California Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development Entrepreneurship Task Force
California Office of the Small Business Advocate (CalOSBA)
California Rebuilding Fund. A loan program to support California’s small businesses—especially those located in economically disadvantaged and historically under-banked areas of the state.
Free Grants and Loans
Women and Minority Businesses
Incentives, Grants, and Financing
California Governor's Office of Business & Economic Development
Women and Minority-Owned Business Resources
California Bank Trust
Covid-19 Related Sources
Blueprint for a Safer Economy framework (CA Department of Public Health). The state's plan for reducing COVID-19 with revised criteria for loosening and tightening restrictions on activities.
California Small Business Covid-19 Relief Grant Program
SBDC California Covid-19 Small Business Resources
State Actions on Coronavirus Relief Funds (National Conference of State Legislatures)
Database that provides information on how the states are using the Coronavirus Relief Funds (CRF), allocated by the CARES Act. Filter on California.
California Employment Development Department
California Workforce Development Board
Workforce Development
UCLA Labor Center
Covid-19 Related Sources
Benefits for Workers Impacted by COVID-19
Lists of benefits for workers, including Paid Sick Leave, Disability and Unemployment Insurance, Paid Family Leave, and Workers Compensation
California Department of Labor and Workforce Agency: COVID-19
Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19): Employment Development Department
Information for workers who lost their jobs or lost hours due to COVID-19
Covid-19 Outbreak Resources and Information For Workers
Essential Infrastructure Workers
List of workers and businesses declared essential during the state's Shelter-in-Place order
OnwardCA.org
"One-stop resources" for those who have lost jobs as a result of COVID-19.
State of California Franchise Tax Board
Information on special tax relief and extensions
California Employment Development Department
This State agency provides wage data by occupation/industry and by county as well as California labor market information.
California State Assembly
Women- and Minority-Owned Businesses
Entrepreneurship: UC Berkeley Library Guide
Historical Annual Reports
Companies' annual reports from 1844+ available through searchable PDF images. Last 10 years not available. Use Mergent Online for recent reports.
Jobstar
Profession and area-specific wages in California, and links to over 300 salary surveys.
Reference USA Current Information
Basic directory information on companies in the United States. Best source for finding small businesses and creating lists of small businesses based on geography and industry in the US.
Reference USA Historical Files
Annual snapshots of historic company data from Infogroup's U.S. Business Database. Coverage from 1997-2018. Use Advanced Search to filter by employee size and location. There is also a field for finding businesses by minority or women executives
Files are very large. Best to open in a statistics computer program.
Small Business Fact Sheet CA Office of Business & Economic Development
State of Minority Business
California by Industry
U.S. Department of Commerce
United States Small Business Administration
Small Business Profile
United States Small Business Administration
State Profiles
Assembly Committee on Jobs, Economic Development, and the Economy.
Fast Facts about California Small Business
Bohn, Sarah, Marisol Cuellar Mejia, and Julien Lafortune. (2020) The Economic Toll of COVID-19 on Small Business, Public Policy Institute of California.
Cal-in-Sac Undergraduate Research on Diversity and Entrepreneurship Series
This series includes Op-Eds, blogs, policy briefs and other research products that capture key findings of the research conducted by Cal-in-Sacramento Fellows in 2021.
Foreign USA( 2021) How Many Small Businesses are there in California?
Jody Agius Vallejo & Stephanie L. Canizales (2016) Latino/a professionals as entrepreneurs: how race, class, and gender shape entrepreneurial incorporation, Ethnic and Racial Studies, 39:9, 1637-1656.
U.S. Small Business Administration
Small Business Start-up Guide for Northern California
Books on Social Entrepreneurship
From the UCB Library collection.
Neighborhood Poverty and Segregation in the (Re-)Production of Disadvantage by