Skip to main content

Environmental Science, Policy, and Management: More Online Resources

A guide to research resources in ESPM.

Agriculture

Selected Web Resources: 

Biodiversity and Taxonomic Tools

Selected Web Resources: 

  • Animal Diversity Web: species accounts and taxonomic data for a wide array of animal species. Higher taxa have overview entries. Maintained by University of Michigan’s Museum of Zoology
  • Biodiversity Science and Research for Management and Policy UNESCO programs on international biodiversity issues.
  • Consortium of California Herbaria: Search engine for locating specimens housed in herbaria throughout the state. Specimen records are linked, where applicable, to species accounts, California range maps, and other resources.
  • Encyclopedia of Life: site serves as an online reference source and database for 1.8 million species named and known on this planet. Species accounts include images, taxonomic data, life history, distribution, ecology, and references.
  • ePIC, Electronic Plant Information Centre (Kew): search Kew Royal Botanical Gardens’ checklists, databases, bibliographies, and publications. Particularly useful for taxonomic queries: search the International Plant Names Index and checklists.
  • FishBase: relational database containing information about the ecology, life history, distribution, and more of fish species around the globe. There’s also a tool to create lists of fish species by country.
  • Global Biodiversity Information Facility: portal to biodiversity datasets. Data accessed by species, country, or dataset. 
  • Guide to Field Guides: searchable database of field guides, both national and international.
  • Hawaii Biological Survey: databases and publications produced by the Hawaii Biological Survey, includes checklists of fauna and flora, catalogs of museum specimens, and technical reports of the Bishop Museum.
  • Integrated Taxonomic Information System: “authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world” 
  • Mammal Species of the World: mammalian taxonomy based on Wilson & Reeder'sMammal Species of the World. A Taxonomic and Geographic Reference. 3rd ed. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2005.
  • Mammalian Species:Taxonomic information about mammals, plus numbers 1-761 of the American Society of Mammalogists’ Mammalian Species accounts.
  • NatureServe Explorer: information on 65,000+ plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. 
  • Nomenclator Zoologicus: names and bibliographic origins of the genera and subgenera in zoology from the tenth edition of Linnaeus 1758 to the end of 2004.
  • Regional Species Lists, Molluscs: by the Conchological Society of America, directory of regional checklists and species accounts of mollusks around the world.
  • Species 2000: annual checklist compiling taxonomic information contained in 52 taxonomic databases. Records contain taxonomic data and links to original database records. 
  • Tree of Life: Taxon pages in development, most contain images, references, and taxonomic information. 
  • Treebase: database of trees derived from phylogenetic analyses. Search by taxon, author, citation, and more. Results include bibliographic information and phylogenetic trees pulled from the studies.
  • UC Museum of Paleontology- History of Life Through Time: tree of life by clicking on taxa of interest for evolutionary history. Articles have references and links for further information.
  • Virus Taxonomy Online: taxonomic information and genus/species accounts of viruses; maintained by the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses. 
  • World List of Marine, Freshwater & Terrestrial Crustacea Isopoda: Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History maintains this site, featuring a taxonomic database of isopod species and a bibliography of species descriptions.
  • Zoonomen: Zoological Nomenclature Resource: continually updated nomenclature and species descriptions for birds.

Botany

Selected Web Resources: 

Conservation and Endangered Species

Selected Web Resources: 

  • AmphibiaWeb: inspired by worldwide amphibian declines, clearinghouse about amphibian conservation and biology. Part of the Digital Library Project at UC Berkeley. 
  • Animal Info: extensive accounts of present and historical conservation status of rare and endangered mammal species. 
  • CITES: Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora, contains Convention text, official documents, species lists and member countries.
  • Conservation Commons: feature is a search engine for the websites of Conservation Common’s partner organizations; good way to locate and access conservation-related publications from a wide range of organizations.
  • Conservation Databases: UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre; includes species, protected areas, national bioversity profiles.
  • Coral Reef Conservation Program: search for coral datasets and publications from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).
  • Endangered Species Bulletin: US Fish and Wildlife Service, provides updates on endangered species news. Current and archived issues available in PDF format.
  • Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority: see the list of online publications, workshop series, research publication series.
  • IUCN Red List: International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources maintains the Red List, which summarizes the conservation status of threatened and endangered species worldwide. 
  • NatureServe Explorer: information 65,000+ plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada, coverage for rare and endangered species.
  • NOAA Habitat Conservation: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration site on protection and restoration efforts for coastal, marine, and riverine habitats.
  • ReefBase: features a global coral reef database of 25,000+ coral reef – related publications, and an interactive mapping tool.
  • Special Status Species: information from California Department of Fish and Wildlife about special status species in California
  • US Fish & Wildlife Service Endangered Species Program: Endangered Species Act species information, laws and polices, and procedural information. 

Environment & Natural Resource News

Finding Reports and Information from Government, IGOs, NGOs, and Think Tanks

Government Information

Other librarians at UCB have created these helpful Guides to Finding Government Information.

 

Intergovernmental Organization (IGO) Information 

Custom Google Search:Use the following search box to search across hundreds of IGO websites

 

 

Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) Information

Custom Google Search: Use the following search box to search across hundreds of NGO sites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from curated lists.

 

Search Think Tanks and Research Centers

Link to a Google Custom Search of more than 590 think tanks and research centers.

Using Google More Effectively

Entomology

Selected Web Resources: 

Environmental Science and Natural Resources

Selected Web Resources: 

Forestry

Selected Web Resources: 

Plant Pathology

Selected Web Resources: 

Soils

Selected Web Resources: 

Zoology

Selected Web Resources: 

  • Animal Diversity Web: Maintained by University of Michigan’s Museum of Zoology, site contains species accounts and taxonomic data for a wide array of animal species. Higher taxa have overview entries. 
  • AmphibiaWeb: inspired by worldwide amphibian declines, this site serves as a clearinghouse for online information about amphibian conservation and biology. Part of the Digital Library Project at UC Berkeley. 
  • Birds of North America: database available to the UC Berkeley community, features detailed species accounts of every bird species in North America, prepared by experts on the species.
  • FishBase: database on the ecology, life history, distribution, and more of fish species around the globe. see tool to create lists of fish species by country. 
  • Herpatology Literature Database: database of literature related to amphibians and reptiles. 
  • HerpNET: from the Center for North American Herpatology
  • Mammalian species: Taxonomic information about mammals, plus numbers 1-761 of the American Society of Mammalogists’ Mammalian Species accounts.
  • PrimateLit: database of primate-related books and literature, funded by an NIH grant to support primate research.
Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.