You may also wish to visit the Guide to eBook Collections in Health, Medicine & Biology, as well as this list of ebook collections.
Please also feel free to recommend a book purchase.
Digital Health Technologies: Law, Ethics, and the Doctor-Patient Relationship by
Increasingly digital technologies are used in healthcare. This book explores eight digital health technologies, situated the context of a life span, from high-throughput genomic sequencing technologies and do-it-yourself (DIY) insulin delivery for diabetes management in paediatrics, to the use of robotic care assistants for older adults and digital advance care decisions. A scene-setting case scenario at the start of each chapter describes the digital technology and identifies the sometimes competing interests of the key stakeholders. Broad themes of resource allocation, access to technologies, informed consent, privacy of health data and ethical concerns are considered in context, alongside analysis of legal duties owed by healthcare professionals to act in their patients' best interests. This book addresses legal and ethical issues arising from the use of emerging digital health technologies and is of interest to academics, clinicians and regulators and anyone interested in the development of health technologies and the challenges they may present. It focusses on the Australian legal framework, with some comparison to other jurisdictions.
Fundamentals of Medical Practice Management, 2nd edition by
Fundamentals of Medical Practice Management provides an overview of various aspects of medical practice operations, from contract law to information technology. This introductory text explores not only what needs to be done but also when and why. Medical practices, like other healthcare organizations, continue to feel the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic. The book discusses the fallout, including the increase in staff burnout and the need to be prepared for the next crisis. The importance of complementary and alternative medicine is emphasized in the book, with new research on the relevance to medical practice. This edition also features new and updated coverage on:- Cultural competency, workforce diversity and inclusion, and gender equity- The changing practice landscape, including the decline in independent practice- Cybersecurity, artificial intelligence, and medical practice system integration Students in organizational programs, undergraduate and master' s degree programs in health administration, and practice management certification programs will benefit from this book. Its insights will also help current practice managers update and refine their skills.
Health Plans Unmasked: A Physician's Guide to Working with Health Insurers by
An insightful overview of health insurers and a guide to sustainability for provider organizations. Physicians experience ongoing frustrations in their relationships with health plans. Even as they struggle to keep up with accelerating clinical advances, they face daunting challenges from payers that are transitioning from traditional fee-for-service contracts to complex alternative payment models. In Health Plans Unmasked, Martin Lustick, MD, offers insights and guidance for those who face the herculean task of transforming their business practices to achieve financial stability while improving outcomes for their patients. By explaining both how and why insurance companies behave the way they do, Dr. Lustick helps providers avoid mistakes and take advantage of opportunities for success. He provides information on: * The evolution of health care financing in the United States * The nuts and bolts of health plan capabilities and the real motives of health plan administrators * Tips for successful contracting strategies * Alternative payment models and the promises of value-based care With a career spanning five decades as a practicing pediatrician, chief operating officer of a medical group, chief medical officer of a hospital, and chief medical officer of a health plan, Dr. Lustick provides a straightforward guide to sustainability for provider organizations. Physicians, office managers, and anyone in a health-related field will benefit from his breaking down the role of health plans in our health care ecosystem.
Legacy: a Black physician reckons with racism in medicine by
"This book is more than a memoir-it also serves as a call to action to create a more equitable healthcare system for patients of color, particularly Black women." -Essence One of NPR's 11 Books to Look Forward to in 2024 One of Good Morning America's 15 New Books to Read for the New Year "Legacy is both a compelling memoir and an edifying analysis of the inequities in the way we deliver healthcare in America. Uche Blackstock is a force of nature." -Abraham Verghese, MD, New York Times bestselling author of The Covenant of Water " An extraordinary family story." -Dr. Damon Tweedy, The New York Times Book Review "This book should be required reading for all medical students." -Gayle King, CBS Mornings The rousing, captivating story of a Black physician, her career in medicine, and the deep inequities that still exist in the U.S. healthcare system Growing up in Brooklyn, New York, it never occurred to Uche Blackstock and her twin sister, Oni, that they would be anything but physicians. In the 1980s, their mother headed an organization of Black women physicians, and for years the girls watched these fiercely intelligent women in white coats tend to their patients and neighbors, host community health fairs, cure ills, and save lives. What Dr. Uche Blackstock did not understand as a child-or learn about at Harvard Medical School, where she and her sister had followed in their mother's footsteps, making them the first Black mother-daughter legacies from the school-were the profound and long-standing systemic inequities that mean just 2 percent of all U.S. physicians today are Black women; the racist practices and policies that ensure Black Americans have far worse health outcomes than any other group in the country; and the flawed system that endangers the well-being of communities like theirs. As an ER physician, and later as a professor in academic medicine, Dr. Blackstock became profoundly aware of the systemic barriers that Black patients and physicians continue to face. Legacy is a journey through the critical intersection of racism and healthcare. At once a searing indictment of our healthcare system, a generational family memoir, and a call to action, Legacy is Dr. Blackstock's odyssey from child to medical student to practicing physician-to finally seizing her own power as a health equity advocate against the backdrop of the pandemic and the Black Lives Matter movement.
