Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Environmental Collections at The Bancroft Library: Audio/Visual

Overview of Collections

The Bancroft Library has a substantial collection of moving image material documenting environmental movements in the American West from 1920 to 2000, the roots of which influenced national and global movements surrounding land conservation, climate change, and environmental protection. The vast majority of these film and video formats remain inaccessible to researchers due to their deteriorating condition, the risk of damage from playback, and obsolescence of equipment. However, thanks to digitization efforts funded through generous grants, researchers can now access an ever-growing number of these historically significant materials.

Global Influence: Moving Images from Environmental Movements in the West Digital Project

In 2018, The Bancroft Library received a generous grant from the Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR) through their Recordings at Risk program to preserve a vast array of moving image material documenting environmental movements in West. The digitization project highlights 130 titles from Bancroft's vast Audiovisual Environmental Movement Collections, chosen for their demand by researchers, their historical significance of the environmental movement, and the way in which they continue to augment the depth and breadth of Bancroft's environmental holdings. The array of at-risk film formats were digitally reformatted and made available online through the Global Influence: Preserving Moving Images from Environmental Movements in the West Digital Collection.

Material preserved:

  • David R. Brower Motion Picture Film Collection: 27 16mm film reels and 13 VHS
  • Earth Island Institute Urban Habitat Program Audiovisual Collection: 4 VHS
  • Emanuel Fritz Collection: 1 16mm film reel
  • Sierra Club Records: 4 8mm film reels, 59 16mm film reels, 1 VHS, and 3 ¾” Umatic tapes
  • Sierra Club Records Legislative Office Records: 2 VHS tapes
  • Sierra Club Southwest Office Records: 7 16mm film reels
  • Howard W. Steward Motion Pictures: 7 16mm film reels
  • John V. Tunney Papers: 1 16mm film reel
  • Edgar Wayburn: 1 VHS tape

Screenshot from film The Grand Canyon: Living River, Living Canyon

Screenshot from the film The Grand Canyon: Living River, Living Canyon
Image citation: David Ross Brower motion picture collection, Motion Picture 999 C:27, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley