Skip to main content

Economics: Data

Statistics & Numeric Data in Economics

This page lists selected sources of economic statistics and numeric data that are licensed by the UC Berkeley libraries or available freely on the web. The content is broken down by category:  Data Visualization;  International Macroeconomic; United States/Regional MacroeconomicInternational Trade; Companies & IndustriesDevelopment, Inequality & Investment; Demography & LaborEconomic HistoryEnvironmental Economics; Financial Data and Fundamentals; and Microdata.   

Portals where researchers deposit economic data, and gateways to search for it include:

Selected open data repositories and search engines include 

  • Awesome Public Data Sets. "Topic-centric" list of high-quality open datasets in public domains, from Github.
  • Github.  More than just code, Github is an emerging platform for data science and open data.
  • Kaggle.  Platform where data miners compete to produce models for predicting and describing datasets uploaded by users. 
  • Nationmaster. Country Data from Publicly Available sources
  • ZanranOpen Data Search Engine.

International Economic

Asian Development Bank Statistical Database System. Statistical Data from the Asian Development Bank (query at the top of the page).

Amadeus.  European financial database containing information on approximately 20 million companies from 43 countries. Up to 10 years of detailed information and consolidated statements provided when available.

Cross-National Time-Series. Statistical information on a range of countries, with data entries ranging from 1815 to the present. It offers a comprehensive extent of variables and country facts. 

CEIC Global. Database of time series covering countries in Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Includes: National Accounts, Industrial, Sales, Construction-Property, Demographic-Labor, Domestic and Foreign Trade, Stock Markets, Banking, Inflation, Monetary, Forex, Investment, and more.

China Data Online. Macroeconomic statistics, city and county data, industrial sector data, and census updates for China. 

Data Planet. Provides access to data from licensed and public domain datasets from local, state and international governments and commercial organizations. Includes selected data from large foreign stock exchanges.

EMIS. Company analysis, industry research, economic reports, forecasts, macroeconomic statistics, deals, and financial reports for emerging markets. Over one million company profiles and ratings from international & local rating agencies.

Eurostat. Publications and statistics from the EU, with data in economics, population, agriculture, trade, transportation, the envornment and much more.

Global Financial Data (GFD). Long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) and macroeconomic trends for over 150 countries: financials, interest rates, exchange rates and more.  Includes online encyclopedias that describe each dataset.

IMF Elibrary.  Library of IMF publications and statistics, including Key IMF statistical titles and the Annual Report on Exchange Arrangements and Exchange Restrictions 

Indiastat. Statistical data from Indian government and private sources: finance, agriculture, health, housing, transportation, and many other areas.  Note: userid and password required. Please inquire at any Library Reference Desk for assistance.

OECD iLibrary. Data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Includes data on economics and finance, trade, telecommunications, development, foreign aid, migration, and other categories.

Penn World Tables.  Database with information on relative levels of income, output, inputs and productivity (TFP) with country and period coverage. Includes several releases of the data set and documentation

PRS Country Risk Data. International political risk data, macroeconomic data, and forecasting, including measures of bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, inflation, terrorism, etc

Total Economy Database.  From the Conference Board. Annual data covering GDP, population, employment, hours, labor quality, capital services, labor productivity, and total factor productivity for over 120 countries.

UN Data. From the United Nations. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

UN ComtradeDetailed trade data from 130 countries, detailed by commodity and partner country. 

UNCTADStat. Includes data on Foreign Direct Investment, remittances, merchandise trade, the information and creative economies, and maritime transport, and trade openness indicators.

UNCTAD Bilateral Foreign Direct Investment Data. Best source for FDI by source and partner countries: e.g. investment outflows from China and/or the United States to individual developing countries. 

UNIDO Statistics Data Portal. International statistical data on industries and mining from the United Nations Industrial Development Organization. (United Nations Industrial Development Organization International Industrial and Mining Statistics)

Universal Database of Russian Statistics. Statistical publications for Russian and the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), from 2003 to the present. Site searchable in English.

