Skip to main content

Anthropology Research Guide: Get Articles

Where to Search for Articles in Anthropology

Anthropology Plus UCB access only indexes articles from all four fields of anthropology. Use together with Academic Search Complete UCB access only to get a broader view on your topic.

AnthroSource UCB access only has full-text from 32 journals published by the American Anthropological Association.

PubMed UCB access only is a good place to start for biological / medical anthropology.

GeoBASE UCB access only will give you articles with a geographic focus. 

FRANCIS UCB access only has European articles in the social sciences.

Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective (1907-1984) UCB access only indexes older articles in the social sciences.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences UCB access only has good coverage of articles in other languages.

JSTOR UCB access only has useful articles, but there's a 3-5 year delay for most journals. You may find newer articles in other databases.

Social Sciences Citation Index UCB access only shows who has cited who in the social sciences. Deselect other indexes in 'limits.'

Project MUSE UCB access only Culture and gender studies, includes PDF book downloads.

...if these aren't enough, see more databases in anthropology and archaeology.


When you find a good article, click UC e-links to get the online PDF or find our printed copy. If Berkeley doesn't have that journal, you can always request it from another library.

Another strategy: if you find a great article, look up its references in our Citation Linker to get those, too... or search Google Scholar Free or open access ("cited by") to see what newer articles have mentioned the one you found.

Google Scholar and UC e-links

  1. Set up your proxy server access by following the directions at http://proxy.lib.berkeley.edu/. When you get to a point where you are accessing resources that the Library pays for, you will be prompted for your CalNet ID and password.
  2. Change your “Scholar Preferences.” Access these by clicking on the link next to the search box. 
  3. In search box next to "Library Links," type in University of California Berkeley and click on “Find Library”
  4. Check box next to "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks
  5. Click on "Save Preferences" at bottom of page

Particularly useful journals

Abstracts in Anthropology UCB access only keeps you up to date on recent articles with a citation and short sentence from the paper (e.g. Migrants have been attracted by new investment opportunities and bring capital and knowledge from previous experiences.)

Annual Review of Anthropology UCB access only are articles reviewing the literature on a topic like cognitive anthropology, the anthropology of money, or social networks. A great way to learn about the history and context of research in a current area.

Reviews in Anthropology UCB access only discuss a particular theme ("human-dog relationships") by comparing the insights from several recently published books at once.

 

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.