Note: Please access via CalVisitor, the Library Proxy, or the Library VPN
"Online play texts, audio and video, and secondary sources for the study and performance of drama. Includes material from Arden Shakespeare, Nick Hern, BBC Drama Films, Shakespeare's Globe On Screen, and L.A. Theatre Works."
Collections include playtexts from Methuen Drama, Faber and Faber, Arden Shakespeare, and Nick Hern Shakespeare’s Globe On Screen, L.A. Theatre Works audio collection, BBC Drama Films, the Hollow Crown series, early modern drama titles staged and filmed specifically for educational use. The platform has a web-based e-reader with page and line numbers that correspond to the print edition, download options, full text search, visualization tools including a Words and Speeches Graph and a Character Grid for each play, the ability to view lines for one specific character, genre, period, title, or playwright browsing, and annotation tools.
Includes works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. [600 - contemporary]
EEBO now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700.
Indexes over 125,000 volumes of early works printed in England or in English. These works constitute a significant portion of items included in the English Short Title Catalogue. It contains most of the works listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplements.
Full-color, high-resolution facsimile scans of rare texts in European languages from the early modern period (1450s-1701), with strong representation in Danish, Dutch, French, Italian, and Latin texts.
Contents are drawn from rare book collections from the Danish Royal Library, the National Central Library in Florence, the National Library of France, the National Library of the Netherlands, the Wellcome Library in London, and others. Search by country of publication, language, page features (illustration, musical notation), and source library, and you can include historical and linguistic variants in your search. Books can be browsed in an online Flash-based viewer or downloaded as JPEGs or PDFs. The scans are of the entire physical object and pages, including marginalia and binding.
The largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. (Seventeenth to Eighteenth Century)
Newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). Covers more than 200 years of accounts from newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a handful of papers from British colonies in the Americas and Asia.
Items published in Great Britain and its colonies during the 18th century. (18th Century Collections Online - 18th Century Collection Online - Eighteenth Century Collection Online) [1700-1800]
Contains over 180,000 items published in Great Britain and its colonies, including those in North America, during the 18th Century. This database complements the materials found in Early English Books Online (EEBO), which covers 1475-1700. The resource is thus a rich source of information about the American and French Revolutions and the Age of Reason, scientific and medical advances, literature, law, religion, industry, and all aspects of 18th Century life in Britain and its colonies.
Contains complete texts of 68 printed volumes, from the two January volumes published in 1643 and the Propylaeum of December published in 1940.
Contains complete texts of 68 printed volumes, from the two January volumes published in 1643 and the Propylaeum of December published in 1940. Includes the Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina (BHL) reference numbers widely used by scholars to identify hagiographical texts. Records details of life in early and medieval Europe, relying heavily on hagiographical literature, specifically on the texts published by the Societe des Bollandistes.
Works from the canon of African 20th century literature including stories, drama, poetry and other literary works.
The Heinemann's African Writer Series includes works from the canon of African 20th century literature including stories, drama, poetry and other literary works.
Digitized, full text prose fiction written by Americans from colonial times to the early twentieth century. More than 17,800 titles.
The titles to the year 1900 include nearly all of the works found in Lyle H. Wright’s American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography. Wright’s three-volume set—American Fiction, 1774–1850; American Fiction, 1851–1875; and American Fiction, 1876–1900—is widely considered the most comprehensive bibliography of American adult prose fiction of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. [1774-1920]
(UCB only) A grouping of full-text books, pamphlets, newspapers and government publications. Titles include those listed in Early American Imprints, Series 1 (1639-1800), which is based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans and covers every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America. It also includes Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819), which is based on the Shaw/Shoemaker extension of Evans. The Archive also consists of Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876), American State Papers, 1789-1838, and the U. S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1970.
A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837-1901. Lists nearly 7800 novels, including many from periodicals. Can be browsed by author, title, publisher, year, and genre (just in case you need a quick list of deceased wife's sister novels), and groups. Links to online versions of many texts.
Twenty versions of the English-language Bible including the most significant texts from Tyndale to the King James and the Coverdale, Bishops' and Geneva Bibles.
Contains twenty versions of the English-language Bible including the most significant texts from Tyndale to the King James and the Coverdale, Bishops' and Geneva Bibles. Part of the Literature Online collection.
A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library, the Robbins Collection, and the Hargrove Music Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University, and the New York Public Library.
Items published in Great Britain and its colonies during the 18th century. (18th Century Collections Online - 18th Century Collection Online - Eighteenth Century Collection Online) [1700-1800]
Contains over 180,000 items published in Great Britain and its colonies, including those in North America, during the 18th Century. This database complements the materials found in Early English Books Online (EEBO), which covers 1475-1700. The resource is thus a rich source of information about the American and French Revolutions and the Age of Reason, scientific and medical advances, literature, law, religion, industry, and all aspects of 18th Century life in Britain and its colonies.
