Atlases: Books of Maps and So Much More
Location: Earth Sciences and Map Library (50 McCone)
Reading Room
Dates: Summer Semester 2019
Curated by: Erica Newcome
In Greek mythology, Atlas was a Titan that fought in the Titanomacy against Zeus. Atlas and his fellow Titans lost the battle and Atlas was punished by Zeus with carrying the weight of the heavens on his back.
The Webster dictionary's definition of an atlas is a bit...different. It defines an atlas as "a bound collection of maps often including illustrations, informative tables, or textual matter." This exhibit has a diverse collection of atlases from the Earth Sciences and Map Library. There are atlases that provide information on history, environmental migration, geopolitics, and much more. So please come visit the Earth Sciences and Map Library to check out the atlases on display this summer!
Atlas of Cities by
More than half the world's population lives in cities, and that proportion is expected to rise to three-quarters by 2050. Urbanization is a global phenomenon, but the way cities are developing, the experience of city life, and the prospects for the future of cities vary widely from region to region. The Atlas of Cities presents a unique taxonomy of cities that looks at different aspects of their physical, economic, social, and political structures; their interactions with each other and with their hinterlands; the challenges and opportunities they present; and where cities might be going in the future. Each chapter explores a particular type of city--from the foundational cities of Greece and Rome and the networked cities of the Hanseatic League, through the nineteenth-century modernization of Paris and the industrialization of Manchester, to the green and "smart" cities of today. Expert contributors explore how the development of these cities reflects one or more of the common themes of urban development: the mobilizing function (transport, communication, and infrastructure); the generative function (innovation and technology); the decision-making capacity (governance, economics, and institutions); and the transformative capacity (society, lifestyle, and culture). Using stunning info-graphics, maps, charts, tables, and photographs, the Atlas of Cities is a comprehensive overview of the patterns of production, consumption, generation, and decay of the twenty-first century's defining form. Presents a one-of-a-kind taxonomy of cities that looks at their origins, development, and future prospects Features core case studies of particular types of cities, from the foundational cities of Greece and Rome to the "smart" cities of today Explores common themes of urban development, from transport and communication to lifestyle and culture Includes stunning info-graphics, maps, charts, tables, and photos Additional material for this book: Cities Featured: Abuja, Alexandria, Amsterdam, Athens, Augsburg, Babylon, Beijing, Berlin, Brasilia, Bruges, Budapest, Cairo, Canberra, Chandigarh, Chicago, Constantinople, Curitiba, Detroit, Dubai, Dublin, Düsseldorf, Florence, Frankfurt, Freiburg, Geneva, Ghent, Glasgow, Güssing, Hong Kong, Innsbruck, Istanbul, Jakarta, Karachi, Knossos, Las Vegas, London, Los Angeles, Lübeck, Manchester, Marseille, Masdar City, Mexico City, Miami, Milan, Mumba, Mumbai, Nairobi, New York, Paris, Pella, Portland, Rome, San Francisco, Santorini, São Paulo, Seoul, Shanghai, Sheffield, Singapore, Sparta, St. Petersburg, Stockholm, Sydney, Syracuse, Tokyo, Vancouver, Venice, Vienna, Washington, D.C., Wildpoldsried
An Atlas of Islamic History by
This Atlas provides the main outlines of Islamic history from the immediate pre-Islamic period until the end of 1920, that is, before most parts of the Muslim world became sovereign nation states. Each map is accompanied by a text that contextualises, explains, and expands upon the map, and are fully cross-referenced. All of the maps are in full colour: 18 of them are double-page spreads, and 25 are single page layouts. This is an atlas of Islamic, not simply Arab or Middle Eastern history; hence it covers the entire Muslim world, including Spain, North, West and East Africa, the Indian sub-continent, Central Asia and South-East Asia. The maps are not static, in that they show transitions within the historical period to which they refer: for instance, the stages of the three contemporaneous Umayyad, Fatimid and ¿Abbasid caliphates on Map 10, or the progress of the Mongol invasions and the formation of the various separate Mongol khanates between 1200 and 1300 on Map 21. Using the most up to date cartographic and innovative design techniques, the maps break new ground in illuminating the history of Islam.¿ Brought right up to date with the addition of a Postscript detailing The Islamic World since c.1900, a Chronology from 500 BCE to 2014, and additional endpaper maps illustrating The Spread of Islam through the Ages and The Islamic World in the 21st Century, the Atlas of Islamic History is an essential reference work and an invaluable textbook for undergraduates studying Islamic history, as well as those with an interest in Asian History, Middle East History and World History more broadly.
