Library Guides: Historical Primary Sources: United States: News sources

Newspaper collections

19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. (Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers)

For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Access World News
Full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources. (America's newspapers - NewsBank - global newsbank)

Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage, indexing more than California newspapers such as Contra Costa Times (1995-current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), and San Jose Mercury News (1985-current). Search categories include: California newspapers (121 titles), Greater Los Angeles (54 titles), major metropolitan titles (13 titles), Spanish-language news sources (48 titles), the World (almost 2000 titles), US (855 titles).
African American Newspapers, Series I (1827-1998)
Provides access to over 280 African American newspapers from around the country.

This collection includes historically significant African American Newspapers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles. Also includes several California titles like the Los Angeles Tribune (1943-1960), Oakland Sunshine (1915-1922), and Western Outlook (1914-1928), and the Elevator (1865-1898).
African American Historical Newspapers (Proquest)
African American Historical Newspapers provides researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. Use this link to search across a range of newspapers significant to African American history.

Access includes: Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931 - 2010), The Baltimore Afro-American‎ (1893 - 2010), Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934 - 2010), Los Angeles Sentinel‎ (1934 - 2010), Louisville Defender (1951 - 2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939 - 2010), New York Amsterdam News‎ (1922 - 2010), Norfolk Journal and Guide‎ (1916 - 2010), The Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2010), (Pittsburgh Courier‎ (1911 - 2010) .
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
A collection of 45 national periodicals, local community news, and student publications from indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada. [1826-2016]

The bulk of titles were founded in the 1970s, documenting the proliferation of Indigenous journalism that grew out of the occupation of Wounded Knee, meeting the demand for objective reporting from within Indian Country.
Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

To date, over 200,000 pages of California newspapers have been digitized. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Civil War Era Newspapers
This database covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves.
Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876) & Series 2 (1758-1900)
Historic newspapers as fully text-searchable facsimile images. [1690 - 1900]

Access to hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. Based largely on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers,1690-1820." (Archive of Americana allows cross-searching of several databases: Early American Imprints , Series I and II; Early American Newspapers; American State Papers; US Congressional Serial Set.)
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
This collection represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. [1808-1980]

Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
Historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

Jewish Historical Newspapers
The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger‎ (1857 - 1922), The American Israelite‎ (1854 - 2000), The Jewish Advocate‎ (1905 - 1990), The Jewish Exponent‎ (1887 - 1990)
ProQuest Major Daily Newspapers (Historic & Current)
Access to national and regional newspapers from across the U.S.

Includes New York Times (full text, Historical, 1881-1985, with Index, 1851-1993 + 1980-current). Los Angeles Times (full text, Historical, 1881-2010 + 1985-current). Wall Street Journal (full text, Historical, 1889-1995 + 1984-current). Chicago Tribune (full text, Historical 1849-2010 + 1895- current). The Washington Post (full text, Historical, 1877-2002, 1987-current) and the WSJ: the Wall Street Journal Magazine (full text from 2011-present).

Thematic Collections

American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
Brings together hundreds of newspapers published in U.S. prisons, which depict and report on all manner of life within the walls of penal institutions.

American Popular Entertainment (newspapers)
Digital historic newspapers and trade journals published for the entertainment industry in the US between 1853 and 1929.
Associated Press News Dispatches, 1915-1930
https://www.loc.gov/collections/associated-press-news-dispatches-1915-to-1930/about-this-collection/

Communist Historical Newspaper Collection
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. [1919 - 2013]
Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s
A growing digital collection of newspapers published by Ku Klux Klan organizations, publishers sympathetic to the KKK, and also some anti-Klan organizations.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENWH)
Index of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]

Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).

Farm, Field and Fireside: Agricultural Newspaper Collection
A digitized collection of weekly farm newspapers from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries

Independent Voices
Over 1000 alternative press titles focusing on the 60s, 70s and 80s. Includes publications by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more. [1960 - 2000]
Leftist Historical Newspapers and Periodicals
A collection of 22 newspapers and periodicals supporting the ideology of communism, most published in the United States. Dates range from 1848 through 1978, with most coverage in the early 20th century. There are some gaps in coverage.

Single titles

Barron's Magazine (1921-2007)
Barron's reports financial news, in-depth analysis and commentary on stocks and investments. It reflects on how markets moved across the world the previous week and provides outlook and reports on the week ahead.

A leading weekly in the field of financial journalism since 1921, Barron's was founded by Clarence Barron, journalist and subsequent owner of Dow Jones and Company.
Fresno Bee (Historical and Current)
Searchable database with full text of the Fresno Bee from 1887-current. Contains page images from the original print edition from 1887-2018, and access to the electronic edition (lacking graphics) from 1986-current.

