Digitized manuscripts, ephemera, and rare printed works on the history of the American West from the Everett D. Graff collection at the Newberry Collection in Chicago.
Covers early pioneers and explorers, the gold rush, railroads, emigrant guides and travel journals, Native American history and culture and much more.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
A central search portal for digital collections about the Mountain West region, providing access to rare and unique items from Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Arizona, Montana, Hawaii, and other parts of the U.S. West.
Provides access to a wide range of significant resources on water in the Western United States, including classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, and videos.
The collection includes about 90,000 images, including photographs, slides, negatives, glass plate negatives, tintypes, transparencies, postcards and others.
Collection of resources around the roundup and forced evacuation of Bisbee miners. Contains publications from Industrial Workers of the World, personal recollections, newspaper articles, court records, government reports, correspondence, journal articles, and a video.
The collection consists of field recordings, photographs, drawings, and field notes that document aspects of local history, traditional ranch life, vernacular architecture and other forms of material culture in the lower Blue River Valley in Summit and Grand Counties, Colorado.
A selection of photographs, maps, broadsides, architectural drawings and other documents from the collections of the Western History/Genealogy Department
Photos, documents, maps, and other resources from Boise State University Library's Special Collections documenting the history, culture, and people of Idaho and the American West.
The collection consists of approximately 145 sound recordings, 10,500 photographs; and 3 ½ linear feet of manuscripts that document interviews with Montanans in various occupations; various folk and traditional music occasions; storytelling on the Milk River Wagon Train, and other documentation of rodeos, trade crafts, vernacular architecture, quilting, and other reminiscences and stories about life in Montana in 1979.
This series at NARA contains histories, which include photographs, data tables, maps, and technical drawings, that describe projects authorized under the Boulder Canyon Project Act, namely Boulder Dam (later renamed Hoover Dam), Boulder Power Plant, located on the Colorado River, and the All-American Canal, all Bureau of Reclamation projects
Presents documentation of a Nevada cattle-ranching community, with a focus on the family-run Ninety-Six Ranch. Includes 41 motion pictures and 28 sound recordings, as well as background essays.
Consists of monthly correspondence and business records relative to Steck's tenure as Indian Agent (1852-1863) and as Superintendent of Indian Affairs for New Mexico (1863-1865). Correspondence and papers also relate to his involvements with the New Mexico Mining Company (1865-1880), and Muncy Creek Railroad, (Pennsylvania, 1873-1877), as well as personal and family correspondence and papers.
This online presentation includes the majority of the sound recordings and photographs in this collection. Selected manuscripts include those materials created by the fieldworkers, such as photo logs, field notes, and final reports. The remainder of the collection is available in the Folklife Reading Room at the Library of Congress.
