Skip to Main Content
New Online Books, June 2021
Anophthalmia: The Expert's Guide to Medical and Surgical Management by Thomas E. Johnson (Editor)
This book provides a comprehensive review on the surgical care of patients requiring removal of an eye, as well as consequent functional and cosmetic rehabilitation. In addition to covering the crafting of ocular prosthetics, Anophthalmia: The Expert's Guide to Medical and Surgical Management also addresses the psychological and physical adjustments to losing an eye, and adapting to that loss. Divided into five parts, Anophthalmia functions as a go-to reference for ophthalmologists and oculoplastic surgeons. The book begins by laying out the clinical foundations and history of anophthalmia. Part II and III discuss surgical removal techniques, prosthesis fitting and maintenance, congenital anophthalmia, infections and inflammations, and newer surgical techniques such as osseointegration after orbital exenteration. Finally, the book concludes with chapters on prosthetic options including scleral shells, keratopigmentation procedures, and cosmetic contact lenses. Unique in content, Anophthalmia is a vital resource for practicing ophthalmologists, oculoplastic surgeons, and all medical professionals who care for patients with surgical and traumatic loss of the eye and orbital tissues. Additionally, sufficient detail and explanation make this work accessible to those in training, such as medical students, ophthalmology residents, and fellows.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020
Brain-Inspired Intelligence and Visual Perception: The Brain and Machine Eyes by Wenfeng Wang; Xiangyang Deng; Liang Ding; Limin Zhang
This book presents the latest findings in the field of brain-inspired intelligence and visual perception (BIVP), and discusses novel research assumptions, including an introduction to brain science and the brain vision hypotheses. Moreover, it introduces readers to the theory and algorithms of BIVP - such as pheromone accumulation and iteration, neural cognitive computing mechanisms, the integration and scheduling of core modules, and brain-inspired perception, motion and control - in a step-by-step manner. Accordingly, it will appeal to university researchers, R&D engineers, undergraduate and graduate students; to anyone interested in robots, brain cognition or computer vision; and to all those wishing to learn about the core theory, principles, methods, algorithms, and applications of BIVP.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020
Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma by Malik Kahook; Joel S. Schuman
Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma--one of the field's seminal texts on the medical practice and surgical management of glaucoma, now in its Sixth Edition--includes the latest updates in an area that is currently experiencing a surge of innovation. Edited by Drs. Malik Y. Kahook and Joel S. Schuman and with writings from the late Dr. David L. Epstein and more than 80 contributors, Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma, Sixth Edition brings together the experience of world-class glaucoma experts who belong to a long line of surgeons trained using the teachings of the original authors of this classic work. Each chapter has been meticulously edited and updated from the previous edition, while maintaining the well-established historical teachings of Drs. Paul A. Chandler and W. Morton Grant. New chapters on medical therapy as well as thorough updates on novel and minimally invasive approaches for the surgical management of glaucoma have been added. New topics and features in the Sixth Edition include: Advances in imaging of the optic nerve and retina Rho-associated protein kinase inhibitors Glaucoma and cerebrospinal fluid pressure The FDA's role in the development of new diagnostic and surgical devices for patients with glaucoma Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma has been the most relevant and invaluable reference on glaucoma for generations of ophthalmologists. This updated Sixth Edition builds on the teachings of previous editions, making the Sixth Edition as relevant in the 21st century as when the first lectures were presented by Drs. Chandler and Grant more than 55 years ago.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2021
Digital Health Entrepreneurship by Sharon Wulfovich (Editor); Arlen Meyers (Editor)
This book presents a hands on approach to the digital health innovation and entrepreneurship roadmap for digital health entrepreneurs and medical professionals who are dissatisfied with the existing literature on or are contemplating getting involved in digital health entrepreneurship. Topics covered include regulatory affairs featuring detailed guidance on the legal environment, protecting digital health intellectual property in software, hardware and business processes, financing a digital health start up, cybersecurity best practice, and digital health business model testing for desirability, feasibility, and viability. Digital Health Entrepreneurship is directed to clinicians and other digital health entrepreneurs and stresses an interdisciplinary approach to product development, deployment, dissemination and implementation. It therefore provides an ideal resource for medical professionals across a broad range of disciplines seeking a greater understanding of digital health innovation and entrepreneurship.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2019
Endoscopic Surgery of the Orbit by Raj Sindwani
Endoscopic orbital procedures are at the forefront of today's multidisciplinary patient care and team approach to problem-solving. Endoscopic Surgery of the Orbit offers state-of-the-art, expert guidance on minimally invasive orbit techniques that promise a more streamlined approach to comprehensive patient care, improved patient satisfaction, and superior outcomes. This unique resource reflects the contemporary, unparalleled partnership between otolaryngology, neurosurgery, and ophthalmology that often also includes a cohesive team of clinicians from many other specialties. Provides expert perspectives from thought leaders in various specialties, including otolaryngologists, ophthalmologists, neurosurgeons, endocrinologists, medical and radiation oncologists, radiologists, and pathologists. Details the two-surgeon, multi-handed surgical techniques that have revolutionized the management of complex pathologies involving the orbit and skull base. Covers the full breadth of endoscopic orbital procedures-from advanced intraconal tumor removal and intracranial techniques involving the optic nerve and optic chiasm to more routine endoscopic procedures such as orbital decompressions, E-DCR, fracture repair, and subperiosteal abscess drainage. Reviews key topics such as neuromonitoring in orbital and skull base surgery, endoscopic surgery of the intraconal space for tumor resection, Transorbital NeuroEnodscopic Surgery (TONES), and reconstruction of the orbit. Includes tips and pearls on safe and effective procedures as well as novel approaches and innovations in the equipment used to perform these popular procedures. Provides superb visual reinforcement with more than 400 high-definition images of anatomy, imaging, and surgical techniques, as well as procedural videos. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2021
Engaging Learners Through Zoom: Strategies for Virtual Teaching Across Disciplines by Jonathan Brennan
Keep your virtual students focused and meaningfully engaged with this invaluable teaching resource Engaging Learners through Zoom delivers numerous practical strategies and helpful advice on how to engage students virtually. Many of the tools are also applicable in face-to-face and hybrid environments. Backed by cognitive neuroscience research, this book is a collection of dozens of active, synchronous online learning structures that can be used in any discipline, perfect for middle and high school through higher education. This book provides teachers, college educators, administrators, and trainers the antidote to Zoom fatigue! Transform Zoom (or any video-conferencing platform) into an ideal environment for students to focus more fully, learn more effectively and have more fun! Dr. Brennan, accomplished author, professor and distance education expert, improves learner performance and addresses equity in education with: Over 150 active learning strategy examples with step-by-step directions Ideas for including diverse content across 83 different disciplines Multiple examples for 26 of the most commonly taught courses Engaging Learners through Zoom belongs in the collection of every educator who wants to motivate and inspire their students to excel in a virtual learning environment.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2021
Eyelid and Conjunctival Tumors: In Vivo Confocal Microscopy by Mathilde Kaspi (Editor); Elisa Cinotti (Editor); Jean-Luc Perrot (Editor); Thibaud Garcin (Editor)
This Atlas gives the complete expert opinion on the diagnostic features of eyelid and conjunctival umors (benign and malignant): a state-of-the-art guide with numerous images, useful for both dermatologists and ophthalmologists. This invaluable resource, illustrating clinical, histological and re fectance confocal microscopy features, first addresses the normal conditions of the ocular surface, then reviews lesions due to epidermal, melanocytic and adnexal tumors. A final part is devoted to conjunctiva conditions, from normal to malignant conjunctival tumors. The high number of illustrations and their description of many ocular surface lesions with in vivo confocal microscopy make this atlas an essential guide for the practitioners of both specialities.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020
Fetal and Neonatal Eye Pathology by Robert M. Verdijk; Martina C. Herwig-Carl
This richly illustrated book discusses the fetal eye, offering a brief introduction to the topic and discussing its development and treatment. The high-quality reference images allow the morphological fetal age to be determined, and the authors provide examples of artifacts and real-world findings to simplify histopathological diagnosis. The book also discusses findings in fetal eyes, presenting typical examples of common malformations, including clinical and histological pictures as well as additional findings from other specialties (such as neuropathology, genetics). In addition, it covers non-specific ocular malformations. It particularly addresses documentation and interpretation of cases of suspected Shaken-Baby Syndrome, which is of forensic importance. In the context of retinopathy of prematurity, histopathological and clinical findings are correlated. The book provides reference images of fetal development and guidelines on grossing and handling fetal eyes, and also explores the complicated topic of artifacts, including case illustrations with comprehensive information concerning other specialties. Lastly it discusses clinically and forensically relevant findings in newborns. It guides ophthalmic and pediatric pathologists in the interpretation of ocular findings, helping to narrow down differential diagnoses in fetal pathology, while at the same time serving as a valuable tool for specialists who do not have a great deal of experience in the examination of fetal eyes.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020
Fundamentals of Glaucoma: A Guide for Ophthalmic Nurse Practitioners, Optometrists and Orthoptists by Salman Waqar (Editor)
Glaucoma is one of the leading causes of blindness worldwide. Robust screening alongside early diagnosis and prompt management is essential for preserving vision. Advanced ophthalmic nurse practitioners, optometrists and orthoptists are increasingly becoming part of a multi-disciplinary team approach that is designed to provide the best outcomes for our patients.This full-colour book has been written by experienced ophthalmologists and optometrists, and details all that a practitioner needs to know about the condition. It will also serve as a useful reference for junior ophthalmic trainees and medical students.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2021
Grow Your Eye Care Practice: High-Impact Pearls from the Marketing Experts by M. Wang
A crash course in marketing for eye care professionals, Grow Your Eye Care Practice: High Impact Pearls from the Marketing Experts guides readers through this crucial area of business development. With an increase in patients undergoing elective procedures and an increase in the amount of providers, marketing has become the most important way for eye care professionals to grow their practices and differentiate themselves from their competition. Since marketing is not addressed in any formal course in medical school, optometry school, residency or fellowship, many eye care professionals lack basic understanding and skills in this area of growing importance to their businesses. To meet this critical need, editor Dr. Ming Wang and associate editors Shareef Mahdavi, Michael Malley and Dr. Tracy Swartz have created this essential, timely handbook aggregating the key ophthalmic marketing pearls, teachings and experiences of some of the leading national and international marketing experts. Grow Your Eye Care Practice begins with an overview of the history and current state of ophthalmic marketing, including a fascinating look at the commoditization of eye care as was demonstrated with the introduction of LASIK. The core chapters address foundational and innovative marketing concepts and their application to eye care, including: Market research, segmentation, targeting and positioning Patient experience Branding versus call to action Word of mouth referrals Digital marketing, including social media, websites and SEO Innovative marketing approaches Ethics and laws governing medical marketing Upcoming disruptive marketing technologies Grow Your Eye Care Practice: High Impact Pearls from the Marketing Experts is an indispensable desktop reference for all eye care professionals--ophthalmologists, optometrists, administrators, practice managers, business associates, residents, fellows, medical students and optometry students--who wish to improve their marketing skills, grow their practices and differentiate themselves from their competition.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2021
Health Care off the Books: Poverty, Illness, and Strategies for Survival in Urban America by Danielle T. Raudenbush
Millions of low-income African Americans in the United States lack access to health care. How do they treat their health care problems? In Health Care Off the Books, Danielle T. Raudenbush provides an answer that challenges public perceptions and prior scholarly work. Informed by three and a half years of fieldwork in a public housing development, Raudenbush shows how residents who face obstacles to health care gain access to pharmaceutical drugs, medical equipment, physician reference manuals, and insurance cards by mobilizing social networks that include not only their neighbors but also local physicians. However, membership in these social networks is not universal, and some residents are forced to turn to a robust street market to obtain medicine. For others, health problems simply go untreated. Raudenbush reconceptualizes U.S. health care as a formal-informal hybrid system and explains why many residents who do have access to health services also turn to informal strategies to treat their health problems. While the practices described in the book may at times be beneficial to people's health, they also have the potential to do serious harm. By understanding this hybrid system, we can evaluate its effects and gain new insight into the sources of social and racial disparities in health outcomes.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020
Health Microinsurance: Implementing Universal Health Coverage in the Informal Sector by David M. Dror
This book is the first and only study on implementing Universal Health Coverage in poor, rural and informal settings, with end-to-end guidance for rolling out a demand-driven and needs-based health insurance model. The chapters are comprehensive, covering topics such as data collection and analysis for contextual risk assessment, the design of suitable benefits packages, how to price microinsurance, insurance education for illiterate or innumerate populations, the setting up of governance bodies and training staff for key roles, and information management.The book contains insights gained from years of fieldwork in several countries and is valuable reading for undergraduate and graduate students and practitioners of health microinsurance. As a companion to the author's first book, Financing Micro Health Insurance: Theory, Methods and Evidence, this book provides the only current source of information on implementing health microinsurance. The practical guidelines to setting up and operating a microinsurance scheme are accompanied by impact evaluation, chapter exercises and Issue Briefs that present examples of using tools that are necessary for successful implementation.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020
Neuro-Ophthalmology Illustrated by Valerie Biousse; Nancy Newman
A highly praised, well written, and richly illustrated modern classic in neuro-ophthalmology now in an exciting new edition with video clips! Neuro-ophthalmology is an "overlap" specialty, encompassing all disorders that affect the parts of the central nervous system related to vision. Neuro-Ophthalmology Illustrated, Third Edition by world-renowned neuro-ophthalmologists and professors Valérie Biousse and Nancy J. Newman expands on the widely acclaimed prior editions, lauded with awards by the Association of American Publishers and the British Medical Association. The updated text reflects diagnostic advances such as optical coherence tomography and features new high-quality images and videos. The text starts with neuro-ophthalmic and funduscopic examinations, visual fields, commonly used ancillary testing methods, and an overview of visual loss. Subsequent chapters detail a wide array of conditions including retinal vascular diseases, optic neuropathies, disc edema, disorders of higher cortical function, abnormal visual perceptions, diplopia, orbital syndromes, cavernous sinus and orbital vascular disorders, nystagmus/other ocular oscillations, and disorders of the eyelid. Final chapters are dedicated to nonorganic neuro-ophthalmic symptoms and signs, diagnosis of headache and facial pain, neurologic and systemic disorders that commonly have neuro-ophthalmologic manifestations, and an approach to management of the visually impaired patient. Key Highlights Concise text coupled with more than 600 high-quality images enhances understanding of complex concepts Easily accessible within pertinent sections, 69 video clips cover a wide spectrum of topics such as examination techniques, normal eye movements, eye movement disorders, and pupil findings Clinical pearls, flow charts, boxes, tables, and a highly detailed index at the end of the text improve retention and assimilation of knowledge This book is essential reading for students, ophthalmology, neurology, and neurosurgery residents, as well as seasoned clinicians in these specialties. At once authoritative and easy to read, this resource provides readers with all the tools they need to diagnose and manage neuro-ophthalmologic disorders. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781684200740
Publication Date: 2020
Trauma and Miscellaneous Disorders in Retina by Eduardo Büchele Rodrigues (Editor); Carsten Helmut Meyer (Editor); Eduardo Tomazoni (Editor)
This atlas presents common and rare traumatic conditions of the retina and related intraocular tissues (choroidal rupture, commotio retinae, intraocular foreign body). It also covers intraocular tumors and congenital conditions such as myelinated retinal nerve fibers. Including numerous high-quality figures using various modalities, the book reviews the basic management principles in a reader-friendly style to help readers gain a better understanding of the diseases discussed. Trauma and Miscellaneous Disorders in Retina is one of nine volumes in the series Retina Atlas. This series provides comprehensive information on vitreoretinal diseases, covering imaging basics, retinal vascular disease, ocular inflammatory disease, retinal degeneration, retinal surgery, macular disorders, ocular oncology, pediatric retina and trauma.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020
Anophthalmia: The Expert's Guide to Medical and Surgical Management by
This book provides a comprehensive review on the surgical care of patients requiring removal of an eye, as well as consequent functional and cosmetic rehabilitation. In addition to covering the crafting of ocular prosthetics, Anophthalmia: The Expert's Guide to Medical and Surgical Management also addresses the psychological and physical adjustments to losing an eye, and adapting to that loss. Divided into five parts, Anophthalmia functions as a go-to reference for ophthalmologists and oculoplastic surgeons. The book begins by laying out the clinical foundations and history of anophthalmia. Part II and III discuss surgical removal techniques, prosthesis fitting and maintenance, congenital anophthalmia, infections and inflammations, and newer surgical techniques such as osseointegration after orbital exenteration. Finally, the book concludes with chapters on prosthetic options including scleral shells, keratopigmentation procedures, and cosmetic contact lenses. Unique in content, Anophthalmia is a vital resource for practicing ophthalmologists, oculoplastic surgeons, and all medical professionals who care for patients with surgical and traumatic loss of the eye and orbital tissues. Additionally, sufficient detail and explanation make this work accessible to those in training, such as medical students, ophthalmology residents, and fellows.
Brain-Inspired Intelligence and Visual Perception: The Brain and Machine Eyes by
This book presents the latest findings in the field of brain-inspired intelligence and visual perception (BIVP), and discusses novel research assumptions, including an introduction to brain science and the brain vision hypotheses. Moreover, it introduces readers to the theory and algorithms of BIVP - such as pheromone accumulation and iteration, neural cognitive computing mechanisms, the integration and scheduling of core modules, and brain-inspired perception, motion and control - in a step-by-step manner. Accordingly, it will appeal to university researchers, R&D engineers, undergraduate and graduate students; to anyone interested in robots, brain cognition or computer vision; and to all those wishing to learn about the core theory, principles, methods, algorithms, and applications of BIVP.
Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma by
Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma--one of the field's seminal texts on the medical practice and surgical management of glaucoma, now in its Sixth Edition--includes the latest updates in an area that is currently experiencing a surge of innovation. Edited by Drs. Malik Y. Kahook and Joel S. Schuman and with writings from the late Dr. David L. Epstein and more than 80 contributors, Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma, Sixth Edition brings together the experience of world-class glaucoma experts who belong to a long line of surgeons trained using the teachings of the original authors of this classic work. Each chapter has been meticulously edited and updated from the previous edition, while maintaining the well-established historical teachings of Drs. Paul A. Chandler and W. Morton Grant. New chapters on medical therapy as well as thorough updates on novel and minimally invasive approaches for the surgical management of glaucoma have been added. New topics and features in the Sixth Edition include: Advances in imaging of the optic nerve and retina Rho-associated protein kinase inhibitors Glaucoma and cerebrospinal fluid pressure The FDA's role in the development of new diagnostic and surgical devices for patients with glaucoma Chandler and Grant's Glaucoma has been the most relevant and invaluable reference on glaucoma for generations of ophthalmologists. This updated Sixth Edition builds on the teachings of previous editions, making the Sixth Edition as relevant in the 21st century as when the first lectures were presented by Drs. Chandler and Grant more than 55 years ago.
