Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History of Science, Technology, & Medicine

Online archives

Sample Collections in the Bancroft Library

Charles Derleth Papers

Includes engineering project records, documents from Derleth's tenure at the University of California, Berkeley, College of Civil Engineering, a personal scrapbook, and scrapbooks from the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake and Fire. Project records consist of correspondence, specifications, and drawings for projects including the Golden Gate Bridge, the Carquinez Bridge, the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge, the Broadway (Caldecott) Tunnel, and the Posey Tube. Faculty Papers contain lecture notes, examination materials, and research for civil engineering courses.

BANC MSS 91/116 c

 

Abner Doble Papers

Abner Doble was an engineer and developer of steam automobiles, buses, trains, and trucks.He founded the Doble Steam Motors Corporation. Consists of correspondence, drawings, reports, patents, photographs, and notebooks documenting Doble's role in the development of 20th century steam technology. The collection also includes papers relating to the Doble family, several of whom were also engineers and inventors, including Doble's grandfather Abner Doble, his father William Ashton Doble, and his brother Warren Doble.

BANC MSS 77/183 c

 

Homestake Mining Company Records

The Homestake Mining Company was one of the largest gold mining businesses in the United States from the 19th century through the beginning of the 21st. Its first and most famous operation was the Homestake Mine in Lead, South Dakota. Includes reports, financial statements, company videotapes, mine safety information, uranium studies, and research material relating to mortality of workers in Homestake Mines. This collection also includes photographs and scrapbooks relating to Homestake mines in Mexico and New Mexico.

BANC MSS 2005/297 c

 

T. Y. Lin Papers

Tung-Yen Lin was a professor at the University of California, Berkeley and an eminent and pioneering engineer in the arena of prestressed concrete and in the design and construction of long-span bridges. Consists of personal and professional records of Lin's engineering and political work including calculations, drawings, artists' concepts, reports and analyses for five major design projects: the Rio Colorado Bridge, the Intercontinental Peace Bridge, the Ruck-A-Chucky Bridge, the Gibraltar Bridge, the development of Shanghai's Pudong District and the proposal to retrofit the Golden Gate Bridge. Additionally, there is incoming and outgoing correspondence, publicity materials, writings, photographs, and slides.

BANC MSS 99/308

 

Varian Associates Records

Varian Associates was formed in San Carlos, Calif. in 1948. Its first major product was the klystron microwave tube. The company developed new products in the fields of radio, radar, television, and electro-photography and eventually became the leading designer and manufacturer of linear accelerators. In 1965 the company merged with Eitel-McCullough. Collection documents the history of Varian Associates from its inception in 1948 until just prior to its division into three separate companies in 1999. The bulk of the collection consists of minutes of the meetings of the board of directors. Also includes reports to the board, acquisition and joint venture studies, writings by Russell Varian related to the company, presentations by the board, files on subsidiary companies, company publications, and promotional and marketing materials.

BANC MSS 73/65 c