Skip to Main Content
New Books: Diagnosing
Biomedical Translational Research by R. C. Sobti; Awtar Krishan Ganju (Editors)
The second volume of the Biomedical translational research discusses advancements in biomedical research for understanding the pathophysiology of various diseases towards improving diagnosis and treatment. It presents the integration of molecular-based technologies, clinical genomics, and medical informatics to improve diagnostic and treatment strategies. Further, the book reviews molecular genomics approaches for diagnosis and managing tuberculosis. It also covers the innovative strategies for cancer treatment through targeting metabolic pathways, tumor microenvironment, cancer stem cells, and immune cells. It also illuminates novel strategies for heart failure diagnosis and therapeutic approaches for the treatment of heart failure. It discusses improvements in translational research for discovery of new diagnostic tests, identifying novel biomarkers and drugable targets, and predicting optimal treatments based on understanding the underlying molecular basis of the disease. Lastly, it reviews the preclinical models of restenosis and their application and limitation in the evaluation of device-based interventional technologies for the treatment of coronary artery diseases.
Publication Date: 2022
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 by Maxine A. Papadakis; Stephen J. McPhee; Michael W. Rabow; Kenneth R. McQuaid
The most popular annual guide of its kind--fully updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily. Packed with trusted content that keeps you up to date current on the changing guidelines and treatments on an annual basis, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2023 is completely focused on bedside clinical issues. It covers all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology. Features *200 photos and illustrations and hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables, with indexed tradenames and updated drug prices *Year in Review table highlights key clinical updates over the last year *Comprehensive coverage of patient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to day-to-day practice *Annual updates to topics in all chapters in a consistent format, drugs, tables, and images and annual review of advances in HIV treatment *Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders *Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present important information in an at-a-glance style *Carefully curated references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information *Electronic-only chapters available to all book customers *Expanded chapter content available online and in eBook for all chapter content
Publication Date: 2022
Diagnoses Without Names: Challenges for Medical Care, Research, and Policy by Michael D. Lockshin; Mary K. Crow; Medha Barbhaiya (Editors)
Doctors, patients, investigators, administrators, and policymakers who assign diagnoses assume three elements: the name describes an entity with conceptual or evidentiary boundaries, the person setting the name has a high degree of certainty, and the name has a consensus definition. This book challenges this practice and offers an alternative to assigning diagnoses: quantitating diagnostic uncertainty in personal and public medical plans. This book offers the stakeholders' views participating in a workshop, sponsored by the Barbara Volcker Center/Hospital for Special Surgery, taking place in April 2020, about uncertain diagnoses. Chapters examine the circumstances in which diagnosis names are "unassignable", either because patients do not fit within diagnostic "boxes" or because health abnormalities evolve and change over time. In addition, the book deconstructs the processes of diagnosis and explores how different stakeholders used diagnosis names for various purposes. In examining pertinent questions, the book offers a roadmap to achieving consensus definitions or including measures of uncertainty in personal care, research, and policy. Diagnoses Without Names: Challenges for Medical Care, Research, and Policy is an essential resource for physicians and related professionals, residents, fellows, and graduate students in internal medicine, rheumatology, and clinical immunology as well as investigators, administrators, policymakers.
Publication Date: 2022
Diagnostics in Ocular Imaging Cornea, Retina, Glaucoma and Orbit by Mohammadpour, Mehrdad
This book presents a new avenue in the field of ophthalmology and sheds light on the field of eye imaging. With the increasing availability of electronic devices and their important role in both personal and professional aspects of human life, there is a growing need for perfect vision. Ophthalmic imaging is a major tool for screening and documenting eye diseases in both medical and surgical fields of ophthalmology and is also of use for ophthalmologists around the globe. The number of eye-imaging devices has increased dramatically, however undiagnosed or poorly managed eye diseases remain a significant cause of ocular and visual problems worldwide. This essential guide addresses the need for a book that is dedicated to ophthalmic imaging, covering the cornea, glaucoma, retina and orbital imaging with updates on medical and surgical aspects of the topic.