Clinical Applications of Optical Coherence Tomography Angiography by 
Digital Health Entrepreneurship by
This book presents a hands on approach to the digital health innovation and entrepreneurship roadmap for digital health entrepreneurs and medical professionals who are dissatisfied with the existing literature on or are contemplating getting involved in digital health entrepreneurship. Topics covered include regulatory affairs featuring detailed guidance on the legal environment, protecting digital health intellectual property in software, hardware and business processes, financing a digital health start up, cybersecurity best practice, and digital health business model testing for desirability, feasibility, and viability. Digital Health Entrepreneurship is directed to clinicians and other digital health entrepreneurs and stresses an interdisciplinary approach to product development, deployment, dissemination and implementation. It therefore provides an ideal resource for medical professionals across a broad range of disciplines seeking a greater understanding of digital health innovation and entrepreneurship.
Endoscopic Surgery of the Orbit by
Endoscopic orbital procedures are at the forefront of today's multidisciplinary patient care and team approach to problem-solving. Endoscopic Surgery of the Orbit offers state-of-the-art, expert guidance on minimally invasive orbit techniques that promise a more streamlined approach to comprehensive patient care, improved patient satisfaction, and superior outcomes. This unique resource reflects the contemporary, unparalleled partnership between otolaryngology, neurosurgery, and ophthalmology that often also includes a cohesive team of clinicians from many other specialties. Provides expert perspectives from thought leaders in various specialties, including otolaryngologists, ophthalmologists, neurosurgeons, endocrinologists, medical and radiation oncologists, radiologists, and pathologists. Details the two-surgeon, multi-handed surgical techniques that have revolutionized the management of complex pathologies involving the orbit and skull base. Covers the full breadth of endoscopic orbital procedures-from advanced intraconal tumor removal and intracranial techniques involving the optic nerve and optic chiasm to more routine endoscopic procedures such as orbital decompressions, E-DCR, fracture repair, and subperiosteal abscess drainage. Reviews key topics such as neuromonitoring in orbital and skull base surgery, endoscopic surgery of the intraconal space for tumor resection, Transorbital NeuroEnodscopic Surgery (TONES), and reconstruction of the orbit. Includes tips and pearls on safe and effective procedures as well as novel approaches and innovations in the equipment used to perform these popular procedures. Provides superb visual reinforcement with more than 400 high-definition images of anatomy, imaging, and surgical techniques, as well as procedural videos. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Engaging Learners Through Zoom: Strategies for Virtual Teaching Across Disciplines by
Keep your virtual students focused and meaningfully engaged with this invaluable teaching resource Engaging Learners through Zoom delivers numerous practical strategies and helpful advice on how to engage students virtually. Many of the tools are also applicable in face-to-face and hybrid environments. Backed by cognitive neuroscience research, this book is a collection of dozens of active, synchronous online learning structures that can be used in any discipline, perfect for middle and high school through higher education. This book provides teachers, college educators, administrators, and trainers the antidote to Zoom fatigue! Transform Zoom (or any video-conferencing platform) into an ideal environment for students to focus more fully, learn more effectively and have more fun! Dr. Brennan, accomplished author, professor and distance education expert, improves learner performance and addresses equity in education with: Over 150 active learning strategy examples with step-by-step directions Ideas for including diverse content across 83 different disciplines Multiple examples for 26 of the most commonly taught courses Engaging Learners through Zoom belongs in the collection of every educator who wants to motivate and inspire their students to excel in a virtual learning environment.
Eyelid and Conjunctival Tumors: In Vivo Confocal Microscopy by
This Atlas gives the complete expert opinion on the diagnostic features of eyelid and conjunctival umors (benign and malignant): a state-of-the-art guide with numerous images, useful for both dermatologists and ophthalmologists. This invaluable resource, illustrating clinical, histological and re fectance confocal microscopy features, first addresses the normal conditions of the ocular surface, then reviews lesions due to epidermal, melanocytic and adnexal tumors. A final part is devoted to conjunctiva conditions, from normal to malignant conjunctival tumors. The high number of illustrations and their description of many ocular surface lesions with in vivo confocal microscopy make this atlas an essential guide for the practitioners of both specialities.
