Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.

Environmental Collections at The Bancroft Library

Overview of Collections

The Bancroft Library holds company records in various industries such as lumber and mining, many dating as early as the mid-1800s. While not typically viewed as environmental collections, these materials provide insight on business practices that had great impact on the environment. In addition, they record the beginnings of the conflict between conservation and the exploitation of natural resources, as well as the need to manipulate and control water.

Lumber

Logging truck carrying a load of redwood logs

Logging truck carrying a load of redwood logs
Image citation: Save-the-Redwoods League photograph collection, BANC PIC 2006.030--PIC, Carton 5, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley


Union Lumber Company records, 1854-1973
BANC MSS 68/21

Collection Finding Aid

T.B. Joy & Co. records, 1854-1958
BANC MSS 67/67

Collection Finding Aid

Pacific Lumber Company records, 1864-1938
BANC MSS C-G 95

► Collection is minimally processed. Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for a preliminary container listing.

Caspar Lumber Company records, 1905-1956
BANC MSS C-G 288

► Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for container listing.

Rockport Redwood Company records, 1907-1969
BANC MSS 70/184

Collection Finding Aid

Harry W. Cole papers, 1912-1961
BANC MSS 67/46

► Collection is minimally processed. Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for a preliminary container listing.

California State Council of Lumber and Sawmill Workers, AFL-CIO records, 1945-1981
BANC MSS 84/120

Collection Finding Aid

Mining

Golden Gate Mining Claim, No. 2

Golden Gate Mining Claim, No. 2
Image citation: Photographic views of the Golden Gate Mining Claim, BANC PIC 19xx.197 Set 2:2--ffALB, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley


Mariposa Land and Mining Company of California records, 1863-1923
BANC MSS C-G 127

Collection Finding Aid

Amador Mining Company records, 1866-1886 (bulk 1867-1872)
BANC MSS C-G 129

Collection Finding Aid

Thomas Clark family mining papers, 1880-1986 (bulk 1894-1913)
BANC MSS 98/57

Collection Finding Aid

Quintera Mining Company records, 1880-1909
BANC MSS 69/19

Collection Finding Aid

Homestake Mining Company records, 1888-1999
BANC MSS 2005/297

► Collection is minimally processed. Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for a preliminary container listing.

Argonaut Mining Company records, 1890-1984 (bulk 1893-1948)
BANC MSS 85/38

► Collection is minimally processed. Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for a preliminary container listing.

La Grange Mining Company records, 1893-1914
BANC MSS C-G 75
(container listing in catalog record)

Homestake Mining Company collection of McLaughlin Mine manuals, 1980-1986
BANC MSS 2004/216

► Collection is minimally processed. Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for a preliminary container listing.

Orvana Resources Corporation records, 1980-1996
BANC MSS 2017/171

Collection Finding Aid

There are also two Oral History Center projects focusing on this industry: Global Mining and Western Mining.

Water and Agriculture

Hetch Hetchy Resevoir with Kolana Rock

Hetch Hetchy Resevoir with Kolana Rock
Image citation: M.M. O'Shaughnessy photograph collection, BANC PIC 1992.058--PIC, Carton 3, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley


Spring Valley Water Company records, 1856-1952
BANC MSS C-G 189

Collection Finding Aid

M.M. O'Shaughnessy papers, 1882-1937
BANC MSS 92/808

Collection Finding Aid

John S. Eastwood papers, 1884-1969 (bulk 1895-1924)
BANC MSS 2010/178
(container listing in catalog record)

Miller & Lux records, 1869-1965
BANC MSS C-G 163

Collection Finding Aid

Paul Schuster Taylor papers, bulk 1895-1984
BANC MSS 84/38

Collection Finding Aid

J. Rupert Mason papers, 1935-1958
BANC MSS C-B 865

► Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for a preliminary container listing.

Other Industries

Henry J. Kaiser papers, 1873-1982
BANC MSS 83/42

Collection Finding Aid

Crown Zellerbach Corporation records, 1876-1992
BANC MSS 88/215

Collection Finding Aid

Edgar F. Kaiser papers, 1886-1981
BANC MSS 85/61

Collection Finding Aid

Mason-McDuffie Co. records, 1904-1983
BANC MSS 89/12

Collection Finding Aid

Eugene E. Trefethen, Jr. papers, 1930-1980
BANC MSS 87/35

Collection Finding Aid

Six Companies records, 1931-1941
BANC MSS 77/195
(container listing in catalog record)