World Bank Data CatalogCatalog of  international economic, financial, and socio-economic data sets from the World Bank. Among the most useful of the many datasets offered is World Development Indicators featuring time series data from 1960 for 207 countries in the areas of population, labor, education, economics, the environment and much more.

World Input-Output Database. Time series of world input-output tables and international supply and use tables; national input-output tables and national supply and use tables; socio-economic accounts; and environmental accounts for 27 EU countries and 13 other major countries.

Companies and Industries

Amadeus.  European financial database containing information on approximately 20 million companies from 43 countries, including all the EU countries and Eastern Europe.

Business Monitor International (BMI). Data and analysis for a variety of industries. Coverage includes the U.S. and 50+ foreign countries.

CEIC Global. Database covering countries in Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Data items include: National Accounts, Industrial, Sales, Construction-Property, Demographic-Labor, Domestic and Foreign Trade, Stock Markets, Banking, Inflation, Monetary, Forex, Investment, and more.

County Business Patterns. Subnational economic data by industry, useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time. Also available from the National Historical Geographic Information System.

Economic Census. Provides a detailed portrait of the United States' economy every five years about business establishment statistics: number of establishments, sales, receipts, revenue, payroll, and employees at the city, county, state and national levels. For a history of the economic census see the Princeton University Guide to the Economic Census.

EMIS Professional.  Company analysis, industry research, economic reports, forecasts, market dailies, macroeconomic statistics, deals, and financial reports for emerging market economies.

Euromonitor Passport.  Specializes on data and reports on consumer products and services, also includes data on industries and good data on economic conditions of cities.

Ibisworld. Useful database for industry-based research. Includes three sections for the United States, China, and global based industry reports.  Industry data is available in the United States by NAICS code.

NetAdvantage. Reports about companies and industries, including industry and company profiles, stock, bond, and mutual fund analysis, and economic forecasts.

OECDiLibrary. Large selection of data on many topics from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).  See especially the Industry section under OECDStat (Statistical Data).

SimplyAnalytics. Requires registration. Enables users to create professional quality maps and statistical reports using demographic, business and other data.  Establishment and firm level data from Dun and Bradstreet and allows users to locate US Company data at fine levels of geography.

UNIDO Statistics Data Portal.  International statistical data on industries and mining from the United Nations Industrial Development Organization. 

United Nations Industrial Commodity Production Statistics Dataset, 1950-2003.  CD ROM Dataset of industrial commodity production statistics from 1950-2003, measured as production sold of each commodity within each country or territory. 

Development & Inequality

AID Data.  Data on development finance from bilateral and multilateral agencies at the project level. Includes data visualization tools, articles on development aid and geo-coded data sets at the project level.  

All the GINIS. Includes combined and standardized Gini data from the Luxembourg Income Study (LIS), Socio-Economic Database for Latin America (SEDLAC), Survey of Living Conditions (SILC) by Eurostat, World Income Distribution (WYD), the World Bank, and Ginis from individual long-term inequality studies. 

Barro-Lee Educational Attainment Data Set. Educational attainment data for 146 countries in 5-year intervals from 1950 to 2010. It also provides information about the distribution of educational attainment of the adult population over age 15 and 25 by sex by levels of schooling.

Center for Global Development Dataverse.  Works to change policies & practices of rich countries and powerful institutions to reduce global poverty and inequality.

d-Portal. From the International Aid Transparency Initiative. Comprehensive open source data from hundreds of national governments, NGOs and multilateral organizations.

Devinfo. Database system endorsed by the United Nations Development Group to facilitate data sharing acrosss multiple UN agencies and countries.

FAOSTAT. Data on agriculture, food supply, food security, prices, commodities, forest products, and fisheries from the FAO.

International Debt Statistics. Statistical data for countries reporting public debt to the World Bank. 

International Food Policy Research Instute (IFPRI). Data on a variety of agricultural and resource topics, including  hunger and poverty, social capital, livestock and more.

Human Development Report Statistics. Famous data from the United Nations Development Programme - the Human Development Index, Gender Development Index and more. 

OECD iLibrary. Leading International Organization for Foreign Aid data. Includes International Development Statistics.

Replication Data Wiki. Serves as a database of empirical studies, the availability of replication material for them and of replication studies.

UNCTADStat. From the United Nations Conference on Trade & Development. 

UN Data. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis. International Investment Position. Detailed data on foreign direct investment involving the United States.

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants (Green Book). Loans and grants from the US government each fiscal year by purpose and country.

World Development Indicators. Time series data from 1960 for 207 countries in the areas of population, labour, education, economics, the environment and much more.

World Income Inequality Database. From United Nations University. Information for over 182 countries on income inequalities at both cross-country and time series levels over the period 1950-2015, with a focus on the period since 1980. 

World Wealth and Income Database.  Wealth and income share time series over the long-run for many countries worldwide.  This is the famous Paris School of Economics (Thoman Pikkety et al and Emmanuel Saez data project.  

Economic History

Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data (ALFRED).   Historical data on Money, Banking, & Finance, National Accounts, Population, Employment, & Labor Markets, Production & Business Activity, Prices, and International Data.

Cross-National Time-Series. Statistical information on a range of countries, with data entries ranging from 1815 to the present. It offers a comprehensive extent of variables and country facts.  Available on workstation 1 in the Doe Library Data Lab.

EHNet Databases. Wide range of historical data sets from the Economic History Association: global financial data, wages, bond trading, early securities prices, developing country exports, historical labor statistics, and much more.  

European State Finance Database.  International collaborative research project for the collection, archiving and dissemination of data on European fiscal history across the medieval, early modern and modern periods.

Fraser.  Scanned U.S. historical economic statistical publications and other documents. Includes historical runs of the Economic Report of the President, banking and monetary statistics, the Budget of the US GovernmentStatisics on Income, the Survey of Current Business, and more.

Global Financial Data. Long runs of historical data on U.S. stock prices and macroeconomic data for the U.S. and foreign countries. 

Global Commodity Database. Data can be viewed by geographic market, currency, and commodity, and can be queried. Data is from approximately 1260 to 1914. Most data is from Europe but selected data also from South Asia, East Asia, and the Americas.

Global Price and Income History Group. Prices, wages, income, and measures of economic well-being for countries and cities around the world before 1950.   Focuses primarily on the middle ages. 

Historical Annual Reports. Includes over 800 companies' annual reports available as searchable pdf images. Includes financial data, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, and more, from 1844 to present.

Historical Statistics of the United States.  Coverage begins with the colonial and pre-Federal period and goes up to 2000.  Excellent source of information for studying U.S. history, economics, politics, and other topics.

International Historical Statistics (E-Book Version).. Historical l data for Asia, Oceania, Africa, the Americas, and Europe, from 1750. The digital equivalent of the three famous Mitchell volumes below.

International Historical Statistics. Africa, Asia and Oceania, 1750-2005. B.R. Mitchell. Key economic and social indicators for Africa Asia and Oceania from 1750. Print volumes shelved in Government Reference, Doe Library HA4675 .M55 2007.   

International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-2000. B.R. Mitchell. Key economic and social indicators for the Americas from 1750.   

International Historical Statistics. Europe, 1750-2005. B.R. Mitchell. Key economic and social indicators for European countries from 1750.  

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS). From the Minnesota Population Center. Microdata for censuses from the United States back to 1850 as well as other nations.  See also the National Historical Geographic Information System, containing tabular U.S. census data and GIS boundary files from 1790 to 2000.

League of Nations Statistical Yearbooks. From Northwestern University. Digital League of Nations statistical yearbooks from 1926-1944.  Includes data on population, commerce, public finance, currency, production, prices and more. 

