You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.
This page provides a brief overview of some of the academic critical journals the library includes. Several professors in the English and Comparative Literature departments at UC Berkeley, as well as from other major institutions, have published articles in these featured journals. This list is by no means a ranking, nor comprehensive of either major academic journals or the library's journal collection!
The journal of the Modern Languages Association of America, PMLA publishes scholarly essays on language and literature.
English Literary History discusses all literatures in English and on cultural forms and contexts related to those literatures, examining and balancing historical, critical, and theoretical concerns.
Modern Language Notes (MLN)
Associated with contemporary continental criticism, MLN focuses on critical studies in the modern languages (Italian, Hispanic, German, French) and recent work in comparative literature.
Modern Language Quarterly
MLQ is interested in the broad scope of literary history, without any preference for genre or period. It takes up a particular investment with the situations and relationships of literary works in their particular time.
An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal devoted to the best critical thought in the arts and humanities, dedicated to providing a wide range of today's critical analysis.
Broadly focused on critical theory, Diacritics publishes contemporary criticism and emphasizes work that is transhistorical, creative, and rigorous, with a celebration of eclecticism.
New Literary History
This journal focuses on questions of theory, method, interpretation, and literary history, with a wide range of scholarly concerns.
Philosophy and Literature
This journal explores the dialogue between literary and philosophical studies by investigating aesthetics of literature, theory of criticism, philosophical interpretation of literature, and literary treatment of philosophy.
An interdisciplinary journal which examines symbolic dimensions of social practice and the social dimensions of artistic practice.
A graduate-student run journal which focuses on theoretical and critical work in the humanities and social sciences, and aims to start critical conversations and introduce new analytic modes by bringing together diverse scholarly and artistic voices.
A transnational, transdisciplinary journal which provides a forum for creative and provocative scholarship in the theoretical humanities and humanistic social sciences.
The official journal of the International Society for the Study of Narrative, Narrative publishes a broad range of critical essays dealing with the English, American, and European novel, nonfiction narrative, film, and narrative as used in performance art.
GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
A journal with a wide time range which publishes scholarship, criticism, and commentary in areas as diverse as law, science studies, religion, political science, and literary studies. It aims to offer queer perspectives on all issues touching on sex and sexuality.
Transgender Studies Quarterly
TSQ is dedicated to publishing interdisciplinary work that explores the diversity of gender, sex, sexuality, embodiment, and identity in ways that have not been adequately addressed by feminist and queer scholarship in order to contest the objectification, pathologization, and exoticization of transgender lives
Women’s Studies Quarterly
WSQ provides an interdisciplinary forum for the exchange of emerging perspectives on women, gender, and sexuality, with critical techniques including psychoanalytic, legal, queer, cultural, technological, and historical work.
differences: A Journal of Feminist Cultural Studies
Concerned with various textual formats, from literary to visual, differences highlights theoretical debates across the disciplines that address the ways concepts and categories of difference—notably but not exclusively gender—operate within culture.
American Literary History
A journal concerned with all periods of American literature, and dedicated to entering the various, often competing voices of contemporary American literary inquiry in conversation.
Early American Literature
The journal of the Society of Early Americanists and of the MLA's Forum on Early American Literature, with a focus on American literature through the early national period.
The William and Mary Quarterly
This journal focuses on early American history and culture, spanning the fifteenth to the early nineteenth centuries.
The official publication of the American Studies Association, the American Quarterly studies American culture with an emphasis on interdisciplinary work.
A journal which explores interdisciplinary research and discussion of major issues throughout the field of classics, including Greek and Roman literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy and philology, focusing on the Bronze Age through Late Antiquity.
Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies
A journal which fosters rigorous investigation of historiographical representations of European and western Asian cultural forms from late antiquity to the seventeenth century, with articles that are informed by historical inquiry and alert to issues raised by contemporary theoretical debate.
The journal of the Classical Association of the Southwest, Helios analyzes Greek and Roman literature and cultural history using such methods as feminist theory, poststructuralism and deconstruction, psychoanalysis, reader-response theory, and current theoretical models.
Devoted exclusively to the Middle Ages, with time purview ranging from approximately 500 to 1500, Speculum publishes on any relevant fields, including European, Arabic, Byzantine, Hebrew, and Slavic Studies.