Fetal and Neonatal Eye Pathology by
This richly illustrated book discusses the fetal eye, offering a brief introduction to the topic and discussing its development and treatment. The high-quality reference images allow the morphological fetal age to be determined, and the authors provide examples of artifacts and real-world findings to simplify histopathological diagnosis. The book also discusses findings in fetal eyes, presenting typical examples of common malformations, including clinical and histological pictures as well as additional findings from other specialties (such as neuropathology, genetics). In addition, it covers non-specific ocular malformations. It particularly addresses documentation and interpretation of cases of suspected Shaken-Baby Syndrome, which is of forensic importance. In the context of retinopathy of prematurity, histopathological and clinical findings are correlated. The book provides reference images of fetal development and guidelines on grossing and handling fetal eyes, and also explores the complicated topic of artifacts, including case illustrations with comprehensive information concerning other specialties. Lastly it discusses clinically and forensically relevant findings in newborns. It guides ophthalmic and pediatric pathologists in the interpretation of ocular findings, helping to narrow down differential diagnoses in fetal pathology, while at the same time serving as a valuable tool for specialists who do not have a great deal of experience in the examination of fetal eyes.
Fundamentals of Glaucoma: A Guide for Ophthalmic Nurse Practitioners, Optometrists and Orthoptists by
Glaucoma is one of the leading causes of blindness worldwide. Robust screening alongside early diagnosis and prompt management is essential for preserving vision. Advanced ophthalmic nurse practitioners, optometrists and orthoptists are increasingly becoming part of a multi-disciplinary team approach that is designed to provide the best outcomes for our patients.This full-colour book has been written by experienced ophthalmologists and optometrists, and details all that a practitioner needs to know about the condition. It will also serve as a useful reference for junior ophthalmic trainees and medical students.
Grow Your Eye Care Practice: High-Impact Pearls from the Marketing Experts by
A crash course in marketing for eye care professionals, Grow Your Eye Care Practice: High Impact Pearls from the Marketing Experts guides readers through this crucial area of business development. With an increase in patients undergoing elective procedures and an increase in the amount of providers, marketing has become the most important way for eye care professionals to grow their practices and differentiate themselves from their competition. Since marketing is not addressed in any formal course in medical school, optometry school, residency or fellowship, many eye care professionals lack basic understanding and skills in this area of growing importance to their businesses. To meet this critical need, editor Dr. Ming Wang and associate editors Shareef Mahdavi, Michael Malley and Dr. Tracy Swartz have created this essential, timely handbook aggregating the key ophthalmic marketing pearls, teachings and experiences of some of the leading national and international marketing experts. Grow Your Eye Care Practice begins with an overview of the history and current state of ophthalmic marketing, including a fascinating look at the commoditization of eye care as was demonstrated with the introduction of LASIK. The core chapters address foundational and innovative marketing concepts and their application to eye care, including: Market research, segmentation, targeting and positioning Patient experience Branding versus call to action Word of mouth referrals Digital marketing, including social media, websites and SEO Innovative marketing approaches Ethics and laws governing medical marketing Upcoming disruptive marketing technologies Grow Your Eye Care Practice: High Impact Pearls from the Marketing Experts is an indispensable desktop reference for all eye care professionals--ophthalmologists, optometrists, administrators, practice managers, business associates, residents, fellows, medical students and optometry students--who wish to improve their marketing skills, grow their practices and differentiate themselves from their competition.
Health Care off the Books: Poverty, Illness, and Strategies for Survival in Urban America by
Millions of low-income African Americans in the United States lack access to health care. How do they treat their health care problems? In Health Care Off the Books, Danielle T. Raudenbush provides an answer that challenges public perceptions and prior scholarly work. Informed by three and a half years of fieldwork in a public housing development, Raudenbush shows how residents who face obstacles to health care gain access to pharmaceutical drugs, medical equipment, physician reference manuals, and insurance cards by mobilizing social networks that include not only their neighbors but also local physicians. However, membership in these social networks is not universal, and some residents are forced to turn to a robust street market to obtain medicine. For others, health problems simply go untreated. Raudenbush reconceptualizes U.S. health care as a formal-informal hybrid system and explains why many residents who do have access to health services also turn to informal strategies to treat their health problems. While the practices described in the book may at times be beneficial to people's health, they also have the potential to do serious harm. By understanding this hybrid system, we can evaluate its effects and gain new insight into the sources of social and racial disparities in health outcomes.
Health Microinsurance: Implementing Universal Health Coverage in the Informal Sector by
This book is the first and only study on implementing Universal Health Coverage in poor, rural and informal settings, with end-to-end guidance for rolling out a demand-driven and needs-based health insurance model. The chapters are comprehensive, covering topics such as data collection and analysis for contextual risk assessment, the design of suitable benefits packages, how to price microinsurance, insurance education for illiterate or innumerate populations, the setting up of governance bodies and training staff for key roles, and information management.The book contains insights gained from years of fieldwork in several countries and is valuable reading for undergraduate and graduate students and practitioners of health microinsurance. As a companion to the author's first book, Financing Micro Health Insurance: Theory, Methods and Evidence, this book provides the only current source of information on implementing health microinsurance. The practical guidelines to setting up and operating a microinsurance scheme are accompanied by impact evaluation, chapter exercises and Issue Briefs that present examples of using tools that are necessary for successful implementation.
Neuro-Ophthalmology Illustrated by
A highly praised, well written, and richly illustrated modern classic in neuro-ophthalmology now in an exciting new edition with video clips! Neuro-ophthalmology is an "overlap" specialty, encompassing all disorders that affect the parts of the central nervous system related to vision. Neuro-Ophthalmology Illustrated, Third Edition by world-renowned neuro-ophthalmologists and professors Valérie Biousse and Nancy J. Newman expands on the widely acclaimed prior editions, lauded with awards by the Association of American Publishers and the British Medical Association. The updated text reflects diagnostic advances such as optical coherence tomography and features new high-quality images and videos. The text starts with neuro-ophthalmic and funduscopic examinations, visual fields, commonly used ancillary testing methods, and an overview of visual loss. Subsequent chapters detail a wide array of conditions including retinal vascular diseases, optic neuropathies, disc edema, disorders of higher cortical function, abnormal visual perceptions, diplopia, orbital syndromes, cavernous sinus and orbital vascular disorders, nystagmus/other ocular oscillations, and disorders of the eyelid. Final chapters are dedicated to nonorganic neuro-ophthalmic symptoms and signs, diagnosis of headache and facial pain, neurologic and systemic disorders that commonly have neuro-ophthalmologic manifestations, and an approach to management of the visually impaired patient. Key Highlights Concise text coupled with more than 600 high-quality images enhances understanding of complex concepts Easily accessible within pertinent sections, 69 video clips cover a wide spectrum of topics such as examination techniques, normal eye movements, eye movement disorders, and pupil findings Clinical pearls, flow charts, boxes, tables, and a highly detailed index at the end of the text improve retention and assimilation of knowledge This book is essential reading for students, ophthalmology, neurology, and neurosurgery residents, as well as seasoned clinicians in these specialties. At once authoritative and easy to read, this resource provides readers with all the tools they need to diagnose and manage neuro-ophthalmologic disorders. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Trauma and Miscellaneous Disorders in Retina by
This atlas presents common and rare traumatic conditions of the retina and related intraocular tissues (choroidal rupture, commotio retinae, intraocular foreign body). It also covers intraocular tumors and congenital conditions such as myelinated retinal nerve fibers. Including numerous high-quality figures using various modalities, the book reviews the basic management principles in a reader-friendly style to help readers gain a better understanding of the diseases discussed. Trauma and Miscellaneous Disorders in Retina is one of nine volumes in the series Retina Atlas. This series provides comprehensive information on vitreoretinal diseases, covering imaging basics, retinal vascular disease, ocular inflammatory disease, retinal degeneration, retinal surgery, macular disorders, ocular oncology, pediatric retina and trauma.