Publication Date: 2021
Kanski's Synopsis of Clinical Ophthalmology by John F. Salmon
Practical and portable, Kanski's Synopsis of Clinical Ophthalmology, 4th Edition, distills the key information from the bestselling Kanski's Clinical Ophthalmology: A Systematic Approach into a convenient, easy-to-follow volume. Perfect for quick reference, this concise resource contains "need to know" information highlighted by more than 900 high-quality illustrations and clinical photographs with clear explanations. New author, Dr. John Salmon, provides a fresh approach to critical content, ensuring that this manual remains an ideal on-the-go reference, as well as an efficient study guide for examinations. Covers the essential information you need to effectively diagnose and manage a comprehensive range of ophthalmic disorders, using a concise format that makes it easy to quickly grasp the "must-know" aspects of each condition. Keeps you up to date with the latest advances in the treatment of glaucoma, the use of biological agents in the treatment of uveitis, genetic advances in hereditary retinal dystrophies, anti-VEGF agents for macular disease, and OCT/OCTA imaging. Includes a new chapter covering examination techniques, along with sweeping content updates on key topics. Features hundreds of high-quality images: diagnostic imaging, including OCT/OCTA; surgical and clinical photos depicting presenting signs and symptoms as well as surgical techniques; and medical illustrations that convey important anatomical considerations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2022
Learning to Diagnose with Simulations: Examples from Teacher Education and Medical Education by Frank Fischer; Ansgar Opitz (Editors)
This open access book presents 8 novel approaches to measure and improve diagnostic competences with simulation. The book compares the effects of interventions on these diagnostic competences in both teacher and medical education. It includes analyses showing that important aspects of diagnostic competences and effects of instructional interventions aiming to facilitate them are comparable for teachers and doctors. Through closely analyzing projects from medical education, mathematics education, biology education, and psychology, the reader is presented with multiple options for interventions that may be used in each of the subject areas and the improvements in diagnostic skills that could be expected from each simulation. The book concludes with an outline of promising future research on the use of simulations to facilitate professional competences in higher education in general, and for the advancement of diagnostic competencies in particular. This is an open access book.
Publication Date: 2022
Manual for Eye Examination and Diagnosis by Mark W. Leitman
Now in its tenth edition, Manual for Eye Examination and Diagnosis is the leading introductory clinical textbook in the field, providing concise and practical coverage of anatomy, instrumentation, differential diagnosis and treatment of ophthalmic diseases and disorders. This accessible resource offers clear explanations of current diagnostic techniques, equipment, and best practice; hundreds of full-color clinical photographs and diagrams; and step-by-step guidance on a range of key procedures. Author Mark W. Leitman, a practicing Ophthalmology specialist with nearly five decades' experience, provides the foundational knowledge required to excel on an ophthalmology rotation.This is a must-have companion for medical students and junior doctors, trainee ophthalmologists and optometrists, optometry nurses, and ophthalmic technicians.
Publication Date: 2021
Mosby's® Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by Kathleen Deska Pagana; Timothy J. Pagana; Theresa Noel Pagana
Known for its accuracy and easy-to-use format, Mosby's Diagnostic & Laboratory Test Reference 15th Edition is your one-stop source for all the latest testing information needed in clinicals, class, and professional practice. Across the reference, tests are organized alphabetically and include vital information such as alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. This fifteenth edition also includes nine new tests as well as the latest research surrounding each test included in the reference. As with previous editions, every test entry begins on a new page and all tests are cross-referenced throughout the book to simplify lookup. And with the book's compact size, durable cover, and practical A-to-Z thumb tabs, this market-leading reference is the ideal choice for anyone wanting quick and easy access to the very latest diagnostic and lab tests used in nursing practice today. Alphabetical organization and A-to-Z thumb tabs makes finding the right information quick and easy. Normal findings for adult, elderly, and pediatric patients are included where applicable to provide complete clinical data. Abnormal findings are highlighted with directional arrows. Possible critical values are highlighted to alert students to situations requiring immediate intervention. Drug-related interfering factors are identified with icons to alert students to the effects of pharmacologic agents on tests. User's Guide to Test Preparation and Performance provides an overview and guidelines for each type of laboratory test and diagnostic procedure to ensure safety and accuracy. Common Reference Ranges for males and females, along with Routine Blood and Urine Testing information are located on the front endsheets for easy reference. Related tests are cross-referenced making them easy to find. Tests listed by body system and test type in an appendix enables students to quickly locate related studies. Abbreviations for tests are provided on the endsheets, and symbols and units of measurement are listed in an appendix. Streamlined format with each test entry beginning on a new page further simplifies navigation. Patient teaching-related care is identified with icons to indicate information that should be shared with patients and their families. Durable cover helps prevent the book from being damaged. NEW! Nine new test entries ensure the latest tests and procedures. New tests cover the areas of bile acids, computed tomography angiography, and marijuana. NEW! New content reflects the latest research on the diagnostic values of results, accuracy of testing, and patient care and education for each test.
