Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open. Here’s what you need to know.

Anthropology Research Guide: Archaeology

Reference Books in Archaeology

One good place to start for research in archaeology is with encyclopedias and handbooks, which will give you an overview of your topic. Try a general search in our catalog for these ebooks:

  • Encyclopedia of Archaeology
  • Global archaeology
  • The Oxford companion to archaeology

Or browse our catalog to look for handbooks by region: Archaeology in America, Mesoamerican cultures, Religion in the ancient world, Ancient near east, Roman republic, Chinese archaeology, and South American archaeology.

Or search our catalog for handbooks by topics: Cultural resource management (CRM), Dental archaeology, Food in the ancient world, Forensic archaeology, Gender prehistory, Heritage studies, Historical archaeology, Maritime archaeology, Paleodemography, Paleoanthropology, Paleopathology, Paleontology for beginners, Postcolonial archaeology, and Quantitative analysis in archaeology.

Tips for Finding Archaeology Books

Search our book catalog for site reports and books.

  • For site reports, try excavations archaeology northern california
  • For ancient artifacts, try Easter Island and antiquities.
  • For ancient civilizations, try prehistoric peoples and Inca.
  • For specific sites, use the site name (Lascaux; Qustul; Tikal; Çatalhöyük)
  • For broad topics, try ancient and weapons, or prehistoric and agriculture, Turkey and Neolithic, Scythian burials.

Other useful subject terms are: Archaeological Dating, Archaeology Field work, Animal Remains (archaeology) and Plant Remains (archaeology).

Public Websites in Archaeology

NAGPRA has reports and policies on Native American remains.

National Archaeology Database has archaeological investigations from the Parks Service; the BLM Land Patents Database may also be helpful.

The Breaking Ground Database covers women in old world archaeology.

How to Find Site Reports

When looking for site reports for Anthropology 2AC, check eScholarship and AnthroHub for PDF site reports by Berkeley scholars, and our book catalog for printed reports. Some site reports are also on course reserve for 2AC; ask at the anthropology circulation desk. When searching online, try using words like excavation, site report, archaeology, + your topic or the site name.

Databases in Archaeology

For articles, book chapters, and conference papers, start by searching:


From there, go on to: