Library Guides: International Government Data & Statistics: Health

Data & Statistics

Demographic & Health Surveys. Provides reports and data from surveys in developing countries on population, health, HIV, and nutrition. (Free registration).

EU Health for All Database. Selection of core health statistics covering demographics, health status, health determinants and risk factors, and health-care resources in the European region.

European Health Interview Survey. Modules on health status, health care, health determinants and socio-economic background (Restricted Use - apply for Access at the UC Berkeley D-Lab).

Eurostat. Main portal for EU Health Data. Includes sections on Health Status, Health Care, Disabilities, Causes of Death, Health and Safety at work, and more.

Global Health Data Exchange. Catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data.

OECD Health Statistics. Tables on health and health systems across OECD countries presented in a demographic, economic and social context.

Population Services International Dataverse. Global health organization dedicated to improving the health of people in the developing world with data on family planning, HIV/AIDS, maternal health, and threats to children under five.

World Health Organization Central Data Catalog. Catalog of microdata sets for surveys administered by the World Health Organization. Registration is required.

World Health Organization Environmental Burden of Disease.

World Health Organization Global Expenditure Database. Provides internationally comparable numbers on national health expenditures.

World Health Organization Global Infobase. Data warehouse that collects, stores and displays information on chronic diseases and their risk factors for all WHO member states.

World Health Organization Health Statistics and Information Systems.

Global Health Observatory. Data for monitoring the global health situation for health themes ranging from health systems to disease-specific themes.
Global Health Estimates. Provides a comprehensive assessment of mortality and loss of health due to diseases, injuries and risk factors.
Mortality Database. Database of annual death registration data on causes of death by age and sex as reported from more than 100 WHO Member States.

World Health Statistics. Annual reports that presents the health statistics for the WHO Member States.

WHO/UNICEF Joint Monitoring Program for Water Supply and Sanitation. Time series estimates on on the use of water sources and sanitation facilities for countries world-wide.

Related Publications

World Malaria Report 2014
Summarizes information received from 97 malaria endemic countries and other sources. It assesses global and regional malaria trends, highlights progress made towards global targets, and describes opportunities and challenges in controlling and eliminating the disease.
WHO Global Status Report on Road Safety 2013
This report, which establishes the baseline burden of road traffic crashes and the status of global road safety efforts at the start of the Decade of Action, shows that 1.26 million people were killed on the world's roads in 2010.
Health at a glance, Asia/Pacific 2014.
Presents a set of key indicators of health status, the determinants of health, health care resources and utilisation, health care expenditure and financing and health care quality across 27 Asia/Pacific countries and economies.
Emerging Issues of Health & Mortality in the Asia & Pacific Region
Contains a selection of papers which discuss key trends and emerging health and mortality issues within the Asia and Pacific region, including country-specific profiles, in light of the Millennium Development Goals.
Principles and Recommendations for a Vital Statistics System
The publication is an international standard on the design and operation of an efficient and accurate vital statistics system at national level. It provides guidelines on collection, compiling and disseminating vital statistics.
Burden of Disease from Environmental Noise
The health impacts of environmental noise are a growing concern. At least one million healthy life years are lost every year from traffic-related noise in the western part of Europe. This publication summarizes the evidence on the relationship between environmental noise and health effects.
The Cost of Air Pollution: Health Impacts of Road Transport
This study reports on the economic cost of the health impacts of air pollution from road transport - on a global scale but with special reference to China, India and the OECD countries.

Secondary menu

International Government Data & Statistics: Health

Data & Statistics

Related Publications