Maddison Project Database.  Project by a group of colleagues of Angus Maddison, with the aim to continue Maddison's work on measuring long-term economic performance for different regions, time periods and subtopics. 

Montevideo Oxford Latin American Economic History Database (Moxlad). Statistical series for a range of economic and social indicators covering countries in Latin America for the twentieth century and beyond. 

NBER DataEnormous collection of historical data: macroeconomics, history, international trade and finance, healthcare, finance, more.

United Nations Statistical Yearbook. International country data covering the areas of population, labor supply, agriculture, forestry, construction, consumption, transportation, education and trade from 1946. The digital version UN Data does not contain as many indicators.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States. Summary statistics of data collected by US agencies with source notes leading to more detailed data and publications. The Census Bureau has volumes from 1901. The St. Louis Federal Reserve has volumes from 1878 to 1949 via the FRASER database.

Total Economy Database.  From the Conference Board. Annual data covering GDP, population, employment, hours, labor quality, capital services, labor productivity, and total factor productivity for over 120 countries in the world.

Microdata & Gateways

Center for Microeconomic Data.From the New York Federal Reserve. Databank includes data on consumer finance, student and household debt, credit cards, housing, delinquencies, auto loans and more.  Survey data with accompanying questionnaires.

Council of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA). Umbrella organization for social science data across Europe. 

Cross National Data Center, Luxembourg.  Includes the Luxembourg Income and Wealth Studies for many countries. Used to study the effects of economic and social policies on poverty, income inequality, employment, and other socio-economic outcome.

Guide to Microdata Use.  Useful guide on sources and uses of microdata, from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Havard Dataverse Network. Housed at the Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS) at Harvard, this hosts the world's largest collection of social science data research.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Consortium of 325 institutions working together to acquire and preserve social science data. Maintained at University of Michigan, ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in 130 countries.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS). From the Minnesota Population Center. Micro-data for censuses from the United States back to 1850 as well as other nations.  

Living Standards Measurement Surveys. From the World Bank.  Data on multiple indicators of household well-being, useful for assessing household behavior and evaluating the effect of government policies on living conditions.

Measure DHS.  From USAID. International microdata on fertility, family planning, maternal and child health, gender, HIV/AIDS, malaria, and nutrition. Some data is also available on IPUMs.

National Longitudinal Study of Youth.  Nationally representative surveys that follow individuals from birth cohorts over time. Data on labor markets, schooling, fertility, program participation, health, and more.  

Odum Archive Dataverse. Repository for Louis Harris public opinion data and Roper Center nonproprietary poll data.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. Contains domestic and international survey data. The Center's Public Opinion Location Library (iPOLL) gives online access to a database including poll questions asked in US from 1936 to present.

Panel Study of Income Dynamics. Longitudinal survey of U.S. men, women, and children and the families. Panel data on employment, income, wealth, health, housing, food expenditures, transfer income, and marital and fertility behavior since 1968. 

Princeton University Data & Statistical Services Gateway. Guide to microdata by subject and by country.  Some of the sources listed are restricted to Princeton University but many are also freely available or also licensed by UC Berkeley.  

World Bank Central Microdata Catalog. Includes World Bank impact evaluation surveys, living standards measurment surveys, development research micro-data, and more. The World Bank also provides guides on types of microdata useful for policy analysis and interventions.

Data Visualization Sources

Comtrade Data Visualizations. Data visualizations from a variety of sources using UN Comtrade international trade data,

Curated List of Data Visualization Tools.  A variety of sources, some free some priced.

Data USA.  Ready to use data visualizations created from US Government Sources, in particular the American Community Survey.

Gapminder. Non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. Access and cross-tabulate 200 statistical time series. 

Google Public Data Explorer.  Makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. Includes visualizations for data from the World Bank, OECD, Eurostat, the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and more.

