Berkeley’s world-class education and research depend on the ready access offered by the Library to a comprehensive record of human knowledge, together with the latest discoveries in every field of learning.
Donations can be made online using the Library Fund Online Gift Form and by designating that your gift is for the Literature Collection at the bottom of the form.
Give by Mail
Please make checks payable to UC Regents and specify that it is for the Literature Collection. Send along with any instructions regarding the donation to:
University of California, Berkeley
Donor and Gift Services
1995 University Ave, Ste 400
For more information about giving to the Library, you may also contact the The Library Development Office.
Types of Monetary Gifts
Financial support is very important to the future development and ongoing curation of the library's collections. Contributions provide funding for expensive resources, specialized equipment, conservation of rare books, and exhibits or special projects. Financial gifts may be unrestricted or support a specific library program, service, or collection.
- Endowments- Endowment funds may be established with a gift of $50,000 or more to support library collections, programs, projects or positions. These endowed funds provide the University Library, in perpetuity, with an annual income that ensures our collections and programs remain strong and vital regardless of the strength of state and campus budgetary support. Donors may choose to support specific programs, projects, or library materials in a discipline or area of the donor's choice. We encourage interested donors to contact us or the Library Development Office to discuss possible endowment opportunities.
- Major Gifts - Significant contributions toward Library enhancements are welcomed and could include a recognition plaque or naming opportunities for improved areas, subject to campus approval procedures.
- Memorial Gifts - Contributions given in memory or in honor of a person or to mark a special occasion are recognized with a bookplate and family members notified. For a gift of $1,000, a named memorial book fund can be established, and for gifts totaling $50,000 or more, a named memorial library endowment fund with its own special bookplate can be created. Matching Gifts - Some firms match their employee's gifts to higher education. Ask your company's Matching Gifts Coordinator, or call 510-642-9377, and we will provide you with a list of companies with matching gift programs.
- Planned Gifts - You may invest in the Library's future by including it in your estate plans without decreasing assets during your lifetime.
- Bequests - The simplest method for a planned gift is to include the Library in your will. Bequests can take the form of cash, securities, or other property, and may be a specific sum or a stated percentage of the estate.
- Trusts - A trust can be established to produce income for the donor or others during their lifetimes and ultimately provide future support for the Library. Cal's Gift Planning staff can provide assistance in determining an appropriate arrangement to meet your individual needs.
Gifts of scholarly materials and the results of research have historically represented a significant element in the development of Berkeley's outstanding research collections. We welcome individual gifts, but due to space and staff limitations, we must be judicious in accepting large contributions. Donations of recently published books are welcomed. New book purchases will be checked to ensure titles aren’t already on order.
Please contact Dirk Kennedy to discuss your donation of books.
Generous donors support the ongoing growth of the literature collection through the following endowments:
- Alumnus Book Fund for Belles Lettres (1911)
- Caroline Cushing Duniway Memorial Fund for English Literature (1945)
- Elizabeth Birge Yocky Endowment Fund for American Literature (1999)
- John Mulhern Library Fund for Irish Literature and Culture (1933)
- Main Poetry Collection Endowment (1999)
- Yoshiko Uchida Children's Book Fund (1992)
About the Library