Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Environmental Collections at The Bancroft Library: Key Collections

Key Collections

Sierra Club records, 1890-2009
BANC MSS 71/103

The records form one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of environmental records in the United States. The Club designated The Bancroft Library as its official archives in 1958, and the organization began transferring records from the San Francisco office to the Library on a regular basis in 1970. A very wide range of record types are included in the collection, including correspondence, minutes, agendas, reports, by-laws, financial records, scrapbooks, sample ballots, notes, rosters, action alerts, statements and testimony, press releases, clippings, and policy statements. Documentation for the early years is scarce, since the Club's office in San Francisco was destroyed in the 1906 earthquake and fire.
Collection Finding Aid

Related Collections

Sierra Club Office of the Executive Director records, 1933-1994
BANC MSS 2002/230

Collection Finding Aid

Sierra Club International Program records, 1967-present
BANC MSS 71/290

Collection Finding Aid

Sierra Club Northern California/Nevada Regional Conservation Committee records, 1880-1992 (bulk 1970-1984)
BANC MSS 2005/296

Collection Finding Aid

Sierra Club San Francisco Bay Chapter records, 1908-present
BANC MSS 71/291
(portion of collection is unprocessed and unavailable for use)
► Collection is minimally processed. Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for a preliminary container listing.

Sierra Club Southwest Office records, 1900-2000 (bulk 1966-1996)
BANC MSS 98/134

Collection Finding Aid

Sierra Club Mother Lode Chapter records, 1939-present
BANC MSS 71/292

Collection Finding Aid

Sierra Club Foundation records, 1960-present
BANC MSS 89/230

Save the Redwoods League records, 1854-2013 (bulk 1917-2010)
BANC MSS 88/15

This collection documents the organization’s work to preserve redwood trees, and its role in the development and protection of state and national parks in California. It contains administrative and financial records, records from executive directors and councilors, materials related to California State Parks and Redwood National Park, subject files, publicity files, publications, and maps.
Collection Finding Aid

Echo Lakes Association records, 1931-1994
BANC MSS 84/153

This collection consists of correspondence and other working files related to the concerns of cabin owners regarding a variety of environmental and safety matters. Also includes the files of the Echo Lakes History Project, an oral history project sponsored by the Echo Lakes Association, which contain written responses to questionnaires, histories, and several studies regarding Echo Lakes.
► Collection Finding Aid

Earth Island Institute records, 1940-2012 (bulk 1982-2004)
BANC MSS 2009/129

This collection contains the records of Earth Island Institute, a Berkeley, California based not for profit environmental group founded in 1982 by David R. Brower. The collection primarily documents the organizational and administrative history of Earth Island Institute and two of its major projects supported through the International Marine Mammal Project campaigns: the Dolphin and Whale Project (including the Dolphin-Safe Tuna Campaign) and the Free Willy Keiko Foundation.
► Collection Finding Aid

Social protest collection, 1943-1982 (bulk 1960-1975)
BANC FILM 2757
 (microfilm use only, original documents restricted due to fragility)

This collection contains leaflets, flyers, posters, publications and ephemera that was gathered primarily on Sproul Plaza for the UC undergraduate library between 1969-1982. Of interest are the files on the environmental movement which include material from various organizations such as Get Oil Out and Greenpeace.
► Collection Finding Aid

Trustees for Conservation records, 1951-1975
BANC MSS 74/71

This collection contains the records of the Trustees for Conservation, a California environmental organization formed in 1954. The records document the legislative and fundraising activity of the Trustees for several major projects and campaigns, including the passage of the Wilderness Act of 1964, the California State Park System, the San Francisco Bay Shoreline and Point Reyes National Seashore, and opposition to the Echo Park Dam on the Colorado River at the Dinosaur National Monument.
► Collection Finding Aid

Contra Costa Park Council records, 1951-1986
BANC MSS 82/37

This collection documents the Council’s collaboration with conservation organizations, planning officials, and lawmakers to promote active use of park land and preserve open space in Contra Costa County as well as around the Bay Area.
► Collection Finding Aid

Save San Francisco Bay Association records, 1953-2004 (bulk 1961-1990)
BANC MSS 87/29

The records of the Save San Francisco Bay Association document the work of the organization committed to preserving the San Francisco Bay as a natural resource. The collection covers the early history and development of the Association and includes Board of Director's meeting minutes, legal documents, reports studies, newsletters, field reports, and the files of the Citizens' Alliance, a coalition formed by the association in 1969.
Collection Finding Aid

Conservation Associates records, 1959-1979
BANC MSS 73/184

This collection contains correspondence with the Sierra Club and other conservation groups, along with legislators and state and federal agencies. Also included are memoranda, reports, and promotional literature concerning Redwood National Park, Point Reyes National Park, and the Rancho Montana de Oro.
► Collection Finding Aid