The Patient As a Person by
In the current era, evidence-based medicine and various supporting technologies dominate everyday clinical practice, according to a disease-centred, as opposed to patient-centred, approach. They have obviously improved the clinical management of diseases and it is therefore unreasonable to think of a medicine in which they are not considered fundamental. In fact, the strength of the new medicine should be to adapt scientific knowledge to a specific clinical case. This book therefore looks at the prospect of a new 'person' centred medicine, which stands alongside the 'disease' and 'patient' centred medicine, which pays special attention to the subjectivity of scientific knowledge and the relationship between doctor and patient. It is important to emphasise that this book is written by several hands, i.e. by experts from different fields, doctors, philosophers, architects, sociologists, art critics, physicists and engineers. This is with the intention of providing as broad a perspective as possible on the doctor-patient relationship. Due to its translational and multicultural approach to the subject, the book will be of interest to a wide readership, from medical experts to students, psychologists, philosophers and institutional actors.
The Patient-Centered Approach to Medical Note-Writing by
Patients are increasingly accessing their own electronic health record, ushering medical chart notes out of the cloistered purview of clinicians and into the age of transparency. With the recognition that patients are reading what is written about them, there is a need for a comprehensive reference on best practices for writing medical notes in this new era. The Patient-Centered Approach to Medical Note-Writing covers important topics including stigmatizing language, the electronic health record, the different parts of a typical medical note, mental health, substance use, difficult encounters, and how to address electronic communication such as test results and patient messages. This book serves as a vital reference for students, residents, fellows and practicing clinicians.
Physician Crisis: Why Physicians Are Leaving Medicine, Why You Should Stay, and How To Be Happy by
This book is the first volume to individually dissect and explore the reasons physicians are leaving medicine. It lays out potential solutions to many of the problems, which will result in a happier practicing physician. Chapters begin with the nature of the problem, and go through a physician's life cycle on the job, from medical school through post-grad and onwards. Chapters will also cover issues as a practicing physician and how to help alleviate these problems. The book ends with potential solutions to the issue of physician burnout. Physician Burnout: Why Doctors Are Leaving Medicine and How to Fix It is a must-have resource for practicing physicians, healthcare providers, and healthcare management. It is also a great resource for medical school students and those looking to get into the healthcare field.
Physician Law: Evolving Trends and Hot Topics (2023) by
This book represents the cutting edge of physician law. The publication emanates from the American Bar Association Health Law Section's 2023 Physicians Legal Issues Conference. The conference and Physician Law: Evolving Trends & Hot Topics have been produced in conjunction with the Chicago Medical Society and the American Medical Association, tailored to an audience including physicians, lawyers, healthcare administrators, and other healthcare business people. The book includes ten peer-reviewed chapters on core physician-centric legal topics: 1) Entrepreneurial Medicine (including fraud and abuse risk areas); 2) Physician-Hospital Contracting; 3) Medical Professional Liability; 4) Telemedicine; 5) HIPAA Compliance; 6) Accountable Care Organizations; 7) Doctors' Defense in Medical Staff Hearings and Appeals; 8) Physician Well-Being; 9) Medicare and Medicaid Contractors; and 10) Physician Employment Contracts from the Physician Perspective. Physicians will especially benefit from the content that addresses a broad range of non-clinical topics that are currently transforming American healthcare. The chapters target issues that are not typically covered in most medically orientd volumes but nonetheless are critically important in the practice of medicine. Physician Law: Evolving Trends & Hot Topics is an excellent reference for clinicians and professionals who want to stay abreast of current legal and regulatory issues impacting their practice.