Publication Date: 2020
Practical Guide to Interpret Visual Fields, 4th ed. by G. R. Reddy
The visual field refers to the total area in which objects can be seen in the side (peripheral) vision when the eyes are focused on a central point. Glaucoma is a condition of the eye in which the optic nerve is damaged due to increased fluid pressure in the eye. If untreated or uncontrolled, glaucoma first causes peripheral vision loss and eventually can lead to blindness. A visual field test is a method of measuring an individual's entire scope of vision, that is their central and peripheral (side) vision. The test is most frequently used to help detect glaucoma but may also be used for detection of central or peripheral diseases of the retina, eyelid conditions such as drooping (ptosis), optic nerve damage and disease, and conditions affecting the visual pathways from the optic nerve to the area of the brain (occipital cortex) where this information is processed into vision. The fourth edition of this comprehensive text provides ophthalmologists and trainees with a guide to the interpretation of visual field tests and subsequent diagnosis and management of ocular disorders. The book has been fully revised and features additional topics including two new classification systems for glaucoma. Nearly 800 clinical photographs and diagrams further enhance learning. Key points Comprehensive guide to interpretation of visual field tests and diagnosis of ocular disorders Fully revised fourth edition featuring many new topics Features nearly 800 clinical photographs and diagrams Previous edition (9788184488661) published in 2008
Publication Date: 2020
Practical Visual Electrophysiological Examination by Ruifang Sui; Fu Tang; Minglian Zhang
This book includes the concept, general summary and the equipment of the visual electrophysiological examination. It also covers the clinical application scope, diagnosis protocol, standardized operation steps, clinical report samples, and the key points of reading reports, etc. of visual evoked potential (VEP), electroretinogram (ERG), electrooculogram (EOG), multifocal VEP, multifocal ERG and other commonly used visual electrophysiological examinations. Typical clinical report examples of normal and abnormal waveforms are specially added, which is a highlight of this book and can help clinical technicians quickly grasp the key points of electrophysiological report reading.
Publication Date: 2022
New Books: Telemedicine & Telehealth
Diabetes Digital Health and Telehealth by David C. Klonoff; David Kerr; Elissa R. Weitzman (Editors)
Diabetes Digital Health and Telehealth explains, from technologic, economic and sociologic standpoints how digital health and telehealth have come to dominate the management of diabetes. The book also includes information on improved telemedicine tools and platforms for communicating with patients, reviewing medical records, and interpreting data from wearable devices. In addition, evolving wearable sensors such as continuous glucose monitors, closed loop automated insulin delivery systems, cuffless blood pressure monitors, exercise monitors and smart insulin pens are covered.
Publication Date: 2022
Healthcare Technology in Context: Lessons for Telehealth in the Age of COVID-19 by Alan Taylor
This book investigates how the technology used by telehealth services shapes our healthcare, and how we, as humans, collectively change and shape the technology and services used in healthcare. Based on extensive field research on telehealth services in Australia and Brazil, the book reveals some surprisingly obvious conclusions about our powers to shape the society.
Publication Date: 2021
Learning Teleneurology Basics: a case-based approach by Swathi Beladakere Ramaswamy; Sachin M. Bhagavan; Raghav Govindarajan (Editors)
This book focuses on the basics of teleneurology and provides an outline of curriculum and practice with the help of clinical vignettes. It fills the gap for a text that reflects the rapidly evolving nature of the teleneurology field, with specific attention paid to examining how this can be extended to patient treatment. Recent COVID-19 pandemic rapidly revolutionized telemedicine technology and reformed the practice of medicine; this book will serve as an easy guide to physicians all over the world to adapt to changing needs of the health care system. Concise and comprehensive, this 12 chapter book covers a variety of neurological disorders and highlights specific aspects of teleneurology practice, including medicolegal issues, licensure, standard of care, ethical issues, and future trends. Designed to be a resource for students and residents, as well as medical school faculty and practicing clinicians, Learning Teleneurology Basics will prepare the reader to deliver care remotely.
Publication Date: 2021
Ocular telehealth : a practical guide by Maa, April (Editor)
Background, definitions, and an introduction to ocular telehealth -- Comprehensive eye telehealth -- Oculoplastic and orbital surgery telehealth -- Cornea, anterior segment, and external disease telehealth -- Glaucoma telehealth -- Retina, uveitis, ocular oncology telehealth -- Pediatric ocular telehealth -- Tele-neuro-ophthalmology -- Low vision ocular rehabilitation telehealth -- Highlight on international ocular telehealth programs in China and India -- Ocular in-home monitoring devices -- Principles of ocular telehealth implementation -- Technology considerations for implementing an eye telehealth program -- Billing, coding, and reimbursement in eye telehealth programs -- Ethical and legal considerations in eye telehealth programs -- Monitoring quality and improving services in ocular telehealth programs -- Acute ocular triage telehealth -- The role of data analytics and artificial intelligence (ai) in ocular telehealth -- Education of future providers on ocular telehealth and integration of telehealth into future practice.
