The digital archive of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), covering 1912-1990.
For most of the twentieth century the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) was the principal defender of the rights that citizens can assert against government. Its a leader in the defense of the freedoms of speech and press, the separation of church and state, the free exercise of religion, due process of law, equal protection of the law, and the privacy rights of all citizens. Scholars and students of 20th Century American social history and politics will find this archive of special interest because of its focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.
Images and information for advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines. Concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II.
Images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
Provides insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era's foremost consumer analyst and widely-recognised "father" of Motivational Research.
Includes thousands of reports commissioned by advertising agencies and global businesses in a booming era for consumerism. The documents of Ernest Dichter and his Institute for Motivational Research include extensive qualitative investigations into consumer behavior and motivation. Hundreds of advertising images are available in the Ad Gallery. Supplementary material includes a searchable interactive chronology of events in the history of American consumerism and essays and other resources that provide a deeper insight into Dichter and the world of market research. Formerly titled "American Consumer Culture."
The records chronicle the American Social Health (originally "Hygiene") Association's efforts to control and prevent venereal disease, prostitution, and drug addiction through educational, legal, and medical measures
The settlement movement established houses in poor urban areas where middle-class workers would live, providing services such as daycare, education, and healthcare to the community. This collection consists of the records of the National Federation of Settlements, predating its official formation in 1911 and continuing through 1958.
Daily Reports issued by the US Government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from various nations are the sources of this information. [1975 - 1996]
Indexes the FBIS Daily Reports issued by the US Government covering political, economic, scientific, and cultural issues and events throughout the world. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from various nations are the sources of this information. Reports since 1996 can be found in WorldNews Connection.
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report includes radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, and other sources of unrestricted information such as databases and gray literature from non-English sources around the world. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. [1941 - 1996]
Information from thousands of foreign media sources, including political speeches, television and radio broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, and more, offering an extensive collection of military, political, scientific and technical reports from countries around the world, translated into English. The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. Coverage is global with the exception of the FBIS Annexes (a supplementary publication created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit analysts and policy makers from April 1974 through September 1996) and Western European regional broadcasts.
A "core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance."
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry. [1927-1968]
"The Production Code was written in 1929 by Martin J. Quigley, an influential editor and publisher of motion picture trade periodicals, and Reverend Daniel A. Lord, a Jesuit advisor to Hollywood filmmakers. Officially accepted in 1930 by the Motion Picture Producers and Distributors of America (MPPDA), the precursor organization to the MPAA, the Production Code presented guidelines governing American movie production. The five hundred titles selected were chosen by the staff of the library’s Special Collections Department, with advice from film historian Leonard J. Leff.
Source Library: Margaret Herrick Library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Beverly Hills, California. "
Contains legislative histories and links to the related full-text Congressional documents of more than 18,000 federal laws enacted since 1929. The searchable PDFs include text of the law, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, and committee hearings, reports, and prints.
"Provides access to more than 18,000 professionally researched legislative histories of US Law. Histories include the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports and prints, Presidential signing statements, and CRS reports. 1929-present"
Call Number: BANC MSS 72/188 z FILM Bancroft Library
Correspondence, reports, press releases, legal documents, pamphlets, etc., documenting the formation of the union and its activities to improve the lot of sharecroppers, tenant farmers, small landowners and migratory farm workers; its relations with government agencies, other unions and other organizations; its affiliation and break with the CIO and affiliation with the AFL; the change of name to National Farm Labor Union and to National Agricultural Workers Union; efforts to organize farm workers in California; the formation of the Agricultural Workers Organizing Committee, AFL-CIO; the union's merger with the Amalgamated Meat Cutters' Union, etc.
Call Number: BANC MSS 80/24 z FILM Bancroft Library
Includes papers of Howard L. Mitchell, co-founder of the union, relating to his union activities, with material also on Mexican farm laborers; papers of Thomas H. Gibbins, a migrant worker, including articles and an autobiography; papers of Clyde L. Johnson documenting his career as a trade unionist, with scattered issues also of union serials corresponding to his career; papers of David S. Burgess, a minister working with migrant farm laborers, relating to his various positions and his labor union activities.
