Library Guides: Cal-in-Sac Projects Resources: Journal Articles

Introduction and Starting Points

Article databases will help you identify journal articles, book chapters, reviews, reports, etc. The following list are good starting points and cover a variety of subject areas. The boxes below contain links to specific subject databases that may also be useful. To see the full list of databases, visit A-Z Databases and browse by Subject, Type, or Provider.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for more than 7000 scholarly journals and other sources, including nearly 1100 peer-reviewed business publications. Offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, and accounting. [1965 - present]
Indexing, abstracts, and (in many cases) the full text of articles for the most important scholarly business journals as well as popular and trade magazines and newsletters.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

General Social Sciences

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews publishes dozens of journals in several subject areas that capture the current understanding of a topic, including what is well supported and what is controversial; set the work in historical context; and highlight the major questions that remain to be addressed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Search social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform.
An interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles spanning all Social Science disciplines; provides searching of footnoted citations. Specify Social Science Citation Index search only by deselecting other Indexes in "Limits". [1956 - present]
Indexes over 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals, and provides searching of footnoted citations. For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Saving your search & setting alerts

Public Policy

CQ California Political Almanac This link opens in a new window
Profiles and analysis of California's political leaders. Biographies, voting records, and district descriptions for members of the Assembly, Senate, and Congress, as well as constitutional officers. Also includes state budget information, district maps, and election data.
Profiles of state legislators (Senate and Assembly), constitutional officers, state Supreme Court and appellate court justices, and representatives to the U.S. Congress. Overviews and essays on major players and events influencing the state's branches of government, including lobbyists and the media. Also includes: information on the state budget; maps of assembly, Board of Equalization, and Congressional and Senate districts; tables of state data, including gubernatorial elections, economics, and the history office holders. Part of the CQ Electronic Library collection. (California Political Almanac)
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. [1923 - present]
A weekly publication covering the most current and controversial issue stopics. Includes complete summaries and bibliographies. Part of the CQ Electronic Library collection.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for international economic journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. [1969 - present]
The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). Most citations include a searchable abstract.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Indexes major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, international legal journals. (Legal Trac) [1980 - present]
Also indexes law-related articles from hundreds of business and general interest titles.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
Index to U.S. foreign and domestic public policy reports. (Policy File) [1990 - present]
Covers the areas of economics, politics, the environment, and social issues, taken from reports from a wide range of think tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.
National Journal Group's Policy Central This link opens in a new window
The National Journal and its associated publications provide a comprehensive view of current politics and policy at the federal level in the United States.
Indexes National Journal, The Hotline which tracks American politics and campaigns with coverage of each day's events, Congress Daily, Technology Daily, Almanac of American Politics, Poll Track and others to provide a comprehensive resource on politics and policy.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to comparative politics, developing nations, history and theory of political science, political psychology, political economy, public administration, and public policy. [1975 - present]
International in scope.

Transportation Studies

Compendex (UCB only)
Indexes journals, conferences, technical reports and other materials related to the engineering and technical literature. (Ei Compendex Plus) [1884 - present]

SAE Mobilus
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: SAE Digital Library
Formerly SAE Digital Library. Full text of technical papers published since 1906 and full text of journal papers from the SAE International Journals from 2011 to present.

TRID Database
The most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research. (TRIS Online)

Secondary menu

Cal-in-Sac Projects Resources: Journal Articles

Introduction and Starting Points

General Social Sciences

Public Policy

Transportation Studies