Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

3 libraries are now open! Plus: UC Library Search is here!

New Public Health Books: Current New Books & eBooks

For your scholarship and enjoyment: selected Public Health books & ebooks recently acquired by the UCB Library.

OskiCat and Melvyl have retired as of July 27, 2021. Use UC Library Search: the new all-UC library catalog and more.

You are welcome to recommend a book purchase.

Use Oski Xpress to fetch books from the library during COVID-19 building closure.

You may also wish to visit the Guide to eBook Collections in Health, Medicine & Biology.

Note: Links to the library catalog on the older tabs of this guide may no longer work due to the switch from OskiCat to UC Library Search.
Best bet is to search the new catalog for any book titles you are seeking.

New Resource: Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture

International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture, part of Archives of Sexuality and Gender, examines populations and areas of the world previously underrepresented in prevailing scholarship on sexuality and gender, with a particular focus on southern Africa and Australia. The module also provides significant coverage of lesbian and feminist organizations, and lesbian culture internationally. Including manuscripts, periodicals and other ephemera, International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture totals around 450,000 pages of content dating from the 1820s, with the bulk of the material between 1970–2016.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender also includes LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 and Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century.

Featured Topic: LGBTQIA+

Featured Topic: Teaching & Pedagogy

Off Campus Access to Library Resources

Off-campus access is limited to current UCB faculty, staff and students. Choose one of the following methods:

Library Proxy (aka EZproxy) 
When you click on a link to an article, database, etc., (from a library web page) you will be prompted to authenticate via CalNet.
If you click on an article (etc.) link found via a search engine or a non-UCB Library webpage, you will need to use a bookmarklet to access the licensed resource.

Virtual Private Network (VPN)
Download and install the VPN client to allow access the UC Berkeley licensed resources.
Make sure you select Library Access - Full Tunnel VPN when you log on
VPN FAQ

New Resources: Wiley Digital Archives

We now have access to two archival collections from Wiley Digital Archives: the Royal College of Physicians Collection and the British Association for the Advancement of Science Collection.

The RCP collection contains manuscripts, maps, photographs, and personal papers from the 14th to the 20th centuries on the RCP’s changing role in setting standards in medical practice.

Photograph from Printed material for the 1923 BAAS annual meeting held in Liverpool

The BAAS collection documents the 19th and 20th century efforts of the British scientific community to establish science as a professional activity and make Britain into a globally competitive center for science. It includes reports, manuscript materials, newspaper clippings, photographs, brochures and catalogues; field reports and minutes; annual reports.

Featured Topic: COVID-19: Sociology, Economics, Policy, etc.

Featured Topic: South of the USA

Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library

Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library home page

Questions? Ask a librarian!

The Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library
(Although the library building is closed, we continue to provide services to our campus communities)

You are welcome to email a librarian.

Here is more information on getting help with your research.