Atlas of Refugees, Displaced Populations, and Epidemic Diseases by
Refugees and displaced populations are a highly relevant, controversial topic of the modern socio-political landscape, with images of people fleeing conflicts and natural disasters a regular occurrence in the media. They flee to perceived safe havens, but are often accompanied by sickness,starvation, poor sanitation, close contact and reduced healthcare. Infection frequently spreads among camps, and sometimes, onwards into the local population. Epidemics develop. What are these diseases, and can they be controlled? What are the health consequences for the migrating and residentpopulations? What might the demographic impact be? The Atlas of refugees, displaced populations, and epidemic diseases examines the globally changing geographical patterns of communicable diseases among refugees and other displaced persons - in flight, in camps, and resettled in local communities -since the beginning of the twentieth century. The book explores historical and contemporary case studies, including the First World War and its aftermath, the impact of genocides across the twentieth and early twenty-first centuries, Mozambican refugees traversing Central Africa in the late 1980's, the 2010 Haiti earthquake, and the 2014 Ebolavirus crisis. The book integrates theory, qualitative and quantitative data, and spatial analysis, locating examples in the context of global demographics and summarising information in an approachable way. Illustrated with over 400 maps and diagrams, case studies are presented in regional andthematic contexts to guide the reader through the displaced populations and communicable diseases over the last 116 years. The discussion covers epidemiological determinants of outbreaks, including overviews of social and political factors that motivate displacement of populations. Importantinformation on epidemic control and the results of these actions is also provided. The Atlas of refugees, displaced populations, and epidemic diseases is an essential resource for all those interested in public health, epidemiology, demography, ecology, economic history, and the history of medicine. This rich and detailed text is ideal for both specialists and students to deepentheir understanding of the topic.
Living Maps by
This collection of maps explores the unique personalities of 28 cities around the world, shedding light on the strange and marvelous ways in which humans interact with the places they call home. Artist and creative cartographer Adam Dant dissects Manhattan in an anatomical diagram, traces the form of a Picasso nude in the streets of Monaco, and transforms the crisscrossing paths of boats on the Bosporus into the nerves of Istanbul. Dant draws on the history, culture, and geography of each city and on the beguiling aesthetic of antique maps to create gorgeous works of cartographic art. Witty, insightful, and adorned with a gold foil-stamped cover, this book will capture the imaginations of travelers, map enthusiasts, history buffs, and dreamers.
A Louisiana Coastal Atlas by
Through a wide range of demographic, economic, social, and environmental data, A Louisiana Coastal Atlas shows cartographically how the inherent resilience of coastal communities manifests itself over time. By illustrating the adaptability of residents to their environment and economy, this resource shows how historical processes can inform planners to more effectively respond to and recover form future ecological events.
A Historical Atlas of Tibet by
Cradled among the world's highest mountains--and sheltering one of its most devout religious communities--Tibet is, for many of us, an ultimate destination, a place that touches the heavens, a place only barely in our world, at its very end. In recent decades Western fascination with Tibet has soared, from the rise of Tibetan studies in academia to the rock concerts aimed at supporting its independence to the simple fact that most of us--far from any base camp--know exactly what a sherpa is. And yet any sustained look into Tibet as a place, any attempt to find one's way around its high plateaus and through its deep history, will yield this surprising fact: we have barely mapped it. With this atlas, Karl E. Ryavec rights that wrong, sweeping aside the image of Tibet as Shangri-La and putting in its place a comprehensive vision of the region as it really is, a civilization in its own right. And the results are absolutely stunning. The product of twelve years of research and eight more of mapmaking, A Historical Atlas of Tibet documents cultural and religious sites across the Tibetan Plateau and its bordering regions from the Paleolithic and Neolithic times all the way up to today. It ranges through the five main periods in Tibetan history, offering introductory maps of each followed by details of western, central, and eastern regions. It beautifully visualizes the history of Tibetan Buddhism, tracing its spread throughout Asia, with thousands of temples mapped, both within Tibet and across North China and Mongolia, all the way to Beijing. There are maps of major polities and their territorial administrations, as well as of the kingdoms of Guge and Purang in western Tibet, and of Derge and Nangchen in Kham. There are town plans of Lhasa and maps that focus on history and language, on population, natural resources, and contemporary politics. Extraordinarily comprehensive and absolutely gorgeous, this overdue volume will be a cornerstone in cartography, Asian studies, Buddhist studies, and in the libraries or on the coffee tables of anyone who has ever felt the draw of the landscapes, people, and cultures of the highest place on Earth.
Historical atlas of early railways by An atlas of old Serbia by 
Atlas of Climate Change: Responsibility and Obligation of Human Society by
This atlas and reference resource assembles the latest research findings on the responsibility and obligation of human society for historical climate change. It clearly and quantitatively estimates to what extent the developed and developing world are responsible for historical climate change with regard to anthropogenic carbon and sulfur emissions as well as global carbon trade, and so provides a potential tool to address the controversial issue of carbon emission reduction in international climate negotiations. Since the quantitative attribution of historical climate change is calculated based on CMIP5 models, the fidelity of these models in representing the observed climate change is also evaluated. In addition to evaluation, future climate change based on CMIP5 models is also shown both on global and regional scales (especially for China and its surrounding areas ) in terms of surface air temperature, precipitation, sea surface temperature, atmospheric circulations and Arctic Sea ice. The atlas also makes various comparisons among different multi-model ensemble methods in order to obtain the most reliable estimation.
National Geographic the British World by
"From prehistoric times to present day, this richly illustrated atlas illuminates British history in breathtaking National Geographic style with gorgeous images, compelling narrative text, and fascinating sidebars; informative time lines, and premium-quality maps specially commissioned just for the book. Famous anecdotes and little-known lore are unearthed across thousands of years, immersing readers in the sweep of British history including prehistoric, Roman, medieval, Georgian, Victorian, and modern times. In addition to offering an authoritative historical perspective, this lush reference is interwoven with intriguing facts and insights into the very fabric of British life, from literary highlights to social amusements and trends. Spanning wars, religious controversies, revolutions, and more, this magnificent volume is a treasure that readers will turn to again and again."
The Social Atlas of Europe by
Many of us think of European countries as discreet entities--their own languages, cultures, food, and economies squarely contained within their national boundaries. But in fact Europe is at once a unified place and a sophisticatedly fragmented one, and national boundaries rarely reflect its social and economic realities. The Social Atlas of Europe is the first atlas to map Europe according to these realities, from the perspective of human geography rather than simply a political one. Using innovative full-color visualization methods, it reconsiders European identity through its many different facets: economy, culture, history, and human and physical geography, visualizing Europe and its people in a more fluid way, without artificial national boundaries. It utilizes the latest available demographic, social, and economic data through state-of-the-art geographical information systems and new cartography techniques that were invented specifically for this work. Through these new visualizations, this highly illustrated book offers fresh perspectives on a range of topics, including social values, culture, education, employment, environmental footprints, health and well-being, and social inequalities and cohesions. It is a bold rethinking of Europe as we know it and will be of interest to anyone who wants to understand the continent in its truest form.
