Digitized manuscripts, ephemera, and rare printed works on the history of the American West from the Everett D. Graff collection at the Newberry Collection in Chicago.
Covers early pioneers and explorers, the gold rush, railroads, emigrant guides and travel journals, Native American history and culture and much more.
Historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
A collection of primary sources from Meeting of Frontiers, a bilingual, multimedia English-Russian digital library that tells the story of the American exploration and settlement of the West, the parallel exploration and settlement of Siberia and the Russian Far East, and the meeting of the Russian-American frontier in Alaska and the Pacific Northwest.
A central search portal for digital collections about the Mountain West region, providing access to rare and unique items from Utah, Nevada, Idaho, Arizona, Montana, Hawaii, and other parts of the U.S. West.
Report, correspondence, interview transcripts, questionnaires, and printed matter, relating to the social and economic status of Chinese, Japanese, other Asian, Mexican, and other minority residents of the Pacific Coast of the United States and Canada, and to race relations on the Pacific Coast.
Provides access to primary source, technical materials on all aspects of water resources in California and the West. These collections of engineers, hydrologists and UC faculty document California's water environment and the construction of its infrastructure from the early 1900's to the present.
Provides a single location for institutions across Alaska to share their historical resources.The Archives contain materials in a number of formats, including photographs, museum objects, oral histories, film clips, maps, textual documents and videos.
Includes Government records, photographs and indexes to passenger manifests, land records, government office holders, and a variety of other resources.
Includes material from the Archives and Manuscript collections, the Asia Collection, art works from the Jean Charlot Collection, and resources related to Hawai'i and Pacific culture and history.
The 1906 San Francisco Earthquake and Fire Digital Collection is a compilation of selected holdings from collections housed in the archives and special collections of The Bancroft Library and first other California institiutions.
A compilation of selected holdings form collections housed in the archives and special collections of The Bancroft Library and five other California institutions. IPresenting approximately 14,000 images and 7,000 pages of text, the digital collection makes accessible material related to the history of the earthquake and fire in San Francisco, as well as presenting material on other areas affected throughout the state. The project website for The 1906 San Francisco Earthquake and Fire Digital Collection includes a full introduction to the collection, online exhibit, panoramic image, interactive map search and other ways to explore this rich collection.
This series contains case files involving complaints of discrimination based upon race, religion, country of origin against private employers and labor unions involved in war-related industries, such as shipbuilding and aircraft manufacturers; and Federal government agencies which had not been satisfactorily resolved nor dismissed for lack of merit by the local office. These files relate to California.
This collection consists of twenty-six films of San Francisco from before and after the Great Earthquake and Fire, 1897-1916. Seventeen of the films depict San Francisco and its environs before the 1906 disaster. Seven films describe the great earthquake and fire. The two later films include a 1915 travelogue that shows scenes of the rebuilt city and a tour of the Panama Pacific Exposition and a 1916 propaganda film.
35 hours of folk music recorded in 12 languages representing numerous ethnic groups and 185 musicians. It includes sound recordings, still photographs of the performers, drawings of folk instruments, and written documentation from a variety of European ethnic and English- and Spanish-speaking communities in northern California in the 1930s.
Brings together a selection of documents and images from the holdings of four repositories at the University of California, which document the Loyalty Oath controversy.
Digitized audio and transcripts of dozens of Dust Bowl migrants, along with a collection of photographs that document camps, working conditions, and union activity.
Digitized images including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts that reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Gateway to digitized images from the libraries and museums of the University of California campuses, cultural heritage organizations in California, and UC-created websites and collections.
A growing collection of digitized photographs taken by the staff of the Examiner, a major San Francisco daily newspaper, from the collection held at Bancroft Library.
Digitized collections span the coverage of the Huntington Library and include rare books, manuscripts, Civil War, advertisements and California history
One of the most extensive research collections on the subject of motion pictures. The online catalog includes bibliographic records for the library's holdings of books, periodicals and scripts in the general collection, as well as part of the poster collection and some graphic art materials.
Coverage Dates:
The collection consist of notarized interviews with couples requesting marriage in the Roman Catholic Church during the period 1788-1861. The purpose of marriage investigations was to prove that the parties were free to marry.
Selections from a collection documenting the everyday life of residents of Farm Security Administration (FSA) migrant work camps in central California in 1940 and 1941.
These digitized records at NARA consist of looseleaf notebook pages containing basic summary information about, and an identification photograph (frontal view of face), of each inmate. In some cases collateral material, such as disciplinary reports or news clippings, are also included.