Storytelling in Medicine: How narrative can improve practice by
This unique, practical book for healthcare trainees, practitioners and educators explores the ideas and practice of narrative and storytelling that lie at the very heart of clinical medicine and the patient ‘experience’ of care. It shows how story and narrative can be used effectively to help convey concepts such as prognosis and the effect of illness upon life, and to prepare patients and their relatives for difficult and painful news.
Twice As Hard: The Stories of Black Women Who Fought to Become Physicians, from the Civil War to the Twenty-First Century by
Black women physicians' stories have gone untold for far too long, leaving gaping holes in American medical history, in women's history, and in black history. It's time to set the record straight No real account of black women physicians in the US exists, and what little mention is made of these women in existing histories is often insubstantial or altogether incorrect. In this work of extensive research, Jasmine Brown offers a rich new perspective, penning the long-erased stories of nine pioneering black women physicians beginning in 1860, when a black woman first entered medical school. Brown champions these black women physicians, including the stories of: · Dr. Rebecca Lee Crumpler, who graduated from medical school only fourteen months after the Emancipation Proclamation was signed and provided medical care for the newly freed slaves who had been neglected and exploited by the medical system. · Dr. Edith Irby Jones, the first African American to attend a previously white-only medical school in the Jim Crow South, where she was not allowed to eat lunch with her classmates or use the women's bathroom. Still, Dr. Irby Jones persisted and graduated from medical school, going on to directly inspire other black women to pursue medicine such as . . . · Dr. Joycelyn Elders, who, after meeting Dr. Irby Jones, changed her career ambitions from becoming a Dillard's salesclerk to becoming a doctor. In 1993, President Bill Clinton appointed Dr. Elders as the US surgeon general, making her the first African American and second woman to hold this position. Brown tells the stories of these doctors from the perspective of a black woman in medicine. Her journey as a medical student already has parallels to those of black women who entered medicine generations before her. What she uncovers about these women's struggles, their need to work twice as hard and be twice as good, and their ultimate success serves as instruction and inspiration for new generations considering a career in medicine or science.
What We Bring to the Practice of Medicine: Perspectives from Women Physicians by
Personal essays relating key issues and insights from women in medicine What We Bring to the Practice of Medicine brings together a collection of short essays from women physicians working in diverse fields of medicine around the world. Through compassion, humor, and resiliency, their stories reveal the truth of what life is like for a variety of women in medicine. While men and women physicians face different challenges and bring different historical experiences to the examination table, the history of medicine has been primarily told by men. Doctors Kimberly Greene-Liebowitz and Dana Corriel compile the pieces in this collection to highlight the many topics of concern for women physicians--some of which may be unknown to medical field outsiders. Topics include the physician-patient relationship, mastery of clinical practice, barriers to career advancement and success, and the challenge of balancing a demanding professional life with domestic responsibilities, an issue brought to the fore by the COVID-19 pandemic. What We Bring to the Practice of Medicine showcases the experiences of women physicians at every stage of their careers as well--from the beginning of medical school to the brink of retirement. These 40 essays are an expansive, unprecedented examination of what drives clinical and personal decisions and demonstrate how a physician's character is intricately intertwined with their approach to caregiving and the practice of medicine.
Off-campus access is limited to current UC Berkeley faculty, staff and students. Choose one of the following methods:
Library Proxy (aka EZproxy):
When you click on a link to an article, database, etc., from a library web page. you will be prompted to authenticate via CalNet.
If you click on an article (etc.) link found via a search engine or a non-UCB Library webpage, you should use this bookmarklet to access the licensed resource.
Virtual Private Network (VPN):
Download and install the VPN client to allow access the UC Berkeley licensed resources.
Make sure you select Library Access - Full Tunnel VPN when you log on.
VPN FAQ
Students: Problems setting up Library Proxy or VPN? Contact your librarian, or Student Technology Services: (510) 642-HELP, or sts-help@berkeley.edu.
The UC Berkeley Library now has access to NEJM Catalyst: Innovations in Care.
This highly desired journal "connects clinical leaders, health care executives, clinicians, and academics with the most important ideas and practical solutions for health care delivery. Selective, curated content features real-world examples and actionable solutions from thought leaders and industry experts on the transformation of health care."
I hope you find it useful!
I am pleased to report that UC Berkeley now has full access to Psychedelic Medicine: "The first peer-reviewed journal to publish original research papers on every aspect of psychedelic medicine including basic science, clinical, and translational research."
We have access back to the first issue on the publisher website.
Chronic Complications of Diabetes Mellitus: Current Outlook and Novel Pathophysiological Insights by
Chronic Complications of Diabetes Mellitus: Current Outlook and Novel Pathophysiological Insights provides a holistic view of the disease, discussing not only its classical complications but also the under recognized and managed conditions associated with diabetes. Chapters also discuss advances in our understanding of the genomic architecture of diabetes complications and how precision medicine can be used to personalize their management. Endocrinologists, diabetologists, primary care physicians and researchers interested in complications of diabetes mellitus and cutting-edge information will find this to be a comprehensive tome on the topic. Diabetes complications include pathological changes usually related to the vascular system and classical target organs. However, there are also nonclassical complications independent or partially independent from vascular damage that are often overlooked. Describes pathophysiology, clinical aspects and treatment of complications of diabetes, including nonclassical complications such as diabetic bone disease and diabetic cardiomyopathy Addresses and discusses challenges in the management of diabetes complications, including prevention and therapeutic strategies Presents up-to-date, thoroughly referenced information for clinicians, researchers and other healthcare providers
A Clinical Approach to Neuro-Ophthalmic Disorders by
Neuro-ophthalmology is a merged subspecialty of neurology and ophthalmology dealing with complex multisystem diseases presenting with visual manifestations. This book helps the reader in recognizing, approaching, and managing such a patient. It covers the afferent and efferent systems, pupillary disorders, and Radiology of neuro-ophthalmic conditions. It features individual symptomatology with salient points, their management and differential diagnosis. It has case scenarios, key points, and algorithms along with self-assessment MCQ questions. Its simplified, step wise approach will be a useful resource for neurologists, ophthalmologists, physicians, pediatricians, and optometrists. Key Features * Features a simplified and stepwise clinical approach to neuro-ophthalmic disorders. * Includes case studies and clinical pearls along with self-assessment sections. * Covers to the point and crisp analysis of common complaints faced in neuro-ophthalmology. All the royalties of this book are donated to the Poor Patients Cell of PGIMER, Chandigarh.
Clinical Neuroepidemiology of Acute and Chronic Disorders by
Clinical Neuroepidemiology of Acute and Chronic Disorders explores the epidemiology of disorders that affect the nervous system, providing comprehensive discussions on incidence, prevalence, and more. With thorough coverage of a variety of disorders, chapters detail etiology, risk factors, pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, diagnosis, global incidence and prevalence, age-specific incidence, global mortality, prevention, treatment and prognosis for each disorder. Chapters uniquely discuss the effects of the COVID-19 coronavirus upon the nervous system and in relation to several diseases, including new discoveries and treatments for Alzheimer's disease and migraine headaches. Real-world case studies with critical thinking questions and "Focus On" boxes highlight important information.
Myopic Maculopathy Analysis: MICCAI Challenge MMAC 2023 by
This book constitutes the MICCAI Challenge, MMAC 2023, that held in Conjunction with MICCAI 2023, Vancouver, BC, Canada, which took place in October 2023. The 11 long papers included in this volume presents a wide range of state-of-the-art deep learning methods developed for the various tasks presented in the challenge.
Ophthalmic Pathology: The Evolution of Modern Concepts by
Ophthalmic Pathology: The Evolution of Current Concepts examines how our current understanding of morphologic disease, nomenclature and classification over the last century came about. The book explores the historical context and the modern trends of ocular nosology, emphasizing the science of disease classification. Chapters highlight major studies and developments surrounding approximately 50 disorders whose diagnoses are established by pathology, corresponding to a historical road map of current nomenclature, methods of disease classification, and the role of diagnostic morphology. Using a streamlined, highly illustrated format, this book provides a unique historic and evolutionary perspective into current views on the morphology of eye disease.
