Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open. Here’s what you need to know.

Economics: Political Economy

Databases and Search Engines

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online). Journals, books, policy briefs, working papers, and conference proceedings from research institutes worldwide related to international affairs analysis and advocacy materials. 

EconLit. Comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). Most citations include a searchable abstract.

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research. A free database on economics with citations and some text for thousands of working papers, books and book chapters, and articles from peer-reviewed journals.

JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

PolicyFile. Access to information in economics, politics, the environment, and social issues, taken from reports from thinks tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.  Access to books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy. 

Money and Finance Data

Cross National Time Series. Longitudinal nation-level data series spanning 200 years for over 200 countries covering demographic, social, political, and economic topics. This is a licensed resource that may only be used at UC Berkeley.

Data Planet. Access to data from local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, variable of interest, charts and maps.

Followthemoney.org. Provides free access to federal and state level campaign contributions. Data can also be accessed through an API.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Consortium of institutions working to acquire and preserve social science data. Maintained at University of Michigan.

LobbyView. Via MIT, allows tracking of lobby funds going back to the late 1990's for organizations, companies, cities, etc. Track by organization or bill number. Also provides access to lobbying disclosure forms.

OECD iLibrary. Publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, reports, and datasets.

Political Moneyline. Tracking of the flow of money in politics at the federal level with some state information. Enables tracking of contributions from Political Action Committees (PACs), individual donors, elected officials, and party committees.

PRS Group Country Data. Political risk data for countries from 1980 with data on bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, etc.

Sunlight Foundation. Advocates for open government.  Provides many tools and an API for tracking money influencing Congress.

World Economics and Politics Dataverse. Merges together 80+ of the most commonly used datasets in comparative and international political economy (including several listed on this page) into a uniform country-year format with consistent country codes. 

Conflict Data

Armed Conflict Location and Event Data Project.  Dates, actors, locations, and fatalities of reported political violence and protest events across regions of the world.

Center for Systemic Peace (Polity IV). Data on armed conflict and interventions, political regime characteristics, armed conflict, state fragility, etc. 

Correlates of War. Data on wars, non-state wars, and interstate disputes dating back to the 19th century. Associated measures include membership in international organizations, religion, alliances, colonial dependencies, diplomatic exchanges, and more

Cross National Time Series. Longitudinal nation-level data series spanning 200 years for over 200 countries covering demographic, social, political, and economic topics. This is a licensed resource that may only be used at UC Berkeley.

Global Terrorism Databases.  Information on terrorist events around the world from 1970. Includes data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents.

International Military Intervention. Record of events involving “the movement of regular troops or forces (airborne, seaborne, shelling, etc) of one country inside another, in the context of some political issue or dispute.”

International Studies Compendium Project. Selection of data set on interstate and intrastate conflict data, peace-building, civil war, political repression and more.

Political Terror Scale. Codes countries on human-rights and the rule of law, based on reports from Amnesty International and the U.S. State Department.

PRS Group Country Data. Political risk data for countries from 1980 with data on bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, etc.

RAND Database of Worldwide Terrorism Incidents. Records terrorist incidents that occurred from 1968-2009.

SIPRI's (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute). Data on security, peace operations, military expenditures, arms transfers, arms embargoes, and arms exports.

State Fragility Index and Matrix. Annual state fragility, effectiveness, and legitimacy indices and component indicators for countries with populations greater than 500,000.

World Economics and Politics Dataverse. Merges 80+ commonly used datasets in comparative and international political economy into a uniform country-year format with consistent country codes.

United Nations Peacekeeping Statistics. Troop and Police contributors by country, gender breakdowns, and fact sheets.

General Data Sources

Center for Systemic Peace (Polity IV). Sponsor of the Integrated Network for Societal Conflict Research (INSCR) which has data on armed conflict and interventions, political regime characteristics, armed conflict, state fragility,  and more. 

Cross National Time Series. Longitudinal nation-level data series spanning 200 years for over 200 countries covering demographic, social, political, and economic topics. This is a licensed resource that may only be used at UC Berkeley.

Data Planet. Access to data from local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, variable of interest, charts and maps.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Consortium of institutions working to acquire and preserve social science data. Maintained at University of Michigan.

PRS Group Country Data. Political risk data for countries from 1980 with data on bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, etc.

World Economics and Politics Dataverse. Merges together 80+ of the most commonly used datasets in international political economy into a uniform format with consistent country codes. 

Public Opinion Data

Field Poll.  An independent, non-partisan, media-sponsored public opinion news service. Each year the poll covers a wide range of political and social topics examining California public opinion.

Gallup Analytics.  Polling topics include the government, education, well-being, economics, politics. For the United States, it includes current and historical data at the country or state level. Users can track polling data for countries around the globe from 2005-present.  Also includes access to Gallup Brain, with polling data going back to the 1930's for the U.S (access limited to one user at a time).

Global Barometers

International Social Surveys

Odum Archive Dataverse. A repository for all Louis Harris public opinion data and Roper Center nonproprietary poll data. A catalog of more than 2800 studies and series in its data holdings arranged by title, principal investigator, and subject.

Polling the Nations.  A compilation of public opinion polls and surveys from more than 6,500 national, state, local and special surveys in the U.S. and over 60 other countries. The surveys date from 1986 and contain information on over 3,000 social, political and economic issues

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.  Domestic and international survey data. The Center's Public Opinion Location Library (iPOLL) gives online access to a database including poll questions asked in US from 1936 to present.

World Database of Happiness.  Research findings on subjective enjoyment of life that brings together findings scattered throughout many studies.

World Values Survey. National surveys conducted in almost 100 countries. Largest non-commercial, cross-national, time series investigation of human beliefs and values.

Democracy & Governance Data

Autocratic Regime Data. Provides a typology of autocratic regimes, their duration, and failure from 1946-2010. Also includes data coding democracies and non-autocracies. 

Bertelsmann Stiftung’s Transformation Index (BTI) "Measures successes and setbacks on the path toward a democracy based on the rule of law and a socially responsible market economy."

Center for Systemic Peace (Polity IV). Data on armed conflict and interventions, political regime characteristics, armed conflict, state fragility,  and more. 

Comparative Constitutions Data.Investigates the sources and consequences of constitutional choices by collecting and analyzing data on the characteristics of constitutions for independent states since 1789.

Database of Political Institutions (DPI). Data on the political institutions and regime characteristics of countries from 1975.

Democratic Erosion Event Dataset (DEED). Identifies cases of potential democratic erosion and classifies events of democratic erosion and resistance to erosion.

Democracy Times Series Data.Contains data on the social, economic and political characteristics of 191 nations from 1971.

Freedom in the World. Ranks each country in the world annually on how free it is in terms of political rights and civil liberties.

Nations, Development, and Democracy, 1800-2005. "This data collection consists of a compiled database that assesses 187 (20 historical and 167 contemporary) sovereign countries from 1800-2005." 

PRS Group Country Data. Political risk data for countries from 1980 with data on bureaucracy, corruption, civil disorders, ethnic tensions, poverty, inflation, terrorism, etc.

State Fragility Index and Matrix. Annual state fragility, effectiveness, and legitimacy indices and component indicators for countries with populations greater than 500,000.

Varieties of Democracy (V-Dem). A collaboration among scholars worldwide drawing on 3000 Country Experts, V-Dem provides multiple indices of democracy grouped according to 7 high-level principles.

Worldwide Governance Indicators. Provides data on: Voice and Accountability; Political Stability and Absence of Violence/Terrorism; Government Effectiveness; Regulatory Quality, etc.