Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cal-in-Sac Projects Resources: Databases

General Social Sciences

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]

Google Scholar
A freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.  

JSTOR
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary]

ProQuest Social Sciences
An interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.

Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
Citations for journal articles spanning all Social Science disciplines; provides searching of footnoted citations. Specify Social Science Citation Index search only by deselecting other Indexes in "Limits". [1956 - present]

Public Policy

CQ California Political Almanac
Profiles and analysis of California's political leaders. Biographies, voting records, and district descriptions for members of the Assembly, Senate, and Congress, as well as constitutional officers. Also includes state budget information, district maps, and election data.

PAIS International
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]

PolicyMap
An easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data about demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, income, jobs and economy, education, crime, and health can be presented as maps, tables, charts and reports.
Review overview and guide here.
Hint: Try selecting your geography and type "transportation" in the search box.  

PoliticoPro's California
California specific news coverage from Politico.

Transportation Studies

Compendex  
Indexes journals, conferences, technical reports and other materials related to the engineering and technical literature. (Ei Compendex Plus) [1884 - present]

SAE Mobilus 
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: SAE Digital Library
Formerly SAE Digital Library. Full text of technical papers published since 1906 and full text of journal papers from the SAE International Journals from 2011 to present.

TRID Database
The most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research. (TRIS Online)