Ophthalmic Signs in Practice of Medicine by 
Photo Acoustic and Optical Coherence Tomography Imaging, Volume 1: Diabetic retinopathy by
This book covers the state-of-the-art techniques of OCT imaging for the diagnosis of retinal diseases. It is part of a three-volume work that describes the latest imaging techniques in which to bring optical coherence tomography (OCT), fundus Imaging and optical coherence tomography angiography (OCTA) to accurately facilitate the diagnosis of retinal diseases. Clinical disorders of the retina have been attracting the attention of researchers, aiming at reducing the blindness rate. This includes uveitis, diabetic retinopathy, macular edema, endophthalmitis, proliferative retinopathy, age-related macular degeneration and glaucoma. Treatment is significantly dependent on having early and accurate diagnosis, which can be significantly improved by employing the techniques described in the book. Key Features: The book is a collection of the works of several research groups that are well-known in the field, so the readers can refer to their websites if they need extra details. Provides a comprehensive overview of all pertinent topics related to OCT imaging techniques, applicable to diagnosis of eye disorders. Offers a unique coverage of Neural Networks in distinguishing eye diseases. Machine learning techniques are presented in detail throughout. Many of the chapter contributors are world-class researchers. Extensive references are provided at the end of each chapter to enhance further study.
Retinal and Choroidal Vascular Diseases of the Eye by
Retinal and Choroidal Vascular Diseases of the Eye explores a variety of retinal and choroidal vascular diseases, covering their pathogenesis, clinical features, and management strategies. The book begins with an outline of the basic features of retinal and choroidal vasculature before moving on to imaging techniques. Chapters then delve into specific diseases and abnormalities, as well as vascular diseases that are associated with systemic inflammatory diseases. The book then moves onto considering vascular diseases associated with system conditions before considering vascular tumors. Recent innovations and upcoming treatment options are also explored for the various diseases throughout the book. This comprehensive reference provides a deep dive into vascular diseases of the eye, and is a must-have reference for ophthalmologists, medical and surgical retina specialists, and researchers in related fields Explores numerous retinal and choroidal disease entities and their pathogenic mechanisms Features multimodal images to help illustrate and describe the disease entities Discusses innovative treatment options for choroidal vascular diseases Considers the latest clinical trials related to retinal and choroidal disorders, and provides key learnings
Textbook of Community Ophthalmology by
https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/edit/10.1201/9781003291626/textbook-community-ophthalmology-praveen-vashist-noopur-gupta-suraj-singh-senjam-vivek-gupta
Therapeutic Targets for Diabetic Retinopathy: A Translational Approach by
Therapeutic Targets For Diabetic Retinopathy: A Translational Approach offers a consolidated view of this complex disorder by summarizing the latest evidence-based studies and translating their findings into practical, actionable knowledge. This concise resource covers the fundamentals of diabetic retinopathy and diabetic macular edema with an emphasis on basic science and therapeutic targets on the horizon. Ophthalmologists, optometrists, and researchers will find the translational approach to this common eye disorder to be useful in both research and clinical practice settings. Takes a concise yet comprehensive approach to diabetic eye disorders, covering basic science as well as therapeutic agents with both current and future clinical applications. Covers current diagnostic and management guidelines as well developments on the horizon that are likely to improve patient outcomes. Explains the pathophysiological mechanisms of diabetic retinopathy and diabetic macular edema from both a basic and clinical perspective, helping readers seek promising new therapeutic targets. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single, convenient resource.
Unusual Diseases with Common Symptoms: A Clinical Casebook by
This book presents detailed case reports of unusual diseases with common symptoms, many of which have emerged in the past decade because of nature, advances in medical treatment, and increasing recognition of specific underpinnings of human biology and immunology. These rare diseases must now be considered when the usually considered diagnoses do not exactly fit the patient's clinical history or treatment fails. The second edition of this text includes eighteen completely new chapters and cases. Some of the diseases discussed include galactose alpha 1,3 galactose IgE meat allergy, candymaker's bronchiolitis obliterans from diacetyl, and Balsam of Peru contact allergic reaction from orange soda. Chapters provide in-depth clinical examples of a wide range of diseases affecting multiple organ systems. Each case is structured by a vignette of the case, background/salient features of the case, diagnosis, treatment, key points, and questions/answers to aid in critical thinking. Unusual Diseases with Common Symptoms: A Clinical Casebook (2nd Edition) follows the widely popular first edition, which has over 20,000 downloads worldwide. It is of great interest to practicing health care professionals as well as students and residents who will one day encounter conditions more complex than they initially appear.
Questions? Ask a librarian!