Find books, archives, periodicals, newspapers, and official publications. Some full text. Browse The Curran Index to Periodical Literature, the Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism, Niles' Register Index, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature and the Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900.
C19 Index draws on the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.4 million books and official publications, 64,891 archival collections and 15.6 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers.
Primary source database with 4 archives: British Theatre, Music, and Literature (e.g., playbills, scores, letters); British Politics and Society (e.g., diaries, letters, pamphlets, etc.); European Literature, 1790-1840 (full text of 9,500 English, French, and German titles); and Asia and the West (international relations like treaties and letters).
Primary source material from the nineteenth century and beyond. Particularly strong in British politics and society, European literature from 1790-1840 (via the Corvey collection), Asia and the West, and British popular culture. Includes more than 1 million images from the "Photography: The World Through the Lens" collection.
Digitized archive of selected 19th century newspapers. (Nineteenth Century British Newspapers)
Contains full runs of 49 papers selected by the British Library as representative. It contains regional and national papers in England as well as papers from Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Content comes from penny papers read by the working class and papers advocating political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism and Home Rule.
Collection of British pamphlets from the nineteenth century held in UK research libraries.
Full text images of several collections including: pamphlets from Bristol University Foreign and Commonwealth Collection, the Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection, the Hume Tracts, and the Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection. Subjects range from colonial affairs to social reform to universal suffrage.
A collection of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s. Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Brontës feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature.
Hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century.
Voyages by rail, road, sea and air are all covered as are walking, cycling and even a journey by stagecoach. Some items are relatively brief such as the record of a car journey when cars were relatively new, which records the places that were passed through, the weather and the road conditions. Others are daily journals which describe long tours of Europe, where all the details of the trip are meticulously recorded. Then there are scrapbooks containing fantastic visual material such as photographs, postcards, cuttings and sketches and other ephemera.
Online runs of six Victorian periodicals: Monthly Repository (1806-1837) and Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), Northern Star (1838-1852), Leader (1850-1860), English Woman’s Journal (1858-1864), Tomahawk (1867-1870) and Publishers’ Circular (1880-1890).
Index of hundreds of multidisciplinary publications covering Victorian Britain (1830-1914). [1945 - present]
Indexes over 500 journals, books, and dissertations concerning Victorian Britain (defined as 1830-1914), in every field of nineteenth-century British studies including: painting, architecture, and music; philosophy and religion; histories of England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, and the British Empire; military and naval history; politics, commerce, and economics; sociology, women's studies, law, and education; science, technology, and medicine; and literature, drama, poetry, prose, and fiction. This is an online version of the Cumulative Bibliography of Victorian Studies.
Archival sources from 19th and 20th century Britain and North America related to Spiritualism, Sensation & Magic, Circuses, Sideshows & Freaks, Music Hall, Theatre & Popular Entertainment, and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments & the Advent of Cinema.
The resource includes both print and visual primary source materials, including books, periodicals, advertisements, postcards, films, photographs, memorabilia, scripts, sheet music, and much more.
Full text archive of poetry, children's books, novels, political tracts, and travelogues written by lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century.
Includes poetry, children's books, novels, political tracts, and travelogues written, in English, by nearly 50 women. It focuses on archiving the works of women writers (e.g., Eliza Keary, Dollie Radford, Felicia Skene) that are out of print or absent from anthologies of this period.
Digital collection of fiction, cartoons, maps, posters, ballads, advertisements, broadsides, and reform literature relevant to the social history of London from 1800 to 1910.
Sourced from the Lilly Library at the University of Indiana (Bloomington), the resources includes digitized material from important collections relating to life in the London: Michael Sadleir's Ephemera, Chapbooks, the Virginia Warren Collection of Old Street Cries, Rare Books, Periodicals, Tallis's Street Views, London Maps and George Gissing's scrapbook from the Pforzheimer Collection. Coverage extends from the 18th-20th centuries, but the bulk of the content is from the 19th century.
A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837-1901. Lists nearly 7800 novels, including many from periodicals. Can be browsed by author, title, publisher, year, and genre (just in case you need a quick list of deceased wife's sister novels), and groups. Links to online versions of many texts.
Facsimile page images and keyword-searchable full text for more than four hundred works of American prose fiction published before 1850, including key titles such as James Fenimore Cooper's The Last of the Mohicans, Edgar Allan Poe's Tales of the Grotesque and Arabesque and Nathaniel Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter.
Early American Fiction 1789–1850 is sponsored by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the University of Virginia Library, and published by ProQuest Information and Learning in collaboration with the University of Virginia.
A unique collection of American fictional prose sponsored by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the University of Virginia Library, and published by ProQuest Information and Learning in collaboration with the University of Virginia.
Early American Fiction 1789–1875 offers the full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.
Recognised as one of the greatest achievements of twentieth-century scholarship, the Bibliography of American Literature describes in exhaustive detail the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930. More than 37,000 works are listed, essentially the complete printed record of American literature from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries
Images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. [1800 - 1920]
Providing access to primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
Full-text access to newspapers and magazines intended to entertain, inform and educate the women of America. (Pennsylvania Gazette - Godey's Lady's Book) [1728 - 1800]
Offers social, political and cultural perspectives of colonial America, the American Revolution, and the New Republic. Provides access to the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), the paper called 'The New York Times of the 18th Century', Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1898), and a collection of Philadephia papers. Offers social, political and cultural perspectives of colonial America, the American Revolution, and the New Republic.
The original ground-breaking Chadwyck-Healey collection, English Poetry contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets are drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
English Poetry, Second Edition contains over 183,000 poems, essentially comprising the complete canon of English poetry of the British Isles and the British Empire from the 8th century to the early 20th. Drawn from nearly 4,900 printed sources, more than 2,700 poets are represented. English Poetry, Second Edition redefines the English poetic canon for the 21st century, building on the achievement of the original English Poetry collection with the addition of more than 20,000 poems from several new categories.
Includes a broad range of digitized documents sourced from 21 libraries. The manuscripts, printed works, and illustrations are grouped thematically and address key gender issues from both masculine and feminine perspectives.
The collection includes ephemera, pamphlets, college records and exam papers, commonplace books, diaries, letters, ledgers, account books, educational practice and pedagogy materials, government papers, personal journals, and receipt books. These are supplemented with a selection of original essays from historians. The thematic areas addressed include: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity & the Family, Consumption & Leisure, Education & Sensibility, and The Body.
Digitized collection of original manuscript and printed documents from around the world to support research in the field of colonial and empire studies. [1492-1962]
Includes 70,000 images of original manuscript and printed documents to support study and research in the field of colonial and empire studies. Five sections include: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c. 1607-1969. In addition to original documents, this database contains scholarly essays and analysis.
Brings together in one searchable database letters, diaries, printed guidebooks, travel writing, maps, paintings and architectural plans relating to the experiences of people participating in the Grand Tour.
This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows scholars to compare a range of sources on the history of travel for the first time, including many from private or neglected collections. Provides information on daily life in the eighteenth century, highlighting such everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex. The material also covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs on the Continent. There is a wealth of detail about cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva, including written accounts and visual representations of street life, architecture and urban planning.