensive guide to leadership in healthcare and the management of complex clinical scenarios in the medical or dental practice. Training in leadership and hospital management is not part of the curriculum and so guidance is often not provided in depth. This book outlines strategies for dealing with the management problems that arise in the healthcare profession, and it prepares the reader for interviews, examinations and the supervision of a team. It opens with an overview of the NHS, its evidence-based practice and healthcare regulations. Subsequent chapters discuss data protection, management of new business cases, formal complaints and inappropriate use of social media. Information is provided on the recruitment of new junior trainees, the management of underperforming allied health professionals, and the handling of injuries sustained at work. This book is ideal for final-year medical and dental undergraduate students, foundation year doctors, core trainees, junior and senior specialists and newly-appointed consultants.
Mastering the Art of Patient Care by
Like a mentor you may turn to in times of crisis, this book provides the wisdom earned from countless mentors and patients. You may be standing on the precipice of medical training or well into your career, trying to recapture the joy of medicine. A love of people and a love of science barely capture the essence of a life in medicine; there is so much more to being a physician than the ability to diagnose and treat diseases. While nothing can fully prepare you for the fear and anxiety that comes with inexperience, Mastering the Art of Patient Care eases some of that uncertainty with a system for surviving and thriving in medical school and beyond. Whatever your stage, the goal of this book is to share successes and failures to help you be a physician who takes outstanding care of patients, colleagues, and trainees and derives great joy from saving lives.
Pragmatic Judgments in Direct Patient Care: Moral Theory at the Beginning of Clinical Ethics Consultation by
Why does a hospital need an ethics consultation? And what about this counselling is ethical? The book explains the background of the development of clinical ethics counselling. It provides new insights into serious decision-making conflicts in everyday clinical life and uncovers the disputes that followed in public. In the search for the ethical understanding of clinical ethics counselling, the book comes across previously unexplored evidence. Step by step, a system is reconstructed that reveals the shape of a significant philosophical school of thought.
The Public/Private Sector Mix in Healthcare Delivery by
This volume examines the public/private sector mix in a variety of national healthcare systems and their interface with the goals of health equity and quality of healthcare. By examining the mix of public and private sector funding of healthcare services as well as the mix of public andprivate sector delivery of healthcare services in various national contexts, the authors will address the question of how various national systems are affected with respect to their ability, or the lack thereof, to achieve goals of health equity and quality of healthcare in an efficient manner. Thesignificance of this collection of national studies involving the public/private sector mix is that it will provide insights into the factors that enhance the public/private sector mix in fulfilling the goals of health equity and the quality of healthcare services as well as an understanding of thecircumstances in which elements of the public/private sector mix may be harmful for the achievement of such goals. This volume will examine these issues as they have arisen in the United States, France, The Netherlands, Sweden, The Russian Federation, Italy, Brazil, Uruguay, and Japan. An additionalset of three comparative chapters will examine two or more nations, collectively in Canada, Israel, Australia, Germany, The United Kingdom, Chile and Mexico.