Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Economics: Intro

The Library and COVID-19

Welcome to the UC Berkeley Library Economics Research Guide. We are here to provide services you can access remotely.  Please see the University Library COVID-19 Portal for UC Berkeley Library Users. The Library is maintaining a list of COVID-19 e-Resources available to the UCB community, including the ​HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS).

Please feel free to contact me or another subject librarian for a virtual consultation. If you need a book but can't find an electronic version feel free to request eBook purchases. You can also order digital articles through interlibrary loan.

Purchase Recommendation

Suggest a purchase

Online Tutorial

Campus Library Map

Select the image below to see the full campus library map.

See also:

Library News (All)

The latest news from the UC Berkeley Libraries.

Loading ...

Catalogs and Search Engines

Start Your Search. Books, e-books, journal articles and other content in one integrated library platform. Does not include content from many databases, numeric data, and content from Proquest.

Google Scholar. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. On campus it automatically connects to licensed content held by the UC libraries.

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, journal titles, film & video, maps, archival materials and more.

Google Books. Search the text of the books, view previews from books still in copyright, and read the full text of out-of-copyright books. 

Melvyl. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Law Library.

Background Sources

Annual Review of Economics. Reviews of the literature in economics for the year. See also the Annual Review of Financial Economics for reviews of the literature in finance.

Handbooks in Economics. (Elsevier). Cover development economics, econometrics, finance, game theory, industrial organization, labor, etc.

Journal of Economic Literature. From the American Economic Association, designed to help researchers keep track of the flow of economic literature. Contains many review articles.

Oxford Handbooks in Economics and Finance. In-depth articles on both contemporary and classical topics.

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics. Encyclopedia of economics providing a current overview of economics as well as classic essays.

Key Economic Data Portals

Other Guides

Resources for Economists on the Internet. Multiple categories of information of interest to economists and those interested in economics.

MIT Libraries Financials. Well organized and useful guide to financial data. See also their Business Guides.

Pliny Fisk Library of Economics and Finance. Extremely useful guide from Princeton University in Economics and Finance.