The GMS spans one thousand years (600-1600) of literary production across the medieval world (Europe, North Africa, the Middle East, and Asia). It contains primarily short texts of broad interdisciplinary interest in a variety of genres, and many of the texts have not previously been translated into English. All texts in the compendium are downloadable as TEI-XML files to allow for computational or other analysis.
Search across manuscripts and rare books dated before 1800 coming from many digital libraries in the world, including the Bibliothèque nationale de France (Gallica), Digital.Bodleian, Cambridge Digital Library, and more.
Plays, prose and poetry by Latin writers. (1850 - present)
Contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
Online runs of six Victorian periodicals: Monthly Repository (1806-1837) and Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman’s Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870) and Publishers’ Circular (1880-1890).
Complete record of surviving Old English texts with the exception of a few variants. Searchable by word and word combinations and word proximity. (Dictionary of Old English)
Complete record of surviving Old English texts with the exception of a few variants. Searchable by word and word combinations and word proximity.
Digitized rare medieval and Renaissance manuscripts and early printed books from the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. Includes bibliographic references and scholarly annotations.
Full text of classic scholarly editions of the works of major philosophers and writers including the dialogues of Plato, the works of Augustine, Luther's sermons, the collected works of Marx and Engels, Jane Austen, Wordsworth, and more.
Over 230 manuscripts of early modern women writers whose work only exists in manuscript form. [1500-1700]
Perdita means 'lost woman' and the quest of the Perdita Project (University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University) has been to find early modern women authors who were 'lost' because their writing exists only in manuscript form. The 230 entries from the project were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries and they have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA. One of the key attractions of Perdita Manuscripts is that it brings together little known material from widely scattered locations.
Digital texts include ""Clotel"" by William Wells Brown: An Electronic Scholarly Edition; Emily Dickinson's Correspondences: A Born-Digital Textual Inquiry; Herman Melville's ""Typee"": A Fluid Text Edition; Journal of Emily Shore: Revised and Expanded; The Digital Temple: A Documentary Edition of George Herbert's English Verse; The Letters of Christina Rossetti: A Digital Edition; The Letters of Matthew Arnold"
"Digital texts include ""Clotel"" by William Wells Brown: An Electronic Scholarly Edition; Emily Dickinson's Correspondences: A Born-Digital Textual Inquiry; Herman Melville's ""Typee"": A Fluid Text Edition; Journal of Emily Shore: Revised and Expanded; The Digital Temple: A Documentary Edition of George Herbert's English Verse; The Letters of Christina Rossetti: A Digital Edition; The Letters of Matthew Arnold"
Texts which occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon but which have not been readily available in student editions. The editions maintain the linguistic integrity of the original works but within the parameters of modern reading conventions. TEAMS is The Consortium for the Teaching of the Middle Ages.
The focus is upon literature adjacent to that normally in print. Published for TEAMS (The Consortium for the Teaching of the Middle Ages) in association with the University of Rochester by Medieval Institute Publications, Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, Michigan. The General Editor of the series is Russell Peck of the University of Rochester.
Thousands of accurate, searchable, full-text transcriptions of early print books that are now available to everyone. Texts from Early English Books Online, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Evans Early American Imprints.
standardized, accurate, and faithful XML/SGML-encoded electronic text editions of early printed books. We’ve transcribed and marked up text — through manual keying, rather than optical character recognition (OCR) — from millions of static page images in ProQuest’s Early English Books Online, Gale Cengage’s Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Readex’s Evans Early American Imprints. Raw transcripts are available for bulk download as zipped files for those wishing to do text mining or similar projects.
Digital collection with full-text comics, graphic novels, and related scholarship from pre-Comics Code era works to modern sequential releases from the US, Canada, France, Italy, Spain, England, Sweden, Norway, Australia, Korea, Japan, and more.
Full text archive of poetry, children's books, novels, political tracts, and travelogues written by lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century.
Includes poetry, children's books, novels, political tracts, and travelogues written, in English, by nearly 50 women. It focuses on archiving the works of women writers (e.g., Eliza Keary, Dollie Radford, Felicia Skene) that are out of print or absent from anthologies of this period.
American Detective Fiction Prior to July 1891. This project aims to identify, catalog, digitize, and post online all short detective fiction printed in US magazines and newspapers before 1891. So far the catalog holds more than 1000 titles, including British-authored pieces (some of which might have been pirated).
