Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.

History: America: Presidential Papers

Sources for multiple presidents

George Washington (1789-1797)

The Papers of George Washington is a joint project of the Mount Vernon Ladies' Association of the Union and the University of Virginia. It includes papers found in major repositories, but also copies of more than 140,000 gathered by conducting a comprehensive search of materials in libraries, historical societies, and public collections across the globe. The project is anticipated to publish 90 volumes, completing in 2023.  The volumes are divided into six series. All are located in the Main (Gardner) Stacks; the links below provide the call numbers.

Diaries 1748-1799 (4 volumes)
Colonial Series 1744-1775 (10 volumes)
Revolutionary War Series 1775-1783 (26 volumes)
Confederation Series 1784-1788 (6 volumes)
Presidential Series 1788-1797 (20 volumes)
Retirement Series 1797-1799 (4 volumes)

John Adams (1797-1801)

Thomas Jefferson (1801-1809)

The definitive edition of the public and private papers of Thomas Jefferson was produced by a project established at Princeton University. The papers are arranged chronologically in 45 volumes. A second series is made up of commissioned volumes containing writings or documents suited to a topical arrangement. These are cataloged individually and can be found by doing a title search in UC Library Search. Princeton also published a Retirement series of 16 volumes.

James Madison (1809-1817)

James Monroe (1817-1825)

John Quincy Adams (1825-1829)

Andrew Jackson (1829-1837)

Martin Van Buren (1837-1841)

William Henry Harrison (1841-1841)

John Tyler (1841-1845)

James K. Polk (1845-1849)

Zachary Taylor (1849-1850)

Millard Fillmore (1850-1853)

Franklin Pierce (1853-1857)

James Buchanan (1857-1861)

Abraham Lincoln (1861-1865)

Andrew Johnson (1865-1869)

Ulysses S. Grant (1869-1877)

Rutherford B. Hayes (1877-1881)

James A. Garfield (1881-1881)

Chester A. Arthur (1881-1885)

Grover Cleveland (1885-1889, 1893-1897)

Benjamin Harrison (1889-1893)

William McKinley (1897-1901)

Theodore Roosevelt (1901-1909)

William Howard Taft (1909-1913)

Woodrow Wilson (1913-1921)

Warren G. Harding (1921-1923)

Calvin Coolidge (1923-1929)

Herbert Hoover (1929-1933)

Franklin D. Roosevelt (1933-1945)

Harry S. Truman (1945-1953)

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1953-1961)

John F. Kennedy (1961-1963)

Lyndon B. Johnson (1963-1969)

Richard Nixon (1969-1974)

Gerald Ford (1974-1977)

Jimmy Carter (1977-1981)

Ronald Reagan (1981-1989)

George H. W. Bush (1989-1993)

Bill Clinton (1993-2001)

George W. Bush (2001-2009)

Barack Obama (2009-2017)

Donald Trump (2017-)

First Ladies