Contains government and personal papers addressing U.S. politics during the 1960s and 1970s. Topics include civil rights, the Cold War, social movements, and the political scandals that culminated in Watergate.
Explores U.S. political, social, and economic developments during the Truman and Eisenhower presidencies. Topics include the Marshall Plan, NATO’s formation, McCarthyism, the Korean War, and domestic issues like civil rights and economic policy. The documents provide insights into the U.S. response to Cold War tensions and global challenges.
Search thousands of documents related to historical and current U.S. presidencies, such as speeches, official papers, executive orders, proclamations, news conferences, and press briefings.
Contains all major publications of the U.S. Office of the President, including: Public Papers of the President, Inaugural Addresses, Executive Orders, Signing Statements, and other information such as radio addresses, party platforms, videos of debates, and popularity polling data. This project was developed by two political science professors at UCSB.
A collection of government publications including congressional and Executive Department materials. [1789-1838]
Search or browse legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses (1789-1838) illuminating key moments in early American history such as Lewis and Clark's Expedition, Burr's conspiracy and arrest, the Treaty of the Creek Indians made by Andrew Jackson and much more. These papers cover the following broad subject areas: foreign relations, Indian affairs, commerce and navigation, military and naval affairs, the post-office department, and more. (Archive of Americana allows cross-searching of several databases: Early American Imprints , Series I and II; Early American Newspapers; American State Papers; US Congressional Serial Set.)
Digital edition of a landmark work in historical and legal scholarship that draws upon thousands of sources to trace the Constitution’s progress through each of the thirteen states’ conventions.
The work is the result of an ongoing project to collect, preserve, publish, and encourage the use of primary documentary sources dealing with the debate over the ratification of the United States Consitution and the Bill of Rights between 1787 and 1791. The project has collected copies of over 60,000 documents, including convention and legislative records, private papers, and newspapers, broadsides, and pamphlets.
This collection includes websites from United States executive branch agencies. Collection began in July 2016 and continues to the present (this is an ongoing archive). Many of these websites have older captures as far back as 1996.
Comprises files from the Immigration and Naturalization Service, detailing immigrant processing, exclusion policies, and assimilation efforts during a period of significant immigration to the U.S. It includes case files, reports, and statistical data.
Contains records detailing the Joint Chiefs of Staff’s role in shaping U.S. military and strategic policy during the early Cold War. Topics include nuclear deterrence, NATO's formation, responses to the Korean War, and planning for military conflicts. The documents offer insights into the military’s strategic thinking and inter-agency collaboration during this period.
Consists of forms, abstracts, plot summaries, dialogue and continuity scripts, press kits, publicity and other material, submitted for the purpose of enabling descriptive cataloging for motion pictures registered with the United States Copyright Office.
Features records from FDR’s presidency, including his office files and federal agency reports. Documents
address the New Deal, economic recovery, and wartime decision-making.
Indexing and full-text access for publications of the United States Congress such as hearings, committee reports and prints, CRS reports, as well as executive branch documents. (Congressional Publications) [dates vary]
One stop shopping for all U.S. congressional publications. Provides indexing and abstracts of congressional publications back to 1789, including the full-text of published Congressional Hearings (1824-present; unpublished hearings until 1979), Committee Prints (1817-present), Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports (1916-present), Congressional Record and its predecessor titles (1789-present), U.S. Congressional Serial Set and Maps (1789-present), Executive Branch Documents (1789-1932), Presidential Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations (1789-present), and Legislative Histories (1969-Present; earlier legislative histories are available via ProQuest's Legislative Insight).
Contains legislative histories and links to the related full-text Congressional documents of more than 18,000 federal laws enacted since 1929. The searchable PDFs include text of the law, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, and committee hearings, reports, and prints.
"Provides access to more than 18,000 professionally researched legislative histories of US Law. Histories include the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports and prints, Presidential signing statements, and CRS reports. 1929-present"
Contains administrative law histories organized by public law. Provides search capability to facilitate research into U.S. regulatory history. Database is partially built and will be complete in early 2018. [1936-2016]
Directives and memoranda related to the Public Housing Administration's policies and procedures.
Public housing at the federal level was introduced in 1937 and was intended to provide public financing of low-cost housing in the form of publicly- managed and owned multifamily developments. This collection includes directives and memoranda related to the Public Housing Administration's policies and procedures. Among the documents are civil rights correspondence, statements and policy about race, labor-based state activity records, local housing authorities' policies on hiring minorities, court cases involving housing decisions, racially-restrictive covenants, and news clippings. The intra-agency correspondence consists of reports on sub-Cabinet groups on civil rights, racial policy, employment, and Commissioner's staff meetings.