Full-text collection of early women’s writing in English. It includes full transcriptions of over 375 texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible. [1526-1850]
Published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University.
Emory University has digitized over 1200 of its yellowback novels, many by obscure authors. Most are free and can be downloaded as a PDF. Finding and viewing are not intuitive: in the discoverE search box on the right side of the screen, type the word "yellowbacks" and click the search button. On the next screen, under results on the left side of the screen, click " full text online." You can also refine the search by genre, topic and author. Click on the title of the yellowback you wish to read. Scroll down under details, and at the second blue arrow, click "PDF version."
Digitized collection of Irish author Samuel Beckett's original manuscripts, as well as a digitized collection of his personal library with his annotations. Beckett wrote in both English and French.
The purpose of the Beckett Digital Manuscript Project is to reunite the manuscripts of Samuel Beckett's works in a digital way, and to facilitate genetic research: the project brings together digital facsimiles of documents that are now preserved in different holding libraries, and adds transcriptions of Beckett's manuscripts, tools for bilingual and genetic version comparison, a search engine, and an analysis of the textual genesis of his works.
Fully searchable online edition of the complete writings of Ben Jonson.
Presents the complete writings of Ben Jonson for readers of the twenty-first century, in the light of current editorial thinking and recent scholarly interpretation and discovery. It offers a clear sense, afforded by no other previous edition, of the shape, scale, and variety of the entire Jonsonian canon. At the same time, it is the first edition to use digital technology to give a dynamic insight into Jonson's processes of composition and to reveal the editorial choices which underpin the modernized text.
Digitized letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle based on the print volumes that make up The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle, published by Duke University Press.
Electronic access to more than 10,000 letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle based on the print volumes that make up The Collected Letters of Thomas and Jane Welsh Carlyle, published by Duke University Press. The collection is searchable, or browsable by correspondent, subject, and date.
High-resolution images of manuscripts of Dickinson’s poetry, along with transcriptions and annotations from selected historical and scholarly editions.
A digital critical edition, fully annotated, of all Mark Twain's writings including texts, letters and other recently discovered documents.
Mark Twain Project Online applies innovative technology to more than four decades' worth of archival research by expert editors at the Mark Twain Project. It offers unfettered, intuitive access to reliable texts, accurate and exhaustive notes, and the most recently discovered letters and documents.
The Piers Plowman Electronic Archive, a collaborative open-access project, presents the rich textual tradition of Piers Plowman, a fourteenth-century allegorical dream vision attributed to William Langland. Three distinct versions of the poem (A, B, and C) survive in more than 50 unique manuscripts, none in Langland's own hand. The Archive enables instructors, students, and researchers to explore late medieval literary and manuscript culture through the many variations of Piers Plowman.
Fully searchable online edition of the complete writings of Ben Jonson.
Presents the complete writings of Ben Jonson for readers of the twenty-first century, in the light of current editorial thinking and recent scholarly interpretation and discovery. It offers a clear sense, afforded by no other previous edition, of the shape, scale, and variety of the entire Jonsonian canon. At the same time, it is the first edition to use digital technology to give a dynamic insight into Jonson's processes of composition and to reveal the editorial choices which underpin the modernized text.
Formed by a consortium of major research libraries, the Archive contains digital versions of 32 pre-1642 quartos of Hamlet. Use in conjunction with The British Library's Shakespeare in Quarto, which has 107 quartos and allows comparision of different printings.
Thousands of full text poems and hundreds of thousands poetry citations, as well as commentaries, biographies, and bibliographies of anthologized poems. (Grangers World of Poetry)
Indexes 13,000 full text poems, 250,000 poetry citations and other features such as commentaries, biographies, and bibliographies of anthologized poems. Relates to the print equivalents The Top 500 Poems, The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies (editions 8-12), The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works (editions 1-2), and The Columbia Granger's Index to African-American Poetry.
Contains the works of 31 poets comprising 91 volumes of poetry. The authors are all part of the Faber Poetry list, and the database enjoys the active support of the publisher and the poets or estates. Part of the Literature Online collection.
Poems by African American poets of the 20th century. (20th Century African American Poetry)
Includes almost 9,000 poems by 62 African American poets of the twentieth century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove. Part of the Literature Online collection.
Poems by 20th century American poets. (20th Century American Poetry)
50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song. Part of the Literature Online collection.
Poems by 20th century American poets. (20th Century American Poetry)
50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song. Part of the Literature Online collection.
Full text of hundreds of volumes of poetry by important twentieth century poets such as W.B. Yeats, , Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy. (20th Century English Poetry) [20th Century]
A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 twentieth century poetsincluding W.B. Yeats, , Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy. Part of Literature Online collection.