International Trade and Market Access Data Interactive Tool.  Merchandise and trade in services interactive mapping tool from the WTO.

National Historical Geographic Information System, Contains aggregare U.S. census data and GIS boundary files for each census from 1790 to 2000.

PolicyMap. US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels: data on demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate, income, jobs, education, crime, and health.

SimplyAnalytics. Requires user registration. Enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and other data.

Social Explorer. Current and historical census data and other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and  demographic and social change.

United States/Regional

Business Dynamics Statistics. Created from the Longitudinal Business Database (LBD), the BDS was developed by the U.S. Census Bureau, and partially funded by the Kauffman Foundation. Its sourcs are longitudinal and permit tracking establishments and firms over time. 

Center for Microeconomic Data.From the New York Federal Reserve. Databank includes data on consumer finance, student and household debt, credit cards, housing, delinquencies, auto loans and more.  Survey data with accompanying questionnaires.

Council for Community and Economic Research, the Regional Economic Data ToolkitDetailed consumer price data at fine levels of geographic detail (city and county levels) as well as state expenditures by economic development functions (e.g. international trade and investment) and county indexes of economic diversity.

County Business Patterns.  Subnational economic data by industry, useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time.  Also available from the National Historical Geographic Information System.

Data Planet. Provides access to data points from licensed and public domain datasets from local, state and international governments and organizations.

Economic Census.  Detailed portrait of the United States' economy every five years about business establishment statistics: number of establishments, sales, receipts, revenue, payroll, and employees at the city, county, state and national levels. See the Princeton University Guide to the Economic Census.

Economic Indicators. Monthly compilation prepared by the Council of Economic Advisors providing economic data on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance.

Economic Report of the President. Annual report overviewing the United State's economic progress. Extremely useful historic tables on the major indicators of the US Economy.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED). Portal for U.S. economic time series data from the St. Louis Federal Reserve. See also Fraser,  scanned images of U.S. historical economic statistical publications and other documents.

Historical Statistics of the United States.  Coverage begins with the colonial and pre-Federal period and goes up to 2000.  Excellent source of information for studying U.S. history, economics, politics, and other topics.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Data. The NBER links and/or hosts several datasets of interest, including the NBER Macrohistory Database and many more.  Also serves as a gateway to frequently used datasets by academics and governments.

Survey of Current Business. From the Bureau of Economic Anaysis. Covers general business indicators, prices, domestic and foreign trade, labor force, employment and earnings, finance and major industries. Special reports appear at intervals.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Useful both as a volume for statistical reference and as a guide to sources of more information. 

International Trade

Agricultural Market Access Database (AMAD). Cooperative effort from the FAO, World Bank, EU, OECD and other international organizations. Registration required.

CEPII.  Collection of world trade database with accompanying trade models built by CEPII, a French international trade research center.  Data are provided by UN COMTRADE, ILO and others. Users have to demonstrate their organization has a UN Comtrade subscription (UC Berkeley subscribes).

Center for International Data (UC Davis). Includes U.S. Import and export data from 1974 to 2001, US Tarriff datam NBER-United Nations Trade Data, 1962-2000 and other variables. Files are in zip format and require data documentation.

UN COMTRADE.  Detailed commodity trade data between countries from 1962. This is the world's largest depository of international trade data.

Direction of Trade Statistics. From the IMF. Annual, quarterly, and monthly data on the value of exports and imports by trade partners for 250 countries, as well as area and world aggregates, from 1980 to present. NOTE: for data from 1948 to 1980 please consult the Direction of Trade Statistics Historical CD ROM.

EU External Trade in Good and ServicesCommodity trade data from the European Union. Tracks the value and quantity of goods traded between EU Member States (intra-EU trade) and between Member States and non-EU countries (extra-EU trade).

Foreign Trade Statistics. Monthly statistical reports, imports and exports by country, trade balances, commodity trade.  Also contains historical data back to 1991, from the U.S. Census Bureau.