Documents the activities of the U.S. Children’s Bureau, the first federal agency dedicated to children’s welfare. Topics include child labor, public health initiatives, juvenile justice, and social services. These records reflect evolving attitudes toward children’s rights and the government’s role in family welfare.
Access to all the reports, documents, and journals of the US Senate and House of Representatives from 1817 through 1980. [1817 - date varies]
A full-text database of key publications of the United States Congress. Also includes publications of the executive departments relating to important public issues. The Serial Set is a critical resource for the study of all aspects of American history including international relations, explorations, commerce and industrial development, genealogy, and political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history. When complete, the database will offer approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages in searchable full-text. (Archive of Americana allows cross-searching of several databases: Early American Imprints , Series I and II; Early American Newspapers; American State Papers; US Congressional Serial Set.)
Contains CIA reports on communist movements in China and Eastern Europe, focusing on U.S. intelligence strategies during the Cold War. Topics include political developments, espionage, and ideological conflicts.
The 44,000-page FBI case file documents on finding King's assassin including background information on Dr. King's social activism.
The assassination on April 4, 1968, of Martin Luther King, Jr., president of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, triggered a massive manhunt culminating in the arrest of James Earl Ray. The 44,000-page case file of the Federal Bureau of Investigation documents the bureau's role in finding Ray and obtaining his conviction. The file also includes background information amassed by the FBI on Dr. King's social activism. This archive is of particular interest to students of the civil rights movement and of the continuing controversy surrounding Dr. King's murder.
Indexes declassified documents spanning fifty years of US national security policy. [1945 - present]
Also includes a chronology, glossary of names, events, special terms, and a bibliography for each collection developed around a specific event, controversy, or policy decision.
Covers FBI surveillance and investigations of radical political movements, including socialist, communist, and civil rights organizations during the Cold War era.
An online tool developed by the FBI in response to Freedom of Information Act. A selection of files is included, and some of the records are incomplete.
FBI files on surveillance conducted on Black Americans, civil rights organizations, and other institutions.
Includes FBI files relating to: A. Philip Randolph, Adam Clayton Powell, the Atlanta Child Murders (ATKID), the Black Panther Party (North Carolina), the Committee for Public Justice, Elijah Muhammed, the Highlander Folk School, the Klu Klux Klan Murder of Viola Liuzzo, Malcolm X, MIBURN (Mississippi Burning), the Moorish Science Temple of America, the Murder of Lemuel Penn, the Muslim Mosque, Inc., the NAACP, the National Negro Congress, the Organization of Afro-American Unity, Paul Robeson, Reverend Jesse Jackson, Roy Wilkins, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, Thurgood Marshall, W.E.B. Du Bois, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, and Marcus Garvey
This series includes charts, graphs, correspondence, memorandums, reports, and printed materials and is comprised of four subseries. The Central Intelligence Files subseries consists mostly of daily summaries of the military situation in Korea from June 1950 to January 1953, with references to political and economic issues, cease-fire negotiations, and communist propaganda.
Includes intelligence and research reports from the OSS and State Department. Topics cover espionage, foreign policy, and Cold War dynamics in the aftermath of World War II.
The complete report, released by the National Archives, consists of approximately 7000 pages. This release includes all the supplemental back-documentation and the complete account of peace negotiations.
A collection of more than 5 million pages of assassination-related records, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, and artifacts. Most of the records are open for research.
A full-text collection of declassified U. S. government documents.
Documents declassified via the Freedom of Information Act and regular declassification requests, make broad-based and highly targeted investigation of government documents possible. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered. Includes correspondence and memoranda, minutes of cabinet meetings, technical studies, national security policy statements and intelligence reports.
Offers intelligence reports from the U.S. military on global developments leading up to and during World War II. Topics include political movements, foreign military activities, and economic conditions.
The Caselaw Access Project (“CAP”) expands public access to U.S. law., and contains over 360 years (going back to 1658) of published U.S. court decisions, digitized from the collection of the Harvard Law Library.
This collection includes the websites of the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Courts of Appeals, U.S. District Courts, and U.S. Bankruptcy Courts. Collection began April 2014 and is ongoing.
Complete collection of full opinions from U.S. Supreme Court argued cases, including decisions, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Covers 1975-2017 term (database currently being built, so not all dates are covered).
"Complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs. Content associated with each case is compiled on a dynamic page organized to facilitate understanding of the judicial process, and is also retrievable on a document by document basis. This collection covers 1975-2017 (database currently being built, so not all dates are covered). All content is expected to be added by the end of 2017."
