History of Science, Technology, & Medicine

The Bancroft Library holds extensive collections of primary and secondary sources covering an array of scientific and technological fields, focusing on the history of science and technology in California and the American West.

Collections cover physical geography, structural geology, tectonics, oceanography, seismology, geochemistry, glaciology, geophysics, atmospheric science, planetary science, geomorphology, climatology, and cartography

The services and collections of the Kresge Engineering Library support the research and teaching programs of the College of Engineering.

Collections include insect fauna of California, the eastern Pacific Rim, and the islands of the Pacific Basin

The Mathematics Statistics Library maintains and develops research-level collections and services to support the teaching, research, and learning needs of the Department of Mathematics, Department of Statistics, and Group in Logic and the Methodology of Science.

Collections include prokaryotes to vertebrates collected from all continents

Collections include specimens and tissue samples of amphibians, reptiles, birds, and mammals, as well as field notes and photographs, historical annotated maps and correspondence, avian sound recordings, chromosome and histology preparations, anatomical and film collections, and terrestrial vertebrate natural history artwork

Collections cover earthquake structural engineering, geotechnical engineering, engineering dynamics, engineering seismology, earthquake public policy and natural hazard risks

Collections include pressed plant and fungal specimens and a library supporting research in systematics, ecology, phytogeography, and evolution