Historical Atlas of Canada by
"This is a gorgeous piece of work, rich and heavy and brimming with the minutiae of attempts to capture aspects of the Canadian landscape by cartography." -- The Georgia Straight Maps tells the story in this innovative volume, and the story of Canada they tell is profoundly engrossing and rewarding. The atlas covers a period of a thousand years and contains essentially all the historically significant maps of the country. Gathered from major archives and libraries all over the world, they include treasures from the National Archives of Canada--many never before published--and many from the archives of the Hudson�s Bay Company. Included are maps by the founder of New France, Samuel de Champlain, by Philip Turnor and Peter Fidler. There are English maps and French maps; Spanish maps and Russian maps; American, Italian and Dutch maps as well as maps drawn by Native people such as the Beothuk, Blackfoot and Cree. Canada�s colourful past unfolds in sumptuous visual detail--history seen from a whole new perspective.
National Geographic Global Atlas by
"From the changing shape of the warming northern polar region to the southern end of the globe in Antarctica, this atlas offers extraordinary new cartographic coverage of the entire globe. Valuable, relevant, and affordable to all, it captures the vital geographic issues of the day with stunning reference and thematic maps, engaging text, and innovative infographics. Through state-of-the-art maps and cutting-edge graphic design, this completely updated atlas covers the latest geopolitical developments and illuminates the important trends that grip the planet. From new political maps that review areas of turbulent civil strife in the Middle East to thematic spreads that highlight freshwater scarcity, climate and global warming, population growth, and more, this innovative book addresses the world's challenges and celebrates its wonders. Filled with dynamic infographics and compelling annotations and captions, NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC GLOBAL ATLAS documents the critical facts, developments, and trends of our ever-evolving human and natural landscape."
People and Places by
Fully updating the 2001 volume People and Places: A 2001 Census Atlas of the UK, this authoritative book will be essential reading for anyone interested in the current social geography of the United Kingdom, how it has changed, and where it is going. Key features include an illuminating graphic summary of over 100,000 fundamental demographic statistics; new cartographic projections and techniques used throughout; an appendix incorporating rankings for twenty-five selected topics by local authority; and comparison with the 2001 census to identify national and local trends, with analysis of their implications for future policy. Complete with additional digital content that uses maps, charts, and tables to highlight important issues and topics, this new edition of People and Places is an accessible guide to social change over the past ten years as the United Kingdom has moved from boom to recession.
Conflict Atlas by
Berlin-based Dutch artist Jasmijn Vissers Conflict Atlas looks at history through the perspective of the Falklands Islands/Islas Malvinas, linking global events to local proceedings on the archipelago. Through a lively combination of writings, drawings, photos, maps and archival materials, Visser explores trade routes, colonial enterprises, patterns of migration, questions of identity, strategies in warfare and the role of the climate in social issues. In this fully illustrated oversized softcover publication, she conveys the field of tensions in the Malvinas-Falklands Archipelago by the multiplication and stratification of geographical sites, historical times and subjective views. Designed by Amsterdam-based strategic design studio Metahaven, Conflict Atlas opens up a new way of writing history, in which the nature of the history itself becomes visible: a chaotic sea of circumstances that, through the endless variation of contexts, has become so overwhelming that it dwarfs the human scale.
The Atlas of Environmental Migration by
As climate change and extreme weather events increasingly threaten traditional landscapes and livelihoods of entire communities the need to study its impact on human migration and population displacement has never been greater. The Atlas of Environmental Migrationis the first illustrated publication mapping this complex phenomenon. It clarifies terminology and concepts, draws a typology of migration related to environment and climate change, describes the multiple factors at play, explains the challenges, and highlights the opportunities related to this phenomenon. Through elaborate maps, diagrams, illustrations, case studies from all over the world based on the most updated international research findings, the Atlas guides the reader from the roots of environmental migration through to governance. In addition to the primary audience of students and scholars of environment studies, climate change, geography and migration it will also be of interest to researchers and students in politics, economics and international relations departments. tion it will also be of interest to researchers and students in politics, economics and international relations departments.