Publication Date: 2022
A Practical Guide to Emergency Telehealth by Neal Sikka (Editor)
A Practical Guide to Emergency Telehealth is the most thorough, up to date, and practical guidebook available for the design and implementation of a wide variety of acute and episodic distance-based clinical services. Historically it has been evident that Emergency Medicine stands to benefit from improvements in telecommunication technologies. This book helps readers understand how emergency telehealth can be used to improve care within and outside the ED, discover telehealth opportunities, identify solutions for health care disparities, guide them through to implementation, and support them to long-term success. Chapters feature case examples, checklists, and lessons learned from professionals who have been at the forefront of the telehealth industry. The content is designed for individuals and institutions at all levels of telehealth experience. It is fitting and essential for hospital administrators, information technology staff, emergency medicine clinicians, nurses, and other key stakeholders involved in the delivery of urgent and emergent medical care. Advance Praise for A Practical Guide to Emergency Telehealth This excellent text will serve the practitioners with a ready reference as telehealth continues to grow in importance and utility in the aftermath of a global pandemic. -- Charles R. Doarn, MBA, FATA, FAsMA, Research Professor, Department of Environmental and Public Health Sciences, MPH Program Director, College of Medicine, University of Cincinnati While telehealth as a method of providing care is not new, pre-COVID growth accelerated by the response to COVID-19 has been remarkable. Dr. Sikka and his colleagues have provided us with the most comprehensive body of work to date on this important subject. -- B. Tilman Jolly, MD, FACEP, Chief Medical Officer, Aveshka, Inc., Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine, The George Washington University This book provides an excellent summary of the contemporary issues in emergency telehealth, and is a must read for clinicians interested in this topic. -- Jesse Pines, MD, National Director of Clinical Innovation, US Acute Care Solutions
Publication Date: 2021
Smart health systems : emerging trends by Vyas, Sonali; Bhargava, Deepshikha
his book assesses the need and era of smart healthcare and delivers content relevant to current age and time. It describes the trend, usage and practicality of IWMDs i.e. Wearable Medical Device or Sensors (WMSs) and Implantable Medical Devices (IMDs) and how they enhance the awareness of daily healthcare.It establishes a relation and conjunction of daily healthcare monitoring with clinical healthcare. A healthcare system is called smart when there is an ability to make decisions, which comes from data analytics. Smart healthcare systems possess capability of data analytics and IoT based services which can be implemented on smart phones using cloud technology. This book discusses various research trends and technologies related to innovations and advancements for smart healthcare systems. It also elaborates challenges, scope upcoming techniques, devices and future directions for smart healthcare systems.
Publication Date: 2021
Telehealth Innovations in Remote Healthcare Services Delivery by Anthony J. Maeder, Christina Higa, Maayken E.L. van den Berg, Claire Gough (Editors)
This book, Telehealth Innovations in Remote Healthcare Services Delivery, is the tenth in the Global Telehealth series. Due to the prevailing COVID-19 pandemic and the restrictions placed on academic gatherings, the organizers issued a general call for contributions, with the intention of attracting a wide cross-section of contributions reflecting the breadth of different aspects of telehealth internationally. The resulting collection offers snapshots of research projects and studies of service experience from five continents, with an emphasis on delivering benefits in regional settings in keeping with the theme of the book’s title. Articles range from descriptions of telehealth networks and clinical-service instances such as cardiac health, mental health and pathology, several in Pacific-rim settings, to more generic papers on the evolution of such services, as well as commentaries on innovative considerations for telehealth such as the emergence of the concept of virtual care, the suitability of health apps, and the status of eHealth readiness in the developing world.