Friends of the Earth records, 1959-1988 (bulk 1969-1985)
BANC MSS 82/98

This collection includes documentation of domestic and international conservation campaigns from the origins of the Friends of the Earth organization in 1969 through the late 1980s. Included is significant documentation on legislation and elections related to numerous conservation issues such as national parks and forests, land use and planning, energy resources, water and air pollution, toxic pollutants and hazardous waste, and water quality.
► Collection Finding Aid

Arizona Toxics Information records, 1959-2001 (bulk 1970-2000)
BANC MSS 2003/101

This collection contains materials collected on various toxic hazards by Arizona Toxics Information, an advocacy group that helps bring about changes in hazardous materials policy and management in order to protect public, occupational and environmental health, and sustain cultural and natural resources. The collection includes a wide variety of materials on subjects such as ENSCO and hazardous waste plants in Arizona, the San Pedro Water Supply, air and water pollution on the U.S.-Mexico Border, NAFTA, and the effect of pesticides throughout the Southwest and Northwest.
► Collection Finding Aid

Friends of the River Foundation records, 1960-1996 (bulk 1974-1981)
BANC MSS 88/25

This collection contains documentation collected during the Friends of the River campaigns to preserve the Stanislaus River, stop construction of the New Melones Dam and protect other creeks and rivers through grassroots public awareness campaigns and water policy legislation.
► Collection Finding Aid

Oleari (Kenoli) records of the Coalition for Alternatives to Pesticides, 1960-1994 (bulk 1973-1991)
BANC MSS 2005/241

This collection documents the activities of the Northwest Coalition for Alternatives to Pesticides (NCAP) and its California branch (CCAP). Included are extensive subject files and publications concerning pesticide and herbicide use, aerial spraying, vegetation management by the US Forest Service and other agencies, and the health and environmental effects of pesticide use.
► Collection Finding Aid

Bay Area Ridge Trail Council Records, 1961-2001 (bulk 1987-1998)
BANC MSS 2002/90

The bulk of the collection is comprised of trail planning files, documenting the mapping and construction of trail segments. Also included are a wide range of materials on California trails, parks, and open spaces as well as environmental restoration and preservation.
► Collection Finding Aid

Small Wilderness Area Preservation records, 1963-1980
BANC MSS 81/38

This collection contains the organizational records of Small Wilderness Area Preservation, a conservation organization founded for the purpose of buying up small parcels of land for preservation as nature parks and reserves.
► Collection Finding Aid

Ecology Action records, 1965-1988 (bulk 1968-1978)
BANC MSS 88/126

This collection consists of the records of a non-profit organization founded by Cliff Humphrey and Chuck Herrick in 1968 in Berkeley, California to promote an ecological life. Included in the collection is correspondence, Humphrey's writings, files relating to the various activities of the organization, including publications, events and political action and subject files regarding issues of interest to the group.
Collection Finding Aid

Tuolumne River Preservation Trust records, 1968-present (bulk 1981-1997)
BANC MSS 87/104

This collection provides detailed documentation of the administrative and legal activities of the Trust, as well as all aspects of the campaigns to win Wild and Scenic status for the Tuolumne River and environmental protection for the Clavey River. The bulk of the collection dates from 1981-1997, although material dating from 1968 is found in the files.
► Collection Finding Aid

Urban Habitat Program records, 1970-2001
BANC MSS 2002/65

This collections primarily contains material accumulated by Carl Anthony, co-founder in 1989, and Executive Director for twelve years. Included are his correspondence; professional activities materials, writings, teaching files, and resource subject files along with administrative records on the organization.
Collection Finding Aid

Rainforest Action Network records, 1980-2005
BANC MSS 2006/161
 (portion of collection is unprocessed and unavailable for use)

This collection contains subject files for Rainforest Action Network campaigns, Rainforest Action Groups, Rainforest Action Network publications, and small quantities of correspondence and photographs. Prominent among the campaign files is information pertaining to various oil companies, countries affected by rainforest logging, and the native U'Wa.
► Collection Finding Aid

Restore Hetch Hetchy records, 1987-2008 (bulk 1997-2003)
BANC MSS 2005/178

This small collection contains petitions, research, legal documents, publicity, photographs and other materials related to Restore Hetch Hetchy itself and environmentalism in general. Also contains correspondence of key figures in the organization including the notebooks of former Executive Director, Ron Good.

Arc Ecology records, 1987-2010
BANC MSS 2015/163

This collection contains office files, Restoration Advisory Board (RAB) records, and Environmental Impact Reports for Arc Ecology's work, primarily monitoring the closure and redevelopment of military bases in the San Francisco Bay Area.
► Collection is minimally processed. Please email bancref@library.berkeley.edu for a preliminary container listing.

Mary Rose Kaczorowski collection of Save the Oaks materials, 2006-2008
BANC MSS 2012/115

This small collection contains printed materials, tree census and inventory list, ephemera, flyers, correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs, and more related to a protest movement, known as Save the Oaks, against a UC Berkeley decision to remove coastal live oak trees on campus to construct a new sports training facility. The university's actions sparked three lawsuits, as well as a tree sit-in that ran from December 2006 to September 2008, when the trees in question were finally cut down.