Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Moffitt Library is opening Aug. 22. Other libraries will have updated services and hours. Learn more.

Engineering & Physical Sciences Libraries Newsletters: Current Newsletter

Fall 2021 Newsletter

Workshops

Never miss a library workshop or event by signing up for our mailing list.

Contact Us!

Brian Quigley

Head, EPS Division;

Mathematics, Statistics, Computer Science

bquigley@berkeley.edu

 

Kristen Greenland

Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, Physics, and Astronomy

kgreenland@berkeley.edu

 

Lisa Ngo

Engineering

lngo@berkeley.edu

 

Susan Powell

Maps, GIS, and Geography

smpowell@berkeley.edu

 

Samantha Teplitzky

Earth Science and Open Science

steplitz@berkeley.edu

Contact Us Bitmoji Staff

Library Services and Resources During COVID-19

Please see the COVID-19 and the Library: What you need to know page for the latest information on services during the pandemic.

Important Highlights:

  • Nearly all of UC Berkeley’s libraries are open. Library hours are subject to change based on staffing availability. 
  • Patrons can visit our libraries for access to collections and study spaces. Face coverings are required.
  • Borrowing and lending operations continue as normal, and materials can be requested through UC Library Search.
  • Berkeley researchers can meet virtually with librarians or schedule in-person consultations.

Moffitt Library will be closed for seismic upgrades from January through August 2022. To provide late night study space, other libraries will have longer hours this Spring including the Engineering Library. While we will start with the same hours as we had in the Fall semester, our hours will expand after additional employees are hired to cover the required shifts -- at that point, the Engineering Library will be open until midnight Sunday-Thursday.

Staffing News

The Earth Science & Map Library's Circulation Supervisor Bonita Dyess began her graduate work in library & information science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign's School of Information Sciences last year. She was awarded an ALA Spectrum Scholarship to support her studies -- this highly competitive scholarship program selected this year's scholars "based on their commitment to community building, leadership potential and planned contributions to making social justice part of everybody's everyday work in LIS."

Effective January 5, in addition to his usual role, Division Head Brian Quigley is also serving as the Interim Head of the Life & Health Sciences Division, which includes the Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library and the Optometry & Health Sciences Library.

virtual Online Library Tutorials (vOLT)

Virtual Online Library Tutorials LogoTo help meet the needs of researchers and students in a primarily remote environment, we built a Jupyter book that includes virtual tutorials on our most requested course materials. Check out the virtual Online Library Tutorials (vOLT) Jupyter book to learn more about searching, organizing, and writing tools.

Find the materials from our Fall LaTeX workshops here:

https://eps-libraries-berkeley.github.io/volt/LaTeX/latex_workshop.html

Events & Exhibits

 

Date Time Event Location
January 25 2 - 3 PM Bay Area Open Science Group Zoom; Register
February 3 10 AM, 12 PM, 4 PM Introduction to Zotero Zoom; Register
February 10 4 - 5:15 PM Introduction to LaTeX with Overleaf Zoom; Register
February 22 2 - 3 PM Bay Area Open Science Group Zoom; Register
March 22 2 - 3 PM Bay Area Open Science Group Zoom; Register

Please visit the Library Workshops Calendar to register and view additional workshops. 

Recommend this upcoming workshop series to interested undergraduates!
Introduction to Data Analysis and Visualization
This series of workshops is designed to help undergraduates learn python basics for data analysis and visualization. Developed from the Software Carpentry Curriculum, undergraduate Data Peers will lead workshops to introduce basic data manipulation and visualization with Python. Each workshop is designed to act as a starting point for learning concepts and will familiarize attendees with additional resources for getting help.

Love Data Week
Once again, UC Libraries are collaborating on a UC-wide “Love Data Week” series of talks, presentations, and workshops during February 14-18, 2022. All events are free to attend and open to any member of the UC community.  With over 30 presentations and workshops, there’s plenty to choose from. Topics include: how to write effective data management plans, text analysis with Python, how and where to share your research data, geospatial analysis with R and with Jupyter Notebooks, software management for researchers, 3D data, visualization, and mapping, and much more!
For more information and to register for a specific workshop, please visit our website: https://uc-love-data-week.github.io/  Please make sure to register with your UC campus email.

Mapmaking Contest

Our third annual Student Mapmaking Contest will take place this Spring. Submissions open on March 1, 2022! Check out last year's winners, which include UC Berkeley's Kenji A. at https://exhibits.lib.berkeley.edu/spotlight/mapthebay/feature/map-contest-2021

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

The Inclusive Excellence Collection at the Engineering Library is a collaboration between the College of Engineering and the Kresge Engineering Library. The collection consists of physical books as well as electronic books and other electronic resources. Although some books are housed in the Engineering Library, this resource is for the entire campus. The collection is meant to be dynamic and will grow over time.

This collection was created by the College of Engineering's Director of Community Engagement & Inclusive Practices Fatima Alleyne, Head of Engineering & Physical Sciences Libraries Brian Quigley and Engineering Librarian Lisa Ngo.