Publication Date: 2021
Telemedicine, Telehealth and Telepresence: principles, strategies, applications, and new directions by Rifat Latifi; Charles R. Doarn; Ronald C. Merrell (Editors)
Telemedicine and telehealth have consistently been shown to be effective for remote areas or limited-resource locations, regular medical and surgical practice, primary care, second opinion, extreme conditions, major crises, and disaster management. The aim of this book is to bring all aspects of telemedicine and e-health to the reader, in a simple, make-sense approach, in one tome. The book is structured in four parts with 29 chapters written by the best experts in the field from around the world, including clinicians, scientists, and administrators of telemedicine programs. Part I deals with basic principles of telemedicine and telepresence. Historical journeys of telemedicine and strategies, building sustainable telemedicine and telehealth programs in the United States and in the Balkans, as well as incorporation of telemedicine in the current ongoing pandemic COVID-19 are well described and are must read. Current technological developments, rules and regulations, legal and business aspects and consent are also addressed. Part II describes strategies for building sustainable telemedicine and telehealth programs. Telehealth patient portals and public-private partnership modes of technology, as well the role of international telemedicine and how to make it work, are valuable chapters of great significance. Part III describes outcomes-based evidence clinical applications of telemedicine in trauma, burns, intensive care, pediatric care, psychiatry, and stroke. Finally, one important chapter for the readers is the telemedicine for prison and jail population. The final part, Part IV depicts surgical telementoring and teleproctoring, a chapter written by 18 various surgical experts, a true gem for the readers. The book ends with promises and hurdles of telemedicine in austere conditions. Telemedicine, Telehealth and Telepresence serves as a valuable resource that focuses on providing patients care from a distance using store and forward technology to live actual performance of operations at a distance. Chapters 1, 6, 12 and 17 are available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com.
Publication Date: 2021
Biomedical Translational Research by
The second volume of the Biomedical translational research discusses advancements in biomedical research for understanding the pathophysiology of various diseases towards improving diagnosis and treatment. It presents the integration of molecular-based technologies, clinical genomics, and medical informatics to improve diagnostic and treatment strategies. Further, the book reviews molecular genomics approaches for diagnosis and managing tuberculosis. It also covers the innovative strategies for cancer treatment through targeting metabolic pathways, tumor microenvironment, cancer stem cells, and immune cells. It also illuminates novel strategies for heart failure diagnosis and therapeutic approaches for the treatment of heart failure. It discusses improvements in translational research for discovery of new diagnostic tests, identifying novel biomarkers and drugable targets, and predicting optimal treatments based on understanding the underlying molecular basis of the disease. Lastly, it reviews the preclinical models of restenosis and their application and limitation in the evaluation of device-based interventional technologies for the treatment of coronary artery diseases.
Diagnoses Without Names: Challenges for Medical Care, Research, and Policy by
Doctors, patients, investigators, administrators, and policymakers who assign diagnoses assume three elements: the name describes an entity with conceptual or evidentiary boundaries, the person setting the name has a high degree of certainty, and the name has a consensus definition. This book challenges this practice and offers an alternative to assigning diagnoses: quantitating diagnostic uncertainty in personal and public medical plans. This book offers the stakeholders' views participating in a workshop, sponsored by the Barbara Volcker Center/Hospital for Special Surgery, taking place in April 2020, about uncertain diagnoses. Chapters examine the circumstances in which diagnosis names are "unassignable", either because patients do not fit within diagnostic "boxes" or because health abnormalities evolve and change over time. In addition, the book deconstructs the processes of diagnosis and explores how different stakeholders used diagnosis names for various purposes. In examining pertinent questions, the book offers a roadmap to achieving consensus definitions or including measures of uncertainty in personal care, research, and policy. Diagnoses Without Names: Challenges for Medical Care, Research, and Policy is an essential resource for physicians and related professionals, residents, fellows, and graduate students in internal medicine, rheumatology, and clinical immunology as well as investigators, administrators, policymakers.
Diagnostics in Ocular Imaging Cornea, Retina, Glaucoma and Orbit by
This book presents a new avenue in the field of ophthalmology and sheds light on the field of eye imaging. With the increasing availability of electronic devices and their important role in both personal and professional aspects of human life, there is a growing need for perfect vision. Ophthalmic imaging is a major tool for screening and documenting eye diseases in both medical and surgical fields of ophthalmology and is also of use for ophthalmologists around the globe. The number of eye-imaging devices has increased dramatically, however undiagnosed or poorly managed eye diseases remain a significant cause of ocular and visual problems worldwide. This essential guide addresses the need for a book that is dedicated to ophthalmic imaging, covering the cornea, glaucoma, retina and orbital imaging with updates on medical and surgical aspects of the topic.
