Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.

Cal-in-Sac Projects Resources: Covid-19 in California

IGS Library Covid-19 Resources

Covid-19 Resources spreadsheet: Starting in spring 2020, the IGS library has been collecting resources related to Covid-19's impact on California's health and economy in this google spreadsheet.

Data

Data on the County Level

California counties have been tracking cases and deaths within their boarders. The list below leads to county data:

California: Support for Business

Resources for Small Businesses and Start-Ups (California Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development (GO-Biz))

State Actions on Coronavirus Relief Funds (National Conference of State Legislatures)
Database that provides information on how the states are using the Coronavirus Relief Funds (CRF), allocated by the CARES Act. Filter on California.

California Rebuilding Fund. A loan program to support California’s small businesses—especially those located in economically disadvantaged and historically under-banked areas of the state.

California Small Business Covid-19 Relief Grant Program

Blueprint for a Safer Economy framework (CA Department of Public Health). The state's plan for reducing COVID-19 with revised criteria for loosening and tightening restrictions on activities.

California Office of the Small Business Advocate (CalOSBA)

Small Business Fact Sheet CA Office of Business & Economic Development

Feb. 23, 2021: "Governor Newsom Signs Legislative Package Providing Urgent Relief to Californians Experiencing Pandemic Hardship" (includes immediate relief for small business).
The package includes these bills (For full text of the bills, visit: http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov)
AB 81 by Assemblymember Philip Ting (D-San Francisco) – COVID-19 relief.
AB 82 by Assemblymember Philip Ting (D-San Francisco) – COVID-19 pandemic emergency: contact tracing: childcare.
AB 85 by the Committee on Budget – Budget Act of 2020.
SB 87 by Senator Anna Caballero (D-Salinas) – California Small Business COVID-19 Relief Grant Program: income tax: gross income: exclusion: small business grants.
SB 88 by the Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review – One-time stimulus payment: delinquent accounts: Earned Income Tax Credit: statements.
SB 94 by Senator Nancy Skinner (D-Berkeley) – Alcoholic beverage control: barbering and cosmetology: license renewal fees: waiver.

 

California: Support for Workers

Essential Infrastructure Workers
List of workers and businesses declared essential during the state's Shelter-in-Place order

California Department of Labor and Workforce Agency: COVID-19

Benefits for Workers Impacted by COVID-19
Lists of benefits for workers, including Paid Sick Leave, Disability and Unemployment Insurance, Paid Family Leave, and Workers Compensation

State of California Franchise Tax Board
Information on special tax relief and extensions

Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19): Employment Development Department
Information for workers who lost their jobs or lost hours due to COVID-19

OnwardCA.org
"One-stop resources" for those who have lost jobs as a result of COVID-19.

Statistics & Data

Apple Maps Mobility Data. Daily changes in requests for directions by transportation type for countries, regions, sub-regions, and cities.

COVID-19 Open Research Dataset Challenge (CORD-19). Machine-readable literature collection for data mining. Thousands of scholarly articles about COVID-19.

Coronavirus Tracker. Tracks tech startup layoffs of employees laid off since the coronavirus was declared a pandemic. 

Fred: Economic COVID-19 Data Tracking. Dashboard with a focus on the impact from the COVID-19 pandemic, from the Federal Reserve.

Google COVID-19 Community Mobility Reports. Mobility changes in response to policies aimed at combating COVID-19. Charts movement trends over time by many geographies.

Homebase Coronavirus (COVID-19) Impact Data.  Data illustrating the impact COVID-19 has had on small businesses through the volume of hours worked by employees, the number of businesses open and number of employees working. Updated daily.

Harvard Dataverse: China Data Lab COVID-19. Data resources for COVID-19 including geospatial case counts, policies, and air quality. 

Humanitarian Data Exchange - COVID-19 Data.  Compiled by the Humanitarian Data Exchange.

ICPSR COVID-19 Data Repository. Data examining the social, behavioral, public health, and economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Small Business Administration (SBA) Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) FOIA data. Includes business names, addresses, NAICS codes, zip codes, business type, demographic data, non-profit information, name of lender, jobs supported, and loan amounts. 

SF Chronicle | Bay Area Layoff Tracker. Searchable database that includes company name, number of layoffs, and city. 

Statista dossier on the (COVID-19) pandemic. Provides recent data relating to the ongoing coronavirus disease (COVID-19) pandemic.

Track the Recovery. Combines anonymized data from private firms to provide timely indicators such as employment rates, consumer spending, job postings, industries, and income groups.

US Bureau of Labor Statistics | Effects of COVID-19 Pandemic. Links to BLS datasets available to study COVID 19's effect on employment.

US Census Bureau. Demographic risk factors and economic data on industries impacted by COVID-19. See also the census bureau's experimental data  on Monthly Retail Sales, Small Business Pulse Survey and the Household Pulse Survey.