Library Guides: Cal-in-Sac Projects Resources: Statistical Sources

Introduction

Getting Started

The resources listed below starting points for finding statistics and data. It is not a comprehensive list by any means.

Please contact the IGS Library if you need assistance with any of these sources or finding specific summary statistics or data.

A few definitions to be aware of:

"The terms data, datasets, and statistics are often used interchangeably but they do have distinct meanings. Simply put, data refers to the raw numbers, text, etc. that are the inputs for statistical analysis; statistics are the results of the analysis, which have been aggregated or summarized in some way." (Bauder. (2014). The reference guide to data sources. American Library Association. p.9)

Also, see ICPSR's explanation on Understanding data vs. summary statistics or watch their video Data vs. Statistics: What's the Difference?

Before you use any of the sources, take a moment to review the questions below and answer them based on your research topic.

*Concept*
Question or topic?	What is your paper topic, question of study?
Hypothesis?	What are you testing, trying to solve, prove, etc.?
Geography?	Cities, counties, regions, national, school district, etc.
Time period?	Current (2020), historical (1900 vs. 2010), over time, point in time, hourly, daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, annually, etc.
Unit of analysis?	Who or what are you studying? Individuals, households, families, children, schools in a school district, unemployment rates, word frequency, etc.
Variables/data points?	What items will help you answer your question? Any specific characteristics, e.g. gender, age, ethnicity, immigrant status? Independent and dependent variables?

Statistical Abstracts

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, 1878 to present.
The United States Statistical Abstract (aka Stat Ab) is useful both as a convenient source for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information, in print and on the Web (when available). Sources include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. Prior to 2012, the Stat Ab was provided free of charge. In 2012, Congress cancelled funding and ProQuest has continued producing the Stat Ab.

Book of the States
Published since 1935, the BoS is an authoritative, credible source of statistics and information for the 50 states, 6 commonwealths and territories of the United States. Chapters are broken down by on executive, legislative, judicial, finance, voting and elections and provide both narrative information and statistical tables.

California Statistical Abstract This link opens in a new window
Compilation of data on social, economic, and physical aspects of the State. The contributor for each table is given at the bottom of the table and may be contacted for more details or an explanation of the data.
Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
A collection of the statistical abstracts from many countries. (ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the World)
These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations are included.

Statistics Sources
- This link opens in a new window
A topically organized directory to thousands of sources of quantitative information for U.S. and international statistics and data.

Statistical Databases

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data may be downloaded to csv.
PolicyMap is an easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data about demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, income, jobs and economy, education, crime, and health can be presented as maps, tables, charts and reports.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Data and interactive thematic maps from the U.S. Census from 1790-present.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, political, and marketing indicators. (DataPlanet - Data-Planet - Statistical Datasets)
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.

Our World in Data
- This link opens in a new window
This is a project of the Global Change Data Lab, a registered charity in England and Wales, and was founded by Max Roser, a social historian and development economist. The research team is based at the University of Oxford, who work with a variety of academic, scientific and media partners. Our World in Data uses interactive charts and maps to illustrate research findings, often taking a long-term view to show how global living conditions have changed over time.

California Statistical Sources

California Statistical Abstract
Compilation of data on social, economic, and physical aspects of the State. The contributor for each table is given at the bottom of the table and may be contacted for more details or an explanation of the data.
California Statistics LibGuide
See this LibGuide for quick access to additional California statistical resources.
Data.gov's California Data
Datasets in the U.S. data.gov that are tagged California. Can also be accessed through the California State Geoportal.
The Statewide Database is the Redistricting Database for the State of California. On this site, you will find voting, registration and geographic datasets for the State of California for statewide elections beginning in 1992.

California Research Bureau State Assembly and Senate District Profiles
A tool designed for CA legislative staff, provides several key statistics on demographic, socioeconomic, education, environmental, finance, housing, and health by district. Can compare up to 6 districts.

Data - there are restrictions and requirements to access and use data from these sources. Talk with your Professor first!

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in countries across the world. ICPSR maintains a data archive of on topics in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.
Direct download access to data sets requires the creation of a personal account. In addition, analysis of ICPSR data sets requires the use of specialized software. For more information on this process, please consult the ICPSR Get Help page or schedule an appointment with the Library Data Lab.

openICPSR
openICPSR is a self-publishing repository for social, behavioral, and health sciences research data. openICPSR is particularly well-suited for the deposit of replication data sets for researchers who need to publish their raw data associated with a journal article so that other researchers can replicate their findings.
Harvard Dataverse
A Dataverse is an open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore and analyze research data. Harvard's is the first and sort of like "dataverse central," with thousands of data sets across all academic fields but primarily in the social sciences.
Qualitative Data Repository (QDR)
QDR is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences and related disciplines.
You can browse data however, only users who have registered (i.e., have agreed to QDR’s General Terms and Conditions of Use) and logged in can view, explore on-line, and/or download data projects, individual data files, or attendant documentation (e.g., interview protocols or human subjects consent forms) published on QDR.

Public Opinion

Berkeley IGS Poll formerly the Field Poll
An independent, non-partisan, media-sponsored public opinion news service. Each year the poll covers a wide range of political and social topics examining California public opinion. Many available in hardcopy at the IGS Library. Poll reports 1993-2016 archived at Internet Archive. Raw data files are available from UC Data.
PPIC Statewide Surveys (Public Policy Institute of California)
Launched in 1998 with the purpose of "providing independent, objective information on the social, economic, and political forces affecting California elections and public policy preferences."
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Contains domestic and international survey data. The Center's Public Opinion Location Library (iPOLL) gives online access to a database including poll questions asked in US from 1936 to present.

Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 9/30/23 due to library budget cuts
Provides access to nearly a century of U.S. Daily Tracking Polling data and over a decade of the Gallup World Poll. [1930's to present]
Note: Access is limited to one user at a time
"Gallup Analytics allows users to access and use the wealth of Gallup polling data. Polling topics include views on the government, education, well-being, economics, politics. For the United States, it includes new data, as well as historical data to discover trends at the country or state level. Users can track polling data for countries around the globe from 2005-present. All trends are easily searchable and exportable. Subscribers can view data by demographic categories, compare results across geographies to develop and report findings, including direct citations of Gallup's work. Also includes access to Gallup Brain, with polling data going back to the 1930's for the U.S." Access is limited to one user at a time.
Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Questions and results from public opinion polls and surveys taken all over the world from 1986 to the present
A compilation of public opinion polls and surveys from more than 6,500 national, state, local and special surveys in the U.S. and over 60 other countries. The surveys date from 1986 and contain information on over 3,000 social, political and economic issues.

Secondary menu

Cal-in-Sac Projects Resources: Statistical Sources