Atlas of Migration in Europe by
An explanation of the development of European migratory politics and their consequences which exposes little known realities to the general public. Since the 1980s Europe has been increasing controls on immigration, making migrants' journeys more dangerous and imposing an effective house arrest on some of the poorest people on the planet. Issues addressed include, globalisation and migration flows, increased protectionism in controls on international migration and the establishment of asylum and immigration at the heart of European politics.
The Times Atlas of London by
Contents include;The mapping of London12 pages covering the history of mapping London with extracts from maps from the 16th century to the present day.London in contextRegional map of the southeastPhysical map with rivers and parks of LondonGeologyClimateComparisons with other British and internationalDefining LondonThe Greater London areaParliamentary constituencies map, London Assembly constituency map.Chronology of LondonLondon TodaySections on each London borough, listed alphabetically. For each borough there is to be a locator map and selected street mapping, either to show changes (using street mapping 1908, 1941 and 2010) or just to provide greater detail - for example the City, Westminster and Kensington and Chelsea as well as the southern parts of Camden and IslingtonThe sections on the boroughs are to be interspersed with thematic spreads covering London-wide topics."When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life."Samuel Johnson, 1777
Portlandness by
"Modern cartography tells the hidden stories of Portland in these fascinating and colorful infographic maps. When mapmaking takes on nontraditional topics like patterns of graffiti or locations of strip clubs or even which neighborhoods favor which house colors, finding your way around the city takes on a whole new meaning. The work of two leading geographers, this atlas of over 150 maps explores such unexpected topics as city chickens, wild coyote encounters, the growth of man-made land, the (non)use of umbrellas, and queer culture. Each map starts with the gathering of at least one data set about a given topic, then translating that to a visual format that blends traditional cartographic skills with modern graphic design. Each map is different and and mesmerizing in its own right."
Historical Population Atlas of the Czech Lands by
This bilingual, English-Czech atlas of Czechoslovakia is one of the first to use statistical data to evaluate spatial aspects of population development over time. Its twelve chapters present various themes relating directly to population from a historical perspective, such as demographic structures and processes, migration, economic structure, cultural structure, social status, crime, and elections. Drawing on census results from 1921 to 2011, including population registers from the postwar years, more than three hundred maps present time series of these basic population statistical indicators from the beginnings of the independent Czechoslovak state up to the present. Uniquely, the atlas shows the development of each indicator over time within a single map sheet through a series of maps with a cohesive legend.
The Island by
London's streets, built up over more than two thousand years, are a maze of history, cultures and stories. In his fantastically detailed maps of the city, Stephen Walter translates these elements into a tangle of insightful yet humorous words and symbols that make up a complex of hidden meanings and wider contradictions. Testament to Walter's skill and importance as a cartographer, his ground-breaking, oversized map The Island was one of only two works by contemporary artists to feature in the seminal Magnificent Maps exhibition held at the British Library in 2010, the other by Grayson Perry and was exhibited together with some of the most important maps in history, such as Pierre Desceliers's 1550 world map. The work, which reimagines London as an insular body of land surrounded by water, has now been reconfigured and turned into Walter's own version of a London street atlas, with readers able to explore his unique vision of the city by flicking through the pages. A grid at the front of the book allows readers easily navigate their way through the map and the large-scale, detailed reproductions allow for close examination of his witty and inventive depictions. Walter's cartographic renderings have a cult following and now a wider audience will be able to immerse themselves in his uniquely personal vision - one that both celebrates the art of mapmaking and pokes intelligent fun at the city he calls home. AUTHOR: Stephen Walter holds a master's degree of fine arts from the Royal College of Art in London. His work is exhibited around the world and his pieces are in the permanent collection of the Victoria and Albert Museum, the British Museum, and the British Library. Peter Barber joined the British Library in 1975 and has been Head of Maps since 2001. In recent years, Peter curated the 2006 exhibition London: a Life in Maps and the hugely successful 2010 exhibition Magnificent Maps: Power, Propaganda and Art. 120 colour illustrations
Atlas sociolingüístico geopolítico y cultural de las cuencas del Río Desaguadero y Lago Poopó by Veliki atlas Hrvatske by