Kanski's Synopsis of Clinical Ophthalmology by
Practical and portable, Kanski's Synopsis of Clinical Ophthalmology, 4th Edition, distills the key information from the bestselling Kanski's Clinical Ophthalmology: A Systematic Approach into a convenient, easy-to-follow volume. Perfect for quick reference, this concise resource contains "need to know" information highlighted by more than 900 high-quality illustrations and clinical photographs with clear explanations. New author, Dr. John Salmon, provides a fresh approach to critical content, ensuring that this manual remains an ideal on-the-go reference, as well as an efficient study guide for examinations. Covers the essential information you need to effectively diagnose and manage a comprehensive range of ophthalmic disorders, using a concise format that makes it easy to quickly grasp the "must-know" aspects of each condition. Keeps you up to date with the latest advances in the treatment of glaucoma, the use of biological agents in the treatment of uveitis, genetic advances in hereditary retinal dystrophies, anti-VEGF agents for macular disease, and OCT/OCTA imaging. Includes a new chapter covering examination techniques, along with sweeping content updates on key topics. Features hundreds of high-quality images: diagnostic imaging, including OCT/OCTA; surgical and clinical photos depicting presenting signs and symptoms as well as surgical techniques; and medical illustrations that convey important anatomical considerations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Learning to Diagnose with Simulations: Examples from Teacher Education and Medical Education by
This open access book presents 8 novel approaches to measure and improve diagnostic competences with simulation. The book compares the effects of interventions on these diagnostic competences in both teacher and medical education. It includes analyses showing that important aspects of diagnostic competences and effects of instructional interventions aiming to facilitate them are comparable for teachers and doctors. Through closely analyzing projects from medical education, mathematics education, biology education, and psychology, the reader is presented with multiple options for interventions that may be used in each of the subject areas and the improvements in diagnostic skills that could be expected from each simulation. The book concludes with an outline of promising future research on the use of simulations to facilitate professional competences in higher education in general, and for the advancement of diagnostic competencies in particular. This is an open access book.
Manual for Eye Examination and Diagnosis by
Now in its tenth edition, Manual for Eye Examination and Diagnosis is the leading introductory clinical textbook in the field, providing concise and practical coverage of anatomy, instrumentation, differential diagnosis and treatment of ophthalmic diseases and disorders. This accessible resource offers clear explanations of current diagnostic techniques, equipment, and best practice; hundreds of full-color clinical photographs and diagrams; and step-by-step guidance on a range of key procedures. Author Mark W. Leitman, a practicing Ophthalmology specialist with nearly five decades' experience, provides the foundational knowledge required to excel on an ophthalmology rotation.This is a must-have companion for medical students and junior doctors, trainee ophthalmologists and optometrists, optometry nurses, and ophthalmic technicians.
Mosby's® Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by
Known for its accuracy and easy-to-use format, Mosby's Diagnostic & Laboratory Test Reference 15th Edition is your one-stop source for all the latest testing information needed in clinicals, class, and professional practice. Across the reference, tests are organized alphabetically and include vital information such as alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. This fifteenth edition also includes nine new tests as well as the latest research surrounding each test included in the reference. As with previous editions, every test entry begins on a new page and all tests are cross-referenced throughout the book to simplify lookup. And with the book's compact size, durable cover, and practical A-to-Z thumb tabs, this market-leading reference is the ideal choice for anyone wanting quick and easy access to the very latest diagnostic and lab tests used in nursing practice today. Alphabetical organization and A-to-Z thumb tabs makes finding the right information quick and easy. Normal findings for adult, elderly, and pediatric patients are included where applicable to provide complete clinical data. Abnormal findings are highlighted with directional arrows. Possible critical values are highlighted to alert students to situations requiring immediate intervention. Drug-related interfering factors are identified with icons to alert students to the effects of pharmacologic agents on tests. User's Guide to Test Preparation and Performance provides an overview and guidelines for each type of laboratory test and diagnostic procedure to ensure safety and accuracy. Common Reference Ranges for males and females, along with Routine Blood and Urine Testing information are located on the front endsheets for easy reference. Related tests are cross-referenced making them easy to find. Tests listed by body system and test type in an appendix enables students to quickly locate related studies. Abbreviations for tests are provided on the endsheets, and symbols and units of measurement are listed in an appendix. Streamlined format with each test entry beginning on a new page further simplifies navigation. Patient teaching-related care is identified with icons to indicate information that should be shared with patients and their families. Durable cover helps prevent the book from being damaged. NEW! Nine new test entries ensure the latest tests and procedures. New tests cover the areas of bile acids, computed tomography angiography, and marijuana. NEW! New content reflects the latest research on the diagnostic values of results, accuracy of testing, and patient care and education for each test.
