It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sometimes, before you want an article or book, you just want to understand a topic. Use these encyclopedia articles to learn more about topics in linguistics, and then use the databases of languages to find out more about specific languages.
Free online catalog and description of 6,700 languages, organized by language family.
The Ethnologue is a catalogue of more than 6,700 languages spoken in 228 countries. The Ethnologue Name Index lists over 39,000 language names, dialect names, and alternate names. The Ethnologue Language Family Index organizes languages according to language families.
Lists of endangered languages, with links to oral literature, including folktales, ritual texts, myths, and legends.
A free online portal from the World Oral Literature Project at the University of Cambridge. Using data on language endangerment drawn from three authoritative sources (Ethnologue, the UNESCO Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger, and the work of conservation biologist William Sutherland ), the database provides access to collections and recordings of oral literature that exist in archives around the world. (Oral literature "may include ritual texts, curative chants, epic poems, musical genres, folk tales, creation tales, songs, myths, spells, legends, proverbs, riddles, tongue-twisters, word games, recitations, life histories or historical narratives").
Audio clips and textual notes in 90 indigenous California and north American languages.
The archive includes thousands of audio clips in 90 languages collected in field recordings dating back to 1949. In addition to digital audio files, the archive contains scanned manuscript pages from the Department of Linguistics' Survey of California and Other Indian Languages research center. With a special focus on California, the archive also includes native languages from Alaska to South America and from the Pacific Ocean to the Atlantic. CLA is a collaboration between the Survey of California and Other Indian Languages and the Berkeley Language Center (BLC), both archives at UC Berkeley.
Coverage of topics in language, including a special section on linguistic anthropology.
Covers the topics in contemporary linguistics from fundamental linguistic disciplines such as phonetics, syntax, and morphology to applications in other disciplines such as anthropology, education, psychology, language acquisition, cognitive science, media, computer science, sociology, medicine, and the law. Includes video, audio, and image files.
Books in Linguistic Anthropology
To find books in linguistic anthropology, search the library catalog for:
Subject: Anthropological Linguistics
Keyword: "linguistic anthropology"
or mixed topics like: linguistics AND ethnog*
Databases for Linguistic Anthropology
Use these to find academic articles in linguistic anthropology:
Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture. This database combines the resources of Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
Search 32 anthropology journals for articles on linguistics, including the Journal of Linguistic Anthropology.
An electronic portal to the 32 journals of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Archeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, PoLAR: Political and Legal Anthropology Review, and more. Users' access to this resource will be blocked after extended login periods. To avoid blocked access, logout periodically and then log back in.