Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
Index of interdisciplinary global publications covering research in the history of science, medicine and technology. (HistSciTechMed) [1976 - present]
Indexes books, journals, proceedings, and dissertations worldwide about research in the history of science, medicine, technology, and related fields. Subjects covered include agriculture, biology, construction, chemistry, energy, engineering, geology, linguistics, mathematics, medicine, music, philosophy, physics, social sciences, town planning, transport engineering, and zoology.
Access to the digitized version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office, U.S. Army. Contains materials from the 15th Century through 1950, primarily journal articles, books, dissertations, pamphlets, and reports. Also includes access to eTK for medieval Latin texts and eVK2 for medieval English texts, along with links to other selected NLM resources.
Digitized version of the Index-Catalogue, the multi-part printed bibliography or list of items in the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, U.S. Army. Contains over 4.5 million online references to over 3.7 million bibliographic items including 2.5 million items journal articles, 250,000 monographs (books, pamphlets, and reports), and approximately 300,000 dissertations. Covers up through 1961 imprints.
Major subjects covered include: aesthetics, metaphysics, epistemology, logic, philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, political and social philosophy, and the philosophy of disciplines such as anthropology, education, history and science. (Philosophers Index) [1940 - present]
Includes references to journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews published in some 550 journals.
Search biomedical literature citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. [1950 - present]
Access to citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in the field of medicine and life sciences, and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
The link above goes to a specially configured version of Pubmed for UC Berkeley users. To use the free public version, please click here.
A collection of over 1200 open access scholarly online journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities to meet the communication needs of researchers in the Global South, particularly those in Latin America and the Caribbean. [dates vary]
Journals from Portugal, Spain, and South Africa are also included. The SciELO project is an initiative of the Foundation for Support to Research of the State of São Paulo, Brazil (FAPESP) and the Latin American and Caribbean Center for Information on Health Sciences (BIREME).
Full-text digitized issues of Scientific America back to its first four-page issue published in 1845. The archive also includes the Scientific American Supplement and the Builders Archive Collection. [1845-present]
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Provides links to footnoted citations as well as sources that have subsequently cited an article. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900).
General Article Databases
Databases are collections of thousands of articles (and often book chapters, book reviews, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other items) organized by subject. The Libraries have hundreds of databases covering every academic discipline. Some are multi-disciplinary, covering a broad range of subjects and including popular and scholarly sources, and others are subject-specific, and include scholarly and specialized articles. A complete list is available at Find Articles.
The following multi-disciplinary databases are good places to start your research:
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles.
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
Several hundred digitized scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. [1993 - present]
Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others. Books are available in PDF format, searchable and retrievable to the chapter level, with no restrictions on downloading or printing.
Isis is the journal of the History of Science Society. Since its inception in 1912, the journal has featured scholarly articles, research notes and commentary on the history of science, medicine, and technology, and their cultural influences. Review essays and book reviews on new publications in the field are also included.
Published by the American Association for the History of Medicine and the Johns Hopkins Institute of the History of Medicine, this journal covers social, cultural, and scientific aspects of the history of medicine.
The journal's coverage is broad, publishing on the written beginnings of medicine in all its aspects. It focuses on what practitioners of the healing arts did or taught, and how their peers, as well as patients, received and interpreted their efforts.
Social History of Medicine is concerned with all aspects of health, illness, and medical treatment in the past. It publishes work on the social history of medicine from a variety of disciplines.
Once you've searched an index to find articles, you may need to use to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each databas is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is this: when you see the UC-eLinks icon click on it to view your article access options, which can range from full text to a call number to an Interlibrary Loan request:
For more information, here's a tutorial on using UC-eLinks.