The Liberator (History Commons)
The complete run of William Lloyd Garrison's newspaper.
National Anti-Slavery Standard (History Commons)
The official weekly newspaper of the American Anti-Slavery Society, founded in 1933 by William Lloyd Garrison and Arthur Tappan.
New York Journal and Related Titles, 1896 to 1899
In 1895, William Randolph Hearst purchased the paper to compete with Joseph Pulitzer's New York World. The New York Journal is an example of "Yellow Journalism," where the newspapers competed for readers through bold headlines, illustrations, and activist journalism.

Novoe Russkoe Slovo
Novoe Russkoe Slovo was the oldest continuously published New York-based Russian language newspaper. Its first issue was published in April of 1910 under the title, "Russkoe Slovo," in 1920 it was renamed as Novoe Russkoe Slovo. [1910-2010]

"It was the oldest continuously published newspaper of the Russian emigre community in New York. After 2009, it appeared as a Weekly newspaper. It ceased in 2010."

The Pennsylvania Gazette (History Commons)
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century.

Rafu Shimpo Digital Archive
Rafu Shimpo began in 1903 and is the longest running Japanese American newspaper in the U. S. During WWII, it was suspended from 1942-1945, and was revived in 1946. The digital archive contains all obtainable issues from 1914 through 2018.
Sacramento Bee (Historical and Current)
Searchable database with full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1857-current. Contains page images from the original print edition from 1857-2018, and access to the electronic edition (lacking graphics) from 1984-current.
San Francisco Chronicle Archive, Complete (historical and current)
Two searchable databases comprising the complete San Francisco Chronicle, Northern California's largest circulation newspaper. 1865-1984, page images from the print edition. 1985 onward, full-text from the electronic edition, lacking graphics.

The Virginia Gazette (History Commons)
The Virginia Gazette was the first newspaper published in Virginia and the first to be published in the area south of the Potomac River in the colonial period.
The Voice of Industry
Digitized full issues of the U.S. labor newspaper in scanned image format, plus transcribed material and additional resource links related to labor history.
The Woman's Tribune (Accessible Archives)
Published from 1883-1909, The Woman's Tribune was the second longest-running woman suffrage newspaper.

Regional and State collections

Brooklyn Newsstand
Full text searchable newspapers from Brooklyn, New York.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
The California Digital Newspaper Collection contains over 1,500,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California.
Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey
Translations of Chicago newspapers from 1861-1938
Georgia Historic Newspapers
Includes over two million Georgia newspaper pages between 1763 and 2021

Newspaper Archive (CA, AZ, NV)
Collection of dozens of historical newspapers from California, Arizona and Nevada. Includes the Oakland Tribune (1874-1977).

Includes newspapers from California, Arizona, and Nevada only. Titles such as Oakland Tribune, Orange County Register, and the Las Vegas Sun. Most individual titles end before 1980, and not all papers have the full run of the title.

The Pennsylvania Newspaper Record (History Commons)
A collection of mid-19th century newspapers published in Delaware County, Pennsylvania.
South Carolina Newspapers (History Commons)
Includes four 18th Century newspapers published in South Carolina.

U.S. Regional Historical Newspapers
Albuquerque Journal/Tribune (1882 - current) The Arizona Republican‎ (1890 - 2007), The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1985), The Austin American Statesman‎ (1871 - 1980), The Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1999), Bangor Daily News (1836-current), Boston Globe (1872-2007), The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2011), The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009), Dayton Daily News (1898 - current), Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999), El Paso Herald/Times (1881 - current), Hartford Courant (1764 - 1999), Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004), Louisville Courier Journal (1830 - 2000), Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867 - 2001), The Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2009), Newsday (1940 - 1996), New York Daily News (1920 - current), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841 - 1962), The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 - 2001), Pittsburgh Post-Gazete (1786 - 2003), San Francisco Chronicle (1865 - 1922), San Francisco Examiner (1865 - current), St. Louis Post Dispatch‎ (1874 - 2003), St. Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times (1901–2009).

Utah Digital Newspapers
UDN currently offers 6.3 million pages from 374 newspapers.
Washington Digital Newspapers
Washington Digital Newspapers brings together over 600,000 pages from Washington’s earliest Territorial newspapers to the present day.

Western Regional Historical Newspapers
Contains historical newspapers throughout the Western United States.
Titles include: The Desert Sun (Palm Springs, CA) [1934-2011], Reno Gazette-Journal (Reno, NV) [1876-2008], The Salinas Californian (Salinas, CA) [2001-2012], San Francisco Examiner (San Francisco, CA) [1865-2007], The Spectrum (St. George, UT) [1973-2011], Spokesman-Review (Spokane, WA) [1881-2009], Statesman Journal (Salem, OR) [1869-2008], Tulare Advance-Register (Visalia, CA) [2001-2007], Visalia Times-Delta (Visalia, CA) [2001-2014].

Secondary menu

Historical Primary Sources: United States: News sources

Additional guides

Newspaper collections

Thematic Collections

Single titles

Regional and State collections