Plays, prose and poetry by Latin writers. (1850 - present)
Contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
Includes Emily Dickinson's Correspondences: A Born-Digital Textual Inquiry; The Digital Temple: A Documentary Edition of George Herbert's English Verse; The Letters of Christina Rossetti: A Digital Edition; The Letters of Matthew Arnold".
"Digital texts include ""Clotel"" by William Wells Brown: An Electronic Scholarly Edition; Emily Dickinson's Correspondences: A Born-Digital Textual Inquiry; Herman Melville's ""Typee"": A Fluid Text Edition; Journal of Emily Shore: Revised and Expanded; The Digital Temple: A Documentary Edition of George Herbert's English Verse; The Letters of Christina Rossetti: A Digital Edition; The Letters of Matthew Arnold"
Index of Romantic Period poetry by Scottish women poets. (1789 - 1832)
Indexes 60 volumes of Romantic poetry from 47 poets, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material written by leading scholars for this collection.
Dramatic works from the early 18th century up to the beginning of the twentieth. [1714 - 1915]
Contains more than 1,000 dramatic works from the period the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth century. Major dramatists featured include Clyde Fitch, Augustin Daly, David Belasco, James Herne and Joaquin Miller. Part of Literature Online.
Plays by Asian American playwrights from the late 19th century to the present.
Includes the complete text of more than 250 plays, from the late 19th century to the present, representing the various ethnicities within the Asian American community including works by writers of Japanese, Filipino, Vietnamese, Chinese, Hawaiian, Indian, Thai, Korean, Persian and Malaysian ancestry. Also includes biographical, production and theatrical information.
Full text of plays by hundreds of black playwrights, as well as information on related productions, theaters, production companies, selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. [1850 - present]
Contains almost 1,500 plays by more than 200 playwrights. Includes information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. The plays have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of James V. Hatch, co-author with Errol G. Hill of A History of African American Theatre. Complements the other Alexander Street Press database Black Drama,(first edition).
Note: Please access via CalVisitor, the Library Proxy, or the Library VPN
"Online play texts, audio and video, and secondary sources for the study and performance of drama. Includes material from Arden Shakespeare, Nick Hern, BBC Drama Films, Shakespeare's Globe On Screen, and L.A. Theatre Works."
Collections include playtexts from Methuen Drama, Faber and Faber, Arden Shakespeare, and Nick Hern Shakespeare’s Globe On Screen, L.A. Theatre Works audio collection, BBC Drama Films, the Hollow Crown series, early modern drama titles staged and filmed specifically for educational use. The platform has a web-based e-reader with page and line numbers that correspond to the print edition, download options, full text search, visualization tools including a Words and Speeches Graph and a Character Grid for each play, the ability to view lines for one specific character, genre, period, title, or playwright browsing, and annotation tools.
Plays, prose and poetry by Latin writers. (1850 - present)
Contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
Full-text of critical, in-copyright reference works about authors, plays, theatres, productions, production companies, casts and related information covering the Canadian and American Theatre. (North American Theater Online)
More than 40,000 pages of critical, in-copyright reference works about authors, plays, theatres, productions, production companies, casts and related information covering the world of theatre from colonial times to the present. This collection includes Black Drama, Twentieth Century North American Drama, and North American Indian Drama
Full text of plays, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies in the U.S. and Canada. (North American Womens Drama) [1714 - present]
Full text of over 1,500 plays written by 275 playwrights women since Colonial times in the U.S. and Canada with approximately one-quarter of the collection never before published. Allows searching by author, play title, character, scenes, and more. Also includes related biographical, theatrical and production information.
Full text of hundreds of plays from important twentieth-century playwrights, including Amiri Baraka, Noël Coward, Susan Glaspell, Langston Hughes, Gertrude Stein, Tom Stoppard, Derek Walcott, August Wilson and many more. (20th century drama) [20th Century]
Contains 238 plays by 25 authors from Britain, Ireland and Australia.Key historical milestones that are represented include: the social problem play, Naturalist plays, West-End comedies and alternative theater. Authors and plays have been selected by an academic advisory board. Selection has been limited to works originally written in English. Part of the Literature Online collection.
Resource for the pictorial and textual references to other books, poems, movies, magazines, and artists in Alison Bechdel's 2006 graphic memoir Fun Home.
About Primary Sources
Primary sources can be found in a variety of library tools:
what terminology was used at the time by participants and observers? (ex: negro or colored instead of african american)
Use the bibliographies of secondary sources and reference sources to find citations to specific primary sources; search UC Library Search to locate them on campus, or ask for assistance at the Library.