Practical Guide to Interpret Visual Fields, 4th ed. by
The visual field refers to the total area in which objects can be seen in the side (peripheral) vision when the eyes are focused on a central point. Glaucoma is a condition of the eye in which the optic nerve is damaged due to increased fluid pressure in the eye. If untreated or uncontrolled, glaucoma first causes peripheral vision loss and eventually can lead to blindness. A visual field test is a method of measuring an individual's entire scope of vision, that is their central and peripheral (side) vision. The test is most frequently used to help detect glaucoma but may also be used for detection of central or peripheral diseases of the retina, eyelid conditions such as drooping (ptosis), optic nerve damage and disease, and conditions affecting the visual pathways from the optic nerve to the area of the brain (occipital cortex) where this information is processed into vision. The fourth edition of this comprehensive text provides ophthalmologists and trainees with a guide to the interpretation of visual field tests and subsequent diagnosis and management of ocular disorders. The book has been fully revised and features additional topics including two new classification systems for glaucoma. Nearly 800 clinical photographs and diagrams further enhance learning. Key points Comprehensive guide to interpretation of visual field tests and diagnosis of ocular disorders Fully revised fourth edition featuring many new topics Features nearly 800 clinical photographs and diagrams Previous edition (9788184488661) published in 2008
Practical Visual Electrophysiological Examination by
This book includes the concept, general summary and the equipment of the visual electrophysiological examination. It also covers the clinical application scope, diagnosis protocol, standardized operation steps, clinical report samples, and the key points of reading reports, etc. of visual evoked potential (VEP), electroretinogram (ERG), electrooculogram (EOG), multifocal VEP, multifocal ERG and other commonly used visual electrophysiological examinations. Typical clinical report examples of normal and abnormal waveforms are specially added, which is a highlight of this book and can help clinical technicians quickly grasp the key points of electrophysiological report reading.
Diabetes Digital Health and Telehealth by
Diabetes Digital Health and Telehealth explains, from technologic, economic and sociologic standpoints how digital health and telehealth have come to dominate the management of diabetes. The book also includes information on improved telemedicine tools and platforms for communicating with patients, reviewing medical records, and interpreting data from wearable devices. In addition, evolving wearable sensors such as continuous glucose monitors, closed loop automated insulin delivery systems, cuffless blood pressure monitors, exercise monitors and smart insulin pens are covered.
Healthcare Technology in Context: Lessons for Telehealth in the Age of COVID-19 by
This book investigates how the technology used by telehealth services shapes our healthcare, and how we, as humans, collectively change and shape the technology and services used in healthcare. Based on extensive field research on telehealth services in Australia and Brazil, the book reveals some surprisingly obvious conclusions about our powers to shape the society.
Learning Teleneurology Basics: a case-based approach by
This book focuses on the basics of teleneurology and provides an outline of curriculum and practice with the help of clinical vignettes. It fills the gap for a text that reflects the rapidly evolving nature of the teleneurology field, with specific attention paid to examining how this can be extended to patient treatment. Recent COVID-19 pandemic rapidly revolutionized telemedicine technology and reformed the practice of medicine; this book will serve as an easy guide to physicians all over the world to adapt to changing needs of the health care system. Concise and comprehensive, this 12 chapter book covers a variety of neurological disorders and highlights specific aspects of teleneurology practice, including medicolegal issues, licensure, standard of care, ethical issues, and future trends. Designed to be a resource for students and residents, as well as medical school faculty and practicing clinicians, Learning Teleneurology Basics will prepare the reader to deliver care remotely.
Ocular telehealth : a practical guide by
Background, definitions, and an introduction to ocular telehealth -- Comprehensive eye telehealth -- Oculoplastic and orbital surgery telehealth -- Cornea, anterior segment, and external disease telehealth -- Glaucoma telehealth -- Retina, uveitis, ocular oncology telehealth -- Pediatric ocular telehealth -- Tele-neuro-ophthalmology -- Low vision ocular rehabilitation telehealth -- Highlight on international ocular telehealth programs in China and India -- Ocular in-home monitoring devices -- Principles of ocular telehealth implementation -- Technology considerations for implementing an eye telehealth program -- Billing, coding, and reimbursement in eye telehealth programs -- Ethical and legal considerations in eye telehealth programs -- Monitoring quality and improving services in ocular telehealth programs -- Acute ocular triage telehealth -- The role of data analytics and artificial intelligence (ai) in ocular telehealth -- Education of future providers on ocular telehealth and integration of telehealth into future practice.
