Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Native American Collections at The Bancroft Library: Key Collections & Searching Tips

Highlights of the various Native American materials held at The Bancroft Library

Key Collections

Indian Defense Association of Central and Northern California records
BANC MSS C-A 360

The records of the Indian Defense Association of Central and Northern California consist of seven series: correspondence, administrative materials, legislative files, publications and publicity, assorted manuscripts, subject files, and clippings scrapbooks.  The correspondence documents all of the major areas of work of the organization and includes some letters from prominent figures such as Mary Austin.  Administrative files include founding documents, scattered meeting minutes, financial records, and other materials.  Legislative files document the involvement of the IDA in legislative work on behalf of Indians in California and throughout the nation.  The publications and publicity series consists of bulletins written by John Collier about developments relating to Indian policy in Washington, D.C. as well as other IDA publications and press releases.  The subject files are a rich source of information on a range of issues relating to Indian life in California and other states during the 1920s and 1930s.
► Collection Finding Aid

American Indian Community History Center records
BANC MSS 2008/108

This collection documents the efforts of the Community History Project, a program of the Intertribal Friendship House, to collect and preserve the history of the San Francisco Bay Area urban American Indian community.  The records offer insight into local activities, community members, events, and organizations, many of which also have national significance. The collection contains Intertribal Friendship House records, oral history materials, writings about Native Americans, newspaper clippings, newsletters, Community History Project records, and files from project coordinator Susan Lobo.
Collection Finding Aid

Susan Lobo papers
BANC MSS 2012/233

This collection contains materials related to Susan Lobo's tenures as coordinator the University of California, Berkeley Center for Latin American Studies and at the Intertribal Friendship House Community History Project in Oakland, California.

Social protest collection
BANC FILM 2757 (microfilm use only, original documents restricted due to fragility)

This collection contains leaflets, flyers, posters, publications and ephemera gathered primarily on Sproul Plaza for the UC undergraduate library between 1969-1982.  A section dedicated to Native American Rights holds material from various Bay Area and student organizations such as the Native American Student Association and the Federated Indians of California.
Collection Finding Aid

Searching Tips

Oskicat

For organization publications, a place to start is an enhanced subject search in the Advance Keyword Search tab on Oskicat:

► In Any Field select Subject and use the search term Indians of North America*
► In the Locations section, select Bancroft Library
► In the Books or Journals section, select Journals/Magazines/Newspapers

Additionally, keyword searching using organization names can be refined by selecting Journals/Magazines/Newspapers in the Books or Journals field.

Online Archive of California

Keyword searching by organization name or key individuals may uncover correspondence and publications that have been incorporated into larger collections.  For large archival collections, Oskicat is only able to give a general overview of their contents, but collection finding aids in OAC can provide an in-depth listing of contents.  Be sure to utilize both search capabilities of The Bancroft Library OAC page and the University Archives OAC page (University Archives is part of The Bancroft collections, but is categorized separately in OAC).