Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. (American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 - APS Online) [1740 -1940]
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including general interest magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and other periodicals. Among the titles include: Massachusetts Magazine, Pennsylvania Magazine, National Era, Southern Literary Messenger, Scribner's, Lippincott's, Ladies' Home Journal and McClure's.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. [1880 - 2000]
The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
This collection will have the archives of 26 magazines devoted to LGBTQ interests including a complete run of The Advocate. Also includes a number of UK-based titles such as Gay News. Provides cover-to-cover coverage. Titles are still being added to this collection.
Digitized public domain media periodicals and online access to the histories of cinema, broadcasting, and recorded sound. [1905-1973]
The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.
An open-access archive and digital research initiative for the study and preservation of all-fiction pulpwood magazines. Includes an expanding library of high-quality, cover-to-cover digital facsimiles.
Digital collection with full-text comics, graphic novels, and related scholarship from pre-Comics Code era works to modern sequential releases from the US, Canada, France, Italy, Spain, England, Sweden, Norway, Australia, Korea, Japan, and more.
Archive of women's interest magazines including Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, Seventeen and Essence. Topics include family life, fashion, and fitness. Date coverage varies but in some cases goes back to the 19th century. [19th - 21st century (varies)]
The Crisis, founded by W.E.B. Du Bois as the official publication of the NAACP, is a journal of civil rights, history, politics, and culture and seeks to educate and challenge its readers about issues that continue to plague African Americans and other communities of color.
Full text archive of Forbes magazine from 1917-2000. For a view by year, click here.
"Forbes has delivered key insight on the business and financial world for nearly a century. With EBSCO’s Forbes Magazine Archive, researchers have unrivaled electronic access to the world’s best business news. This fully searchable full-text archive provides analysis on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style."
Full text archive of Fortune magazine from 1930-2000. For a view by year, click here.
"Fortune Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the long-running business magazine dating from its very first issue in February, 1930 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format."
Digitized archive of Harper's Weekly from its beginning in 1857 to 1912. A good source for 19th and early 20th century advertising, illustrations, culture, history, literature, and notable figures.
Full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly from its beginning in 1857 to 1912. Provides access to information about 19th and early 20th century advertising, illustrations, culture, history, literature, and notable figures.
Full text archive of Life magazine from 1936-2000.
"Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek. Life Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture."
A weekly periodical published during the silent film era. This site provides links to digitized issues. With the exception of a few years, the publication can also be found on microfilm in Newspapers & Microforms in Doe Library.
Full text archive of Time magazine from 1923-2000. For a view by year, click here.
"Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek. The Time Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture."