Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Moffitt Library is open, and other libraries have updated services and hours. Here’s what you need to know.

Duplication & Permission Services at The Bancroft Library

A guide to the duplication and permission services available at The Bancroft Library, including information on how to request these services and a list of frequently asked questions.

In-Demand Collections with No Additional Permissions Needed

The Library is home to many collections from which you can publish without requesting any additional permission or license. Sometimes, that's because the collection is in the public domain (i.e. it is not protected by copyright, so therefore no license needed). Other times, it's because the UC Regents have already applied a Creative Commons license to the collection, meaning you don't have to ask for anything else.

We have tried to identify some "in demand" or heavily-requested collections below for which you do not need to request further permissions. To see the rights statuses for all other collections, however, you will need to consult our catalog records, finding aids, and on Calisphere and our Digital Collections site.

If you have any questions about rights status for a particular collection, please send an email to schol-comm@berkeley.edu.

Public Domain Collections

The collections listed below are in the public domain—that is, they are no longer protected by copyright. Under our policy, we do not require anyone to get our permission to republish collection material that is no longer protected by copyright. 

There are many collections and individual works within our collections that have not been added to this list.  Please see the resources on the Copyright, Fair Use, and Your Project tab for more information about how to make your own public domain determination.


War Relocation Authority photographs: Japanese-American evacuation and resettlement, BANC PIC 1967.014

War Relocation Authority (WRA) Background

WRA records represent the official documentation of the United States agency created to assume jurisdiction over the forced removal of Japanese and Japanese Americans from California, Oregon, and Washington by the Western Defense Command, the Fourth Army, and the Wartime Civilian Control Administration (WCCA) during January/February of 1942. During its existence from March 1942 to 1946, the WRA controlled the administration of the incarceration camps, administered an extensive resettlement program, and oversaw the details of the registration and segregation programs.

Public Domain Status

Works prepared by an officer or employee of the United States Government as part of that person's official duties are not protected by copyright (see 17 U.S.C. § 105 if you would like to know more). All photographs in this collection were taken by WRA staff photographers, and as such they are all in the public domain.

Attribution

It is always good practice to cite the original source when publishing any project. This is a separate matter from the issue of whether copyright permission is needed to begin with. The Library requests the following attribution, or you may reformat the following information in accordance with discipline-specific standards:

[Title/description of the photograph], War Relocation Authority photographs: Japanese-American evacuation and resettlement, [Call number of photograph], The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley.


Walter Robert and Gail Lynn Kransky collection of Edward H. Mitchell postcards, BANC PIC 2017.021

Background

Based in San Francisco, Edward H. Mitchell was one of the most prolific postcard publishers in the United States from the turn of the 20th century to the mid-1920s. The collection contains commercially produced postcards depicting locations and other subjects in California, Oregon, Washington, Alaska, Hawaii, the broader United States and beyond.

Public Domain Status

All postcards in this collection were published in the United States before 1924. All works first published in the U.S. prior to 1927 (as of 2022) are in the public domain.

Attribution

It is always good practice to cite the original source when publishing any project. This is a separate matter from the issue of whether copyright permission is needed to begin with. The Library requests the following attribution, or you may reformat the following information in accordance with discipline-specific standards:

[Title/description of the postcard], Walter Robert and Gail Lynn Kransky collection of Edward H. Mitchell postcards, [Call number of postcard], The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley.


 

Creative Commons-licensed Collections

Some collections in which the copyright is held by the UC Regents and managed by the UC Berkeley Library are shared under a Creative Commons license. The Creative Commons licenses permit rights holders to retain copyright while allowing others to copy, distribute, and make some uses of their work depending on the copyright owner's preference and license choice. Creative Commons licenses also specify that licensors get credit for their work. 

Collections the UC Regents and UC Berkeley Library have shared under a Creative Commons license are listed below, along with the terms of the specific license.


Thérèse Bonney Photograph Collection: (CC-BY 4.0)

Copyright to all of Thérèse Bonney's work, regardless of where the work is located, is held by the UC Regents and managed by UC Berkeley Library. This includes Bonney materials at the UC Berkeley Library and any Bonney-authored or Bonney-created materials held by other institutions. 

As of July 2022, all of Bonney’s work is being made available by the UC Regents under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (CC-BY) license. This is the license designed for maximum dissemination and use of the materials. You can review the terms of the license here

This means that no additional permission or license from the UC Regents or anyone else is needed to use Bonney’s work, even if you are using the work for commercial purposes. No fees will be charged, and no paperwork is necessary.

Attribution

The CC-BY license requires attribution to the copyright owner, which in this case is the UC Regents. The Library requires the following attribution:

Thérèse Bonney, © The Regents of the University of California, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. This work is made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license.