Library Guides: International Government Data & Statistics: Microdata

Microdata Catalogs, Archives, and Cross-National Surveys

Council of European Social Science Data Archives. Data catalog bringing together social science data archives across Europe.

Dataverse Project. Searchable network of collection of social science research data worldwide, from Harvard. Some of the sources listed are restricted to Harvard University.

Demographic and Health Surveys. Assists developing countries to monitor and evaluate population, health, and nutrition programs with data on family planning, health and survival, HIV/AIDS/sexually transmitted infections, & reproductive health.

European Social Survey. Academically driven cross-national survey that has been conducted every two years across Europe since 2001. The survey measures the attitudes, beliefs and behavior patterns of diverse populations in more than thirty nations.

Gesis Data Catalogue. From the Leibniz Institute for Social Sciences, the largest institution for the Social Sciences in Germany. Descriptions and data for studies available at the Gesis Data Archive.

Inter-University Consortium of Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Consortium of institutions working to acquire and preserve social science data. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.

International Household Survey Network. Central Data Catalog provides searchable metadata from thousands of surveys and censuses conducted in low- and middle-income countries. From the World Bank.

IPUMS International. From the Minnesota Population Center. Project dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world. Collects and preserves data and documentation, harmonize the data, and disseminate it absolutely free.

ISSP – International Social Survey Program. Program of cross-national collaboration on surveys important for social science research. Brings together pre-existing social science projects adding a cross-national perspective to national studies.

LIS: Cross-National Data Center in Luxembourg. Microdata from the Luxembourg Income Study and Luxembourg Wealth Study with variables on market income, public transfers. taxes, household and person-level characteristics, labor markets, and expenditures.

Princeton University Data & Statistical Services Gateway. Guide to microdata by subject and by country. Some of the sources listed are restricted to Princeton University.

Social Science Data Archives at the Australian National University. Provides a service for the collection and preservation of digital research data and to make these data available for secondary analysis by academic researchers and other users.

South Africa Data Archive, National Research Foundation, South Africa. Provides access to holdings of South African and other data sets, including Statistics South Africa.

UK Data Archive. Largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the United Kingdom. See registration section for non UK Users. Most data can be ordered free of charge.

Related Publications

Analyzing Food Security Using Household Surveys
Focuses on the theory, methodology and analysis of survey indicators used to assess the food security situations of people suffering from hunger. Includes information on the stand-alone software, ADePT-Food Security Module (available for free downloading) developed to produce food security indicators from data collected in household surveys.
OECD Guidelines for Micro Statistics on Household Wealth
This publication presents an internationally agreed set of guidelines for producing micro statistics on household wealth, It addresses the common conceptual, definitional and practical problems, and are meant to improve the comparability of country data.
Analyzing Health Equity Using Household Survey Data
This book provides an overview of the key issues that arise in the measurement of health variables and living standards, outlines and explains essential tools and methods for distributional analysis, and, using worked examples, shows how these tools and methods can be applied in the health sector.
Counting the People: Advocacy and Resource Mobilization for Successful Implementation of the 2010 Round of Population and Housing Censuses
This publication comprises proceedings of four regional workshops held in 2005-2007 in Cameroon, Cambodia, Panama, and Cape Verde. The goal was to assist countries in their participation in the 2010 World Populations and Housing Census Programme, through extensive review of international recommendations and coordination, national experience and donor support activities.
Household Sample Surveys in Developing and Transition Countries
Household surveys are an important source of socio-economic data and important indicators to inform and monitor development policies are often derived from such surveys. This handbook presents several aspects of conducting household surveys in developing and transition countries, including sample design, survey implementation, non-sampling errors, survey costs, and analysis of survey data.
Multidimensional Poverty and Child Well-being in Wealthy Nations
This report presents league tables on deprivation and poverty for children in the world's richest countries. Selected OECD and European Union countries are compared under two measures - children experiencing the deprivation of two or more necessities, and children living in relative poverty as compared to others in their country.

Secondary menu

International Government Data & Statistics: Microdata

Introduction

Microdata Catalogs, Archives, and Cross-National Surveys

Related Publications