Call Number: Main (Gardner) Stacks ; Z1251.W5 M56 1987
An excellent annotated bibliography of diaries, journals, letters, and reminiscences of people who made the journey to the West from 1841-1864. While some of these resources are difficult to locate in print, since the book's publication in 1987 many have been digitized and are available at HathiTrust.
Call Number: Main (Gardner) Stacks ; F591.A12 M271 1988
An extensive bibliography of all known significant eyewitness accounts of nineteenth-century central overland travel. Over 2,000 entries identify the author, the form of the passage, overland trip, and provide the author's authoritative commentary and evaluation. Many of these titles can be found online at HathiTrust.
Manuscript autobiographies from the Immigration History Research Center, University of Minnesota. The guide to the collection outlines the contents of the autobiographies and also includes a subject index.
Call Number: JV6455 .A82 1993 Main (Gardner) Stacks
Over 130 narratives in three parts: "The Last of the Old: The Traditional Immigrants" (19th-early 20th centuries); "The Wartime Influx: Heroes, Victims, Survivors" (World War II); and "Immigration: a Continuing Process" (mid-to-late-20th century)
The settlement movement established houses in poor urban areas where middle-class workers would live, providing services such as daycare, education, and healthcare to the community. This collection consists of the records of the National Federation of Settlements, predating its official formation in 1911 and continuing through 1958.
Call Number: Main (Gardner) Stacks ; E184.M5 B49 1992
A collection of letters between undocumented immigrants in California and their families in Mexico, Guatemala, and El Salvador. The letters are in Spanish, with English translations.
Call Number: Main (Gardner) Stacks ; E184.B7 D57 1997
A collection of personal letters written by eighteen of the thousands of British emigrants who came to North America in the fifteen years preceding the onset of the American Revolution.
This collection covers the fields of immigration history and ethnic studies from 1820-1929. Included are selected songs, plays, political pamphlets, family histories, folklore and first-hand accounts of experiences of various immigrant groups. Compiled from several major archives, this collection includes books, pamphlets, government publications, serials, society publications and lesser-known ethnic newspapers. Many selections are in the native language of the immigrant group.
More than 200 transcribed interviews with immigrants who arrived at Ellis Island Immigration Station between 1892-1924 , or who were employed at the Station.
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; and others.
Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
The files consist of forms used by the Immigration and Naturalization Service including applications for return certificates and certificates of residence, identification photographs of the applicant; transcripts of interrogations of the individual and occasionally those of verifying witnesses or business associates; copies of Federal and local court records, and some personal letters and photographs submitted by the applicant for use as evidence in determining the status of the immigrant or returnee.
These NARA files consist of forms used by the Immigration and Naturalization Service including applications for return certificates and certificates of residence, identification photographs of the applicant; transcripts of interrogations of the individual and occasionally those of verifying witnesses or business associates; copies of Federal and local court records, and some personal letters and photographs submitted by the applicant for use as evidence in determining the status of the immigrant or returnee.
The Digitizing Immigrant Letters Project aims to make available on-line letters from the IHRC Archives and other collections (private individuals, partner institutions) that were written between 1850 and 1970 both by immigrants (the so-called “America letters”) and to immigrants (“homeland letters”).
The project aims to make available on-line letters from the IHRC Archives and other collections (private individuals, partner institutions) that were written between 1850 and 1970 both by immigrants (the so-called “America letters”) and to immigrants (“homeland letters”).
The Hmong Oral History Project works to connect the younger generations of Hmong, and the broader communities in which many Hmong live, with resources describing Hmong culture in Laos, the Secret War in Southeast Asia, and stories of the Hmong immigrant experience, facilitating greater intercultural and intergenerational understanding.
This digital collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the start of the Great Depression.
A rich variety of original manuscript collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. [1654-1954]
The material is based on a rich variety of original manuscript collections from the unique holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. It provides access to twenty-four collections of personal papers and six major organizational collections, including: Papers of the Industrial Removal Office (1899-1922), Papers of the Jewish Immigration Information Bureau (1901-1920), Records relating to the American Jewish Historical Exhibition (1901-1902), Papers relating to the American Jewish Tercentenary in 1954 (1949-1956), Records of the Baron de Hirsch Fund (1819-1991), and Records of the Board Delegates of American Israelites (1859-1881).
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. [1800-1980]
Unique primary source diaries, correspondence, photographs, oral histories and journals narrate the vivid realities of ocean travel and life in adopted homelands. Organisational correspondence, government proceedings, shipping company papers and records of advocacy groups provide key context to migrants’ everyday struggles.
Browse subjects list for Immigration and emigration.
Include approximately 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries by more than 1000 women. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions. Also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography.
The 41-volume report of a commission established by Congress in 1907 to research the causes and impact of recent immigration. Released in 1911, the report recommended literacy tests as a means to reduce immigrant numbers.
Platte River Road Narratives
American Mosaic: the immigrant experience in the words of those who lived it
Between the Lines
Dutch American Voices
Immigrant voices: new lives in America, 1773-2000
Words of the Uprooted: Jewish Immigrants in Early Twentieth-Century America
Immigration and multiculturalism: essential primary sources