Access the collection here: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/EngineeringLibraryDEI

-------

Following the Engineering Library's lead, a similar effort was created in partnership with the Earth & Planetary Science Department and the Earth Sciences and Map Library. This guide stems from a Call to Action by Earth & Planetary Science graduate students and was co-created by Bonita Dyess and Sam Teplitzky from the library, and Tyler Cadena and Michelle Devoe from the EPS department.

The guide can be found here: https://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/geo_dei

Ithaka S+R Big Data Study

Over the past two years, in partnership with Ithaka S+R, librarians at more than 20 U.S. colleges and universities conducted parallel qualitative studies aimed at understanding researcher practices and needs related to data science methodologies and big data research. EPS Division Head Brian Quigley joined with Research Data Management Program Service Lead Erin Foster and Sociology, Demography, Public Policy & Quantitative Research Librarian Ann Glusker to form the local UC Berkeley team, ultimately conducting interviews with 16 Berkeley researchers who work with big data in different disciplinary contexts. Our local report was published in October, followed in December by Ithaka S+R's Big Data Infrastructure at the Crossroads: Support Needs and Challenges for Universities report, in which they analyzed and synthesized the findings from all the local studies. Check out these blog post summaries, which also link to the full reports if you are interested:

Open Science Community Events

Bay Area Open Science Group

Are you interested in making your research more openly available? Want to learn about open science tools and platforms that can make your research more effective and reproducible? The Bay Area Open Science Group is intended to bring together students, faculty, and staff from the Stanford, Berkeley, and UCSF communities to learn about open science, discuss the application of open science practices in a research context, and meet other members of the community who are interested in (or already are) incorporating open science practices into their work.

Meetings:

We meet on the 4th Tuesday of the month from 2-3pm via Zoom. All are welcome to attend and join the conversation!

Dates for 2021-2022:

  • September 28: 
    • Introductions and Open Science Group Discussion
  • October 26: 
    • Join us in October to learn about Curating a COVID-19 Data Repository, a public data repository built by the Yu Group at UC Berkeley to aid community-wide data science efforts in the fight against COVID-19.
      Tiffany Tang, a statistics PhD student in the Yu Group, will be discussing how the project came about, what it was like working in the time pressure situation, and some lessons learned in the process of creating an open-source data repository. We will also have plenty of time for questions and a more general discussion on creating an open-source data repository.
  • November 30: (note, 5th Tuesday instead)

Open peer review is the least practiced aspect of open science. Yet it may teach us a lot about how manuscripts can change from their submitted version to their (peer-revied) published version of record. Mario Malicki will give an overview of 21 studies that analysed manuscript changes and his own study in which I analysed changes between 121 epidemiology preprints and 
their subsequent published versions. Finally, he will present a call for declaring changes to manuscripts with each published paper.

  • December (no meeting)
  • January 25, 2022
  • February 22, 2022
  • March 22, 2022
    • Milo Johnson (https://miloswebsite.com/, starting a post-doc in the Koskella Lab at UC Berkeley this June)

      The linear format of scientific papers is an entrenched, constrained result of history that holds back efficient and effective transmission of information between scientists. Science requires depth, but the reality is that the majority of readers don’t care about the majority of things in a paper. And we know it! At conferences, scientists give 5-minute talks at poster sessions that effectively communicate their work to 95% of their audience, and the other 5% can ask follow-up questions about the details. Can we design a way to write scientific content in a similar way, such that the details are accessible behind a concise narrative? I'll present this idea along with some preliminary technical explorations, and I'll invite y'all to brainstorm with me about how we can make tools to improve communication between scientists!

  • April 26, 2022

    • Gather around virtually with colleagues at Stanford and Berkeley for a presentation on The COVID Tracking Project by Kevin Miller, a former team lead with the project who is archiving the project's data and collections for the UCSF Archives & Special Collections. The project was a volunteer-run, community-science program that became a critical source of national pandemic data accidentally and overnight. He will discuss how it was built, and the challenges of archiving such a massive, born-digital collection.

  • May 24, 2022

    • Join us in May as we get together virtually with colleagues at UCSF and Stanford to hear from the fledgling Open Source Science at Berkeley student organization. They will be introducing their group and seeking feedback for a planned 1-unit course on developing open-source scientific software. Rachel Clune, Orion Cohen, Tarini Hardikar, and Connie Robinson are chemistry graduate students at UC Berkeley. They share an interest in improving the scientific software ecosystem and teaching computational skills to the Berkeley community

Check out our website (https://bayareaopensciencegroup.github.io/) to get on our mailing list, or let us know if you want to present!

 

Librarian News

Sam collaborated with librarians from the GeoScience Information Society to create guidelines and criteria for the adoption of OER in the Geosciences. Project links follow:

Susan gave a presentation with UC Berkeley Map Metadata & Curatorial Specialist Heiko Mühr on Capturing the Complex Histories of German World War II Captured Maps at the Western Association of Map Libraries' 2021 Conference in October. These maps "reflect the fragmentary nature of German cartographic history, with varying contributing corporate bodies, diverse source material, and a range of sophistication and technique." 

Kristen is a member of the Physics Staff for Action on Racial Justice (P-SARJ) committee and helped with the launch of the Physics Department's new Community Principles and accompanying Handbook.