Digitized archive of the Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Study, a research project initiated in 1942 at UC Berkeley. It aimed to document and examine the mass internment of Japanese Americans by embedding Nisei social science students recruited from the Berkeley campus into selected internment sites. The Study also documented the resettlement phase in the city of Chicago. The collection is comprised of daily journals, field reports, life histories, and secondary research materials collected and compiled by the research staff.
"Contains Records of the Women’s Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, and Correspondence of the Director of the Women’s Army Corps." [1918-1965, primarily the 1940's]
This ProQuest History Vault module contains primary sources that document a wide range of issues pertinent to American women during WWII, including studies on the treatment of women by unions in several midwestern industrial centers, and the influx of women to industrial centers during the war. Other topics covered include women’s work in war industries, equal pay, childcare and race. There is also extensive documentation on the women who joined and served in the Women’s Army Corps as WACs.
A collection of primary source material for the study of the Great War organized into three modules: Personal experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, and Visual Perspectives and Narratives.
Drawings and paintings, government and military papers, trench literature and soldiers' journals, photographs, letters, and film clips are just a few of the types of primary sources included in the three modules. They support research on the Home Front, the role of women in the war, soldiers' experiences, and military operations, among many other topics.
A statewide collaborative digitization project to document Missouri’s role in World War I. The project is a digital collection of historical documents, photographs, artifacts, oral histories and other primary source material from museums, archives, libraries, and private collections from across Missouri.
Builds on an initial study undertaken to understand how various American cities responded to the Influenza epidemic. Includes an anthology of essays about the cities, additional secondary sources, and thousands of historical documents.
Advertising items and publications illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
Over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials is drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University.
A collection of 19th and 20th century legal treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other historical legal works, covering a wide range of topics of US and British law. Includes approximately 10 million pages and more than 21,000 works. [1800 - 1926]
A collection of 19th and 20th century legal treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other historical legal works, covering a wide range of topics of US and British law. Includes approximately 10 million pages and over 21,000 works.
The New Deal Document Library includes over 900 articles, speeches, letters and other texts, organized by subject, date and author. The New Deal Photo Gallery includes over 5000 Great Depression era images.
Includes a wide array of Library of Congress source materials from the 1920s that document the widespread prosperity of the Coolidge years, the nation's transition to a mass consumer economy, and the role of government in this transition
The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s.
A full-text collection of declassified U. S. government documents.
Documents declassified via the Freedom of Information Act and regular declassification requests, make broad-based and highly targeted investigation of government documents possible. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered. Includes correspondence and memoranda, minutes of cabinet meetings, technical studies, national security policy statements and intelligence reports.
After the famine of 1946, Hugh Gibson accompanied Herbert Hoover to evaluate needs, identify surpluses, and quickly move food from one region to another. His daily record "provides a dizzying cross-section of the world just one year after the war ended."
The complete UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) 7 and 82 files for the entire period of Richard Nixon's presidency.
Top-level Anglo-American discussions and briefing papers dominate these papers. There is also a wealth of material on social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment. Includes strong primary source coverage of US policy decisions by the FCO and the British embassy in Washington; White House staff appointments and UN discussions; views on Europe; the deployment of F-111 aircraft on US airbases in the UK and Nixon's battles over funding from Congress; visits to the US by Harold Wilson and Edward Heath; and the internal situation in the US and domestic reform.
Focuses on the security dimensions of the Cold War and its implications for today's world, including prominently mutual threat perceptions, military planning, and the management of NATO and the Warsaw Pact.
A collection of original archival material from libraries in Britain and America covering issues such as youth culture, student protest movements, civil rights, women's rights, the Vietnam War, and nuclear disarmament. [1950 -1975]
A collection of original archival material from libraries in Britain and America covering issues such as youth culture, student protest movements, civil rights, women's rights, the Vietnam War, nuclear disarmament and popular culture in Britain and America from 1950 to 1975.
Digitized archive of primary documents of key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America. Includes letters, diaries, oral histories, posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials. [1960 - 1974]
Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America. Includes 70,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories; more than 30,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials. Enhanced by dozens of scholarly document projects, featuring annotated primary-source content that is analyzed and contextualized through interpretive essays by historians.
Individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and hours of special news-related programming.
Holding more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events.