An academic journal of Shakespeare studies published by the Folger Shakespeare Library with essays, notes, and book reviews, tracing Shakespeare criticism from his own time to the present.
The bulletin of the Cervantes Society of America, this journal publishes scholarly articles in English and Spanish on Cervantes’s life and works, as well as reviews and notes of interest to Cervantes scholars.
English Literary Renaissance
ELR publishes on Tudor and Stuart literature, including the Sidneys, Spenser, Shakespeare, Jonson, Donne, Milton. In addition to critical essays, this journal also publishes review essays and occasional editions of short significant manuscripts.
This journal publishes critical articles examining theatrical and performance traditions and practices in early modern Europe and intersecting cultures.
Studies in Romanticism
The flagship journal of Romantic literary studies, committed to advancing the study of literature and culture in the dynamic “Romantic Century” of 1750-1850.
European Romantic Review
A scholarly peer-review journal devoted to the interdisciplinary study of nineteenth-century culture.
The official publication of American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies (ASECS), this journal publishes different modes of analysis and disciplinary discourses that explore how recent historiographical, critical, and theoretical ideas have engaged scholars concerned with the eighteenth century.
The official publication of the North American Victorian Studies Association, Victorian Studies focuses on the British culture during the Victorian period with a number of interdisciplinary articles and approaches.
James Joyce Quarterly
The flagship journal of international Joyce studies, with a wide array of critical and theoretical styles centered around one of the most important figures in modernism. JJQ includes archival, historical, biographical, and critical research.
An interdisciplinary journal which focuses on the methodological, archival, and theoretical approaches particular to modernist studies and fosters dialogue about the history of modernism and its relations to modernization.
Modern Fiction Studies
A journal dedicated to theoretically engaged and historically informed articles on modernist and contemporary fiction. It also includes a substantial book review section that is an excellent source for current scholarship in the field.
Journal of Modern Literature
An international journal which emphasizes scholarly studies of literature in all languages, as well as related arts and cultural artifacts, from 1900 to the present.
This journal is focused on publishing scholarly essays, interviews with authors, and book reviews, all revolving around contemporary literature. It examines a wide diversity of works, including poetry, the novel, drama, creative nonfiction, new media and digital literature, and graphic narrative.
An online journal dedicated to discussing American work published after 1945, with a wide array of critical diversity.
A leading journal for interdisciplinary criticism on postmodern issues, PMC seeks to provide a forum for commentary, criticism, and theory on subjects ranging from identity politics to the economics of information
A wide-ranging journal which aims to reach the common reader in everyone and to provide a particular experience of reading that nurtures an engaged and questioning approach to cultural texts of all sorts.
The New Yorker
One of the most famous literary magazines, the New Yorker is an American magazine known for journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry
A combination of a cultural studies and literary magazine, Callaloo is a journal of African Diaspora Arts and Letters dedicated to providing a publication outlet for marginalized writers.
The Paris Review
A literary magazine featuring original writing, art, and in-depth interviews with famous writers, the Paris Review is known for having published iconic voices of literary history.
Founded as a student magazine at Cambridge in 1889, this literary quarterly publishes the best new fiction, poetry, photography, and essays by famous authors, Nobel winners and new voices.
South Atlantic Quarterly
SAQ publishes prominent contemporary writers and scholars tackling urgent political, cultural, and social questions to analyze the current intellectual scene.
Prooftexts: A Journal of Jewish Literary History
A journal dedicated to bringing together the study of modern Jewish literatures (in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages) with the literary study of the Jewish classical tradition as a whole.
Novel: A Forum on Fiction
A peer-reviewed journal devoted to the best new criticism and theory in novel studies, Novel is especially interested in theory and scholarship that address sociocultural changes in terms of their formal, historical, political, and/or epistemological significance.
Studies in the Age of Chaucer
The yearbook of the New Chaucer Society, this journal publishes articles on the writing of Chaucer and his contemporaries, their antecedents and successors, and their intellectual and social contexts, along with an annotated bibliography and reviews of related publications.
Don't forget to ask your colleagues, professors, and advisor what they recommend as the top journals in your field :)