Digitized manuscripts, ephemera, and rare printed works on the history of the American West from the Everett D. Graff collection at the Newberry Collection in Chicago.
Covers early pioneers and explorers, the gold rush, railroads, emigrant guides and travel journals, Native American history and culture and much more.
Includes published letters and diaries by more than 1000 women represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions. Also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography. [Colonial times - 1950]
Include approximately 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries by more than 1000 women. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions. Also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography.
Digitized content from a collection of M.L. Stangroom (1832-1913) at Western Washington University. Stangroom's career included work as a gold prospector, miner and railroad surveyor in California and the Sierra Nevadas, and as an engineer for the Bellingham Bay & British Columbia Railroad.
Provides access to over 50,000 unique manuscripts on American History from 1493-1945.
Many of the manuscripts include translations and transcriptions. Collections are from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, New York. Module 1 Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859 is available now and Module 2 Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945 will be published in Summer 2015.
Digitized collections span the coverage of the Huntington Library and include rare books, manuscripts, Civil War, advertisements and California history
Through journals, letters, emigrant guides and other early accounts of the gold fields, photographs, lettersheets, sheet music, maps, lithographs, drawings and other pictorial materials, the exhibit presents the experience of those affected by the gold rush during the early years of discovery and first diggings, 1848 through 1853.
