Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Cal-in-Sac: Covid-19 Project: UCB Resources

Newspaper Databases

Access World News  
Full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources.
(America's newspapers - NewsBank - global newsbank)

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pais.

ProQuest Newspapers
Access to national and regional newspapers from across the U.S. Select "Publications" in the toolbar and select the paper you would like to search.

Includes New York Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985, with Index, 1851-1993 + 1980-current). Los Angeles Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985 + 1985-current). Wall Street Journal (full text, Historical, 1889-1995 + 1984-current). Also indexes the New York Times Magazine (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), the New York Times Book Review (indexed from 1986-current, full text from 1997), and the WSJ: the Wall Street Journal Magazine (full text from 2011-present).

Find Articles

Academic Search Complete  
A multidisciplinary index to articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications. Full-text is available for over 5300 journals. 

ProQuest Social Sciences
Search social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform.

JSTOR
Full-text access to over 1,000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.

Web of Science
Citations for journal articles spanning all Social Science disciplines; provides searching of footnoted citations. Specify Social Science Citation Index search only by deselecting other Indexes in "Limits."

Find Catalogs

Use OskiCat to locate materials related to your topic in UC Berkeley libraries. OskiCat will show you the location and availability of the items that we own.

To limit an OskiCat search to materials at the IGS Library, change Entire Collection to Institute of Governmental Studies.

Use Melvyl to locate materials at other UC system libraries (and other libraries worldwide). Click the REQUEST button on an item record to request the item through interlibrary loan.

Reference Help From Other Libraries

Research help - Contact a librarian in person, by phone, by email or chat for assistance with your research.

Study spaces - Find study areas for students in Doe, Gardner (Main) Stacks and Moffitt Libraries.