Full text archive of published memoirs, letters and diaries on almost every aspect of the Civil War. [1861 -1865]
Published memoirs, letters and diaries on almost every aspect of the war. Includes writings by politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seamen, wives and spies. Descriptions of historical characters and events, glimpses of daily life in the army, anecdotes about key events and personages. Provides both the Northern and Southern perspective. Materials originate from all regions of the country.
A digital history project that allows users to study, visualize, and theorize the complex changes in the city of Washington, DC between 1860 and 1865 through a collection of datasets, images, texts, and maps. For more information about the themes and digital projects, see the ebook Civil War Washington : history, place, and digital scholarship
The collections in the Confederate Military Manuscripts cover the perspective of an army commander or an administrative department down to the level of the private soldier, covering all aspects of their military service and experience, while also offering glimpses of life on the home front. Several previously unpublished collections of records of the Union Army are also integral to this module. Highlights include papers of spies, scouts, guides and detectives, including a series on Allan Pinkerton; records on military discipline from courts-martial, courts of inquiry and investigations by military commissions; and records of the U.S. Colored Troops.
Includes physical (height, weight), military (rank, enlistment date) and demographic (birthplace, ethnicity, occupation) information for Pennsylvania soldiers who enlisted in the Union army and subsequently were cited as deserters.
Presents documents related to all aspects of Southern life during the Civil War. This collection includes over four hundred Civil War era maps, broadsides, photographs, printed works, Confederate currency, and manuscript letters and diaries.
This collection of documents relating to Winston's work as a surgeon for Illinois troops includes biographical materials, case histories, lists of medical supplies, and various documents related to soldiers.
Full-text access to newspapers and magazines intended to entertain, inform and educate the women of America. (Pennsylvania Gazette - Godey's Lady's Book) [1728 - 1800]
Offers social, political and cultural perspectives of colonial America, the American Revolution, and the New Republic. Provides access to the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), the paper called 'The New York Times of the 18th Century', Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1898), and a collection of Philadephia papers. Offers social, political and cultural perspectives of colonial America, the American Revolution, and the New Republic.
Advertising items and publications illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
Over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials is drawn from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University.
Documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress.
A "core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance."
A broad range of American legal manuscripts and papers from Harvard Law Library. Includes the papers of Felix Frankfurter, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr., Roscoe Pounds, Louis Brandeis, the Sacco-Vanzetti case, and other legal documents.
Consists of 11 collections from the Harvard Law School Library, including the papers of Albert Levitt, Felix Frankfurter, Livingston Hall, Louis D. Brandeis, Richard H. Field, Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr., Roscoe Pound, the Sacco-Vanzetti Case, Sheldon Glueck, William H. Hastie, and Zechariah Chafee. Together, the papers of Frankfurter and Brandeis provide a behind-the-scenes view of the Supreme Court between 1919-1961. The papers of Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. include his correspondence from 1861-1935. Holmes was a prolific and brilliant correspondent and his letters are an extraordinary record of a wide-ranging and imaginative intellect. The Sacco-Vanzetti papers offer an inside view of the legal strategy in this controversial case.
Florence Kelley was the first woman factory inspector in the United States, appointed in Illinois by Governor John Peter Altgeld in 1893. This site includes correspondence, writings by Kelley, and other material related to social welfare in the United States.
A collection of 19th and 20th century legal treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other historical legal works, covering a wide range of topics of US and British law. Includes approximately 10 million pages and more than 21,000 works. [1800 - 1926]. Access courtesy of the Law Library.
A collection of 19th and 20th century legal treatises, casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other historical legal works, covering a wide range of topics of US and British law. Includes approximately 10 million pages and over 21,000 works.
The records are drawn from British administered prisoner of war ships and their corresponding ports, which ranges from English towns like Plymouth, to colonial ports like Barbados in the West Indies. Information provided by the shipping records includes the place of birth of prisoners, the health of the prisoners, and the port that their respective prison ships docked at.
11 collections covering women's right to vote, the Standard Oil monopoly case, the efforts of the journalist Henry Demarest Lloyd, the University Settlement Society of New York City, prohibition, reform of law enforcement, the Teapot Dome scandal, and regulation of food and drugs.
A digital history project that "seeks to document and represent the rapid and far-reaching social effects of railroads and to explore the transformation of the United States to modern ideas, institutions, and practices in the nineteenth century. "
This assortment of pamphlets was collected by the Department of State Library and comprises speeches, debates, political statements, legislative bills, and more. These pamphlets range in date from 1865 to 1869 and 1877. There are no materials pertaining to the 1870-1876 period.
Digitized texts of over 420 published trial narratives printed in the United States or the United Kingdom from 1815 to 1914, dealing with divorce, domestic violence, bigamy, seduction, breach of promise to marry, custody of children, murder, and sexual violence.
Archival sources from 19th and 20th century Britain and North America related to Spiritualism, Sensation & Magic, Circuses, Sideshows & Freaks, Music Hall, Theatre & Popular Entertainment, and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments & the Advent of Cinema.
The resource includes both print and visual primary source materials, including books, periodicals, advertisements, postcards, films, photographs, memorabilia, scripts, sheet music, and much more.