GTAP Databases. Global data base which contains complete bilateral trade information, transport and protection linkages among regions for GTAP commodities. Has a 2004 reference year and includes 57 sectors and 113 regions.  Available in the Doe library data lab.  See the Purdue University documentation for more information.

International Trade and Market Access Data.  Detailed international merchandise trade data (automobiles, chemicals, machinery) by country of manufacture and destination.  Also has tariff information.  

ITIP Services.  Linked databases that provide information on member  commitments under the WTO's General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS), services commitments in regional trade agreements (RTA).  See the statistics section for Trade in Services.

OECD iLibrary. Statistics section includes access to monthly statistics of international trade aggregates and detailed international trade statistics by commodity.

Services Trade Restrictions Database.   World Bank database that provides comparable information on services trade policy measures for 103 countries, 18 service sectors (covering telecommunications, finance, transportation, retail and professional services) and key modes of service supply.

UNCTADStat. From the United Nations Conference on Trade & Development. See also the World Investment Directory, which offers FDI data by country. Includes international commodity price data.

United Nations Service Trade.  Resident to non-resident trade in services broken down by EBOPS category and partner country annually.  Free registration is required.

USA Trade Online. Specific U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities worldwide at the U.S. state and port level.

WTO Tariff Data. Offers two databases: one for tariff rates at the highest level of detail, import statistics and the ability to analyze interactively.  Another provides standard statistics,in less detail but with the ability to compare between countries.

WTO Trade Statistics. Interactive database with data on the following:

World Integrated Trade Solutions (WITS). Statistics on trade in merchandise and commercial services at the world and regional level. Register for use with your Berkeley email address. 

Demography & Labor

Census Neighborhood Change Database (CD in library data lab).Nation-wide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years.

Demographic Yearbook System. United Nations statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce and more.

Foreign Labor Statistics.  From the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Labor statistics derived from the foreign countries, the International Labour Office (ILO), Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), and the EU.

Health Nutrition & Population Statistics. Health, nutrition and population data from international sources. Themes include population dynamics, nutrition, reproductive health, health financing, medical resources, immunization,infectious diseases, HIV/AIDS, population projections and lending.

Human Mortality Database. Contains detailed population and mortality data for 38 countries or areas. Registration required.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS). From the Minnesota Population Center. Micro-data for censuses from the United States back to 1850 as well as other nations. 

ILOSTAT. International labor statistics from 1979 to the present on employment, earnings, wages, migration, strikes and more, from the International Labour Organization.

National Historical Geographic Information System, Contains aggregate U.S. census data and GIS boundary files for each census from 1790 to 2000.

International Data Base. From the U.S. Census Bureau. Statistics for demographic, and socioeconomic data for countries and areas of the world. Information dates back from 1950 and as far ahead as 2050.

Occupational Wages Around the World (OWW). Wages data derived by the NBER from the ILO. Data requires advanced statistical application software.

United States Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). Data on inflation and prices, unemployment, productivity, wages, and much more. The BLS manages the Current Population Survey (see also IPUMS version) and the National Longitudinal Surveys

United States Census Bureau.  The principal source of periodic U.S demographic data. Major programs include the Census of Population and Housing available via IPUMS.

UN Data. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators for most countries and territories of the world.

World Development Indicators. Primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. Presents current and accurate global development data, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

World Population Prospects. Detailed population data from the United Nations Population Division, for countries worldwide, from 1950 with distant projections.   

Environmental Economics

Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN). Provides data and other information on the changing relationship between human beings and the environment. See especially the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center

Centre for PRTR Data.  Includes PRTR (Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers; USA version is the Toxic Release Inventory - TRI) data from selected OECD countries.

Environmental Data Explorer (United Nations Environment Programme Data portal). Portal to a wealth of international and regional data on many aspects of the environment including agriculture, air quality, biodiversity, coral reefs, ecosystems, endangered and threatened species, emissions, erosion, forests, human settlements, land use, ozone, pesticides, and weather.