A Practical Guide to Emergency Telehealth by
A Practical Guide to Emergency Telehealth is the most thorough, up to date, and practical guidebook available for the design and implementation of a wide variety of acute and episodic distance-based clinical services. Historically it has been evident that Emergency Medicine stands to benefit from improvements in telecommunication technologies. This book helps readers understand how emergency telehealth can be used to improve care within and outside the ED, discover telehealth opportunities, identify solutions for health care disparities, guide them through to implementation, and support them to long-term success. Chapters feature case examples, checklists, and lessons learned from professionals who have been at the forefront of the telehealth industry. The content is designed for individuals and institutions at all levels of telehealth experience. It is fitting and essential for hospital administrators, information technology staff, emergency medicine clinicians, nurses, and other key stakeholders involved in the delivery of urgent and emergent medical care. Advance Praise for A Practical Guide to Emergency Telehealth This excellent text will serve the practitioners with a ready reference as telehealth continues to grow in importance and utility in the aftermath of a global pandemic. -- Charles R. Doarn, MBA, FATA, FAsMA, Research Professor, Department of Environmental and Public Health Sciences, MPH Program Director, College of Medicine, University of Cincinnati While telehealth as a method of providing care is not new, pre-COVID growth accelerated by the response to COVID-19 has been remarkable. Dr. Sikka and his colleagues have provided us with the most comprehensive body of work to date on this important subject. -- B. Tilman Jolly, MD, FACEP, Chief Medical Officer, Aveshka, Inc., Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine, The George Washington University This book provides an excellent summary of the contemporary issues in emergency telehealth, and is a must read for clinicians interested in this topic. -- Jesse Pines, MD, National Director of Clinical Innovation, US Acute Care Solutions
Smart health systems : emerging trends by
his book assesses the need and era of smart healthcare and delivers content relevant to current age and time. It describes the trend, usage and practicality of IWMDs i.e. Wearable Medical Device or Sensors (WMSs) and Implantable Medical Devices (IMDs) and how they enhance the awareness of daily healthcare.It establishes a relation and conjunction of daily healthcare monitoring with clinical healthcare. A healthcare system is called smart when there is an ability to make decisions, which comes from data analytics. Smart healthcare systems possess capability of data analytics and IoT based services which can be implemented on smart phones using cloud technology. This book discusses various research trends and technologies related to innovations and advancements for smart healthcare systems. It also elaborates challenges, scope upcoming techniques, devices and future directions for smart healthcare systems.
Telehealth Innovations in Remote Healthcare Services Delivery by
This book, Telehealth Innovations in Remote Healthcare Services Delivery, is the tenth in the Global Telehealth series. Due to the prevailing COVID-19 pandemic and the restrictions placed on academic gatherings, the organizers issued a general call for contributions, with the intention of attracting a wide cross-section of contributions reflecting the breadth of different aspects of telehealth internationally. The resulting collection offers snapshots of research projects and studies of service experience from five continents, with an emphasis on delivering benefits in regional settings in keeping with the theme of the book’s title. Articles range from descriptions of telehealth networks and clinical-service instances such as cardiac health, mental health and pathology, several in Pacific-rim settings, to more generic papers on the evolution of such services, as well as commentaries on innovative considerations for telehealth such as the emergence of the concept of virtual care, the suitability of health apps, and the status of eHealth readiness in the developing world.
Telemedicine, Telehealth and Telepresence: principles, strategies, applications, and new directions by
Telemedicine and telehealth have consistently been shown to be effective for remote areas or limited-resource locations, regular medical and surgical practice, primary care, second opinion, extreme conditions, major crises, and disaster management. The aim of this book is to bring all aspects of telemedicine and e-health to the reader, in a simple, make-sense approach, in one tome. The book is structured in four parts with 29 chapters written by the best experts in the field from around the world, including clinicians, scientists, and administrators of telemedicine programs. Part I deals with basic principles of telemedicine and telepresence. Historical journeys of telemedicine and strategies, building sustainable telemedicine and telehealth programs in the United States and in the Balkans, as well as incorporation of telemedicine in the current ongoing pandemic COVID-19 are well described and are must read. Current technological developments, rules and regulations, legal and business aspects and consent are also addressed. Part II describes strategies for building sustainable telemedicine and telehealth programs. Telehealth patient portals and public-private partnership modes of technology, as well the role of international telemedicine and how to make it work, are valuable chapters of great significance. Part III describes outcomes-based evidence clinical applications of telemedicine in trauma, burns, intensive care, pediatric care, psychiatry, and stroke. Finally, one important chapter for the readers is the telemedicine for prison and jail population. The final part, Part IV depicts surgical telementoring and teleproctoring, a chapter written by 18 various surgical experts, a true gem for the readers. The book ends with promises and hurdles of telemedicine in austere conditions. Telemedicine, Telehealth and Telepresence serves as a valuable resource that focuses on providing patients care from a distance using store and forward technology to live actual performance of operations at a distance. Chapters 1, 6, 12 and 17 are available open access under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License via link.springer.com.