Gemstar Global Water Database. Surface and ground water quality data sets collected from the GEMS/Water Global Network, including more than 3,000 stations, close to four million records, and over 100 parameters.

FluxNet.  Long term measurements of energy, water vapor, carbon dioxide, and energy from a variety of global ecosystms. 

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Socio-economic Centre. Data related to population, economic development, technology and natural resources for use in climate impact assessments.

International Energy Agency. Detailed international data on coal, electricity, natural gas,oil, renewables, carbon dioxide emissions from fuel combustion, energy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development,world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies.

RICE model. Examines alternative outcomes for emissions, climate change, and damages under different policy scenarios. It uses an updated version of the RICE model (Regional Integrated model of Climate and the Economy.

World Bank Climate Change Data. Large collection of climate change data from the world bank, from forest areas to CO2 emissions to urban populations.

World Bank. Data and Statistics. Environment. Various international, regional, and country data on various aspects of the environment.

World Input-Output Database (WIOD). Time series of world input-output tables and international supply and use tables; national input-output tables and national supply and use tables; socio-economic accounts; and environmental accounts for 27 EU countries and 13 other major countries in the world for 1995 to 2009.

World Resources Institute. Flagship publication is World Resources Report which provides an overview of environmental trends. Includes many data tables and datasets.

Financial Data & Fundamentals

Amadeus.  Pan-European financial database containing information on approximately 20 million companies from 43 countries, including all the EU countries and Eastern Europe. Up to 10 years of detailed information and consolidated statements are also provided when available. From Bureau Van Dyck

CEIC Global. Database of over 400,000 time series covering a growing list of countries in Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Data items include: National Accounts, Industrial, Sales, Construction-Property, Demographic-Labor, Domestic and Foreign Trade, Stock Markets, Banking, Inflation, Monetary, Forex, Investment, and more.

Global Financial Data. Contains extremely long runs of historical data on U.S. stock prices and macroeconomic data for the U.S. and foreign countries. Subscription includes the full service and these sub-sets: Long-term Financial, Interest Rate, United States Daily Stock Market, Global Stock Market, Total Return, Annual Data, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday.

IMF Annual Report on Exchange Agreements and Exchange Restrictions (AREAR) Database.  Tracks exchange and trade arrangements for all 186 IMF member countries, along with territories of member countries, offering a comprehensive description of exchange and trade systems beyond exchange restrictions or exchange controls.

International Financial Statistics. Financial, trade, and national accounts statistics by country. Historical data is available back to 1948 and is reported in various time frequencies, including monthly and annual statistics.

Mergent Online. Source fot public company financials and SEC documents. Income statements, balance sheets, and cash flow statements. Includes historic Moody's Manuals which include corporate histories, financial statements, subsidiaries, long-term debt, etc.

Net Advantage. Reports about companies and industries, including industry and company profiles, stock, bond, and mutual fund analysis, and economic forecasts.

Orbis.  Contains information on over 200 million companies worldwide, both private and public. Data is standardized for easy cross-border comparisons. Includes companies' financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, and details of mergers and acquisitions activity.

Thomson One. Public company information, including fundamentals, consensus estimates, in depth broker research, recent deals, and share ownership.  Also includes venture capital and private equity data.

Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS). Web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania, providing access to financial, economic, and company data though a uniform interface.  UC Berkeley subscriptions provide access to: COMPUSTAT, CRSP, IBES, NYSE-TAQ, Bureau van Dijk (Amadeus and Orbis) and others. WRDS is generally restricted to faculty and graduate students in Berkeley's Business and Economics departments. Exceptions will be made for those with academic need outside those departments. Click on the link, choose "Register" and if you qualify a password will be sent by email.  Workstations at the Business Library also provide single day use.

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.